reviews for: listing #63119 - Tamarindo, Costa Rica Condo rental

Newer Condo at the Diria Resort, #203
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Diria Resort
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $275 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,600 /wk
    $3,000 - $5,000 /mth

sort by:

This is the place to stay in Tarmarindo - Exceptional

Review submitted: December 20, 2011   Date of arrival: December 12, 2011

I own a vacation rental property and tend to expect a lot of the places I stay. This property is absolutely exceptional; the pictures do not do it justice. It would be considered a high end condo in the USA and was in the premier building in the Tamarindo. The condo has travertine floors, granite counters, valuated ceilings, nice furnishings, ceiling fans; large balcony with seating etc. All the little things were done right, a complete book about the condo and the town, very nice towels and linens, a well-appointed kitchen and the location is ideal. You get to use the hotel facility which is the only nice hotel on the beach in the entire town. There is also an incredible pool for the condos only which features a swim up bar etc. You can walk to everything you need; there is no need for a car. Do not even think of staying in another building.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing trip! Stayed Jan 2011

Review submitted: February 8, 2011   Date of arrival: January 22, 2011

I stayed in this condo with my family the last week of January (parents and sister). The condo was beautiful and looked just like the pictures and included everything that we needed. Everything was new and very tidy. The staff at the Diria was friendly and kind and the guards were always polite. Yira and Rebecca were very helpful and added to the fun of our trip by their great recommendations and helping us to plan day trips. I would recommend Zip lining here http://www.canopypuraaventura.com/ and ATV's and horseback riding here http://toursatvcostarica.com/atv-costarica-contactus.html. I still can't get over how fun and friendly the guides were! So much fun!

Tamarindo has some great restaurants, if you know where to find them. Gils had great flavor at a good price, and Gil was a pretty fun guy! We also had some very nice more pricey dinners at El Coconut, La Laguna, and Seasons by Shlomy. Shlomy's was off a dark dirt road path, but beautiful once you walk around the building. The BBQ place with the flat screen tvs off the main road was also a lot of fun - the owner is from the US and she can give you some cool tips.

All in all, great trip, great condo, and great location. Wonderful to have resort amentities but with more space. My sister and I are in our early 20's traveling with our parents - this condo gave us enough space so that we were able to get along all week! Definately would do this exact same trip in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic - will come back

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

Just got back - LOVED it - was concerned that it was not going to be anything like what is posted and was happy to find out it was exactly how it looks in the picture. Security was fantastic - the condo is unbelievable. Walked to the beach everyday (about 2 min walk). Grounds were very well maintained. Could not believe how clean the beach in Tamarindo is. Kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed. Can't wait to return with family and friends! We went with our 2 kids (in their 20's) and they really enloyed it also. The nearby beach is great for surfers and those who want to learn to surf. If you are going on excursions the drives are a little longer than if you stay in Liberia however it is well worth the drive. My kids thought the beds were a little hard but my husband loved them.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great experience

Review submitted: December 26, 2010   Date of arrival: December 18, 2010

My husband and I really enjoyed our Costa Rican beach vacation and we give most of the credit to Becky Clower and her associates. Any remaining credit has to go to the beautiful weather. Becky,Yira, and Jose were very responsive to all of our questions when we were making our reservation, as we prepared to travel, and while we were in CR. It was much like having having a friend nearby.The condo and grounds were exactly as advertised--beautiful, well equiped, and clean. We appreciated the information in the binder in the condo regarding banks, groceries, restaurants, tours, etc. We chose not to have a car and stayed pretty much within an easy walk from our condo. We ate many meals in, but also had meals at the Diria, Walters, Noguis and Copacabana. All good, bust mostly way too much food. We booked a tour with Pura Adventura for canopy, ATV, and horeseback riding activities. The folks at Bluewater recommended them and we had a great time. This is a very reputable company and we highly recommend them.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautiful Condo and a Great Location

Review submitted: November 15, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2010

We were extremely pleased with our selection of this absolutely beautifiul condo for our Costa Rica vacation. It was very spacious and was fully furnished and decorated as described and pictured. The kitchen was well stocked and everything was new and clean. It all worked too. With children, a laundry room is almost essential and this one was was extra large for a condo. The bathrooms were good size and the extra powder room at the entrance was a nice plus.Rebecca was great to work with and Yira (Office Manager) was extremely helpful during our stay. We decided to rent a car after we were there a couple of days and Yira helped us find one when availability was very limited. There were a couple of convenience stores and a few good places to eat within walking distance, but having the car really opened up our opportunities. There's a place called Gil's that's fairly close. They have great burritos and such. We walked there the first time, but is was pouring down rain when we were leaving, so we asked if they could call us a cab. Gil would have none of that. He gave us a ride back in his own car. There's also a place down at Witch's Rock called Joe's I believe. It's the place that advertises nachos as big as your *$%&. Their prices are reasonable and they have great burgers, sandwiches, nachos of course, etc. There are 2 restaurants owned by sisters up on the hill. One is seafood and the other is pizza. I don't recall the names, but they were awesome. We also had several good meals at the restaurant that's on premises at the Diria. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Stunningly beautiful condo, could not have asked for better!!

