reviews for: listing #62843 - San Diego, California Studio rental

Historic Old Town District Studio with Pool & Cabana
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  yes
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Old Town
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $200 /nt
    $1,050 - $1,400 /wk

sort by:

Great location

Review submitted: August 2, 2014   Date of arrival: June 11, 2014

Bob was awesome the pool and deck were perfect after a long day and for our morning coffee my 5 year old son loved his private room. We will definitely be coming back soon. Thanks BOB!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Old Town San Diego Studio

Review submitted: June 6, 2014   Date of arrival: May 29, 2014

This was our first VRBO experience. I took my 2 boys on an adventure to San Diego. This was the perfect spot for the 3 of us. Easy to get to, easy to get to anywhere around San Diego. Bob, the owner was helpful & friendly, without being intrusive in the least. It was nice to know he was there, but never saw or heard from him, until we needed him!! The beds in the cabana were cozy and we had 3 great nights' sleep!!! The boys enjoyed the movies that were in the unit. The pool was the perfect size. So great in the afternoon to cool off. All in all, it was a great introduction to VRBO. :)

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfect

Review submitted: April 15, 2014   Date of arrival: April 7, 2014

My stay was comfortable, relaxing, busy , and exciting IT WAS PERFECT! Thanks BOB and Stanford Kelly

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Location and Plenty of Room

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: March 27, 2014

What a great place to stay and perfect location. There was plenty of room for 3 adults and 3 children. The place is only about 5 min or so from the airport 2 blocks from restaurants, convenience stores, and historical town. The place was fully stocked with hair products including hair dryer and iron. There was laundry detergent, body soap, dish soap, pool towels, iron and ironing board, board games for the kids to play, a couple floaty devices for the pool and a great movie collection and so much more. Private parking on the driveway right in front of the front door is a plus. We look forward to staying here again on future visits to San Diego. Thank you

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Spending time with our First Great Grandchild, his Fahter and Mother (our Granddaughter)

Review submitted: March 27, 2014   Date of arrival: March 17, 2014

La Hortensia was perfect for us, not far from Family, in Old Town, close to Seaport and many other attractions. We were there for six days. The unit is as described. Bob is helpful and available if you want him to be With the ample deck with table and comfortable chairs, we were able to entertain with other family visiting San Diego and spend time throughout the week with our new Baby. Although we did not use the pool, we did relax by it and enjoyed the privacy overall. We even walked our Great Grandson around Old Town and watched fireworks allowing his Parents to have dinner nearby. The unit is equipped with everything you could need. The off street parking is great. I was apprehensive about the futon; however it was quite comfortable and easily transitioned from one mode to another. Much better than a hotel; in fact two of our guests were in a hotel. They were impressed. We have traveled much over many years; some people say I am fussy. I would stay there again; in fact we will (if Bob will have us)

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: HELEN,

THANK YOU FOR THE GREAT REVIEW. YOU WENT OUT OF YOUR WAY TO LEAVE THE PROPERTY NEAT AND CLEAN. HURRY BACK!

BOB

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful apartment, great location!

Review submitted: November 26, 2013   Date of arrival: November 9, 2013

This apartment in Old Town is excellent. I originally rented with the intention of bringing my family with me on a business trip to San Diego. The apartment itself has a futon that sleeps 2, and a chair that also folds out to sleep 1. Additionally, there is a cabana outside that has a bunk bed, that can sleep 3 as well. Plenty of space to bring the family. Unfortunately, my family was unable to attend so I was flying solo. I was attending a conference at the Convention Center, and this apartment was about 10 minute walk to the Trolley, which conveniently drops you off in two places outside the Convention Center. Much more affordable than staying in the Gaslamp district. The only thing to note, is to keep an eye on the trolley timetables, as they stopped running one night before I made it back. However, a cab ride from downtown only cost me about $15. There is also a dedicated parking spot if you rental car, which is great because street parking can be difficult in the area at times. Overall, a great experience and I will be back to stay with my family too!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful apartment, great location!

