reviews for: listing #62997 - Washington, DC Studio rental

'Sanctuary' in Metro DC
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Brookland
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $115 - $159 /nt
    $770 - $900 /wk

sort by:

Clean, relaxing, and QUIET!

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2013

Our stay with Alex, Lara, and Sophie was great. We so enjoyed the quiet, the privacy, and the comforts of home. The studio was just what we expected and more!

As a guest after the horrible review below, I'd like to counter nearly everything that was mentioned. The place is CLEAN! I can't even fathom what the reviewer is talking about in saying the bathroom was filthy. I've never seen a cleaner bathroom in any vacation rental we've used.

The linens are fresh, clean, and very comfortable. The pillows are down, the mattress has a great memory foam topper, and there is a VERY nice heavy town comforter on the bed. We did find a couple of feathers from the bedding, and I am wondering if that is what the reviewer mistook for hair. It was clearly feathers poking out from the heavenly blankets. Regardless, comfort is bar none.

The reviewer's greatest complaint was the noise. First of all, you are staying in a studio apartment in someone's house. You have to expect a certain level of awareness to their comings and goings. They also have two adults, a baby, and a dog. That being said, we never heard a single voice. Nothing. No barking. No music. No TV. Nothing. We werent even aware of the dog until he greeted when we met him in the yard on the 3rd day. No dog claws on the hard wood. No jumping or running. I will admit that we heard the family two times when they were walking around. Twice. In 4 days. I honestly thought no one was home the entire time. Turns out they were, we just never heard them. The studio is quiet, relaxing, peaceful. In fact, I was nervous that the noise coming from us might bother them.

We found the location to be great. It was a short drive to the Metro, and a 15-20 minute walk. Not a big deal. There was no traffic in the neighborhood which we found to be refreshing considering the traffic you encounter one mile down the road.

Our fridge was stocked with all the essentials - milk, cream, yogurt, cream cheese, english muffins, coke, orange juice. All fresh! There was oatmeal and cereal on the counter, as well as coffee, sugar, honey, tea, popcorn and fresh fruit. We loved this feature as meals are so pricey in the city.

Our stay was great. We got excellent advice for restaurants and traffic tips, as well as daily fresh towels and our garbage was removed. There was free street parking and the neighbors were friendly. Lara and Alex were excellent hosts and we are so glad we chose their rental.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wost stay ever! Had to leave early!

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 26, 2013

The Sanctuary is not a 1 bedroom but a small studio in a basement. There is no sound barrier between you and the first floor or smell barrier between you and their kitchen. The house is an extremely old house and every step came along with a loud squeek througout the entire studio. From the sounds of it they did nothing on their second floor.
Cons:
*The toilet was filthy. When you raise the toilet seat there was other people's urine all over the toilet seat. I paid for cleaning but had to buy cleaning supplies to clean up a toilet myself.
*Shower is old, outdated and dirty, had to clean that too, hair in sink and on sheets in the bed.

*Worst of it all the noise, we could not even hear ourselves talk with all the back and fourth upstairs it was ridiculous. I lived in apartment buildings, been to many hotels and never had an issue with this much noise that was constant! The worst part is that Lara was talking loudly on and off all day, and walking back and fourth all day long, along with her 6 month child I am assuming, dog etc. it sounded like grand central station. The second night we had to endure hours of smelling fish from their dinner and noise until midnight. Lara was aware that we had a sick child but the noise went on until midnight. Our daughter, who had an ipad, still could not take the noise. I was hoping we could at least sleep in before we left early the next day and the noise started at 7am. The worst situation for someone trying to enjoy their day and rest.
*There is nothing around there. Some of the locations on the map qiven when we arrived were closed. If you drive just a few blocks out you end up in the ghetto and we were asked for money and harrassed a few times.
*By the way the so called extra items in frig etc. We were excited until we noticed the the jars were half eaten. GROSS!
If you expect to get any form of relaxation don't bother renting here. We were so tired of being disturbed we could not wait to leave.The set up is not appropriate for rental. Perhaps there was less noise before the baby was born but now impossible to enjoy your stay at all. At some point it sounded like there was a ball hitting the floor on and off for hours. I would rather pay more some where else than be miserable. Spare yourself the misery, Sancturay? Not even close.

