reviews for: listing #62757 - Anchorage, Alaska House rental

Duben Place, GuestHouse
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $115 - $155 /nt
    $635 - $945 /wk
    $1,850 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

Great location & accomdtns & excellent hostess!

Review submitted: June 30, 2009   Date of arrival: June 16, 2009

The location of this house rental was minutes from the full marathon start line...which was perfect! We enjoyed the accomodations thoroughly...fresh coffee, laundry facility and gracious hostess who helped us with figuring out how to use the DVD player! This is the ideal way to travel to Alaska since the prices can be extreme. It was very neat and clean when we arrived. We highly recommend it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for staying with us at Duben Place! It is always my pleasure to share with you this beautiful land that we live in! My goal is to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Helpful votes: 25 / 25

 

Special week in Anchorage.

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: February 16, 2014

What brought me to Anchorage was family and your guest cottage was just perfect for us. It felt like home where we could be comfortable and enjoy ourselves. Home cooked meals when we wanted and some great local restaurant food worked out perfectly. Our favorite spot was probably the pizza from Moose's Tooth. The guest house was also a great spot to travel from. We were able to explore downtown Anchorage and venture out to the Alyeska area. The coastal road heading out there was probably some of the most breathtaking views that I have ever encountered.

Thank you for the warm welcoming feeling and your friendship while we were staying with you. It was just the right combination of privacy and company. I would recommend this property without reservation to anyone traveling to the Anchorage area.

Owners response: It was wonderful to meet you and share some moments, and it was such a pleasure to share in your joyful reunion with your son!
Thank you for your kind words and being such an endearing house guest!
Looking forward to having you return to Duben Place!
Best wishes, Michele.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a charming & comfortable home

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

What a charming & comfortable home. Thank you for your warm & gracious welcome to Alaska. We have so enjoyed our stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A home here in Alaska

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

Thank you a lot for giving us a home here in Alaska. You created it with love and a good sense of taste, and that is the reason why we felt so comfortable living here for this three weeks.
Many greetings to you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We really enjoyed our time here.

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our time here. Thanks for all the supplies and conversations about sights to see! This is a great home away from home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Alaska is wonderful

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

Thank you so much for a lovely home away from home. We were very comfortable and your home is adorable and the yard and flowers exceptionally beautiful.We will always remember you and your place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for the quiet and comfort

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: August 21, 2013

Thank you for the quiet and comfort of your lovely home. We enjoyed our family time in the cool rainy weather of Anchorage (a nice change from the hot, dry desert of Arizona) and Duben Place was a convenient and efficient headquarters......May God bless you as you use your gift of hospitality to bless others.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We are so glad we found you on-line.

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

We have enjoyed your home_ so much nicer and cozier than a hotel room. ......Being here has been relaxing for us. You have seemed to have thought of everything.
Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your home felt like our own.

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: September 16, 2013

You provided everything we could possibly have needed. Especially appreciated the effort you made to decorate with Alaskan art and lots of color.
We enjoyed meeting you and your pets.
This was the perfect spot for our "reunion, vacations and gave us opportunity to gather family".
Thank you for the beautiful roses!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your guesthouse really is welcoming!

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

Thank you for all the thoughtful touches you put into every guest stay. Your recommendations are spot on! And we loved the roses, Halloween decor and the surprise tree lighting on our last night!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Have a blessed Holiday season & stay warm!!

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

We had such a wonderful Alaskan experience & loved staying at Duben Place. Thank you for your kindness & hospitality. We look forward to returning to Alaska & hope to stay with you again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: February 17, 2014

Thank you for renting your beautiful guesthouse. It allowed me to have a comfortable, homey spot to share with my son.Your welcoming and friendly demeanor helped me to feel comfortable and your guesthouse was exactly what we needed.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Better than expected -- a great place!