Review submitted: November 26, 2013   Date of arrival: November 6, 2013

This apartment in Old Town is excellent. I originally rented with the intention of bringing my family with me on a business trip to San Diego. The apartment itself has a futon that sleeps 2, and a chair that also folds out to sleep 1. Additionally, there is a cabana outside that has a bunk bed, that can sleep 3 as well. Plenty of space to bring the family. Unfortunately, my family was unable to attend so I was flying solo. I was attending a conference at the Convention Center, and this apartment was about 10 minute walk to the Trolley, which conveniently drops you off in two places outside the Convention Center. Much more affordable than staying in the Gaslamp district. The only thing to note, is to keep an eye on the trolley timetables, as they stopped running one night before I made it back. However, a cab ride from downtown only cost me about $15. There is also a dedicated parking spot if you rental car, which is great because street parking can be difficult in the area at times. Overall, a great experience and I will be back to stay with my family too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect place for a Perfect city

Review submitted: November 24, 2013   Date of arrival: November 19, 2013

Not enough can be said about this property. San Diego is a perfect getaway, and you've found the best place to hang your hat for a stay. All sorts of space both inside and out to entertain. Large deck and a great private pool. Full kitchen, grill outside, stocked bathroom with a huge shower are just a few more of the perks.

Great location! 10 min drive from airport, walking distance to train station or wide variety of restaurants. 15-20 min from sea world or san diego zoo/balboa park. Don't know where to go? Ask bob and he will send you in the right direction.

We will be going back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Location

Review submitted: November 16, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

Our stay was just for a weekend and wish it was longer. There is so much to see and do so this location was perfect!! Bob the owner was there if needed and he gave tips where to eat and what to see which was nice for us since we have never been to San Diego.
The studio was perfect for us, I was a little worried at first about sleeping on a Futon but it was very comfortable and had no issues. Bob had everything you would need. I can't think of anything that was missing. The pool area was so nice and had beautiful landscaping which made it so private. I would love to return in warmer weather to relax by the pool. Our favorite spot was Coronado Island and La Jolla Cove also the views from Torrey Pines Park were breathtaking. We love it all!!! Thanks Bob

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Good Old Town Time

Review submitted: November 3, 2013   Date of arrival: October 20, 2013

This was so much better for me than a hotel room! I would definitely stay there again if the opportunity comes around, and I hope it does!
The property is in walking distance of the Old Town transit center so I did not need a car during my stay, most of which was spent in the Convention Center area. If you arrive there by train with luggage though, take a cab (easy to get at station). The local transit system works very well.
The property was clean and comfortable. A couple of minor things were handled promptly.
I wasn't able to connect to use the internet access but it wasn't critical for me.
The cabana was nice but I was alone and the weather was a little chilly so I didn't need to use it for much. I took a brief dip in the pool, but it was too cool to really enjoy while I was there. Still it had to be done!
Looking at a map you can see a highway nearby but you'd never know while relaxing outside on the deck with your favorite beverage. Having the owner next door was handy, and you can still enjoy your privacy the way it is set up.
The surrounding area is charming and there are many fine restaurants nearby. Having a full kitchen made it easy to enjoy the leftovers.
I really enjoyed staying there, most likely you will too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

LOCATION

Review submitted: October 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 21, 2013

This property is greatly well located in the Old Town, near of everything. It was something small for our 5 adult and two babies family but we can accomodate great. We would only wanted to enjoy the pool which was very cold in my opinion, the shower water does not have enough pressure and you have to wait for heating a few minutes. Everything else was great, with an attentive and gentle host. Im not dissapointed with this my first experience renting, finding such a beautiful, convenient property and great location. Muchas gracias Bob!

Owners response: The pressure problem has been solved. Earlier in the week, I had a new water pipe installed from the street. A little soil had gotten into the shower head. The shower head has been cleaned Also,.I have a tank less water heater. It takes a few minutes for the hot water to reach the studio. The upside is you have an unlimited supply of hot water. Sorry, the pool is not heated. Guests from Sweden thought it was too warm. Go figure. You were my first guests from Mexico City.

