reviews for: listing #62801 - Vilano Beach, Florida Cottage rental

Bennetts by the Sea
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $140 - $200 /nt
    $1,095 - $2,500 /wk
    $1,900 - $2,900 /mth

sort by:

Perfect Weekend Retreat

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: June 6, 2014

My 15 year old daughter, her friend and myself rented this charming cottage for a little weekend getaway. Everything was perfect. The home was cozy and equipped with everything we needed or could have imagined needing. We, as well as our black lab, enjoyed the outside area the most and the bikes were the perfect mode of transportation. I wish we could have stayed longer, or even better, just move here! The owners were quick to respond to emails/questions I had and were a pleasure to meet!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise

Review submitted: May 5, 2014   Date of arrival: May 2, 2014

Bennetts by the Sea.....Best weekend getaway possible. We have a 9 month old and a Golden Retrevier, this cottage was perfect. It is located only steps from the beach. The cottage has private entrance and is fenced for the furbabies, walk inside and you instantly feel like you have entered island time. Gayla and Peter are phenomenal andHarry and Buster are the best!! Reserve your stay you won't be disappointed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Again, Please!

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

My dog, my sister, my husband and I had a warm and wonderful escape from the frozen North and are now back in the still frozen North, my sister in the northeast and the rest of us in the midwest. We miss stepping out through the gate, taking those few steps and being on beautiful Vilano Beach. It was so easy to let Nadia, our dog, in and out to the fenced yard, even leaving the door open so she could come and go as she pleased. The beds are very comfortable, the towels are luxurious, the kitchen fully equipped plus washer and dryer. Gayla and Peter, the owners, are available, helpful and charming. What more could one want. Maybe to return next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Beach Getaway

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

We decided to rent this property as a very last minute mini-vacation and it was definitely worth it. We brought our little dog with us and we were all very happy with our stay. The house was cute, nicely decorated and definitely dog-friendly. The house is close to the beach, just a very short walk away from a much quieter and more private area of Vilano Beach. The owners were extremely friendly and accommodating. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Birthday Weekend Fun

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

Our second vacation at Bennetts by the Sea was as great as the first. We wanted a fun, relaxed, "homey" spot for celebrating my son's 24th birthday, and that's what we got! The property has a cottage feel with well decorated and accommodating interiors. Everything is provided, so you truly need only bring yourselves and your pets. We love the outdoor deck for relaxing, and shower for hosing off after the beach.

The beach is a short walk, and absolutely delightful, with plenty of waves for the boogie boards. Both my sons thoroughly enjoyed it. There is so much to do in Historic Downtown - way more than can be seen in one visit! I chose a para-sail ride to celebrate the birthday, and it was so easy to drive to the marina, and let the boat crew take over.

Gayla and Peter were terrific hosts, and always available for any questions, while Buster and Harry (the resident dogs) kept all of us laughing! I recommend this rental for anyone who wants a lovely, non-hotel experience, and especially for pet owners. Enjoy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Life with your dog

Review submitted: March 18, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

We had a great stay, perfect for the dog owner, having a fenced in private outside yard. Gayla, our host, was always available with information, e.g., where to find a good dentist. The dog friendly beach beach was wonderful, a few steps away. We met many nice and interesting people on the beach, found many lovely shells and some sharks teeth. Our space was clean and well maintained. We were very well taken care of and would clearly recommend this place to stay. Like having your own house and yard, rather than staying in some large resort complex with a lot of pet rules.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Get-a-Way Bliss on the Beach

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: August 18, 2011

An absolute delight! My son and I unwound by the ocean for four wonderful nights. This cottage rental has it all: two lovely bedrooms, plus extra sleeping in a spacious common/TV chill-spot, all with a hip Art Deco/Beach vibe. Hotel-like white towels and sheets, fully equipped kitchen and laundry, bathroom with all amenities (including hair dryer), outdoor dining and sunbathing on a dreamy deck! Best of all?...you may bring your pets!-you know they are welcome by the dog bowls at the front door. As for the beach?-a short walk past dunes, with provided towels, chairs and umbrellas, and you have "relaxation" at its finest!
But wait!-there's more to Bennetts By the Sea than just the beach! This cottage rental is so close to historic St. Augustine...with its famous 17th century Spanish fort, surrounding the olde town (actually the oldest settlement in America). Yes, ancient graveyards, oldest schoolhouse, and supporting city buildings will delight parents and children. Not to mention the dazzling array of gift shops, ranging from fine jewels to handcrafted delights.
For those seeking the REAL Florida, don't miss the GTM National Reserve, just a few miles up A1A. Fishing, miles of hiking trails, and pristine Florida beach are all there.

If you are longing for the ultimate relaxation spot, Bennetts By the Sea will provide!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Place to Stay!

Review submitted: September 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 29, 2011

I can not say enough good things about our family's month long stay at Bennetts by the Sea as we were in transition from one home to the next. Gayla and Peter (owners) could not be more welcoming, friendly and fun. The cottage could not be more cozy and comfortable. All you need is a toothbrush and a swimsuit, everything else is already there. There is a fantastic breeze that comes through on the patio and we were only steps to the beach (which was never crowded). The area feels safe and private yet you are only minutes to downtown St. Augustine and multiple restaurants. Even though we are now living only 25 minutes away, we hope to get back soon for another stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cruising down the avenue that is known as A1A

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 15, 2011

Bennett's by the Sea was perfect for us. Gayla and Buster and Harry were marvelous hosts. The cottage very comfortable with attractive and "artsy" decorations. The beach was just steps away and perfect for playing in the gentle waves. We even learned how to look for sharks teeth in the sand. (No sharks, just tiny teeth). We will definitely be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Time

Review submitted: June 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

My husband, grown daughter and I, along with our three well behaved dogs spent three nights in May, 2011 at Bennetts by the Sea. The place was cozy and charming. The yard was fenced in and there was a large private patio that was great. The beach is literally 60 steps to the beach. We had a wonderful experience and we will be back.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

winter vacation

Review submitted: April 1, 2011   Date of arrival: March 1, 2011

my wife and i stayed at Bennets by The Sea during the month of March 2011. We had rented the house originally because we had intended to bring our dog Lilly with us and the property has a nice fenced in yard that would be great for anyone that is thinking about bringing their dog. Circumstances arose that prevented us from bringing her with us but the owners two dogs(buster and harry) were so friendly(they have their own seperate yard)and well behaved that it made it easier to be without her. Thanks Buster and Harry. The house has everything you need to have a nice vacation and it is plenty roomy enough for even a family with a couple of children. The beach is just a short walk over the dunes which makes it great when carrying chairs,towels and a cooler. The owners are a very nice couple and we had some wonderful evenings on the patio together. I would not hesistate to stay here again. Thanks again for everything Gayla and Peter.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

My experience

Review submitted: November 8, 2010   Date of arrival: May 14, 2010

The property was great and well equipped. However, the seller has refused to return my deposit and has failed to communicate with me regarding the deposit. Renter beware.

Owners response: Dear Potential Guests,

This comment is unfortunate due to the fact that in the last decade of our vacation rental we have only not returned one deposit.

We do expect our property to be be treated with respect. We also expect items not being removed from the property with the need to be mailed back to us.

We love our beach cottage and have worked hard to create an enjoyable & friendly environment.

Sincerely,
Gayla Bennett

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect for families!

Review submitted: June 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 25, 2010

This is a perfect place for doing the beach with your family. Everything we needed was there! We will definitely be back next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect for families!

Review submitted: June 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 25, 2010

This is a perfect place for doing the beach with your family. Everything we needed was there! We will definitely be back next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review