reviews for: listing #62768 - Marina Del Rey, California Condo rental

Ocean Front Penthouse/Marina Del Rey
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $625 - $750 /nt
    $4,000 - $4,900 /wk
    $13,000 - $16,000 /mth

sort by:

Awesome time at fabulous place

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

I recently stayed at this beautiful condo for 6 nights with my wife, three daughters, mother and sister in law. We had a great time in the LA area in large part because we chose this condo.
The place is very large and pretty much exactly as presented on the website. We had plenty of room and then some and the place is immaculate. It is well stocked with pretty much everything you need, including laundry supplies which was much appreciated. We enjoyed a couple of cookouts on the roof deck watching the sunset!
Bill is very easy to work with and explained everything in detail upon our arrival. He gave great recommendations on dining and helped me out with directions as well.
The location is fantastic! The front yard is the ocean - it does not get much better than that! Close to Washington Blvd which has pretty much anything you need and full grocery store is a short drive away.
I was a little worried about the LA traffic, but my GPS did a wonderful job of getting me around and I was pleasantly surprised how easy it was to access all the LA sites from the beachfront condo.
When I compared the cost of three hotel rooms to the cost of the condo, the decisions was easy. This place is a great choice if you have a larger group and I would recommend it in a heartbeat to families or groups traveling together.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2012

Absolutely fabulous. RIGHT on the sand, steps to Venice Beach Boardwalk but away from the craziness...beautiful peaceful stretch of beach. Incredible view from the large windows, plenty of room for all 8 of us (parents and 6 nearly adult 'kid's). Bill is extremely nice and easy to communicate with...gave us lots of local info on where to eat, rent bikes, etc. Would come back in a heartbeat!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Terry,
Thank you for the very nice review and your stay with us. Reviews are always helpful when guests are deciding where to stay. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Christmas in Marina Del Rey

Review submitted: January 15, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

I would recommend this rental to anyone who is interested in California holiday. Bill, the owner was very helpful answering our inquiries, even before we arrived. He also made some recommendations for meals at local restaurants which were fantastic and within walking distance. The condo is very comfortable, clean and spacious with everything you could possibly need and all the comforts of home. We were able to walk the beach for miles and we also rented bikes and enjoyed exploring Venice beach all the way to the Santa Monica Pier. Every evening we were blessed with a gorgeous sunset. We will definitely be booking another California vacation with Bill.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome condo

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

We had a great stay at the condo in Venice. We had six adults live very comfortably for the week, and had multiple options of staying in to cook/grill or walking to some excellent restaurants. Bill, the owner, is a great host and facilitator to make sure we got off on the right foot with everything we needed. Terrific location for our list of activities in the greater LA area. We easily recommend this condo, and would definitely rent here again. The pictures are good, but the condo is actually even roomier than my online perception.

Owners response: Dear Walt,
Thank you for the wonderful review.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thanksgiving in Paridise

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

We rented this beautiful Penthouse for 4 days in Nov during the Thanksgiving day Holiday. We have family in the area and had our other adult children fly out west and stay with us. Our stay far exceeded our expectations! The owner of this amazing property made our entire experience easy and enjoyable from start to finish. The apt is kept immaculate and has the touches one could expect from a full service upscale hotel, from the linens to the soaps, everything was thought of. We can not say enough about the views of the sunsets! Thanks Bill for a wonderful stay in your beautiful home..
Max and Skot from Miami

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exquisite home in the heart of MDR

Review submitted: September 4, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

We rented this property in May and had the family vacation of a lifetime! Having lived in MDR during grad school, we knew the location of this propery was perfect for the best beach access in LA, shopping, restaraunts, and the strand. The pictures do not come close to the WOW-factor when we walked in the door! Travelers included: both sets of our parents (mid-70s & late-50s), my 8-year old neice, and my husband & I (mid-late-30s) with our 6 month old. The house STILL felt open, airy, and very very comfortable even with 6 adults and 2 children. The owner was a warm and generous host, who ensured we were comfortable with the property and oriented us to it's many amenities. The garage (which is primo-parking in this area) was large enough to accomodate our extended Tahoe and a guest car as well. There were even beach boogie boards, chairs, and picnic settings for our use. We LOVE to cook, and the gourmet kitchen was our favorite gathering area where we cooked and entertained friends nightly. My husband & I and the baby slept in the loft and enjoyed the sight and sounds of the ocean out the spectacular panoramic windows.
Because of the success of this trip, we will definitely plan more family vacations, and would love to return to this home again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls Getaway