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

This Guest House was every bit as good described but even better than expected.
The space is generous, it was immaculately clean
and comfortable -- the decor is charming with Native art on the walls.
Every convenience had been thought of by our Hostess -- from having fresh
breakfast food in the fridge to a bowl of candy on
the front table plus fresh flowers in the bedrooms and living room.
She was gracious and helpful in every way. I can't imagine a nicer
place to stay for any type of visit to Alaska. We were in Anchorage
for a family wedding and a few days of sightseeing. The spacious
layout made preparing for the festivities easier and more relaxing
than trying to juggle in a motel room. And more economical. The house
is convenient to shopping and also to the main arteries needed to get
to the center of town or to the highways for touring. At the end of a
busy day it was a welcome thought to know we could come "home"
to such a tranquil, attractive place. Our host lives in the next house
so she was readily available to help out but separate entrances give
absolute privacy. There is a nice front yard, and a few front steps
easy to manage for almost anyone. I would heartily recommend this
house for a very comfortable, safe stay of any length.

NY Traveler

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Michal for your very kind words. My intention is for your stay to be as pleasant as possible. Thank you for taking the time to submit this review, and again for your thoughtfulness!
Michele.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Made our vacation very comfortable

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

Duben Place was great for our vacation. It was just like walking into a family members home and staying for a while. Michele has a kitchen stocked with just about everything. The house was clean, quiet and spacious. The location is great. Many great places to eat within a short distance. But the best part was the bed. It was soft and comfortable. The sheets were soft and the cover was warm. We left Duben Place and travelled to Seward for a couple of nights. After one night, we wanted to come back to Duben Place. Staying in Duben Place made our vacation great. Thank you!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind and gracious words. I intend for your visit to be as comfortable as possible. It is my pleasure!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best Vacation Rental I have ever stayed

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

We stayed in Duben Place for 4 days first week of July. It was the best experience we had. We were a party with 6 adults and 2 kids (3 year olds). We checked in around 2am and everything was set right. The entire house is artistic. Any information we needed about Alaska, was right there at the hall (maps, books etc). Bed rooms had good quality linens, comforters, quilts. It was hard for us to decide one of them. The room had a 40"(i think) LCD TV with lots of CDs, DVDs. We had lots of novels to read. Just we didnt have the time for it. The Front and back yard was amazing. The garden at the backyard was extremely beautiful with lots of interesting flowers. It was a photographer's paradise. Kitchen was fully stocked with Rice cooker, mixer grinder, oil, pepper, salt, coffee powders and even some recipe books :). Her dogs were so friendly, our kids were playing with them most of the time.

Overall we had a very good vacation and we felt at home during the stay. I would certainly recommend this place to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your very kind words! It was my pleasure having you and your lovely and gracious family stay at the GuestHouse. As the summer progresses and the rains continue, the gardens get even more lush as more flowers bloom! Please visit us again! Michele.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A Wonderful Stay in Anchorage

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: April 8, 2011

We had a lovely time at Duben Place, well-equipped and clean with a nice private yard, good convenient location. Felt like 'home away from home', perfect. Oh and very comfy beds. Michele, the owner hooked us up with some fun activities, she has great knowledge of fun things to do in Alaska. I would recommend it to anyone traveling to Alaska. Thank you Michele. Saw some moose, funny animals. My favorites, hiking Exit Glacier in Seward and the train to Denali. We will be back.

Owners response: Thank you for being our guest! It is always our pleasure to ensure your trip to Alaska and your stay at Duben Place is the best for the Big Wild Life!
Best regards, Michele.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Duben Place

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

We really enjoyed our 12 night stay in Anchorage at Duben Place Guest House. Michele gave us excellent directions and the the guest house was exactly as pictured, clean as a whistle, in a quiet neighborhood with convenient parking and all the comforts of home. Michele provided extras - fresh flowers upon arrival, chocolates, and coffee - and information for area restaurants and activities that were very helpful. I would definitely recommend for anyone visiting Anchorage and searching for a home away from home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words! It was my pleasure to have you here at the GuestHouse! Michele.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 11, 2010   Date of arrival: September 7, 2010

Michele, We really enjoyed our stay here. The Guest House was everything & more that we could have asked for and became our home away from home. Really appreciated all the extra touches you provided - the coffee & teas, all the condiments.....loved the decor and all the artwork. We would definitely recommend Duben Place to anyone visiting Alaska which is a wonderful state.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 11, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

Michele...Thank you for opening up your beautiful home for us to stay. It was a wonderful place to come back to after a full day of sightseeing and exploring Alaska. It has been more than we expected and had become a second home to us...Thank you again. We hope to make it out back here soon and will recommend this place to all of our friends and family.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 11, 2010   Date of arrival: August 17, 2010

Dear Michele..Thank you very much! All we needed was (in) here, a comfortable and beautiful place. Your recommendations were great......

