reviews for: listing #63347 - Virginia Beach, Virginia Cottage rental

Semi Oceanfront North End Elevator Roof Deck 7HDTVs 3Gas FP
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  North End
  • sleeps  13
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $295 - $590 /nt
    $1,795 - $4,895 /wk
    $7,180 - $19,580 /mth

sort by:

Perfection!

Review submitted: June 16, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

We booked this rental based on the fact that it had an elevator for our mother who is semi-disabled and can not climb stairs. It ended up being more than perfect for all of us. We had 3 couples and our mom, and the set up of the house was perfect for a family that wanted to travel together and still have privacy. The pictures do not do it justice. The entire home was absolutely beautiful. The owners met every need, right from the start. They gave us information so we could rent a beach wheelchair, and brought brochures from all of the local sights. I also received emails to inform us of free concerts, art shows, etc that we could attend. I definitely plan on returning. Everything is supplied, from linens to spices, to laundry detergent and if you don't see it, they will get it for you. I would rate it 10 stars if I could. Love, love, loved it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Magical!

Review submitted: June 6, 2014   Date of arrival: May 28, 2014

We rented this awesome house for my son's wedding. Right from the first email the owner's were fantastic. They answered all of my questions quickly and thoroughly. I have severe asthma and they went out of their way to be sure that all of the cleaning products and soap were non-scented and even aired out the house before we arrived. The owners are why this is a magical place. The home is gorgeous and super clean. Everything is labelled and the owners met us when we arrived and explained how everything works (including the elevator). The 4th floor roof was awesome for views with coffee. This fantastic house along with the fantastic owners made it possible for me to enjoy a really special family time. MAGICAL!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best beach vacation!

Review submitted: October 24, 2013   Date of arrival: September 4, 2013

Our family had the privilege of staying in this lovely home for 5 weeks in the fall. It was truly a treat! The owners are some of the nicest people we've ever met. This home is so comfortable and very welcoming. The sheets and the bed are luxurious. We all slept so well. The overall atmosphere is tranquil and peaceful. One of our favorite things to do in the mornings was to take our coffee to the roof top deck and watch the sun come up over the ocean. We also had many dolphin sightings! The owners have covered every detail down to beach towels, coolers, umbrellas, beach chairs and toys for our children. We defiantly over packed. We could have left a couple suitcases at home. We had an elderly family member visit during our stay and the elevator was very handy. She was able to get around without trouble. The overall experience exceed our expectations and we look forward to returning!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jill: It was our pleasure meeting you and your wonderful family. We are so pleased that you
had such a wonderful time and enjoyed our home. Thank you for staying with us!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Place to Stay in Virginia Beach

Review submitted: October 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

My wife and I just rented this house for a week. There is not a better place to stay in all of VA Beach. The house is across the street from the ocean and your can literally hear the waves from almost every room. Most rooms also have a nice view of the ocean. The house is fully stocked with literally every item you could possibly need for a week at the beach. 2-4 families could likely stay here without needing to bring anything extra. The owners David and Sheila were extremely easy to work with and very attentive. It was evident that they really cared about us enjoying their home. We cannot say enough nice things about our stay and definitely plan on coming back again.

Owners response: Thank you Aaron! It was a pleasure to meet you and your lovely wife. We are glad that you
enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind review.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect place to relax!

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful home while in town for my cousin's wedding. Sheila and David were AMAZING to work with--email communication was very clear and when we got to the house they took the time to personally show us around. The house was perfect--everything we needed was there from hairdryers to spices to cook with. We didn't need to think of any "extras" because the owners already had! There were plenty of beach towels and boogie boards as well as DVDs for the kids to enjoy. The beds were comfortable and we had plenty of space for our family to relax and spend time together. While at the wedding, we heard stories of relatives who had difficulty dealing with nearby hotels--we had only praises to share for our experience. You will LOVE staying at this house!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

This house was absolutely beautiful and in a great, quiet location, yet close to everything! This house had everything anyone could possible want for a beach house and just steps from the beach. The beach is wide, not crowded, and beautiful. Our family had a great time. The house was even better than the pictures and the owners had directions for everything. The house has all the beach amentities ready to go such as beach chairs, towels, coolers, toys and even a beach wheel barrow! We couldn't have asked for more and would definitely recommend to our family and friends. The house is within walking distance to the boardwalk, close to great restaurants, and we even made a day trip to Bush Gardens. The house was gorgeous, excellently maintained, and overall very impressive. We will definitely plan on comming back, loved it!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Very Pleased

Review submitted: September 8, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

Our family rented this cottage for 10 days and found it ideal for a multi-generation retreat. The house is immaculate, very fresh and comfortable. The owners went out of their way to anticipate all of our needs, even supplying a Barbie playhouse for our granddaughters. Unlike many rentals where you have to bring your own linens, beach chairs, etc, here everything was supplied. There are even books, games and DVD's available for all ages. We loved the location, close to the beach and on the lovely drive where the kids could safely ride their bikes. Everything was in good working order, and the owners let us know that they were only a phone call away should there be any questions.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Location, layout, everything upgraded, any accessory you need for a beach week