Owners response: We have had over 150 reviews across all the websites we use and this is the first negative review we have had. We welcome reviews, they keep this industry on its toes and so I am delighted to be able to give our perspective.

The guest contacted me by email right after their stay stating that UNLESS we gave them a refund they would post a negative review. Something felt off especially as we did not hear about any of these issues once during their stay despite running into them on a number of occasions.

I can go into each complaint but quite honestly given the circumstances it seems pointless. the complaints are around noise, cleanliness, heating, wifi, location - none of which I believe to be true and I would happily give you details of subsequent guests who I believe would back this up.

Ironically, I feel it is worth pointing out that we have never seen our home left in such a disgusting mess. Half eaten food all over, the place completely turned upside down. We really dont mind cleaning up after our guests leave but when we found drugs (given to them by the hospital we assume as they were in DC for treatment) scattered on the coffee table as well as used and discarded surgical gloves and surgical masks strewn in amongst the magazines, in the kitchen area and on the floor I was shocked. This was a health hazard considering we have a small child and a dog. (For anyone considering renting to this family, I can provide photographs if you are interested) For someone who was complaining about cleanliness this is quite perplexing.

So for all our future guests that we are looking forward to welcoming;
1) Yes this is a studio basement, it is priced accordingly and we have never tried to pretend otherwise so if you are looking for a mansion then this is probably not the place for you.
2) It is a 1920s house that was completely refurbished 3 years ago, we and our guests find the character charming.
3) We have a new furnace and heating system which is extremely efficient and have not had any other complaints about
4) Our cleaners do a wonderful job and we have never had a bad review based on the cleanliness of our property – please see ALL our other reviews we are very proud of them

Thanks for taking the time to read!
Lara

Helpful votes: 7 / 11

 

Great haven in DC

Review submitted: October 25, 2012   Date of arrival: October 23, 2012

Great location for getting out of the hussle and bussle of the main city. Exactly as described. Was a great home base for our visit to DC. Wife even went for a run this morning in the neighborhood! Lara is a great host. Gave us plenty of space, but was right there if we needed her!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Wonderful Stay In Washington D C

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 6, 2012

After reading the reviews I decided this was the home I would like to stay in for our trip to D. C. My wife and I could not have been more pleased! The home was very comfortable, exceptionally clean and a short walk to a very convenient light rail system. Lara met us when we arrived and made sure we were comfortably settled in, but had to leave that night for business. No problem, Alex made sure we were comfortable the next three days and answered our questions and even gave us a ride to the metro station when we left. The neighborhood was very nice and quiet and safe feeling. I will definitely recommend this to any of my friends traveling to Washington in the future and look forward to returning and staying here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Warm, friendly, comfortable and helpful!!!

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 17, 2012

Lara and Alex have left no detail unattended to in their cozy and comfortable "sanctuary". The room was lovely and well thought out with many extra touches. The bed and daybed were extremely comfortable and well appointed with luxurious linens. The towels were soft and fluffy, the bathroom clean and simple with wonderful water pressure and the kitchenette, while small, had all of the necessities for morning coffee or warming up take out food. Snacks and fresh fruit were abundant and were greatly appreciated by our 14 year old son! They are near the metro bus and within walking distance to a metro stop which was wonderful. The room was well equipped with maps and directions, we had internet access and movies to relax with in the evening. Alex even helped us find our way when we got lost on the way to their house.
"Sanctuary" is the perfect name. We felt welcomed and happy to come "home" after hectic days of sightseeing. We would certainly recommend this accommodation to anyone staying in DC!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

DC Hideaway in the Heart of the City

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

We spent 4 nights in Lara & Alex's basement apartment and loved EVERY minute of it. Every detail was attended to: fresh flowers, chocolates on linens, fridge full of breakfast & snacks, bar full of coffee, teas, more snacks and goodies. Lara & Alex were so helpful to us in learning about DC neighborhoods. We were loaned subway/bus passes, where all we had to do was add to them. Frankie (our Border Terrier) became fast friends with George (L&A's Beagle). The location was an easy 6-block walk to the subway, pub, and organic market! Anyone would love this property - and so reasonably priced. Just brilliant!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Enjoyed our stay

