reviews for: listing #6286 - Waikoloa Beach Resort, Hawaii Villa rental

Beautiful Quiet End Unit in Waikoloa Colony Villas+ $50 Golf
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Colony Villas
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $99 - $285 /nt
    $775 - $1,995 /wk
    $4,170 - $5,700 /mth

sort by:

Exceptional 2BR at Waikoloa Beach Resort

Review submitted: February 26, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

Two full size bedrooms with two full baths. Kitchen was well equipped. Property in excellent condition. Two lanais with fairway views. Easy walk to pool. Lots of water equipment. Private garage with remote. Owners were great to work with. Great for two couples. Owners provided lots of local information. Golf greens fee discounts provided by owner were great. We will return to this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Our goal is to provide the perfect environment for our guests to have an unforgetable vacation. We belong to the private Kings' Golf Club, so our guests play for just $50 at Waikoloa Kings' Golf Course & $75 at Waikoloa Beach Golf! We offer a unique, beautiful environment with every amenity you could want, including snorkel equipment, boogie boards, beach gear, tennis rackets, as well as a fully stocked kitchen and entertainment for all ages.

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Incredible Vacation Home

Review submitted: August 2, 2014   Date of arrival: July 30, 2014

Hale Pele was the perfect choice for our vacation. The owners went to great lengths to make sure that the house was comfortable and had everything we needed. The house is located in a beautiful part of Waikoloa, near the beach, near shopping and all kinds of entertainment. The area is very quiet and peaceful but yet you didn't have to go far to find all kinds of entertainment. Thank you to Kat and Derry for opening your house to us! We could not have asked for anything more! You truly helped make our vacation a very memorable one. We will not look any further for a place to stay than Hale Pele on our next trip to Hawaii!

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation Spot!

Review submitted: July 25, 2014   Date of arrival: July 11, 2014

We were completely satisfied with this condo, and really felt it lived up to all the reviews we had read that caused us to rent it in the first place. We are a family of 4 with 2 children and the set up was perfect for us in terms of the bedrooms, kitchen and living space. We rented it knowing that we were not on the beach but knew from past trips that didn't matter. It was just a short ride (or walk if it hadn't been hot), and we ended up touring around the Island and going to beaches all over the place in any event. The amenities of this overall development are the best in the overall area, and we loved the pools and golf close to this unit. We got the best tips from the owners about shopping at Costco etc. and used them all. We enjoyed cooking in the great kitchen and enjoyed local restaurants as well. The unit is in perfect condition, great beds and nicely decorated.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family trip to the Big Island

Review submitted: March 31, 2014   Date of arrival: March 16, 2014

My wife , mother and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this very clean,we'll appointed unit. Kat was very helpful and the unit had everything we could ask for. I especially appreciated the golf balls, as I didn't expect to lose as many as I did with the windy days we experienced! I would definitely recommend this property
DJB Canada

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We try to think of everything! Your family is welcome back any time.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Waikoloa Beach

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: October 29, 2013

Wonderfully equipped property. We have been to the island of Hawaii a number of times and stayed in various properties. This property was by far the best. The property owners a were great and attentive. The listing description was accurate including the photos. We will go back as well recommend this property to friends and relatives.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Would stay here again!

Review submitted: October 13, 2013   Date of arrival: September 23, 2013

Awesome stay at Hale Pele. Waikoloa is a great area to establish as your Big Island vacation HQ.

The house is perfect for two couples. The kitchen has everything you will need to prepare your own meals. The Costco in Kona is awesome for stocking up on groceries. The garage is stocked with stuff for the beach and road trips too -- 3 coolers, 4 beach chairs and umbrellas, al sizes of snorkel gear, 4 or 5 boogie boards, etc. I guarantee you will not find this at most other vacation home rentals.

If you are a golfer, the rates you get at the 2 Waikoloa courses ($50 and $75) cannot be beat.

Best part though of renting from here is the owner. So easy to work with and very responsive. Next time I go to the Big Island I'm staying here...that's the bottom line.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our stay at hale pele

Review submitted: September 26, 2013   Date of arrival: September 11, 2013

The property was very accurate in the description, perfectly clean and we would not hesitate to recommend this property to our friends. The condo was decorated beautifully and had all the kitchen utensils we have at our home. This was our 27 trip to the islands; but first to the Big Island, so we explored the island in the day time; but were always back by 6:15PM for the gorgous sunset at the beach, on the property, a two minute drive from the condo, with good parking. We enjoyed HaWi, Akata Falls, Waipio Valley, Kona-Kailua area, Hilo and Waimea. We would recommend, ideally, a minimum 10 day stay because the distances to visit attractions are 30 minutes to 3 hours; but are worth it. We tried our best to eat local food for lunch and a light dinner at the Condo. The owners are friendly and very resonsive. Aloha Bill G.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our best Resort Experience on the Big Island!

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: May 29, 2013

This villa was perfect for our family of 5 and so much more than we had pictured! It is so beautifully and completely furnished (I mean COMPLETE kitchen), that we were able to host a dinner for our friends who were also completing in the Honu half-Ironman on June 1, complete with baking cookies and brownies. Can't do that in a hotel! The furnishings of this villa are upscale, the Maytag washer/dryer was a blessing. And it feels so private, it is hard to tell anyone is even occupying the other villas. This was the most reasonably price of anywhere we stayed on the island. We will definitely come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful condo on the golf course

Review submitted: March 12, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

This condo was perfect for two couples on vacation. It is truly lovely and thoughtfully decorated with original artwork. The kitchen was complete and easy to manuever for several people helping with a meal. The BBQ is close by too. The view of the golf course was very enjoyable with an especially nice view from the upstairs master bedroom. It was sparkling clean and extremely comfortable. They've thought of everything from the welcoming papaya and coffee to the boogie boards and DVD collection. The owners provided great customer service. We also enjoyed the discount rates for golf making this an ideal vacation rental bargain. We'd be happy to return again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hawaii Lover

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

We just returned from a 2 week stay at Hale Pele, and it was wonderful. The condo was well stocked with everything we could possibly need. Kat was fantastic to deal with and always quickly answered any questions I might have. The condo was well situated, a nice little jaunt to the pool, and a great walk to the Hilton or the shops was a great way to start the day. My husband got in lots of golf so the deals were a great help there! I enjoyed catching up on my R&R at the pool which was very quiet and enjoyable. Everything was clean and just as shown in the photos,,It was a great pleasure to stay there
Donn and Gena--Penticton, BC