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

We were in VA Beach for our son's wedding. 8 adults and a 2 year old grandchild spent a wonderful week here and the owners were especially hospitable. The ocean is indeed across the street and beach access is right there. The third floor roof deck was a favorite spot after our grandson went to bed. My husband particularly enjoyed how well-labeled everything was in addition to the great technology. I particularly enjoyed the well-outfitted kitchen which made everything so easy. A beverage fridge in the garage along with a half bath (for in between beach trips) was great. We have rented many beach houses and this is by far the best.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Fantastic! Beyond Expectations!

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

If I could give this more than 5 stars I would!

We chose this rental while in town for my son's wedding. We were gathering extended family under one roof. The owners carefully thought through the family members we expected to make sure the sleeping configuration would work.

As the other reviews have stated, this property is beautiful beyond what the pictures show! There is nothing else that you would wish for whether in the well equipped kitchen, DVD collection, games or books. Everything was in perfect working order and super clean.

The owners were very nice and thorough. They have thought of everything to make your vacation or visit comfortable! They even drove to the wedding venue to give us an accurate estimate of the distance from the home.

The beach is pristine and a very short walk from the home. It is much quieter than down on the Boardwalk.

There was plenty of parking for all of us on site.

The elevator was great for my Mom who has trouble with stairs, but it was also an added bonus when we arrived and departed for luggage, etc.

We would highly recommend renting this property. Everyone in our party wants to stay here again!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

There's not much more I can say that hasn't already been noted by the many other spectacular reviews.

This is a superbly built, beautifully decorated, and impeccably maintained house. The layout of the house is exceptional - 9 of us had plenty of room to gather or be alone.

The owners are exceptionally accomodating and provide everything you need for a comfortable visit.

The location is ideal - a quiet area, right next to the beach, but within a quick drive or long walk to the busier Va Beach areas.

I would not hesitate to recommend this rental to anyone...in fact, it's even nicer in person!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Fantastic Thanksgiving!!

Review submitted: February 8, 2012   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

We stayed in the home with our family for Thanksgiving 2011. And we have never stayed in a home with more welcoming owners and fabulous accommodations! We had rented homes in the Outer Banks for years. This year we decided to stay in Virginia Beach to visit friends and be closer to amenities, and it was worth it! Having direct contact with the owners turned out to be wonderful. They were truly dedicated to make sure we had a wonderful vacation and we felt more than welcome. The owners have thought of everything! There were toys galore for our two daughters to play with. They never wanted to leave the house! The kitchen was fully stocked for our Thanksgiving dinner. The owners went out of their way to make sure we had all of the kitchen supplies we needed to prepare a Thanksgiving dinner in the home. Proximity to the beach was key to us and this home was perfect. We had a football game on the beach Thanksgiving day. The beach walkway was only a few steps from the front door. The proximity of the beach gave us gorgeous views of the sunset each morning from the master windows. We would wake up to pure bliss! The home is decorated beautifully. Every piece of tile in the bathrooms has obviously been handpicked, and the flooring throughout the home is gorgeous. We had a fabulous vacation and when we plan on going back to Virginia Beach this will be the house we will be renting!! Thanks owners for providing such a wonderful vacation for us and our family!!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

This is the perfect vacation home!

Review submitted: January 1, 2012   Date of arrival: October 22, 2011

We rented this amazing home the last week of October 2011 and had a truly wonderful vacation. The weather was perfect, warm enough for the kids to enjoy swimming in the ocean and playing on the beach. The walk from the house to the beach is just a few minutes, and the owners provide everything needed to make the beach time easy and enjoyable (including a beach wheelbarrow to carry beach supplies). The house is spacious, immaculate, expertly decorated and luxurious but very cozy (with super comfortable beds!!). It feels like home rather than a ‘vacation house,’ with lots of amenities, including toys for the kids, books, music, and movies for kids and parents. The owners were so accommodating and made sure we had everything we needed [including some extra Barbie food :) ], and they are really, really nice people to boot!! We couldn't have asked for anything more, and hope to make another trip to VA Beach and this property, in the future!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great for out of town Bridal Party

Review submitted: September 22, 2011   Date of arrival: September 12, 2011

My family had lived in Virginia Beach for 19 years, so when my daughter needed a house to get ready in for her wedding, this one was PERFECT! She lives in Michigan. My other children and I live in Florida. My parents and grandmother live in Pennsylvania. We all stayed in this wonderful home in order to do final planning and dress for the wedding. We had 4 generations in the house and the elevator was perfect for my 90 year old grandmother. Very easy and fun to use.

The owners are wonderful people who thought of everything you would need. They live near by and were available if needed. When we needed to relax at the beach, there were plenty of beach chairs, body boards and beach towels to put in the beach buggy provided in the garage.