Review submitted: August 20, 2011   Date of arrival: August 15, 2011

Our family vacation turned into a mother/daughter trip and we had to change our original plans. Luckily for us, we were able to find and reserve this place on short notice due someone else cancelling. The accomodations were great for our needs and it is easy to access public transportation from the home. The owners were so friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and are happy to recommend this place to others!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful ammenities

Review submitted: June 30, 2011   Date of arrival: June 22, 2011

I stayed here while visiting with my Parents in DC, so there were 4 of us total. The room was stocked wonderfully with snacks and breakfast items which we greatly appreciated. Lara also kept it nice and cool which was such relief after being out in the sun walking all day! It was clean, well maintained and cozy. As for advice, if your visiting DC for the first time, get a ticket for a trolley tour, they are good for 2 full days, pick up at key locations every 30min and you will see WAY more and walk a LOT less that way.
Thank you Lara for being such a great hostess!!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: August 24, 2010

We stayed at Lara and Alex's place for two days and it was lovely! Unfortunately, Lara was out of town & we didn't get to meet her, but Alex was a wonderful host and gave us many good tips for restaurants, etc. Thank you Alex (and Lara) for providing everything we could possibly need! So nice of you to have goodies for breakfast - we were able to splurge more on dinners! It was especially nice to be able to park right outside; even though we took the bus/metro during the day, a nighttime drive down to the Lincoln Memorial was a breeze, and there was plenty of parking there. We highly recommend this listing.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2010

Very charming and helpful hosts. We came to do bicycle riding and they were able to direct us the right way. The room is just as pretty and cheerful as the picture.There is plenty of street free parking.Lara and Alex were very welcoming ! Stay here and you will be happy............

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

What a lovely hard working couple, beautiful self contained flat downstais, delightfully decorated giving an immediate warm feeling on arrival. We highly recommend this apartment with 10 stars if we could. Cheers George Margaret and Enid. Australia

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 12, 2010

It was a fantastic stay. The room (although small) was exceptional. It was extremely clean, and very well decorated. The beds were comfortable, the sheets and towels were of good quality. Mid-week we got clean towels and sheets. There was everything in the room we could need! The room is only a 4-6 minute drive out of the downtown area of DC. We were supplied all the fresh fruit we could eat, plus fresh bagels twice! There was also a stocked mini fridge that was a great surprise. It had tons of stuff we enjoyed. Alex and Lara were just wonderful. They were so nice we seemed friends when we left. I would HIGHLY recommend this place to stay! And, if I am ever lucky enough to go back to the DC area- this is the first place I will check for availability!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 21, 2010

We had only a one night stay at Lara and Alex's, but it was a lovely apartment, just as shown by the pictures. Lara greeted us on arrival, and offered her help with getting around and planning our day. We also arrived early and phoned ahead to see if we could check in, and she already had the room ready for us, which made our stay much easier! The pamphlets and snacks in the room were very nice touches and much appreciated, and the metro station was only a 10-15 minute walk from the house. Would highly recommend this b and b, thanks Lara!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 29, 2010

Lara is an outstanding hostess - very helpful, sweet and genuine. The apartment decor is delightful and will put you in a good mood just being there. Everything is of the highest quality and cleanliness. Having complementary snacks in the room was appreciated and hit the spot perfectly - very convenient. It's easy to get into town on the metro, very quick. My husband and I enjoyed our stay here very much and we highly recommend it.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

We had a warm welcome from Lara. Everything was perfect. Lara is an excellent host and have great attention to their guests. The home is very pleasant, nice furnished and nice decorated and we feel like home. It is with pleasure that we will return to Wahington and staty in their "Sanctuary" because 2 days is not enought to visit this wonderfull town. We met Alex and their nice dog George.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: October 3, 2010

