reviews for: listing #62957 - Tulum, Yucatan Villa rental

Secluded Luxury Villa with Pool on Sian Ka'an Beach
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $3,200 - $8,000 /wk
    $10,000 - $14,000 /mth

sort by:

Quiet, secluded paradise!

Review submitted: February 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 9, 2011

Just going to write a brief review....my husband and I, our 4 children and my in-laws booked Casa Lunita for December 2011. Casa Lunita was exactly what we were looking for! The set up of the main house and the guest house worked perfectly for us....4 of us in each house, so we had a lot of room to spread out and have privacy. The houses are absolutely beautiful! A lot of windows looking out toward the beach and if you don't see the beach, you see all of the natural vegetation. The kitchen in the main house has stainless steel appliances, granite counters and everything you need for cooking is furnished. The bedrooms are spacious and all upper bedrooms have private balconies. The bathrooms have nice deep, tiled showers. The houses were furnished and decorated nicely. The pool was also an added benefit....9 feet deep with beautiful tile work. The best part though was the beach. It. Was. Gorgeous. You are literally a 30 second walk down the path from the back deck area to the surf. Not only is it beautiful, it is very private. Casa Lunita is a private paradise, yet close enough to enjoy other sights and activities. We absolutely loved our stay here and Jane is a pleasure to deal with. She made everything very easy and was very helpful in all aspects. Our only regret was that we had to leave. We cannot wait to get back to Casa Lunita!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

atta girl Jane

Review submitted: February 19, 2014   Date of arrival: January 8, 2014

Atta Girl, some people cannot behave, or follow rules!! You should have kicked them out for the 3 extra people,just on principle alone!! We have been to your villa and find it hard to believe their story!! My Wife and I have been vacationing on the Riviera Maya for over 25yrs, renting beachfront villas.....needless to say, we've seen it all,complaining, arguments between owner and clients. These idiots give renters like us, "A Bad Name".............you can't fix stupid!! Casa Lunita is the most beautiful villa we've ever seen,and I recommend your villa to every one I know. As for these renters.....my wife and I call them "Pickle Butts" they are unhappy and always will be!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mildew, limited air circulation, and unkind owners

Review submitted: November 13, 2013   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

If mildew-filled sheets are your thing, this place is for you. If moldy walls inspire you, welcome home. And to top it off, if you enjoy receiving vitriol-filled emails from owners if you raise any concerns with them, then Casa Lunita has everything you're looking for.

Given the other more affordable and hospitable offerings elsewhere in Tulum, it's impossible to recommend this place.

Owners response: I would like to respond to "mundo trotter's" review. I have rented this property for 5 years and fortunately have never encountered a group like this. Their review neglects the following facts. Our dispute arose after they departed when I informed them that I was not willing to return their damage deposit. They had signed a rental agreement stating there would be a maximum of 8 guests but arrived with 11. The rental agreement clearly stated that any violation of the agreement would result in forfeiture of this deposit. Also the agreement stated a 10 am check out and though they were informed of this personally by the caretaker onsite, they did not vacate the premises until 11:20 (after much prodding).

Also, interestingly, in one of the e-mails we exchanged while discussing this issue, "mundo trotter" wrote "I enjoyed an amazing week in your home last week. Thank you so much for opening up your space to others so that we could an otherwise isolated and private location" (this is a direct quote, cut/paste and includes typos) I was so disgusted by their behavior concerning the return of the damage deposit, I donated the full amount to the poor people dealing with the disaster in the Philippines.