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

We enjoyed a wonderful time at this beautiful home. The views from the home were breathtaking and the home had every ammenity you could possibly need. The beds were very comfortable! The location was great and the owners were very helpful with all of our needs. I highly recommend this property for your vacation stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything was just perfect!

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 18, 2011

We stayed for 13 day's in this realy beautifull apartment. We, a family of five(kids age 11, 14 and 16), had a great time. Besides visiting the LA things like hollywood, some parks and other nices places we also had some great beachdays.

Everything we needed was there. Also small things like the beach chairs are very handy.

The house was very clean, we used the BBQ almost daily but also visited some nice restaurants.

Its not a cheap appartment but if you can afford it, GO! It is worth the money. Next time we are in LA we definitly go to this place again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome spot in Marina Del Rey

Review submitted: July 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 5, 2011

I spent 4 nights at this beautiful place with my girlfriend and 3 of our childern (ages 8 to 13) - we can't say enough positive things about our vacation:
House - every detail taken care of-- comfortable beds, great sheets, very clean---better than pictures! Breathtaking views of ocean!
Location- perfect quiet spot on beach enough removed from the craziness of Venice but close enough for access to great dining, biking, etc - all in walking distance
Owner - Bill is fantastic. He made us feel welcome in every way and was easy to communicate with in planning the trip

It could not have been better! This is my LA vacation spot from now on!!
I highly recommend this place to anyone - you will love it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Anthony,
Thank you for the wonderful review. It is always nice to get such good feedback from our guests. We wish you and your family the best and hope to see you back again soon.

Bill Barnett

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Beachfront Condo

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

Our two families with young children enjoyed a great week at this condo. Everything was as listed in the description and the pictures are all accurate. Bill was easy to deal with, helpful and friendly. The location is great if you are looking for beachfront without the crowds of nearby Venice Beach, and yet it is close enough to walk to Venice if you want to. Good restaurants and coffee-shops are a 2-minute walk. Disney, Hollywood Park and LA are all reasonably accessible. Highly Recommend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent location, the view alone is worth it!

Review submitted: May 28, 2011   Date of arrival: May 18, 2011

We spent 4 nights at this wonderful rental, waking up to beautiful views, walking to the local coffee shop and enjoying some of the best Italian food just around the corner from the property. The rental is impecabbly decorated, the owner was attentive and available through the entire process and, the view and beach location is perfect! I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a beach oasis away from the frenziness of Venice but perfectly located to easily go anywhere in Los Angeles. All I have to say is that I will be back!

Thanks so much, Robyn and company!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding beach front rental!

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

The property is exactly as advertised-- which is awesome! Bill was a gracious host/greeter who made sure everything was perfect. The location is fantastic, parking great, and plenty of room for private space and entertainment. Can recommend more highly.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

perfect vacation home in perfect location

Review submitted: April 18, 2011   Date of arrival: April 12, 2011

This beautiful vacation home is even prettier than the pictures show, and sits directly on the ocean with a great beach, in short walking distance to restaurants, bike shops, the lively Venice Beach boardwalk and the beautiful Venice canals. It has an unheard of 4 parking spaces!

The house itself has everything you could need in the kitchen and elsewhere, and is really top quality in every regard. Light and airy, and so comfortable for a family and friends.

We have rented several vacation homes in the past, in the Venice Beach area and elsewhere, and have never stayed in one so nice and so nicely cared for. And most importantly, the owners are delightful and very helpful, which made our stay really pleasant and stress free.