Muchas gracious Jacobo.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fun in Old Town

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

This is a cozy place in the perfect location. We had a great time, riding bikes, walkin and checking out the greater San Diego area. The people in this location were very friendly and helpful. The cabana is filled with all the amenities of home, the only downside was the low H2O pressure in the shower. I could live her year round if that were remedied!! I wish it had been slightly warmer, so we could have gone swimming. Thank you Bob!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Delightful

Review submitted: July 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

A delightful hide-away in an excellent Old Town location.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: A " 5 Star " review in one delightful sentence. Thank You !

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay in a great place!

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 11, 2013

My family loves San Diego, especially Old Town, and this studio/cabana was perfect! We were a very short walk to some of our favorite places. It is also close to public transportation. Bob has thought of all the comforts to make this small studio/cabana comfortable, convenient, and fun. I especially appreciated the key-locked gate to the pool as we brought our granddaughter. We will definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place!!

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

Our own private Garden of Eden! The seclusion, the peacefulness (even though you're 2 blocks from Old Town), and the cleanliness of this studio was beyond belief. We had three people stay, and two more visiting nightly, and there was plenty of room, both inside and on the private deck. Close to restaurants and shopping. Had numerous cookouts and played board games on the table outside at night. Pool was an oasis in all of the greenery! Having Stanford and Schotzie (Bob's dogs) were an added bonus. Bob was very accommodating, and you never knew he was there!! Planning on going back to San Diego in December, and hope this adorable place is available! Would highly recommend to get away from the hustle and bustle.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

wonderful

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

This is a wonderful rental. Close to freeway, easy to locate, has private parking. The house itself is as exactly as viewed only better. Bob has thought of everything to make your stay comfortable. Even providing paper plates and cups if you would rather use them than dishes. This spot is perfect, private, quite. Walking distance of old town. It was just my husband and me so we used the studio as a living area and slept in the cabana. Perfect for couples or families. would highly reccommend. Thanks Bob for a wonderful time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect place for vacation

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

This property is exactly like pictures, however they don't do it justice. This property is perfect for a romantic getway to a family vacation. Has its own private parking space so your not trying to park on the street. Easy to reach just off freeway, walking distance to old town. Bob has thought of all the amenties to make your stay nice. You won't find any place any nicer than this. Thank you Bob for allowing us to unwind and relax for a much needed vacation. Only regret is we didn't have time to stay longer. We would definitely rent this property again. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

David & Carolyn

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

This property is a little slice of Heaven.This property is better than listed pictures are exact. It is centrally located in an easy to reach area just off freeway. Walking distance to Old Town. Has its own parking space so your not circling around trying to find a place to park. Bob has thought of everything down to the paper plates and cups if you wanted to use them to better stuff in the cabinet. Nice set of cookware and a gas grill too. All the little things like coffee, salt and pepper, etc.Bob has provided. This property is secluded and quite. It can be a romantic getway or perfect for a family retreat. We left disappointed that we didn't have more time to stay at this fantastic property but refreshed and relaxed. Thank you Bob very much for allowing us to spend a much needed few days of vacation here. We loved the banana trees and watching the hummingbirds. If we are ever in California again this is where we plan to stay if its available. Thank you.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the great review. I have a great variety of tropical plants
Bismark Nobillis, Triangular, Pony Tail , Madagascar, Queen , King , Pygmy Date, Qiunta and Sago palms. The banana tress you refereed to are actually Giant Birds of Paradise. A common mistake. Thank you again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Old Town Great Location

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 30, 2013

We stayed at the Historic Old Town Studio for 5 nights and could have stayed longer. This was a great location for visiting Sea World, San Diego Zoo, USS Midway and Legoland. Old Town also has many great museums and attractions to visit. Our children enjoyed playing in the pool and with Standford Bob's dog. They also enjoyed having their own space to hang out and watch movies which were provided by Bob, in the Cabana, "Beach House". The accommodation is just as the pictures show. Bob welcomed us and gave us directions to the local shops and Old Town District. We made use of the BBQ and outdoor eating area.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Paradise Getaway in the city