As you can see from our many other stellar reviews, the problem does not lie in the house nor my desire to hold people accountable for their actions. Rental contracts are written to protect both the owner and the renter. If one party violates the contract, it is only fair that they accept the consequences of their actions.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Secluded Beach Paradise

Review submitted: February 16, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

We stayed at Casa Lunita for 5 days in February. We absolutely loved staying here. The Casa is clean, comfortable, and well stocked. The property itself is beautiful. The caretakers stayed on the property and they were friendly, helpful, and non-obtrusive. The owner was friendly and pleasant to deal with. It is literally right on the beach (something difficult to determine from the VRBO page). We had three toddlers with us and felt very safe the entire time. I would definitely recommend this property to a friend. The only thing that I wish I knew before hand is that it takes a good thirty minutes or so to get into town from the Casa. If you are looking for a secluded beach paradise then this is it. If you are looking for more action or if you want to go into town alot then you will be spending alot of time running up and down a very bumpy road.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A Perfect Private Hideaway

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: March 16, 2011

Our travel company of 2 couples plus one child (4 years) stayed at Casa Lunita in March 2011. We wanted to travel to Tulum area but were afraid to end up (once again) in an overpriced boutique hotel on a crowded beach with lounge music blasting until 3am. We were looking for a more authentic, calm and relaxing environment.

Finding this house rental was a dream come true. Very private location in the middle of the beautiful natural park of Sian Ka'an, private beach and neighbors barely in sight. All we could hear were the birds, sea and the wind. We hired a car in Cancun (a must to do) and used it to do day trips in the region and to eat out a few times. Otherwise we found Kim's cooking a good value for money and enjoyed just staying in as the village of Tulum with the nearest restaurants is a bumpy 15 minutes (7km) ride away.

The beach was very nice and you could go swimming. The pool is a definite plus! Everything was clean and well maintained.

A couple of things to consider in advance if you travel with a baby/young children: you may want to bring a travel cot or ask the owner if one is available and think through the sleeping arrangements in advance as none of the rooms has an "extra bed" for a child to sleep with the parents and in the casita the single beds are on a different level than the master bedroom. The pool is right in front of the house so children do need supervision.

I definitely would go back and recommend this property for all those seeking for a more private and calm location away from the touristic scene.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

ENCHANTING PRIVATE GETAWAY AT THE MAGNIFICENT CASA LUNITA

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

Our stay at Casa Lunita was simply marvelous. The home is a spacious, extremely well built and furnished, and offers the amenities of a luxurious villa. The pool is an extremely nice touch, and actually quite rare for homes and hotels in this vicinity - it is deep and beautifully tiled, not just a lap pool. The bedrooms are all spacious and each offer their own unique charm... and the beach - perhaps among the most beautiful and private beaches I have ever seen throughout the entire world. Our stay was further enhanced by the wonderful caretakers Rob and Kimmi, who made our stay a delight. They were gracious and very accommodating and I will add that Kimmi's penchant for preparing top notch gourmet cuisine is unparalleled. My extreme thanks and appreciation to the owner's Jane and Craig for creating such an amazing slice of heaven on earth. We will return. BMC.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wish we were still there!

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

We just got back from a wonderful stay at Casa Lunita- and wish we were still there! The place is beautiful, well-maintained by Rob and Kimmi (the on-site caretakers), who were also helpful with local travel tips. Since it was our first time vacationing in the area, we went crazy driving around: snorkeling on a boat trip in Cozumel, to the Coba and Tulum ruins, snorkeling in the Gran Cenote, snorkeling in the Akumel lagoon and at the beach, zip-lining with Aktun-Chen. We could have easily spent the entire time at the property, there was so much to do with boogie-boarding on the constant waves, kayaking on the bay and in the ocean, swimming in the pool- so much fun! The big kitchen and dining area suited our group, and Kimmi provided a few amazing dinners including our fiesta night. Rob built a big bonfire on the beach so we could roast marshmallows and gaze at the stars. *Sigh...did I mention that I wish we were still there?
A special thank you to Kimmi and Rob for their help, and thanks to Jane and Craig for creating such a beautiful haven. We are truly spoiled after this trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise Found