We cannot say enough to recommend this rental and cannot wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Break 2011

Review submitted: April 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 29, 2011

This place is absolutely amazing! The pictures online don't even begin do it justice. As the other reviewers have said, the place is close enough to Venice beach to walk and see the action, but far enough removed that you can have a peaceful and relaxing family vacation! Our daughters loved spending the day on the beach playing in the waves and collecting shells. In the evening, a quick 5 minute walk to Washington St. for delicious dinner (Don't leave without trying C&O Trattoria for incredible Italian food in a relaxed atmosphere). The place is only a 5 minute drive to Santa Monica and 20 - 30 minutes from the action In Beverly Hills, Sunset and Hollywood.

Bill was a very gracious host and incredibly accomodating. As I write from snow covered Calgary, I can honestly say our only regret was not staying longer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Marina Del Rey/Venice Beach Condo

Review submitted: March 31, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2011

Our family vacation was spectacular in this amazing condo. We enjoyed the view and how close we were to the restaurants, the beach and pier at Marina Del Rey and yet could easily walk to Venice Beach. The kitchen provided a wonderful gathering place to watch TV and play games while watching the surfers and gorgeous waves. We enjoyed meeting Bill and he helped us with directions, area recommendations and made us feel right at home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Break 2011

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

This beach condo had all the amenities of a 5 star resort and all the comfort of home. Our family really enjoyed being right on the beach, it was wonderful to wakeup to the sound of the waves every morning. We enjoyed bringing our small dogs and they enjoyed the house as much as we did. The owners were very responsive to all of our questions prior to our stay and made us feel at home. They even went out a purchased a new electric griddle prior to our arrival, so that we could make pancakes for the kids! We had a GREAT time and would stay at this penthouse condo again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Rental review

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 22, 2011

This unit was perfect for our family vacation. Bill and Kelley were great in providing information on the unit and assistance for whatever we needed. The listing description was accurate but words don't really reflect the beautiful views, quality amenities, upscale decor and personal touches - such as bouquet of fresh roses - that they provided. The location was close enough to sightseeing and activities without being in the middle of congestion - we seemed to always be going in the opposite direction of the heaviest traffic. Our teenage boys enjoyed skateboarding along the boardwalk to Venice Beach and my husband and I enjoyed walking along the sand to the many nearby restaurants. We also had a wonderful evening of cooking and having dinner with my sister and friends who live in the area. We would definitely recommend it and look forward to a return trip!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the wonderful review.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A stunning property in the ideal location

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 15, 2011

This condo is in the best location of all the units I looked at between Santa Monica, Venice and Marina del Rey. I scouted places on a previous trip and this place has it all. It's a 3-minute walk to the restaurants and bars on Washington Blvd. Great views of the Venice Pier and ocean from your 3rd floor penthouse. Unlike being in Venice, there’s not a constant parade in front of your place. It's close enough to feel like you're part of the action, but a few blocks south of the noise and traffic.

But location is only part of what makes this condo exceptional. The master bedroom suite is as good as it gets. My wife and I loved it. The rest of the condo was equally as impressive. A huge and modern kitchen open to family dining and plasma TV and gas fireplace. And a small deck overlooking the beach for morning coffee to the sound of surf and great sunsets.

You are, in fact, right on the beach. The Venice Pier parking lot ends in front of the next building to the north. So directly in front of you is sand all the way to the ocean. There is a sand berm between the beach and the parking lot. It does not affect your view of the ocean as you look toward the pier because you are on the 3rd floor.

The listing photos and details are a true reflection of the condo. It was spotless and furnishings were top quality. The owner made our family feel very welcome. We were greeted with fresh roses, a bottle of wine and a friendly smile. I really can't say enough about this property. It's just hands-down an impressive and beautiful place. We enjoyed it immensely.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A stunning property in the ideal location

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 15, 2011

This condo is in the best location of all the units I looked at between Santa Monica, Venice and Marina del Rey. I scouted places on a previous trip and this place has it all. It's a 3-minute walk to the restaurants and bars on Washington Blvd. Great views of the Venice Pier and ocean from your 3rd floor penthouse. Unlike being in Venice, there’s not a constant parade in front of your place. It's close enough to feel like you're part of the action, but a few blocks south of the noise and traffic.