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lei-about

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

We were very pleased with the condo, its location, furnishings and comfort. The layout for our 2 couples was very good, the 2 bedrooms/bathrooms being on different floors. Kitchen appliances for all normal uses were modern, and worked well. Parking was close by, and there was a view of the golf course which ran beside the unit. A big plus was the discounted golf green fees.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hale Pele

Review submitted: January 27, 2013   Date of arrival: December 15, 2012

Just spent 6 weeks in this wonderful condo. The kitchen is furnished with everything you would ever need with lots of serving pieces and pots and pans. The BBQ is steps away from the unit and very handy. The golf course club house is walking distance from the condo. Beds are comfortable and lots of towels and linens. Lots of toys and chairs for the beach or pool.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hale Pele - Beautiful condo, Great location

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Hale Pele at Waikoloa Beach Resort. Everything was just great – the villa was very comfortable, tastefully decorated, well-equipped and a great location! We checked out several beaches in the area (Mauna Kea a favorite), and sunsets on the A Bay beach and at Lava Lava Beach Club at A Bay were special, too. A big thank you to Kat and Derry, owners, for all the special touches - our stay was memorable and we enjoyed all that Waikoloa Beach Resort and Hale Pele had to offer – wonderful place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise on Earth!!

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Everyone likes a little slice of paradise, whether it's miles of desolate white - sand beaches or acres of rolling, untouched countryside. My idea of Paradise is HAWAII! My family and I were blessed and lucky to find a hidden gem on the big island - The Waikoloa Colony Villas on the sunny Kohala Coast. Our villa was everything we expected and hoped for!! Our hosts Kat and Derry Ryan were amazing! Kat was extremely helpful with directions from the airport to the villa, ideas on where to dine and play and suggestions on how to spend an unforgettable week on the big island. The villa was clean and VERY quiet! I'll never forget the feeling of waking up in this condo. The silence, the sunrise, the beautiful view of the golf course and the taste of fresh, ripe Hawaiian papaya. The price is reasonable and the place is worth every single penny. The villa is located 15 min. away from our favorite place on earth- The Mauna Kea Beach and Hotel. The beach here is magnificent. We had a chance to swim with sea turtles and hundreds of beautiful fish. Thanks Kat and Derry!! We would never stay anywhere else on the Big Island. Not because there are no other options :) But because your villa is simply THE BEST!!

Can't wait for our next visit!!

Mahalo!

The Belghit family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent property

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

Great vacation rental - has absolutely everything needed for Hawaii vacation. We had wonderful time!
Mahalo!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A week at Hale Pele

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 13, 2012

Hello Everyone,

The Hale Pele property at Villa Colony at Wiakoloa Village is a wonderfull experience and a great vacation value. It was a nice experience after a day full of activity to come back to a place that is like home but better.

The properties are clean, the landscaping is well kept by the staff and everyone is friendly.

The owners of Hale Pele are very helpfull and easy to deal with.

I am a fisherman so I did not golf, but the fairway's and greens at Wiakoloa are kept in great condition and provide great scenery for us non golfers.

The pools are maintaned well and kept clean.

Folks, honestly this is a great vacation value, if you are considering the Big Island as a vacation destination.

My wife and daughters were reluctant travelers once they got to Wiakoloa and Hale Pele they were so glad they they came and Dad actually got a hearty thanks from his crew.

So pack up and bring your Aloha you wont regrett it.

John

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 31, 2012

Had a great stay at Hale Pele. It's a beautiful location and our son (2) had so much fun playing on the grassy area outside te condo. We spent all of our time at the kiddy pool, there is a very large area so small children to play. Our son loved it. The condo is very clean and has so many great things that other places do not have. (kitchen items/sauces/seasonings/trash bags). Also Laundry soap is available which was super helpful. The beach toys were great so us to have also. The condo is very spacious with lots of things to do (tv, games, books). We ate dinner almost every night out of the deck and it was great to have a table too. We hope to stay at Hale Pele again on our next trip. Thanks to Kat and Derry for being so responsive and making this whole rental process so easy.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent place for a vacation

Review submitted: April 27, 2012   Date of arrival: April 17, 2012

We spent 7 days in this house. It is very nice with elegant designs, quality furnitures and a lot of spaces. The golf course view is fabulous. The kitchen is full of all tools and cookwares. You can tell the owner is very considerate from many details. The bed is very comfortable. I usually don't sleep well for the first night when in trip. But in this house I slept even better than I was home. The owner also keeps a lot of toys in the garage, including the snorkeling equipments and boogie boards. That's quite convienent. Since we are all beginners for snorkeling, those boards and foam noodles are quite helpful to assure the safety. Of couse it would be ideal if there is a safty vest.

The location is also convienent, with a lot of vacation resorts nearby, especially the wonderful Hilton. We had a lot of fun to play with the dolphin there.

This is my best vacation ever. I really appreciate the owner Kat's great service. Every time I sent a email, I always got a quick response. I used to rent house in other places for vacation but I think this time I got the best service. Thanks Kat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Wonderful Stay at Hale Pele

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: April 11, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful vacation at Hale Pele condo. We vacation in Waikoloa every year, we usually stay at Hilton Waikoloa but we decided to give a condo rental a try this time. We were very impressed how the condo was very well equipped with such a variety of things that you'd need. The condo was very warm and welcoming. The owner Kat was very accommodating to our needs. Thank you so much, Kat! We will definitely come back next year and stay at Hale Pele again!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfectly Peaceful Nest in Paradise

Review submitted: March 10, 2012   Date of arrival: January 18, 2012

We have stayed in many condos in the Waikoloa area over the past several years and this spot is at the very top of the 2 bedroom units. We were here for several weeks and found it perfect for our needs. Very well equipped with both kitchen supplies and sports gear, it allowed us to house a couple of guests and entertain even more. Very clean and well-maintained, it looks even better than the photos. The setting is quiet and relaxing, with a lovely view of the golf course. The golf discount was well-used and appreciated. The unit is about equidistant to the two pools, making it convenient for visiting children with varying water needs. The Colony Villas complex is undoubtedly our favorite in the resort area and this condo is nestled in perfectly. You cannot go wrong here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful condo with tropical breezes

Review submitted: January 1, 2012   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