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 9, 2011

Casa Lunita was just the place we were looking for a beautiful, remote, white, sandy beach that goes on for miles in either direction and quiet tranquility. The soft susurrations of the evening breeze would lull us to sleep at night and wake us with the sunrise in the morning. The villas are very nicely laid out and represent some interesting architecture; it is obvious that the design took in the unique demands of the land and the Mexican culture along with capturing the beauty of the environment. A roof top observatory enabled us to watch both the sun rise over the Caribbean in the morning and the sunset over the lagoon in the evening. Kim and Rob (the caretakers) are very helpful and intuitively knew our needs. The road from the park gates is not good (7.3km) which served to remind us that we needed to slow down and just enjoy our stay. This is a great place for people of all ages who want to just bond together, to be on their own without distractions. Dianna, Carson, Clea, Ian

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: February 12, 2011   Date of arrival: January 27, 2011

We have had some incredible beach vacations, but nothing to top this! The main house and guest house are beautiful. The architecture is interesting, the furnishings lovely, the property very clean and well maintained, wonderful pool, and beautiful private white sand beach. The owners seem to have thought of everything to make staying here a paradise. Views from the rooftop are breath-taking! We could see sunrises over the Caribbean and sunsets over the Bay of Compeche. If one wants to walk down the driveway to the bay, the dock with a thatch-covered sitting area is perfect for relaxing while watching the sun go down. The landscaping/vegetation is tropical lovely. We harvested our own coconuts. Just a few miles down the road are a number of restaurants where we had incredible meals under the stars. I was here three weeks after knee replacement surgery and was able to navigate the house and grounds without problem. I can't imagine we'll ever find a more relaxing or beautiful setting for a winter get-away!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review from House Guestbook

Review submitted: February 9, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

Thanks for a wonderful nine days spent in a heavenly paradise! Casa Lunita attains the perfect balance of comfort within its lush surroundings. What a beach! Perfect for long walks. Maybe the best thing of all was looking forward to being lulled to sleep by the sounds of the wind and waves. Thanks Kimmi and Rob for the delicious meals and for keeping everything in pristine shape. You are fantastic people!

We will look forward to visiting again.

The Forbes Family, Westport, CT

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

A Beautiful Slice of Paradise.
We recently stayed at Casa Lunita during our first visit to the Mayan Riviera, and are elated that we chose this special home. A luxury eco friendly home that has everything you could possibly need. Kimmi and Rob were kind and extremely hospitable, providing great food (Kimmi is a wonderful chef) and excellent tips for activities in the area.


The kitchen is a great kitchen to cook and entertain guests in, with indoor and outdoor dining options. The property was well kept and cleaned daily from the caretakers, and could have not been located in a better place. The house looks out onto this breathtaking white sand beach, lined with palm trees and a mangrove, complete with the stunning caribbean water that was a radiant aquamarine blue; the private beach was inviting and calming to us each day. We spent every day out on the beach and literally only saw 2 people walk by during our entire visit. That would never happen in California!


For those traveling who require an internet connection, there is a strong internet connection offered wirelessly. We had to work a little while we were down there, and had no problem accessing emails and using Skype.


We travelled with our 4 month old son and felt very safe on the premises and in the town of Tulum. It really is an adorable little beach town that has some great restaurants, juice bars, yoga/wellness centers, mayan ruins, and much more.


We highly recommend taking out the kayaks, snorkeling around, boogie boarding, and taking walks down the beach if you are looking for a little physical activity during your stay. Be sure to check out the sunsets from the roof or private dock, and stargazing from the rooftop or beach during the night; the stars are so clear and sparkle brilliantly in the sky.


We are already planning our return trip and would highly recommend this home to people wishing to have a peaceful and relaxing vacation. The pictures do not do it justice!!


Thank you again (Jane and Craig) for allowing us to at Casa Lunita, we thoroughly enjoyed your tropical hideaway and look forward to returning to paradise soon!


Love,


Chrissy, John & Matteo

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Beautiful Slice of Paradise.

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

We recently stayed at Casa Lunita during our first visit to the Mayan Riviera, and are elated that we chose this special home. A luxury eco friendly home that has everything you could possibly need. Kimmi and Rob were kind and extremely hospitable, providing great food (Kimmi is a wonderful chef) and excellent tips for activities in the area.