Review submitted: May 18, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

This place is paradise! Very private and secluded with great amenities. The pool was gorgeous with beautiful landscape & even a grassy area for our Lab to play ball. Our toddler loved sleeping in the bunk beds in the cabana. Everything you need is here including an awesome grill, washer & dryer, private parking spot, & beautiful shower. Very clean & adorable with plenty of linens. Just 2 blocks from fun Old Town & anything you need! We will definitely try to stay here again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great vacation rental

Review submitted: April 27, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

My sister and I rented this property during the third week in April. We wanted something in the Old Town area that was close to the trolley/bus station, as we were not renting a car on this trip. Bob's place met all of our needs and the location was great. Even though the owner is next door we felt we had total privacy. This property is exactly as pictured on VRBO. We especially liked the roomy deck out back where we could enjoy the sun without looking into other peoples back yards. The deck and pool area is very secluded. Since I had lived in SD years ago we didn't have many questions about what to see and do, however Bob did tell us about some things that were new to me, and he would be a good source of information for anyone who had not visited there before. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this property to friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Brk Get Away

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

Great lil place to go and rest. My family and I enjoyed our stay. Bob the owner was very helpful and welcoming. The property was clean through out and the location was awesome. We miss Stanford (owners dog), although Bob keeps him put away my daughter got to play with him the last day and has great memories of that. thnx Bob, hope to see you again soon. Montijo Family.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Stanford says Thank You!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location!

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

We were happy with our stay at this property. The location was great and was walking distance to Old Town. The unit was as expected but could have been a bit cleaner. Overall good value for the money.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: April 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

I am late writing this review, but I did need to put the word out!
We had a wonderful stay at this studio, my husband, daughter and I, and our 2 dogs.
The owner was wonderful and put water out for the pooches before our arrival and was very helpful with recommendations on where to visit.
The studio is perfect for a short or long stay and my daughter loved the cabana.
Easy access to San Diego and just a short walk to the old town.
Thank you for having us and we will be sure to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful stay for five!

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: March 20, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here for spring break. The two separate rooms were great for having two kids (6 & 8), parents, and a grandma along. We all felt we could find a little privacy, if needed. We arrived very late - around midnight! The door to the studio was a little confusing (I was just tired) so poor Bob had to help us get situated. He was more than helpful our entire stay with great sight-seeing suggestions. We bought Go San Diego cards through Costco and saw LEGOLAND, San Diego Zoo, and Sea World with a discount. We borrowed a cooler out on the lovely deck to pack lunches each day. There was a Trader Joes and Vons in the same complex about 1-2 miles away. When we had trouble with a coffee pot, Bob was quick to offer a new one. The pool was cold in March but we still used it at least 3 times. The deck was perfect for relaxing. The futon beds in the studio were very comfortable. The bunk bed was comfortable but squeaky. During our stay, we also visited Pacific Beach, La Jolla Cove, Coronado, Fleet Science Center, Balboa Park, a few local breweries, and some great casual restaurants. We found San Diego to be easy to navigate and our little home was a unique and cozy place to return each evening. We enjoyed having a special place that wasn't a "cookie cutter" hotel room. We will remember this property. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome

Review submitted: March 20, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

This was my first time using VRBO, and I must say it was a wonderful experience. The owner was quick on his e-mail responses and accommodating with our late arrival (2:00 am). Everything in this cute cabana was just as described. We had three adult women and two teenage girls staying here. It was a bit difficult getting us all out in the morning with one bathroom, but we managed! The cabana was very clean and well stocked. The beds were all very very comfortable. We did see the owner a couple of times, he was very friendly and had some wonderful recommendations of area attractions. This property is steps away from being in the middle of Old Town San Diego, but we heard no noise of the lively atmosphere just a couple blocks away. I would definitely recommend this property to others and would love to stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We will stay again and again...