We loved this condo! During our trip to Hawaii, we stayed at 4 different condos, and this was our favorite! It has a beautiful location- right off of the golf course with nice tropical breezes. We loved sleeping in the upstairs bedroom with the windows open at night- no need for A/C! Very nice lanai with plenty of lawn space to play frisbee. The kitchen had tons of counter space and plates/dishes for 6 people. Excellent WiFi connection, which we really appreciated. This condo is within walking distance of the Hilton Waikoloa Resort (10-15 minutes), which was great, since we were all there for a conference. Also, the artwork in the condo was unique and beautiful- a great touch! The owners responded to our emails promptly and professionally, and even worked with us to reduce the rate for a couple of extra nights! We would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Waikoloa Review

Review submitted: September 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 31, 2011

The property was exactly "as advertised". The unit was very nicely furnished and well maintained. Proximity to Hilton Waikoloa was convenient - just a short 10 minute walk from the unit. For those interested in visiting other parts of the island the unit proved to be a great "home base" for visiting beaches along the Kohala coast, Hawi, Waipio Valley, Mauna Kea and the Hamakua coast. All-in-all I look forward to the next opportunity to visit the Big Island and stay in this unit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

In Hawaii for 18 Days

Review submitted: June 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 5, 2011

Dear Kat and Derry,

Our stay at your condo was such a wonderful experience. We stayed 18 days and left a part of our heart in Hawaii. We cherish the memories and hope to come again soon. We enjoyed staying at your place. Our kids enjoyed their room which was beautifully decorated and just perfect for them. The condo was pristine and very comfortable and I would highly recommend it to honeymooners or families. Thank you for being so easy to work with and having every detailed covered. It was the perfect place to stay and we loved it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful place to stay! Great golf and tennis!

Review submitted: June 24, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

We stayed at this condo last year for our anniversary and I've been meaning to leave a comment ever since! The condo was in excellent condition and couldn't have been more perfect. It was right on the golf course, close to tennis and had everything that you would need.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Best

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: May 25, 2011

The best of the best is all we need to say. Every thing for your stay is at the villa. Great pools lots to see and do. At the end of the day it was better than going home. Will stay again,great towels,great beds.
Home is not this nice thank you for renting this place to us.
We will be back.........

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place to Stay!

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 10, 2011

This was a great choice for our family of four. Lots of space in this very well kept Villa. The kids loved the 2 pools that were available and as well, the beach that was just a short drive away. We saw sea turtles at the beach which was exciting for everyone. Super location in a high quality Villa. Couldn't ask for more. We are looking forward to return as soon as possible!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place to Stay!

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 11, 2011

This was a great choice for our family of four. Lots of space in this very well kept Villa. The kids loved the 2 pools that were available and as well, the beach that was just a short drive away. We saw sea turtles at the beach which was exciting for everyone. Super location in a high quality Villa. Couldn't ask for more. We are looking forward to return as soon as possible!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great for Families

Review submitted: May 19, 2011   Date of arrival: May 2, 2011

We loved our stay. I don't think we could have chosen a better place for our family. This is definately the best place to stay on the island. Close to the nicest beaches and the best weather and accomadations you could ask for. If we ever come back the the Big Island again, we will definatley stay here.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

When Can We Come Back!

Review submitted: March 3, 2011   Date of arrival: February 12, 2011

For those seeking a great golf and beach experience this is the ideal location. Within minutes of each, but property gives you a quiet and relaxed location to enjoy your time in paradise. Could walk to golf if you wanted. Drives to the beach were 5 minutes to 15 minutes depending which beach you desired. Condo unit was very clean,up to date and a pleasure to stay in. Gated community with well kept grounds. Definitely would consider for a return visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice and Easy

Review submitted: January 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2010

The bad news is we only had two nights in Waikoloa this time but the good news is Hale Pele townhouse was the perfect place. Kat made the rental process very easy for us and was able to provide good suggestions for food and activities in the area. She and her husband were very responsive during our stay. The condo easily accommodated our group of two couples and a 12 year old. The photos are more than accurate, the home is very clean and fully stocked from the kitchen to beach and picnic supplies and is even more comfortable than reflected in the photos. There is good separation with the master suite upstairs and the second bedroom and bath downstairs, plus very comfortable common space with an open floor plan in the kitchen, dining room and living room. This is a great location to explore the Kona area to the south and the beautiful coastline to the north. Thank you again for a great stay, Kat...I have already recommended your place to family and friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hale Pele @ Waikoloa Colony Villas

Review submitted: December 17, 2010   Date of arrival: December 6, 2010

It is the best condo rental I have ever stayed in. It was well stocked with everything we would need, but couldn't bring with me. It had beach chairs, beach towels, snorkeling equipment etc.
laundry soap. A very well stocked kitchen, with every cooking utensil I could want. It is beautifully decorated! It was a lovely experience. Nothing was left to chance. the keys were all there and well marked. The the information needed was given clearly. There are notes around the condo requarding how to work equipment. Example the air conditioner, the laundry. The owner must be an interior designer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hale Pete is perfect

Review submitted: October 12, 2010   Date of arrival: September 30, 2010

My wife and I loved this vacation rental. The owner has set this property up with everything you need for a great stay. In fact we actually own a vacation rental business and took notes to improve our company after staying at Kats lovely rental. It couldn't be better. Also for you golfers out there, staying at the Hale Pete let's you play the Beach Course and Kings course at greatly reduced rates. I played the Kings course for $50 and the Beach for just a few dollars more.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect in every detail

Review submitted: October 11, 2010   Date of arrival: September 29, 2010

My wife and I loved this place. We actually own a vacation rental business and took notes because the owner has provided us with many ideas to improve our own services based on how well this owner has set up her property. No kidding, it has everything you need for a enjoyable stay. Big fan of the Hale Pete and will stay again! The golf discount offered with this is a huge benefit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hale Pete is awsome

Review submitted: October 11, 2010   Date of arrival: September 29, 2010

My wife & I stayed and loved it. The owner has taken great care in providing a top notch property to rent. We actually own a vacation rental business and were completely satisified with this rental. In fact the owner has the property so well set up for her guests we took notes so that we can improve our services. There is one super benefit to renting if you are a golfer. You get a huge discount at the Beach & Kings courses.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hale Pele Town House Review

Review submitted: September 30, 2010   Date of arrival: September 20, 2010

I just stayed at the Hale Pele townhouse for 6 nights. The property was in excellent condition besides having air conditioning and a garage to park the car in. Based on my experience the price compared to the quality cannot be matched using Aston or Outrigger. This unit is in a perfect location and very quiet. You can walk to the nearby hotels, beach or shopping centers. I can highly recommend renting this unit if you are looking for a clean and quiet unit that feels like new.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exceptional 2 BR unit Waikoloa Colony Villas

Review submitted: September 22, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

We had a wonderful time at Waikoloa Colony Villas -- #601 this past August. We loved your unit! It was perfect for our family (2 adults, 2 teens). The rest of our extended family stayed in a unit next door, so it was especially nice to have everyone close by. Having stayed at Waikoloa Colony Villas before, I can honestly say that we loved your unit's location the best. Every day we'd see a pair of wild turkeys and flocks of finches visit the grassy area near the lanai. It seemed very peaceful and private overlooking the large expanse of lawn bordering the golf course.

