reviews for: listing #63037 - Santa Barbara, California House rental

$299.00 August Special...3-Night Minimum Stay*
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Downtown
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $349 - $399 /nt
    $2,443 - $2,793 /wk

sort by:

Best. Rental. Ever.

Review submitted: July 13, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2014

I have rented in Big Bear, Mammoth, Idyllwild, and more - multiple places, date and times, so I can say this with complete truth and honesty: Best. Rental. Ever.

David, the owner, has undersold it - it's even better than the pictures represent: First off, perfect location. It's right between the freeway and State Street. There is plenty of street parking, day and night. Great neighborhood for a walk, we have dogs so it was perfect. The house itself is the only one on the lot, it's off set from the street, it's private and quiet - it's near Cottage Hospital, so yes, we heard a siren go by maybe once a week if that, and the backyard is completely fenced in. This was such a bonus as we have three dogs who had a ball. We spent most of our time on the giant deck outside and cooked on the grill.

The open floor plan is perfect, we left the back sliding door open and the front and side windows open and got a great cross breeze, plus there are ceiling fans in every room. The kitchen has everything you need - EXCEPT FOR AN ICE CREAM SCOOP - haha - it's probably there and we didn't find it - David, get on that! :) Walk outside the front gate and up a block and you're at the Daily Grind for your morning coffee fix and/or McConnell's for ice cream. Seriously, I can't think of one thing wrong with this place.

We spent the full month of June in this great house, in a great location, and loved every minute of it. We will be back. No question. Can't recommend this house - and David the owner - enough.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

comfortable, convenient, and well-maintained

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 24, 2012

The house has a great layout for two couples with a lot of space (for my standards). It's located near a fairly busy road, but we didn't hear street noise. I liked the easy access to the beaches and mountains, and I ran to the beach several times during my stay. The house is well-maintained and well-supplied. The owner is friendly, and accommodating. Good find.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Colleen & Carl from Las Vegas

Review submitted: March 28, 2013   Date of arrival: December 9, 2012

What a fantastic home! It was even better than the pictures. The house was well decorated with every amenity you could ask for and felt very comfortable and like our own home. We love to cook and ate many meals at home, the kitchen was extremely well equipped from the wine fridge to plenty of utensils, glassware and serving platters. The beds were comfortable and the two couches facing the large flat screen tv and fireplace, made watching movies a treat. Our Golden Retriever and Chocolate Lab also enjoyed their vacation, the fenced yard was perfect for them and we were a short ride to a dog friendly beach that had warm water showers to wash your dog after a fun day at the beach. The owner, David, could not have been more accomodating. He came over and showed us a few things about the house and then gave us a ton of recommendations on great restaurants and fun things to do. This was definitely one of our best vacations and we really look forward to coming back. You won't be disappointed in this beautiful, comfortable, well decorated home.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great stay

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

Enjoyed our stay here - very comfortable, well appointed home. Much more updated than most vacation homes we have stayed at. Perfect for a small family. Owner was very easy to work with (also different than many vacation homes). Loved walking to breakfast every morning from the house.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Santa Barbara cottage makes UCSB graduation the perfect stay!

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2012

Our family felt so fortunate to have found this totally remodeled cottage when we came to watch our son graduate from UCSB in June. The cottage is clean and comfy and the location offers a great coffee and breakfast place right around the corner. Vino DeVino is right across from that for an afternoon wine tasting and the nightcap can be the famous McConnells ice cream, all so conveniently walkable from the cottage. We loved our stay. The owner was very knowledgeable and helpful.mone of the places that he suggested, 'OlioPizzeria' was delicious and one of our favorite meals. Our family is Italian so we live to eat. We also love the good food and Bocce courts at Arnoldi's, for Japanese, try Sakana, very authentic. Like David, the owner of this cottage, I am also an owner/manager of a cottage on the east coast (vrbo.com/296266). As owners, we are tougher on our vrbo colleagues when it comes to expectations. David does a great job with his property. I loved our stay and will definitely stay again on my next visit to Santa Barbara. Carol

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

SB Bungalow

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: March 27, 2012

Great House, Convenient Location, Responsible and Responsive owner...Would rent it again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Stay In Santa Barbara

Review submitted: June 10, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful experience at this beautiful house in the downtown area of Santa Barbara. It is centrally located, close to State street and a breeze to get on the 101. The house has all the amenities one needs and feels like home as soon as you walk in. I would highly recommend staying here if you are making a trip to Santa Barbara. David was a great help with recommendations on what to do in the area. I hope to be back soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Santa Barbara Home Away

Review submitted: May 27, 2010   Date of arrival: March 2, 2010

The location of this property was ideal in that it was close to downtown, freeway access and even a number of neighbourhood shops. A very distinct flavour to the neighbourhood which added to our enjoyable stay. Best ice cream and coffee in town!

The house was beautiful in design and decor. We loved the artwork and the quality appliances. It was very clean and well maintained. In addition to the wonderful house we enjoyed the lovely spacious deck and yard along with the excellent barbecue.

The owner of the house was extremely helpful in helping us choose fantastic Santa Barbara restaurants and "things to do". On of our favourite retaurants reccommended by David was on the Harbour and we went back a number of times!Our month in Santa Barbara was stunning and we would be very excited to return to this lovely house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exceeded our expectations!

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

The pictures are great, but the place itself far exceeded our expectations. We got the quaint charm of a home with some history in a well established neighborhood combined with the completely re-modeled interior with an eye to our every convenience. The house is well divided to house two couples, if you like, and it has a comfortable, graceful living space where it just feels natural to hang out. That's when you're not catching rays or barbecuing on the spacious deck. David is very forthcoming with insider information about Santa Barbara and has been known to share oranges and avocados in season. What a guy! We've rented again in the fall for a month, we're big fans from Seattle.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review