The kitchen is a great kitchen to cook and entertain guests in, with indoor and outdoor dining options. The property was well kept and cleaned daily from the caretakers, and could have not been located in a better place. The house looks out onto this breathtaking white sand beach, lined with palm trees and a mangrove, complete with the stunning caribbean water that was a radiant aquamarine blue; the private beach was inviting and calming to us each day. We spent every day out on the beach and literally only saw 2 people walk by during our entire visit. That would never happen in California!


For those traveling who require an internet connection, there is a strong internet connection offered wirelessly. We had to work a little while we were down there, and had no problem accessing emails and using Skype.


We travelled with our 4 month old son and felt very safe on the premises and in the town of Tulum. It really is an adorable little beach town that has some great restaurants, juice bars, yoga/wellness centers, mayan ruins, and much more.


We highly recommend taking out the kayaks, snorkeling around, boogie boarding, and taking walks down the beach if you are looking for a little physical activity during your stay. Be sure to check out the sunsets from the roof or private dock, and stargazing from the rooftop or beach during the night; the stars are so clear and sparkle brilliantly in the sky.


We are already planning our return trip and would highly recommend this home to people wishing to have a peaceful and relaxing vacation. The pictures do not do it justice!!


Thank you again (Jane and Craig) for allowing us to at Casa Lunita, we thoroughly enjoyed your tropical hideaway and look forward to returning to paradise soon!


Love,


Chrissy, John & Matteo

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Trip

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 22, 2010

Our family had an excellent time at the Sian Kaan Beach house. The location is perfect to escape from the city and enjoy quality time on the beach. You have the entire beach to yourself. The house is perfect for both families and couples. We had Kimmi (caretaker) cook a couple of meals for our family. The food was tremendous. The views on the beach and lagoon are breathtaking. Sunrises and Sunsets are amazing. We made trips over to Coba and the Tulum ruins. Make sure you rent the bikes at the Coba Ruins. We also fished at the Boca Paila Fishing Lodge. Only 15 minutes from the house. This is a must if you like fishing. Great weather, Great trip.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing home

Review submitted: November 28, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

This home is amazing a great escape. We also loved the care takers Kimmi and Rob!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2010

Jane,
The house was amazing!!! Words cannot describe how we all felt about
our stay there. Even our little ones loved it. They learned to play
in the sand and swim in the pool and the ocean (with floaties). They
slept so well in the ocean breeze. We are all happy campers and are
pretty sure that we can never have a vacation that tops that one!
Thanks for your beautiful house. We appreciated every wonderful
second of it. And Wade and Susie are lovely and wonderful hosts!
Thanks again!
-Deborah

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: December 26, 2009

Hi Jane,
Well, your place was a big hit with my family! We all had a great
time and loved the beautiful house and surroundings. The caretakers,
Brett and Kristen (I think), were personable and capable, and very
nice! The house worked flawlessly -OK, the dishwasher perplexed us,
so we got reacquainted with the concept of hand washing dishes. We
had a great time in the area- Coba, Valladolid (amazing town cenote
there!), cozumel, Playa del Carmen, more cenotes, beach. We need to
come back again to spend more time- but for now it's back to work and
snow. Thanks again!

Chris and Sarah

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A piece of paradise

Review submitted: April 12, 2010   Date of arrival: March 16, 2010

If you are looking for a piece of paradise, this is the spot. Located south of Tulum on a very secluded beach within the Sian Ka'an preserve, this property has it all. You can literally watch the sun rise over the Caribbean in the morning and the sun set over the Bay of Campeche in the evening. I have traveled plenty and I have never been in a place where you can watch the sun rise and set across significant bodies of water.

The beach in front of the house is very secluded and the water is truly amazing. In 20 days at the house we literally saw four people walk in front of the house on the beach...and that includes Semana Santa (Easter Week).

The house is well appointed and the caretakers are very knowledgeable and helpful. We had the caretakers prepare several meals for our group and they were simple and delicious.