We appreciated all of the attention to details that you have given by leaving a nice notebook guide and printed instructions everywhere in the unit. They were very helpful.
Your kitchen was well stocked and we loved that there were plenty of spices available. It always helps not to have to buy those for 2 weeks. The living room was cozy and comfortable and what a great collection of DVDs! And thank you for having a hose on the lanai. We used it to wash our scuba gear. All in all, it was a very enjoyable vacation and we look forward to the
possibility of returning again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A home away from home

Review submitted: September 16, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

This place was lovely in every respect. The owners provided very helpful information on dining and shopping facilities nearby. The Kings and Queens areaa are close by and provide just about everything you can possibly need. The swimming pools on the property are dilightful. The air-conditioning worked properly, and the WI-FI hook-up was easy and functioned flawlesly. We highly recommend this condo. M & B

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A fantastic visit

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 15, 2010

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay in Hale Pele. It was the perfect set up for our family of 4. We loved the convenient location to the best beaches on the island and walking to the Hilton was fun way to spend the afternoon. You have done a great job outfitting the condo with all of the conveniences one would want on vacation - chairs, cooler, tennis rackets, beach toys, snorkel gear, reef shoes and more! We also took advantage of the great golf discount and had a great round!
The lanai was a peaceful place with great views of the golf course and mountains.
Kat, I really appreciate all of your help and advice on places to visit and things to do during our visit - you were so kind and helpful.
Our next visit to The Big Island will definitely include a stay at Hale Pele.

Thanks again!
Cindy

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great place -- better than expected!

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: June 22, 2010

This condo was as good as it seemed in the listing, and the owners were professional and reasonable to deal with. If I were a golfer, it would have been even better! We were about 15 minutes behind schedule on checkout though, and the house cleaners were not so friendly, but otherwise I recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 23, 2010   Date of arrival: April 22, 2010

It's our first time visiting Hawaii and staying at this villa made it enjoyable and confortable. The location of the resort made it convenient to go to many golf courses especially Kings and Beach, only 2 minutes away. We went to Volcano and had a chance to view many fantastic scenaries along the way.

We had a great time in Hawaii and staying here was a big part of it. Great location and very home-like.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 23, 2010   Date of arrival: April 21, 2010

My wife and I came here to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Hale Pele villa was just perfect: so comfortable and quiet. We enjoyed exploring the island, through the lava did get kind of old after 8 days. We were very impressed with the number of eco-systems (11) on this small island.

We did leave a few things in case we ever get to come back.

Thanks again for the sweet hospitality. God's blessings on all who stay here.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 23, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

Our family had a wonderful time here. We went almost everywhere. Down to Kona, Queens, Kings, etc. We even went ziplining. : - )

The house was great and so was the community. We enjoyed the pool and excercise area. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 23, 2010   Date of arrival: March 23, 2010

We had a wonderful time here! Highlights included:
- boogie boarding at Hapuna Beach & Mauna Kea Beach
- looking out over Wai'po Valley
- hiking to Akaka Falls in the rain
- touring & tasting at Greenwell Farms Coffee
- visiting Place of Refuge near Kona
- driving up the northern Kohala Coast
- driving the over-rated (ie not terrifying) Saddle Road
- enjoying Tropical Dreams Ice Cream
-eating at Hili Sue's in Waimea and at Roy's in Waikoloa
- beign together as a family - 2 parents & 2 adult daughters

This was a lovely villa & we especially enjoyed the artwork.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 23, 2010   Date of arrival: March 17, 2010

Aloha! Thank you for such a place to stay! My kids want to move in. Loved all the extras you have in condo for your guests.
- Costco trip is a must!
- We love to beach hop! Hapuna Beach was a favorite 3 x beach for kid-friendly and boogie boarding. Only beach not worth a stop in our book and most locals is Spencer.
- Ali Drive best place to find sea turtles and fun beach for black sand (need H2O shoes).
- Mauna Kea Beach best for first time body surfing.
- Off to volcano and green beach then home to Arizona!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 23, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

Aloha,

Like everyone has said the condo is awesome. Here are some tips:

1. Go to Costco ASAP. A gallon of milk at Costco $4, ABC Store $8.
2. Tour at the Original Chocolate Factory in Kona. Imformative and fun.
3. See lava going into the ocean, only 1/2 mi. hike. Need hiking boots, lights.
4. Get a 4-wheel drive and go to Waipo Valley, Hi'ilaawe Falls - breathtaking! Cool off in the freshest tropical river water, after swimming on a great boogie-boarding beach. (My kids were in there for 4 hrs.)
5. If you have kids go to Ken's Pancake House, Hilo. Kids begging to go back.
6. Green Sand Beach (South Hawaii) fun, but a HARD 4-wheel drive to beach.
7. Great golfing (cheap thanks to owners). Watched whales breach while putting!

We will be back. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 23, 2010   Date of arrival: February 23, 2010

Had 4 terrific days on the Big Island. Golf was excellent - prefer the Beach Course. If you travel 10 min. to Waikoloa Village the food is cheaper and selection greater. There is also a Saturday (farmers') market with economical fruit and vegetables. At the resort beach turn left, walk 100 yds to the lava flow shoreline and there are often turtles (4-5) sunning.