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 12, 2013

We stayed the second week of March when we went to San Diego for a funeral. We chose this instead of a hotel because it was a great price, pet friendly, and had 2 separate areas for me and my 2 girls, 14 and 5, and for my 88 year old grandfather. The house was beautiful and close to everything, the owner was so nice and was always there when I needed him. The property was clean and in a very safe, nice neighborhood. The pool is clean and they even have a BBQ to cook on and lounge chairs to sit and enjoy the weather! Its within walking distance to Old Town Sand Diego and just a few minutes from Sea World and the beaches! WELL WORTH it and we will be back again and again!! I will definitely recommend this to a friend. Thank you

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We will stay again and again...

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 12, 2013

We stayed the second week of March when we went to San Diego for a funeral. We chose this instead of a hotel because it was a great price, pet friendly, and had 2 separate areas for me and my 2 girls, 14 and 5, and for my 88 year old grandfather. The house was beautiful and close to everything, the owner was so nice and was always there when I needed him. The property was clean and in a very safe, nice neighborhood. The pool is clean and they even have a BBQ to cook on and lounge chairs to sit and enjoy the weather! Its within walking distance to Old Town Sand Diego and just a few minutes from Sea World and the beaches! WELL WORTH it and we will be back again and again!! I will definitely recommend this to a friend. Thank you

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming, cozy and comfortable

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 27, 2012

What a great little gem this studio is! The location cannot be beat and the accommodations are quite comfortable. We enjoyed the proximity to all of the great attractions in the area and had the opportunity to chat with the owner, Bob to get some ideas of must-see spots from a San Diego local.

The space was comfortable and well-maintained, the private parking made coming and going a breeze.

Will certainly recommend this owner and his rental to my friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanks for a great stay!!!

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 19, 2012

Perfect location! Rental provides everything one could need for a comfortable stay.
Great owner. Around if you need him, but stays completely out of your way if you
don't. Private pool and separate cabana wonderful for couples and families with kids. I highly recommend this vacation rental.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Buck I traveler

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

The rental was in a great location,convenient to anywhere you wanted to go in San Diego.Short walk to shops & restaurants and the private parking a real plus.The unit was quite comfortable with everything you needed to feel at home.The owner was friendly and most helpful with any and all requests.I hope to go back to San Diego in the not-to-distant future and stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Location & Beautiful Rental

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

I stayed at this rental along with my whole family, which included my wife & 4 young children. They loved the inground pool and the Cabana with the bunk beds. This rental provides you with everything you need and more. The location was unbelievable, with just a short drive to some of the attractions we visited like Sea World, The San Diego Zoo and Petco Park (MLB) just to name a few. We even rode the trolley to the baseball game and the station was right down the street. Shopping was also close by, including malls and a grocery store to purchase food for your stay. Bob was very helpful with information about the area that we found to be very helpful during our week vacation for spring break. The rental is very comfortable and provides you with a real sense of home, even though your merely visiting. The surrounding Old Town area was very unique and literally a few minutes walk from the front door. We plan on going back for another stay in the next couple of years and would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this rental to others looking to visit the San Diego area!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: THANK YOU FOR LEAVING THE PROPERTY SO NEAT AND CLEAN.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Rental 270912

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: March 14, 2012

cozy studio rental - all amenities that you would ever need! Inclusive of kitchenette, washer/dryer. The cabana would be a great place to have kids, or separate sleeping quarters if you wished to keep the kitchenette in place.

Bob was a great host - he even provided an umbrella when it insisted on raining all week!
The studio contains all the things a hotel would offer - towels, shampoo, soap, as well as cutlery and kitchen needs (including coffee).

It is very close - 5 min walk - to Old Town, the centre of the transit. Very easy to get the trolley to downtown, less than 10 min trolley ride. A very convenient spot to stay.

thanks again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Owner was a pleasure to deal with.

Review submitted: March 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

Unfortunately our plans changed and we were unable to make our trip to San Diego. After contacting the owner he processed our refund completely and quickly with no problems at all. We received a check within a few days. I hope we get to take the trip in the future; we would have no concerns doing business with this owner again. Thanks !