This vacation met all of our needs.... I only wish we were still there. We would definitely return again!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful House in a Lovely Spot

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: February 13, 2010

The house was lovely, just as listed, though I don't think the pictures do it justice. The panoramic view from the rooftop was a fabulous place to watch the sunset. We cooked about half our meals in the awesome kitchen and ate on the patio. Swimming and walking on the beach were great, and the caretakers were very helpful. A perfect relaxing week. The nearby hotels are close enough to drive to dinner, but far enough away to have privacy. And of course tours in the preserve are conveniently close.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Beach Vacation Ever

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: January 18, 2010

Brought my12 year old son for a dream come true week in the Casita at Casa Lunita. Who knew living off the grid in a soloely solar and wind powered palace could be so luxurious. All the conveniences of home plus exotic bird calls rustling palms and sea sounds to wake up to. He loved climbing the coconut palms and boogieboarding and eating at home and watching pelicans divebombing for their dinner. I loved long walks on beach seeing not a soul, then the eating out at Zebras and watching the Salsa dancing under the stars, with the Stars! If I ever find a boyfriend I am So having my honeymoon here! But in the mean time some of my artist girl friends and I want to come down to paint the gorgeous sunsets and do yoga on the roof deck overlooking the lagoon And the ocean. My son will never forget biking through the jungle exploring mystical Mayan ruins and climbing the pyramid at Coba, nor will I. The peace and beauty of this inspired patch of paradise are etched in the top echelon of my memory bank for instant recall of happiness and well-being. I just LOVED it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Casa Lunita: Our Favorite Beach Vacation

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: June 15, 2009

: 04/06/10

Our family has not stopped talking about our vacation at Casa Lunita. Each one of us has ranked our experience there as our favorite beach vacation of all time. Casa Lunita is located on a pristine, secluded beachfront---the kind that one dreams of but tends to doubt the existence of in real life. The sand is fine and soft, the ocean is an indescribable shade of turquoise, and the water is warm and welcoming. The Casita is very comfortable and extremely clean, and the tasteful decor is whimsical and pleasant. There is something for everyone; privacy, great swimming, fascinating jungle/lagoon eco-system for exploring, many spots for hanging-out and reading a good book. Just 20 minutes away there is an abundance of great restaurants. Our biggest regret, other than having to leave, was that we didn't have enough days to try all the restaurants we wanted to---that will have to wait until our next visit there. This was a vacation to remember and we cannot wait to go back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Casa Lunita; our favorite beach vacation

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: June 15, 2009

Our family has not stopped talking about our vacation at Casa Lunita. Each one of us has ranked our experience there as our favorite beach vacation of all time.
Casa Lunita is located on a pristine, secluded beachfront---the kind that one dreams of but tends to doubt the existence of in real life. The sand is fine and soft, the ocean is an indescribable shade of turquoise, and the water is warm and welcoming. The Casita is very comfortable and extremely clean, and the tasteful decor is whimsical and pleasant. There is something for everyone; privacy, great swimming, fascinating jungle/lagoon eco-system for exploring, many spots for hanging-out and reading a good book. Just 20 minutes away there is an abundance of great restaurants. Our biggest regret, other than having to leave, was that we didn't have enough days to try all the restaurants we wanted to---that will have to wait until our next visit there.
This was a vacation to remember and we cannot wait to go back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

lovely house in a beautiful spot

Review submitted: April 3, 2010   Date of arrival: February 13, 2010

The house was lovely, just as listed, though I don't think the pictures do it justice. The panoramic view from the rooftop was a fabulous place to watch the sunset. We cooked about half our meals in the awesome kitchen and ate on the patio. Swimming and walking on the beach were great, and the caretakers were very helpful. A perfect relaxing week. The nearby hotels are close enough to drive to dinner, but far enough away to have privacy. And of course tours in the preserve are conveniently close.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Beach Vacation Ever

Review submitted: March 28, 2010   Date of arrival: January 18, 2010

Brought my12 year old son for a dream come true week in the Casita at Casa Lunita. Who knew living off the grid in a soloely solar and wind powered palace could be so luxurious. All the conveniences of home plus exotic bird calls rustling palms and sea sounds to wake up to. He loved climbing the coconut palms and boogieboarding and eating at home and watching pelicans divebombing for their dinner.