The villa was excellent- well stocked and very comfortable. We had a wonderful time and thank you for your very gracious hospitality.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 11, 2010   Date of arrival: May 11, 2010

I was unsure about the location and the place since I have never been to Hawaii before. It was my parents 40th anniversary and Golf was major activity for us. The location was fantastic, close from the Airport, and convenient to basically everything, golf, shopping, food, beaches etc. I would definitely visit here again in future. Oh yeah, the place was clean and good location for us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 8, 2010   Date of arrival: March 8, 2010

Thank you Kat and Derry! We had such an amazing time. It was the perfect escape from the crowds of the Olympics happening at home. Your place was incredibly well stocked and so conveniently located to everything. Only 5 minutes to Hapuna Beach (our fave), 15 minutes to the best ice cream in Hawi town and only 15 minutes to fabulous restaurants in Kailua Kona. Mahalo for everything!

Owners response: Whoa! That's driving pretty fast. I would add 5-10 minutes on to your drive times to stay close to the speed limit on the 2 lane highway. Mahalo for your stars!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: February 4, 2010

We had a great time on our 12 day vacation. The accommodations were very nice, clean and comfortable. The Waikoloa Colony gated community was in a convenient location and was well maintained, quiet and secure. The condo we stayed was really in about the best location within the property. The instructions we received prior to our arrival were accurate and well organized and we had no problems finding the place or getting in. We had our Papaya breakfast each morning on the patio from which you can view the golfers playing the10th hole and both pools located on the property were within short walking distance. We cooked “at home” on several occasions and the place had all the provisions we needed including nice dishes and silverware, pots and pans and a big selection of spices. There was even a new package of Kona coffee there for our 1st morning that lasted throughout the trip. Activities were close by and we took advantage of the discount golf and used the snorkel gear and the cooler in the garage. We parked our Jeep in the garage every night. Overall we had a very good experience and would stay here again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: January 10, 2010   Date of arrival: January 10, 2010

Hale Pele is such a wonderful place to relax.
Everything you need is all there. The condo is very
open, clean, quiet and it feels like home. You step
outside to a large Palm tree lined Bermuda grass
area that my family I relaxed and played in many
times. Very few people at the pools so that was
nice for us (we did go to the Hilton a couple of
times for the kids for slides, etc.). Great value at
the golf course, saw whales breach while playing
one day! Enjoy I know we did. Aloha

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 20, 2009   Date of arrival: November 20, 2009

Comfy as always, loved the new art work and kitchen redo. Thanks especially for sharing cocktail hour with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 8, 2009   Date of arrival: November 8, 2009

We are sad to leave today to go home to Maui. We have a new favorite place to come to for our mini getaways.

It is such a cozy place and peaceful. Also, so nice to see that the aloha spirit is still alive here.

We will definately return and recommend you guys. Thank you for being so accomadating to us, so that we could attend the Paniolo induction. Mahalo and Aloha!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 6, 2009   Date of arrival: November 6, 2009

Aloha to All,

We have had yet another great holiday in Paradise - sad to be leaving. But we'll be back! The golfing was terrific - 3 of us played 6 rounds in both the Kings & Beach courses - so a big thank you! The weather has been wonderful - even in the vog!!! Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 16, 2009   Date of arrival: September 16, 2009

What a wonderful home! We all had a great time. Thanks for stocking kids plates, cups, utensils.

We loved-
Seeing waterfalls
The ocean sweeping in!
Golf
Running in the grass in the backyard
Picking plumeria flowers

This was our first visit to the Big Island- we'll be back for sure!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 14, 2009   Date of arrival: September 14, 2009

We stayed at the Hale Pele in late August, 2009.

The house was comfortable, clean, spacious and thoughtfully equipped with not only the necessities but extras like boogie boards, snorkelling gear and more. We were most impressed with this elegant and comfortable house and the grounds, pool and entire property were beautifully kept.

Thank you so much for allowing us to stay here. Our ohana enjoyed the hale and we hope to be back next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 4, 2009   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

Kat-

We throughly enjoyed our stay at your at Hale Pele in August. The golf was great and of course the area is so much fun. If only we had more time!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 19, 2009   Date of arrival: August 19, 2009

The condo is beautiful and came equipped with everything we needed. We will definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 16, 2009   Date of arrival: August 16, 2009

Beautiful home to stay in or live in. Wonderful to be surronded by green grass, plumera trees, tropical breezes, space and views of distant mountains. The house is spacious, comfortable and stylish. We were all impressed!

Thank you also for providing not only the essentials, but extra items to make our stay more enjoyable. Waikoloa is a wonderful place to stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 16, 2009   Date of arrival: August 16, 2009

This is an absolutely beautiful, spacious home. Perfectly kept and loaded with everhthing you could need- the pool and beach toys are a huge bouns. It's located on a beautiful property with a tropical paradise pool. A Bay beach is loaded with sea turtles which is unlike any beach I have ever been to. This is a perfect vacation home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 28, 2009   Date of arrival: July 28, 2009

We waited a long time to get back to the Big Island - 11 years. Our stay at Hale Pele made it worth the wait! We can't believe how much has changed in the time since we were married at Buddha Point at the Hilton Waikoloa.

Your condo is lovely, perfect for families. Our two boys had a fantastic time at the pool and beach with all the great toys and boogie boards. We also brought our niece as a congrats for her high school graduation. She has thoroughly enjoyed her 1st trip to Hawaii.

I watched my oldest son and my niece snorkel with sea turtles at A Bay. We spent a day at the Hilton on pool passes enjoying the water slide and lagoon activities and remembering our wedding. We visited Ocean Rider and loved seeing the seahorses up close. We drove around the west side and spent an afternoon at Hapuna. He went to a luau.

We're off to Volcano tomorrow for a couple of days. Thanks so much for a wonderful stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 11, 2009   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

Aloha!

You just cannot have a bad time here because there is so much to do!

First hubby golfed 5-6 times because he just couldn't beat the price!

We visited Volcano National Park & took a helicopter ride around the volcano. We landed and were able to walk on 8 mm. of lava. We used Paradise Helicopters out of Hilo. We also did the night lava hike to see it frlow into the ocean. If you've heard of geocaching we fond some fun geocaches to do/find here.

One of the highlights, especially for the kids, was horse back riding in Waipio Valley. They have ATV tours as well.

Our favorite beach was Hapuna. Thanks so much for all the beach toys. The kids had a great time using them. We enjyoed our stay here very much.