But location is only part of what makes this condo exceptional. The master bedroom suite is as good as it gets. My wife and I loved it. The rest of the condo was equally as impressive. A huge and modern kitchen open to family dining and plasma TV and gas fireplace. And a small deck overlooking the beach for morning coffee to the sound of surf and great sunsets.

You are, in fact, right on the beach. The Venice Pier parking lot ends in front of the next building to the north. So directly in front of you is sand all the way to the ocean. There is a sand berm between the beach and the parking lot. It does not affect your view of the ocean as you look toward the pier because you are on the 3rd floor.

The listing photos and details are a true reflection of the condo. It was spotless and furnishings were top quality. The owner made our family feel very welcome. We were greeted with fresh roses, a bottle of wine and a friendly smile. I really can't say enough about this property. It's just hands-down an impressive and beautiful place. We enjoyed it immensely.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice beach front condo

Review submitted: January 18, 2011   Date of arrival: January 6, 2011

This unit was very good condition in Marina Del Rey. It was beach front property and we enjoyed very much. I will definitely stay again when I get a chance.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: We would like to thank the international travelers who provide us with reviews of their stay. It can be difficult for people from other countries to be assured they are choosing correctly and that the property will meet their expectations.

Bill

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Condo

Review submitted: January 7, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

I have been renting places for over 40 years and this condo is by far the best property I have rented. The pictures really can't do it justice.
Whether you want to stay in and enjoy the ocean view or go out and explore this condo is in an excellent location. Gourmet kitchen, outstanding beds, incredible master suite, elevator to your front door, four car garage.....everything in this condo is first class. The owners are wonderful to work with and really want you to have a great stay. I have rented this property twice and I can't imagine staying anywhere else when I visit my family in Southern Ca.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is always uplifting to receive a great review. This gives us the motivation to continue to work hard and maintain that standard. Our guest reviews mean a great deal to us and we hope all of our guests feel the same way.

Thank you,
Bill Barnett

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Condo

Review submitted: January 7, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

From the fresh flowers and wine at arrival to the stocked gourmet kitchen this is the best beach house I have rented....and I have been renting for 40 years. I wanted a place where I could have my family that lives in the LA area meet for dinner every nite with a great views and good food. Don't want to cook?
great places within walking distance to eat and have fun. If you think it looks wonderful online...wait until you walk into the front door......then you realize that the beds are the most comfortable you have ever slept in and everything right down to the towels in the bathroom are first class. The owners are very easy to work with and really want you to have the best stay ever.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are thrilled to get such a great review. Our goal is to have all of our guests this pleased with their stay.

Thank you,
Bill Barnett

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

perfect family reunion

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

We enjoyed a gorgeous weekend in this elegant apartment. The views are breathtaking, the beach is a stone's throw from the unit,, there were fresh flowers, comfortable beds (except the fold out couch...) a great kitchen and lots of light and luxury. This place is a gem!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

"Simply the Best"

Review submitted: November 3, 2010   Date of arrival: October 7, 2010

My family of 8 adults (including one in a wheelchair) enjoyed 4 luxurious nights in this fantastic apartment. It was spacious and spotlessly clean. Being right on the beach was fabulous. We could walk out the door and play beach volleyball or hire bikes (we cycled up past Santa Monica on the bike path) or wander safely for miles along the waterfront. We loved the uninterrupted view of the beach, watching the surfers and magnificent sunsets. There were plenty of places to eat just around the corner and shopping malls close by. Bill and Kelly replied promply to my email enquiries and made booking and check in smooth for us. I highly recommend this apartment for a great stay in LA.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We loved this condo

Review submitted: August 25, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

From the moment we walked into the condo we were beyond satisfied. The layout and space were unsually big for a condo. We were a group of 8 and were very comfortable. The parking situation, (which could have been troublesome) was fine because the unit had 4 spaces plus a guest pad. The kitchen and baths have been updated with taste and the latest appliances. We used to go to Laguna Beach for the summer getaway and stay at one of the luxury hotels, but after staying in this condo we won't be doing that anymore. We can't wait rent it again!

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review