reviews for: listing #63171 - Lanikai, Hawaii Villa rental

Exquisite Oceanfront Lanikai Property
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  6
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,430 - $1,800 /nt
    $10,010 - $12,600 /wk

sort by:

Family Gathering

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 15, 2013

We were a family gathering of three generations, meeting up for two and half weeks in Lanikai from different corners of the world. It was the perfect house for the four separate families; seven adults + 3 children. There was lots of space and privacy for everyone. Dave our gracious host made our stay - whenever we had special requests he was on it straight away.

The kitchen was well equipped for our large meals of standing rib roasts, roasted veggies, gratin - couldn’t of done it without the double ovens and double fridges. BBQ grill worked like a charm for our steak dinners.

There was a lot of space to have local friends and family for visits. The under roof garden was beautiful, the pool was perfect for the kids, and the hot tub great for the guys with back problems. The kids loved watching the turtles from the beach lawn.

We loved that the beach in front of the house was there for early morning walks whilst most of the day the tide was in which gave us privacy from the public beachgoers. The breezes from the ocean were spectacular, couldn’t ask for anything more. We had awesome sunrises, and stunning full moon shots above the twin Mokes (islands).

Good memories were made and taken from our stay here. Mahalo nui loa.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great house, right on the water!

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

My extended family and I (6 adults and two kids) stayed in this property in October of 2011 for a week. The house is right on the water in Lanikai and is gorgeous. The kitchen is well stocked, you can hear the waves from the bedrooms at night as you sleeep and the area feels very secure. As other reviews have mentioned, the pool can be quite cold, but the hot tub is nice to warm up on. The beach is about three houses down to the right and can be accessed by walking through the water down the stairs. Bring water shoes. Property management was very responsive to all of our requests and had some great recommendations for activities. We all loved the house (and the area) and plan to return again for another trip sometime in the next couple of years.

Owners response: Mahalo for great review!We took cold pool to heart and installed giant solar unit with back up heat pump.pool is toasty and updated bathrooms and landscaping.Please come back again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great for Families!

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 14, 2012

This house is very big, bright and comfortable. The layout initially seems quite awkward, with some rooms accessible only from outside, but it ended up being absolutely perfect for our two families, each with small and occasionally very loud children. We were able to have each family on two completely different sides of the house where we couldn't hear their children suffering from jet lag at 2am, and they couldn't hear ours at 5am. And all the rooms are absolutely enormous, with space in four of six of the available rooms for two cribs to be spaced out nicely with lots of room to walk around each one. The decor and surfaces are also very child friendly - comfy and pleasant, but not so perfect as to worry about getting dirty and sandy.

The location is great. We loved Kailua, and the beach was very nice. We were a little surprised after hearing that Lanikai is the best beach on Oahu to find so little of it, but we understand that there has been significant erosion of the sand in the last several years. So the beach directly in front of this house was high tide the whole time, but it was easy to walk through the small waves to get to the wider beach 3 doors down.

The kitchen was well stocked - huge numbers of glassware, flatware and silverware, as if they expected you to throw gigantic parties! Cooking and clean-up were mostly easy. There were ants, but I think that is a Hawaii thing because of all the doors and windows being open for the breeze all the time. And they were the small harmless kind of ants.

All in all, it was a wonderful place that I would recommend for a large group looking for a relaxed atmosphere.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Fabulous Experience

Review submitted: February 14, 2012   Date of arrival: January 22, 2012

This is an amazing house. It is a perfect large island house on the beach--feels authentic, not like the modern palaces that are alien to the island heritage. It's much better than the pictures--the entryway alone is more beautiful than pictured. The swimming pool was perfect for the kids--large enough for them to happily play in it for hours when we weren't at the beach. There was plenty of room for everything we wanted to do, whether gathering together on the sectional in the living room (which accommodated all ten adult-sized people), or hanging around outside, or watching sea turtles feed directly in front of the house. Going down the steps to walk to the beach was far easier than it looked at first, and even a tender-footed person could navigate the steps and the smooth rocks below with bare feet. One member of our group walks with a stick, and he was able to use the steps. Our only caveat is that for very young children who don't know how to swim, it's necessary to exercise care because the swimming pool is so easily accessible. We watched our toddler very carefully--with care, it's a great house for young children. The beach is beautiful, with lots of sandy areas for swimming. Every time we needed anything or had any kind of problem, Dave was right there, responsive and helpful. As mostly former residents of Oahu, our group was already familiar with restaurants and attractions, but for the uninitiated, ample information was available in the house. (We recommend dinner at Buzz's Steakhouse, a Kailua institution.) All of us wished we could stay longer and highly recommend this house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Wonderful 60th Birthday Celebration Location with Kids and Grandson!

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 26, 2009

We stayed at this property for a surprise 60th birthday celebration for my wife. Our 3 daughters joined us along with 2 sons-in law, and one grandson (age 10 months). It was absolutely wonderful!
The house layout allowed us to be together when we wanted and also allowed for privacy when needed. The pool was a plus too. But the best part of this property is its location!
It is located right on the ocean so viewing spectacular sunrises was the way to start each day and listening to the ocean breezes and waves gently lapping at the shoreline was a wonderful way to fall asleep each night. Just sitting out on the patio each day and watching the ocean view change made for a nice way to pass the time. The turtles in the water near the house was a plus and we spent many an hour trying to keep track of them as they feed off the bottom.
The sandy beach starts just 2 houses further down and walking through the surf to get there was a welcomed event each day. The lack of a beach in front of the house made for a very private environment both day and night. Hot tubbing after a long day at the beach was very enjoyable!
The house was very clean and the agent extremely helpful. The location was close to town and nothing was more than 5 minutes away.
This property can work for any age groups or mixture of ages as can be evidenced by our experience here. All had a most memorable time and we would visit again the next time we have a special occasion to celebrate!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review