Back to Arizona but we loved out stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 17, 2009   Date of arrival: June 17, 2009

We've had tons of fun and are extremely sad to leave. Here's what we did this week:

Went to Volcano National Park, absolutely amazing view!
Went to a beach, got to swim, definitely fun day.
Went to another beach, used boogie boards and snorkeling gear.
Went back to first beach, snorkel a bit, got bad sunburn.
Kayaking a Kealakekua Bay, where when you get to the other side you can snorkel and see dozens of fish swim in coral.
Today went shopping at King's and Queen's then relaxed, watched sunset, ate dinner and went swimming.

I hope the next family that gets to stay at Hale Pele has an outstanding time just like our family did. We loved the view and toys and pool. Mahalo

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 5, 2009   Date of arrival: May 5, 2009

REALLY enjoyed our stay at Hale Pele! I thought it would just be a regular condo in a big development, but from the beginning it really felt like home. To my surprise it was very quiet in the surrounding community yet things that we needed were very close by and handy. All the litle extra like a selection of kitchen utensils, beach chairs and a Weber BBQ across the street were very welcome additions. There are several nice beaches within 10 miles to the north, where we spent a lot of time in the sun. The weather was perfect - apparently this is the norm. The golf discount at the Kings Course was terific. They treat you like royalty at the course! I've already recommended Hale Pele to a business associate and I intend to return.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 17, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

2/10/09 - 3/10/09 This was our 9th winter escape to the Big Island and stay in the Waikoloa complex. Our stay this year in Ryan's Hale Pele was a first and a new high light. The unit is perfectly located on the 15th. fairway of the Beach Course, beautifully decorated and very well furnished. How great it was to go to the beach, market in town, to Hilo or the volcano and return home to such confort. We look forward to our next get-a-way on the Big Island....at Hale Pele.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 17, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

We had a super time at your villa. We were especially pleased to see all of the extras, like beach chairs and boogie boards. Our son and his wife played both golf courses and raved about the course and were appreciative of the discounts that they received. We had a great dinner at Roy's. The manager really took care of us. We hated to come home. Dave and Ellen Weinman

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 11, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

We had a fantastic time at the Hale Pele. The villa was very clean with beautiful Hawaiian decor and the grounds/facilities in the Colony villas were exceptional. I will definitely book a stay at Hale Pele the next time I'm on the Big Island.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 31, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

This was our first experience taking a vacation in a "home" vs hotel setting. We were very apprehensive...but as soon as we walked into the doorway our fears turned to relief. Hale Pele was the best environment for our 3 children. In the freezer were three popsicles to greet them! The games and movies also helped. We will definitely return. Thanks for the memories!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 2, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

Hale Pele was a great stay for our family. Great location and well furnished. It was very clean and comfortable. The beach gear was much appreciated and our boys loved the toys and boogie boards. Everything was just as advertised and we had a great time. The golf discount was also a nice bonus. We would certainly stay here again on our next trip to the Big Island.

Jimmy and Yumi

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 10, 2008   Date of arrival: October 10, 2008

A big thank you for the great place to stay at Hale Pele. We had a wonderful time. Your place is decorated beautifully and has all the comforts of home. It really made our vacation more relaxing with the kids. We loved the colors in the living room...I took the info - the darker green will soon be in my kitchen. We enjoyed the beaches, Hilo area as well as Volcano park. Too many great things to see during our stay. Cheers!

LeRoy, Christine, Isabella, Tristan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 8, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

Thank you for providing lovely accommodations for our stay on the big island. We appreciated all the extras - the well-equiped kitchen, the linens, and the play equipment and certainly the decor. Although we spent almost every minute exploring, we greatly appreciated coming "home" to a clean and comfortable residence. Nothing was lacking. Thank you very much for being so considerate!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 5, 2008   Date of arrival: October 5, 2008

Wow! We had a great time visiting this area & checking out the sites.

We enjoyed both A-Bay & Hapuna Beaches. Our 15 month and 3 1/2 yr old both were able to enjoy them, too.

The drive to Kilauea Volcano is long, but worth it. Check out the lava tube walk, very neat!

Check out Akaka Falls - it's well worth it. It was very beautiful. Beware of leaving valuables in the car...a car was broken into while we were there.

We enjoyed our visit in this very beautiful & well-equipped home. We hope to visit again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 17, 2008   Date of arrival: September 17, 2008

Our family really enjoyed staying at your condo. It was perfect for our 2-yr-old - the pool, toys for the beach & well-equipped kitchen!

We particularly enjoyed: Akaka Falls, viewing the volcano & of course, Hapuna & A-Bay Beaches. Kahala Dive Shop for scuba & Kauai Kai 6 mi north of here for a great dive spot.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 1, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at your hale. We flew over from Oahu so my husband could paddle in the 18 mile Queen Lili'ukolani Canoe Race. It's been 5 great days.

We drove to Waipio Valley & hiked to the black sand beach. What a hike! (25% grade down means 25% up, too!) OY!

Thanks for sharing with us. This was such a great deal. Can't wait to come back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 24, 2008   Date of arrival: August 24, 2008

Thanks for your extra generous hospitality! This is a very warm and friendly place making us feel like special guests. The islands have their different personalities for sure.Highlights: -Being two geologists, we visited the volcano twice: One all day trip to Volcano Nat'l Park & sights along the way & once again at night to see lava light up at Kalapana lookout area. This was totally miraculous! -Puna district is tropical, wild & interesting. - Walk for an extra mile along the left side (south) of the A Bay beach. It’s amazing, secluded and very turtle populated.- At the Hilton you can take the monorail and hop on the safari boat to get a good look at the property from end to end. Eat a lunch by the dolphins. I don’t expect to ever see a more amazing hotel.- The little hike down/up to Pololu Valley at the very north end was really worth it. Take water.-Hapuna Beach was "sunburn beach" for us, so don't stay too long. Even SFP 55 failed.- We only went south to Kona once due to heavy vog (none here on Kohala Coast) and highway construction traffic jams. We saw one excellent place – Place of Refuge at Pu’uhonua O Honaunau. World class snorkeling!- The boys enjoyed golfing best of all, playing 3 rounds, at both Kings' and Beach courses.My two favorite things about Hawaii are the natural colors which appear everywhere in different arrangements and the state law that allows beach access all around the islands. Those two things make Hawaii unbeatable. Thanks for the great place to stay. We'll be recommending the place for sure & hope to come back. It’s a great resort area and home base.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 30, 2008   Date of arrival: July 30, 2008

This was our 2nd stay here - every 3 years.