I loved long walks on beach seeing not a soul, then the eating out at Zebras and watching the Salsa dancing under the stars, with the Stars! If I ever find a boyfriend I am So having my honeymoon here! But in the mean time some of my artist girl friends and I want to come down to paint the gorgeous sunsets and do yoga on the roof deck overlooking the lagoon And the ocean.

My son will never forget biking through the jungle exploring mystical Mayan ruins and climbing the pyramid at Coba, nor will I. The peace and beauty of this inspired patch of paradise are etched in the top echelon of my memory bank for instant recall of happiness and well-being. I just LOVED it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Casa Lunita

Review submitted: March 6, 2010   Date of arrival: February 20, 2010

03/03/10
Positive Rating
Carolyn Slivinski , What a wonderful place Casa Lunita is! The setting was very private, beautiful white sandy beach lined with palm trees out in front, a peaceful and secluded lagoon in back of the property, any amenity you could want was available. Very friendly and helpful caretaker couple lives on site in their private place. This eco-friendly dream home was a delight to rent for a week. Clean, private, architecturally gorgeous, nearest neighbors were 1/4 mile away. We would love to go back again!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 3, 2010   Date of arrival: March 3, 2010

What a wonderful place Casa Lunita is! The setting was very private, beautiful white sandy beach lined with palm trees out in front, a peaceful and secluded lagoon in back of the property, any amenity you could want was available. Very friendly and helpful caretaker couple lives on site in their private place.
This eco-friendly dream home was a delight to rent for a week. Clean, private, architecturally gorgeous, nearest neighbors were 1/4 mile away.
We would love to go back again!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Eco-Perfect Home + Private Beach = Paradise

Review submitted: November 20, 2009   Date of arrival: February 14, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed in this brand new, stunning, green, and totally off-the-grid mini-manse (gourmet kitchen, monster master BR with balcony, a roof top huge deck with 360 views of forever, satellite everything, with an equally fabulous 2 story 2 bedroom guest cottage and pool) that has every amenity and luxury you would want while being in an isolated beach paradise! And the wildest thing is that you are on a strip of land in Sian Kaan where on the eastern side, there is the nearly untouched white beach with lime green clear Caribbean, and a football field away to the east is this shallow bay that looks like a county-sized lake where we could kayak and swim as the sunsets. Wow.

We have been to beach houses all over MX and this is the most beautiful setting and house compound we have seen. The property is set right on the edge of a dune surrounded by palms trees, wild birds, a bit of jungle feel and zero neighbors on either side for about ½ mile or more. The beach is kept clean by the grounds keeper and we literally saw maybe 2 people A DAY on the beach. Where can you get this type of perfect privacy in a natural setting anymore? It reminded us of the Mayan Riviera in 1970.

The best thing is that you are not isolated if you don’t want to be. Only a short distance away by car (10 minutes) is the Tulum resort beach strip with low key natural eco-type hotels (nothing over 2 stories) and high-end yoga dens. Tucked between each hotel are several world cuisine gourmet and high quality regional fare restaurants that feel cozy, foodie geared, and are exceptionally yummy in the middle of essentially no where. Most are open air and some have live music (jazz, salsa, Brazilian, hip Latin Hindu mix).

The owners are a couple from Colorado who are both architects, green builders, and gourmet cooks (at least one is) with exquisite taste. We are grateful that we were able to stay at their lovely home and look forward to many more relaxing and restorative vacations there.

FYI – buy your food in Playa Del Carmen on the way down to Tulum to get the greatest variety of local and American items. There are stores in Tulum but not as much selection.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2537 / 2537

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review