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Convenient and More

Review submitted: February 2, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

I spent a month at Robert's cozy and very convenient Studio. I loved being able to stroll up through Mission Hills, stop back for a movie in the park, then watch the fireworks from Sea World just standing outside my front door. Location, location, location.......need I say more. The outside area is just the icing on the cake......It is everything, and more, that the ad shows you. I am planning another month very soon and I can't wait!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the 5 star review. There will be a bottle of champagne to toast your return visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

San Diego Old Town Vacation

Review submitted: January 21, 2012   Date of arrival: January 10, 2012

I had a pleasant stay at this quaint poolside condo, with an elegant bathroom, a skylight and its own washer/dryer. The location couldn’t be beat: just a few blocks’ walk to Coyote Café and all the rest of Old Town. Bob was a kind host.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing & Comfortable

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

I loved it, and I will definite;y come back Robert was amazing.

Owners response: YOU WENT OUT OF YOUR WAY TO LEAVE THE PROPERTY CLEAN & NEAT.
THANK YOU FOR BEING GREAT GUESTS. YOU ARE WELCOME BACK ANYTIME.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wow, what a deal!

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights. The location in Old Town is fantastic - within walking distance to everything we wanted to see in the area, and within quick driving distance to the beach. The deck & pool are lovely, and our dog loved running on the grass at this pet-friendly rental. We were able to have our relatives over for a barbecue as well as hang out with friends. We made the "cabana" our bedroom and the main room our kitchen/dining area. We'd definitely love to rent this place again. Highly recommended, and a really great deal for the price!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The perfect vacation spot!

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this property while attending an academic conference. We were thrilled with the location--right off the highway (not noisy, though) and just a couple of blocks from the main drag in Old Town. The apartment is clean, convenient, and fully stocked with everything you'd need and more. Additional amenities like the washer and dryer were found to be even better than expected--they were super quiet and could easily be run while doing other things in the studio apartment. The bathroom was brand new and clean and lovely. The deck was spacious, stocked with patio furniture and a grill. The pool area was beautiful. The extra cabana was perfect for providing a little extra space--it too was clean and comfortable. The owner of the property lives in the adjoining space, but he stayed entirely out of our way, and was more than friendly when we crossed paths. I can't recommend this place more highly, and we'll *definitely* be returning.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place for the whole family

Review submitted: June 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2010

We stayed here a week in summer 2010, and had a great time. We loved the convenience of walking to Old Town shopping and restaurants. The kids loved the Cabana as a private place of their own to hang out, and loved the pool too. We also liked being able to bring our dog with us. We enjoyed meals on the deck in warm weather and indoors in cooler weather. Everything was clean, cozy, modern. The internet (wifi) worked well for us too, which was good for researching the next day's outings. Our host was gracious and helpful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

great place!!!

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 21, 2010

This place was more than what I expected. It had the amenities of a high class hotel without the mundane routine. I especially enjoyed the private pool, and cabana house which were clean and spacious. The pictures on this site are great, but they don’t do it justice. The proximity to the Historic State Park and the Mexican Cafe is well worth it. I went on business, and will return for pleasure.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Beautiful!!!

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: January 15, 2010

Simply gorgeous! My husband and I were looking for a little piece of paradise and we are thrilled to say we found it! This charming studio had all the amenities, including a gorgeous, modern bathroom and brand new appliances. The pool and deck area were fabulous -- private, spacious, and very comfortable. The location couldn't be beat! We were in walking distance from all of the fun Old Town establishments, and just minutes by car from the beach, zoo, Sea World... what an extraordinary trip! I definitely will stay here again and recommend it to all my family and friends!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 34 / 34

 

Beautiful, private, near everything!

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: January 15, 2010

What a fantastic hidden oasis! My husband and I stayed here and we couldn't have asked for more. Brand new appliances, gorgeous modern bathroom, and access to a beautiful, secluded pool and deck. The entrance/exit is private and the owner provided us with everything promised. What we loved the most was how close we were to everything! Walking distance to the most fun places in Old Town, and just minutes from the beach, zoo, Sea World ... what more could we want?! We definitely will stay here again and recommend to all our friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review