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 11, 2010   Date of arrival: August 5, 2010

A perfect trip! Your place provided just the respite we needed after spending time with our four grandchildren! We slept well, enjoyed all the home-like conveniences you provide, and loved the quiet moments to reflect on the beauty of your Alaska. What a wondrous place - and Duben Place made it that much better.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 11, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2009

Duben Place looks like a featured home in Good Housekeeping magazine. Thanks for the opportunity to stay here. It felt like a place we could call home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

July 8th thru 11th 2010

Review submitted: July 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 8, 2010

Your complex was well equiped and clean. My parents are from Arizona and they were inmpressed. We all like the fact that you are located one mile from the freeway. Thank so much for the hospitality.
When I have more guest and want to show them the Grand State of Alaska, I will use your home again.

Owners response: Thank you Penny, and it was a pleasure having you here! I am always working to improve your stay at the GuestHouse.
Best regards!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: November 27, 2008   Date of arrival: November 27, 2008

Michele - Thank you for opening your home up to us as we relocated from PA and got settled into Alaska! This home is thoughtfully stocked with the essentials and some luxuries! You had all we could want for our first few weeks, and your company was appreciated even more. I can't say enough good things here about your place!

Owners response: It was my pleasure having you here! And welcome to Alaska!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 10, 2007   Date of arrival: July 10, 2007

We just wanted to say thanks for letting us stay with you your wonderful Guest Cottage. It was like a home away from home...thanks for all the beautiful flowers!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 6, 2007   Date of arrival: July 6, 2007

We four Minnesotans enjoyed your accommodations immensely. Since we had a vehicle, the location worked well as a staging area-day trip to Palmer/Hatcher Pass; to Homer,(kind of longgg trip for one day),Girdwood...and various activities in Anchorage: 4th of July Parade, F Street Grill, to watch the King Salmon make their way up the river, the Ulu Factory.....Una and Boodles were very well behaved - and so cute.....

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 2, 2007   Date of arrival: July 2, 2007

Thank you for the oasis of peace during our trip from Maine. The house is wonderful as are you and the dogs. We can't wait to come back with the kids to explore more of "real" Alaska!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 1, 2006   Date of arrival: November 1, 2006

Thank you so much for providing a home away from home for the birth of our beautiful Darcy Jo. We were very comfortable and enjoyed our stay "in town". This was really the perfect setup for us. Your home impressed my M-I-L and our midwife! We will definitely recommend it to any Bush parents-to-be! Being away from home for so long at such an important time was not easy, but you made it a lot nicer and we really appreciate it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 25, 2006   Date of arrival: August 25, 2006

Michele, I've enjoyed my five weeks at Duben Place as I explored Alaska with my family. Thanks for everything-especially helpful advice on Alaska destinations and hiking. Wesley enjoyed the magazine and both Justin and Wesley loved picking raspberries. We would have liked more sun but managed with the rain.....

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 17, 2004   Date of arrival: August 17, 2004

I am so glad your guest house was available. For a family of five it was a great space - far better than a hotel! The fresh flowers, plush towels and books are a great touch. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 18, 2004   Date of arrival: July 18, 2004

Michele, We enjoyed our two quiet weeks here. It was so quiet and peaceful here. Loved the fresh flowers on our arrival. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 21, 2004   Date of arrival: June 21, 2004

Your place is lovely and had enough room for us to feel at home. It was very comfortable and I would be happy to stay here anytime I am in town. Thank you! You helped me to impress my in-laws!:)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 17, 2004   Date of arrival: June 17, 2004

Your place is very nice. Wish it were available for the rest of our stay. You truly came to our rescue on this very busy weekend and we will recommend it to others.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review