Our location here was superb, having space & amenities to chill out. A washer/drier was essential!

The highlight of our visit was the walk down at dusk with our flashlights to watch the lava flow hit the ocean, the mini-explosion of glowing orange. We topped it off a couple of days later with the helicopter tour & have the DVD to prove it.

We did an Ocean Safari kayak tour - fun! A 3.5 mile round trip with some snorkeling & cliff jumping. It was harder work than I thought, my husband supposedly "steering from the back," our 9 yr old son in the middle just chilling out - not paddling, & myself paddling. It was an experience & well worth doing, even though it pretty much finished us off for the day! It was great to be out in the open.

Snorkeling was great - the marine life was superb!

Excellent sandwiches from Buns in the Sun. I tried the kaluau pig ones, delicious. Mike enjoyed the ono fillet twice.

Dinner at Hilton's Dantani was supurb with views, especially if you get outdoor seating with the sunset. Hilton was a huge place & taking their complementary boat was fun!

It only seems like yesterday we arrived & now it is time to go home! We'll have our memories & Mike will have his sunburn.

Many thanks for having such a supurb place to stay & we'll be back soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 23, 2008   Date of arrival: July 23, 2008

All the conveniences of home! It is so nice to have a place to stretch out and relax - to be able to cook some meals in - and to have all the beach gear handy!

Hapuna Beach is a must. Beautiful sandy beach and easy swimming for our 7-yr-old. A Bay was OK. Very convenient, but you need your water shoes (It's rocky underfoot in some places).

Kona is a drive due to traffic. Waimea is much easier to get to if you want to try some local food at Waimea Center. (Kamkuela Deli). Enjoy!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 14, 2008   Date of arrival: July 14, 2008

We really enjoyed staying at Hale Pele. A full kitchen, washer/dryer, and beach amenities like a cooler and umbrella make staying here even more of a value.

We rented air tanks at Scuba Shack by Costco & did a lot of beach dives. Puako was best. We went in in front of house #40. There were 5 resting turtles on the shore & many more within the first few feet in the water. Although Waikoloa is a bit far from the airport (17 miles) & dive shop, it was well worth it to stay in such a nice place. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 11, 2008   Date of arrival: July 11, 2008

ALOHA! Some of our favorites:

1) Two-Step Beach. Lots of life - turtles, eels & plenty of fish

2) Body Glove - morning snorkel trip - good food, pretty good snorkeling & very kid-friendly - water slide and diving platform off the boat

3) Hilo Farmers Market - fresh fruit/vegetables & fun cheap knick-knacks!

4) Diving on Puako Beach - awesome, beautiful water & sea life

5) For a day trip - to to Kapoho Beach to snorkel(really neat tidal pools). Would recommend to go there first & then Waiopae pond (natural hot ponds).

Before you go home check out the lava flow at the end of Hwy 130!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 29, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

Kat and Derry's home on the Big Island was amazing. Very beautifully decorated, from the furniture to the dishes, everything had a modern touch of Aloha. There were more than enough 'beach toys' in the garage - in fact we used their snorkel equipment and boogie boards a few times!
I would definitely reccommend this clean, bright & beautiful home to my friends. Thanks for such a great stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 21, 2008   Date of arrival: June 21, 2008

Five days at Hale Pele was just too short! We enjoyed every minute.

This time we hiked the Pololu Overlook to Black Sand Beach, had a wonderful fresh lunch at the Kohala Rainbow Cafe by the Kamehameka statue. We spent 3 mornings at Mauna Kea Beach snorkelling, used the gym and pool. Enjoyed the wonderful (free) "Goddess" hula show at Mauna Lani Shoppes on Wed. night. Lunches at Cafe Pesto and Jackie Rey's in Kona were excellent.

We also enjoyed cooking in your well-equipped kitchen.

Our 3rd visit to Hale Pele was even better than the first two. We'll be back.

Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 18, 2008   Date of arrival: May 18, 2008

We couldn't have asked for a better Mother's Day. This was just what the doctor ordered - total relaxation with all the comforts of home.

We've been to Hawaii many times, as we explored up north - the falls, Waipio Valley, did ATV's, hiking - we truly felt more like guests of your home, rather than vacation renters. We will be back & bring the adult kids.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 12, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

It was such a pleasure to stay at Hale Pele. Kat has done an amazing job at decorating and anticipating what one might need while staying at the condo. We've rented from various places in the islands and this was the best experience! We plan on staying here again. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 4, 2008   Date of arrival: May 4, 2008

Thanks for letting us stay in your wonderful Hale.

We had a great time at:
- Anaehoomalu Bay - drinks!
- Waialea Beach - snorkeling!
- Hapuna Beach - swimming!
- Manini'owale Beach (Kua Bay)- body surfing!
- Kings Course - great golf! The discount alone was worth the trip!
- Our pool here - good BBQ!

Thanks!

Live Aloha,

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 19, 2008   Date of arrival: April 19, 2008

What a fabulous place - excellent decor & kitchen so well equiped I was inspired to make sushi. We had 12 days to explore the island.

Favorites are:
1) 5 minutes to the best sunset on the island, maybe in the world.
2) Hiking down boiling pots to Akaka Falls for a totally private picnic (shhh!)
3) BIG TURTLES! on the beach!
4) Exploring volcano! And our excellent ranger-led tour at Volcanoes Nat'l Park.

The hawaii trip will always remain a wonderful memory and is a stored-up font of relaxation as I go into the real world.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 6, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

Thank you so much for providing such a wonderful place for us to stay! It was very comfortable, clean and perfectly located for all that we wanted to do while on the island. :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 2, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

In December 2007 we made our first visit to the Big Island. We have rented Maui properties for the past 20 years. It was a great pleasure to rent Hale Pele from Kat and Derry Ryan. The unit is very well maintained and wonderfully decorated. But the real bonus was dealing with Kat and her incredible efficiency and professionalism with plenty of Aloha spirit. Well-recommended all round.
Grace & Bill,
British Columbia, Canada

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 26, 2008   Date of arrival: February 26, 2008

Thanks very much for offering your lovely condo for rent. We had a great time. The place is fantastic.

We enjoyed playing both the Beach & Kings Golf Courses. We saw whales from the green on the 12th hole of the Beach Course. Akaka Falls were spectacular, as was the Volcano Crater Rim Drive.

It was a great get-away from cold, wintery Canada. If only it were for longer...