Lara's (and the illusive Alex"s) home was more than we expected. Lara's attention to detail and her unfailing kindnes and assistance, coupled with a beautiful nature, made our stay with her in Washington extremely pleasant. At the end of the day, after a tiring day of sightseeing, all we wanted to do was get home to "Lara's place". All the necessities, and much more, were provided by Lara - we would have loved to have stayed much longer. Thank you so much - we will certainly stay with you again if we get to Washington (we will bring more Aussie red with us) and will definitely recommend your beautiful guest accommodation. We hope to get an invitation to the opening of Alex's restaurant!! Good luck to you both.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

We can't say enough good things about our stay at Lara's! She and Alex made us feel welcome from the first - even meeting us as we were getting out of our car and ushering us to our candle-lit 'apartment.' Lara thought of EVERYTHING we could possibly want to make our 1st anniversary wonderful: local eatery suggestions, tioletries, maps and even coupons to take with us as we explored (to name a few). The snacks and breakfast items were a huge help and gave us flexibility with scheduling our day. The pics of the basement flat online can't even do it justice. Just imagine starting your vacation by stepping into a sweet, glowing little sanctuary - what more could you ask for? Thank you again, Lara and Alex. Your approachability and home-like atmosphere made us feel so welcome. We have been telling our friends about your place and hope ourselves to return!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: October 22, 2010

Lara place was very very nice, I had a blast. It was in a great location, quiet, and very well put together. My favorite part of the place was that I was able to hook my iPad to the TV and stream Netflix!. I plan to stay there again on my next trip to DC. They were great host and provided towel and snacks as if we were in a hotel! LARA Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: October 27, 2009

Lara was a wonderful hostest and she provided exceptional accomodations. Everything was absolutely lovely. Book your DC stay at her sanctuary - you'll have no regrets.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: November 17, 2010

We had a wonderful stay, we didn't meet Alex, but Lara was so sweet, she thinks of everything! It was wonderful to come home to our cosy little apartment each day, Lara must have turned the lights and heater on for us before we got home. The bed was incredibly comfy, there were fresh towels for us each day and the snacks and breakfast supplies were well stocked. The metro was close and a really quick ride into the center of Washington, and there was plenty of shops nearby. We were sad to leave and our only complaint is that Lara has set the standard way too high for our future travels!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

I was not personally able to make the trip to stay at lara's place, however according to my huband and his cousin, they had a very comfortable time. They experienced Lara as hospitable, kind, and went the extra mile to even comfort our lab who was crying and walked him. The place was immaculate and well kept. It was also convenient --about a 10 minute drive to the museums. Defintely stay there again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

They are fabulous people and their home is located in a quiet and safe neighborhood close to the city center. I highly recommend it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

This sanctuary was better than any hotel we could have stayed at! We felt right at home with all of Lara & Alex's personal touches. Enjoying the city was easy with all of their helpful maps, directions, menus, and tour guides. They left us items that any traveler may forget (toothpaste, shampoo, band-aids, etc.) and breakfast, waters, soda, and snacks to enjoy during our stay. We did run into a little car trouble while we were there, but Lara and Alex offered to drive us around and we even came home to a bottle of wine because they felt bad!! It doesn't get any better than that, we will be back to stay with them again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

It was worderful

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: December 18, 2010

I was so happy to find out that the place look beautiful just like the pictures but most importantly is was spotless and tidy. The bed was very confortable.Lara was great, very nice. She make sure we had everything we needed for snacks or breakfast every morning. I was a little nervous because our last experience in a b&b a couple of years ago, but Lara is an excellent host and gave us space and when we needed help finding out about places and things to do she was very helpful.
We had a great time in DC, if we ever come back we'll stay in the same place.

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Indeed a "Sanctuary"!

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

Lara and Alex are possibly the best hosts ever! The studio was lovely, well-stocked and pleasant, with very luxurious linens and towels. We were there a week and thoroughly enjoyed it. We got great restaurant and sight-seeing advice, and the studio was quiet and private. The bathroom is a little small, but that really our only comment! Thanks for a great vacation - we'll be back.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review