Review submitted: May 31, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2010

This was our second time to the Diria, the first time we stayed in the hotel and toured the condos in the construction stage. They were awesome even half done. This time we were surprised to be in one of the newly constructed units. We manage to squeeze 7ppl (2 adults) and 14, 12, 10, 7 and 5 year old children. King bed, two twins a decent pull out (well I guess there all uncomfortable for adults...but not for three little kids)! Priced fairly at the edge of the main season, we managed to take advantage of great weather, few ppl and convenient location. This is a very nice property that is located on the Diria hotel property. It overlooks the large free form pool and is a just across the street from the beach. The Diria property encompasses both sides of the road by the way. You are allowed access to the entire property which is a nice perk. This location is the MOST convenient place in Tamarindo, although Tamarindo is not that big anyway. Still it is an easy walk to anything, grocery store 200 yrds, restaurants (the high end ones are onlt a few hundred yards away) and shops, banks etc. Despite all these conveniences don't forget Tamarindo is still a very rural feeling town with dirt roads, so with these amenities you get the best of both worlds. Back to the unit itself. I would argue that this is as nice as anyone's home! Beautiful tile, fixtures, wood work and furniture combined with great architecture, balconies, beautiful decor etc. Washer dryer, all appliances in the kitchen, wireless access and etc and all the amenities one needs.
Rebecca and Keith the property managers were very prompt and helpful with all questions, including recommending good cheap local eats and places to visit etc. La Bualas pizza is awesome and very reasonably priced. The lady in front of the Diria at noon in a red truck has awesome casadas for about 4 dollars each and they will fill you up. You can easily spend a lot of money on food in Costa Rica especially if you eat at tourist places. Try and eat at the small local places, sometimes scary but tasty. By the way we all drank the water throughout Costa Rica and were fine

In summary... you can't beat this experience!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Diria Condos a Great Place to Stay!

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

We stayed in the Diria Condos over the course of Christmas and the New Year. This facility really is in the centre of activity but quiet, comfortable and all that you could wish for with regard to a vacation in Tamarindo, CR. The condos are across the street from the hotel complex but really only about 150 yards from the beach. The condo area itself is gated with full time security. The grounds are very well maintained and the pool area is glorious within the condo area. There is also a pool in the hotel area with a grassed area for sitting in the sun. Or if you wish, wander out and sit beach front. A small distance down to the left of the beach you might be able to catch a fisherman who will sell you some of his catch and to the right from the Diria is a great spot to surf and play in the water for beginners. Surf lessons can be obtained right on the beach or grab a massage and a drink.
Our condo was adequate offering everything that you see described above. It was so nice to have a washer and dryer in the unit as the beach towels need to be washed everyday and dried. We are a family of four adults, enjoyed the patio furniture and regularly ate on the balcony outdoors...I don't think we even used the dining table! There is plenty of space. Full size appliances...we even had a turkey on Christmas Day! The scenery from your condo is lush and beautiful, bring binocculars. There is a family of howler monkeys in the property, butterflies and hummers outside your window.
Becky and her team are excellent in providing you with all sorts of information. There is an orientation binder in the condo that will give you a good idea of where to eat, what to do, where to go. They will arrange tours for you and provide you with accountable, accurate information. I do a lot of research when I travel and Blue Water Properties is one of the finest rental companies I've had the pleasure to deal with. Becky is fluent in both English and Spanish. Would I stay here again? Without a doubt.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect for anyone

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: November 21, 2009

Wow, me and my buddies were the first to rent this brand new condo. It is really very comfortable, lots of space and everything you need at your fingertips. My buddies and I were there to surf but the location was really the best. After a hardcore day of sun and surf it was great to come back to some luxury at the condo. Large pool in the complex the biggest in all the town I understand and the use of the Hotel Dirias pool and facilities across the street. Plenty of restaurants to choose from in town so you don't have to drive anywhere if you dont want to but the kitchen was fully stocked with everything you needed. The mini market was just around the corner so you could pick up all your basics from there. There is also a much bigger supermarket on the outskirts of town which is pretty nice about 3 minutes by car. Our favorite restaurant was Nabanas, we ate there most of the time as it had a great atmosphere and good food. The surf store was just 2 minutes from the condo so we could just go pick up our surf boards on our way out to the beaches. After showing my wife and family the photos of the condo and the beach she definitely said to book a trip. We did check out a couple of other condo complexes and this one had much more amenties on site and a bigger pool than any of them. Highly recommend this unit, you will not be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review