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 16, 2008   Date of arrival: February 16, 2008

We arrived at Hale Pele this afternoon and have decided that your home is spectacular. The home was clean and in excellent order. Your hospitality in leaving the fresh fruit and macadamia nuts was appreciated.

Your notes in the looseleaf were thoughtful and useful. We look forward to playing your two golf courses. The discount for the family membership will be an excellent cost savings for us.

You have welcomed us as family and we look forward to a wonderful week in your home. Thank you for your warm graciousness.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 9, 2008   Date of arrival: January 9, 2008

We had a great time in this place. Wonderful area with a lot to offer.

Waialea Beach (Beach 69), north, was our favorite Beach. The bay there is great for ocean swimming and snorkeling.

Thank you for having this wonderful place. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 2, 2008   Date of arrival: January 2, 2008

We had a wonderful time here.

Our favorite places were:

The Coffee Shack - a grat little cafe with great views and great food. It's in Captain Hood on Hwy 19 south of Kailua-Kona at mile marker 108.

Merriman Market Cafe for lunch at Kings Shops.

Pu'uhonua o Honaunau - a national park. Look for the turtles. Consider bringing snorkel gear.

Stroll thru Hilton Waikoloa.

Thank you,

The Takshita Family

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 15, 2007   Date of arrival: December 15, 2007

A fabulous condo in a great resort area. You decor and art work stand head and shoulders about the rest.

Favorite sunset drink & pupus - the Prince at Hapuna Beach. Great tapas-style dinner at the Beach Grill - super service.

The Royal Thai at Keauhou worth the stop on the way back from Volcano.

Highways 250 & 190 - great scenic routes.

Market at Waikoloa Village Highland Center is the most convenient, not to mention the friendliest place for all your foods. The fresh amalassadas are VERY tasty.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 7, 2007   Date of arrival: December 7, 2007

Favorites:

This place & location is perfect for us...loved kitchen, having washer & dryer...the kiddy pool...Mauna Kea Beach...even the $16 sandwiches.

Pu'uhonua o Honauhau, Place of Refuge...beautiful, peaceful, sea turtles.

Loop to Hawi...ice crean shop there...back through Waimea.

Waikoloa Village Market

Kona Brewing Co...pizza

Natural Energy Lab...Beach...Great with rough surf for kids

Sunsets at property south of Hilton...stars out back...tropical storms

Heading back to 32 degrees,

Sarah, Steve, Hiloi & Finn

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 18, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

Kat & Derry: Your condo is great! We particularly enjoyed the higher quality bedding, the wireless router, and having a garage!! We hope to call you again soon...Mahalo & Aloha, Pat & Terrie from SC.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 13, 2007   Date of arrival: October 13, 2007

Our nephew is an IRONMAN! (Joshua Berman). What and exciting event with amazing athletes & volunteers.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 8, 2007   Date of arrival: October 8, 2007

We really enjoyed the condo! Very toddler-friendly for our 13-month-old boy/girl twins. All the restaurants we ate at were very good. The beaches were good and lots of fun. Thank you for sharing your home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 27, 2007   Date of arrival: September 27, 2007

This is an amagingly well-equipped, lovely condo! I appreciated the tiki and mermaid statues, welcome basket, blender for smoothies, and there was even my favorite movie, "Strictly Ballroom". I live on the Big Island so I have stayed at some of the resorts in this area before, but never more comfortably. Aloha nui.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 20, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

I was hesitant to book this condo because I longed for an 'ocean view'; because we were only there for work 2 days (installing a residential elevator at Mauna Lani), I decided to book Kat's unit because of it's proximity to our work, and forgo the view. I was soooo impressed with the unit as well as the view--it is excellent! straight out past the golf course with the mountains with palms trimming the fairway; it is fairly private and very quiet. The interior is
first rate, I especially loved the high quality sheets and comfy bed--fantastic value and I'd book this unit again without hesitation--Enjoy!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 2, 2007   Date of arrival: September 2, 2007

Thanks you for sharing your beautiful home. We enjoyed our stay here & being able to use all the beach gear. Especially liked your paint choices & art. As always our days were filled with outings. We went to Hilo & visited the train museum & new astronomy museum. Traveled to Hawi & golfed at a 6 hole course - Kamehameha Park. Enjoyed the best snow cones in Kona at a place next to Longs. The mac nut factory is fun, but be sure to visit M-F when they are working. Tried Cafe Pesto up by the cargo port this year & loved the food. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 22, 2007   Date of arrival: August 22, 2007

We loved the condo. It was so well-equiped with everything you need, especially the Kona coffee - nice treat. A lovely condo that was as comfortable as our own home. The pool & jacuzzi were very enjoyable.

The market in Waikoloa Village has great fresh fish and marinated meats.

Our favorite beaches were Kukio and Waiaka - secret, local beaches. Use the blue book in the condo or get to know the locals and they'll tell you about great private beaches. A Bay was another nice beach. At Kukio you can see resting sea turtles in the summer and sea lions in the winter.

If you are looking for a nice dinner - Ruth Chris' Steak house, Roy's, and the restaurant at the Hilton are all delicious yet expensive.

The volcanic park past Hilo is one-of-a-kind, but make sure to leave early for it. On the way you can stop at Akaka Falls. If you hear what you think is a bird's call there, it is actually a frog. Some of the towns along the way are also nice to stop and shop/eat at.

Another great sight is Waipio Valley, where you can hike and take pictures. There is a nice little maccademia nut factory on the way, Kame Factory, where you should buy all your gifts. The best snorkeling we found was at Waiaka Beach, where there is a huge coral reef. At Mauna Kea you can see manta rays between 7 and 9 PM. Use the blue book as you only guice.

If you want to swim with the dolphins, book early at DolphinQuest in the Hilton. Afterwards, go snorkeling in their Lagoon Lanai.

Get to know the locals - they'll tell you about great private beaches! Sorry to leave. Our time here was much too short.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 16, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Well-maintained and comfortable 2 bedroom condo with a lovely view of the Waikoloa Beach Golf Course and the the mountains behind. The kitchen was very well equipped. The towels and linens were of good quality. The owners have provided a good assortment of videos and games (if you have children) which we enjoyed. The garage also included many beach toys and small surfacing boards. We appreciated that this condo was in good repair and very clean. Most families would find this condo so very much more comforatbel than staying in a hotel.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review