The house was very clean and beautifully decorated. The beds were comfortable with many different pillows. We were all impressed with the state of the art electronics and lighting.

This truly is a home away from home and it was the perfect place to get ready for my daughter's wedding. My Uncle was so impressed, he is already planning his own family get away at this home. Can't wait to come back for a family reunion.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great vacation rental

Review submitted: September 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

As tenants of the North end of Virginia Beach for approximately the last 10 to 12 years, we have spent the last 3 years this the lovely residence.

The house is impeccable and is well stocked in every feature.

Having stayed in rental properties on the Atlantic Coast for over 20 years, we have never had a house that is so well equipped and well maintained.

We find this location to be the best we have ever had and would recommend it highly to any Summer tenant. The proof is in the pudding, since we have rented the house for 3 years, it must be as described because you do not go back for a second stay at an unacceptable summer rental house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Luxury Beach Rental !! ( Best of Show )

Review submitted: May 26, 2011   Date of arrival: May 18, 2011

The description and photos on this rental could NEVER do it justice ! Virtually everything is far better than described and the attention to detail is absolutely awesome. We travel constantly and this is one of the best properties we have stayed at ever.

Owners have done a superb job of anticipating your every need and making sure that it is met. You will love the outstanding central audio-visual system, the three fireplaces, the central vacuum, the DVD movie library, CD music library and even an extra beer refrigerator in the garage, and even the dual garage door openers for more convenience. The easy to operate elevator makes staying here so easy and convenient - you won't believe how much you will love this feature !!

Unlike most timeshare rentals (which we do a lot) this home has upscale fine glassware, very nice china, silverware, and the best in cookware, every kitchen gadget you can imagine, and all the gadgets and small appliances you might have in your home. Cooking will be enjoyable and make your vacation more like staying at a friend's home than a rental.

The sunrises and sunsets from the roof top deck are priceless and the beach view from all of the decks is stunning. When you go to the beach, you will enjoy the beach buggy to haul all of your gear to the water over the sand, and returning to the house you'll also like the outdoor shower and hoses to clean everyone and everything off.

The owners are really wonderful folks who live in the area and are committed to making sure everything is perfect for your vacation. We were in need of nothing during our stay and at no time did the thought ' I wish we had brought ....' come to our mind.

If you are coming to Virginia Beach and renting, you owe it to yourself, your family and friends to check this lovely property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girlfriend Getaway

Review submitted: May 19, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

Five of us rented the house for a girlfriends getaway and had a ball! The house was just as presented on the web: Clean as a whistle, every amenity possible and lots of room for gathering, Across from the beautiful Atlantic Ocean beach and close to many attractions, the house was the perfect location for our jaunts downtown and to Norfolk and Williamsburg,. Although we were a group of women, the house is perfectly equipped for families too. The owner provides information about local markets, restaurants and other places of interest around town and was available to answer all our questions and concerns throughout our stay. Definitely would stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful House

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

Just spent a long weekend with 4 other longtime friends. The house was everything the description and pictures promised; we just didn't have time to take advantage of it all! Kitchen is wonderful and very well stocked - lots of directions everywhere for how to use everything.. Everything was clean and sparkling and owner took lots of time making sure we knowe where everything was and making recommendaitons of restaurants. Easy access to the beach and all you need to take advantage is in the garage- we didn't use as it was still April. The neighborhood is wonderful and worth a walk around if you like houses and gardens. Be sure to go to the planted walkway down to the beach (47th st maybe?) that is dedicated to those lost to cancer; it's beautiful and inspiring.

We went both to Colonial Williamsburg and Norfolk Chrysler Museum on different days and enjoyed both of those activities. The only thing missing on the first floor is a dressing mirror but was easy enough to go upstairs and see how put together I was or wasn't!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

The perfect family vacation house

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2011

Recently rented this house for an extended weekend stay and must commend the owners for a great experience. This home is full of wonderful features for all ages, and blends the charm of the beach with a cozy feel while relaxing by the fireplace. The kitchen is stocked with complete essentials (and more), as well as high quality appliances that should make any cook feel at home. The house is spotless and very well maintained on all levels. I would definitely recommend this unit to anyone looking for a perfect family vacation to enjoy Virginia Beach and the north end location.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Home

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: January 22, 2011

My family rented this gorgeous property for 5 weeks in Jan and Feb of 2011. The home includes every amenity imaginable: a chef’s kitchen, very private comfortable bedrooms, luxurious bathrooms, an elevator, roof top deck with great views, one car garage (with a full size refrigerator/freezer and a half bath), plenty of additional parking, wired and wireless internet in every room, cable TV in every room, DVD’s, books, board games, beach chairs, and much more. The location is perfect as you are steps away from the beach, a short walk to the boardwalk, and close to conveniences and first landing state park. The neighborhood is beautiful and safe. The owner’s did everything possible to make sure we enjoyed our stay – they are pleasure to rent from. We have enjoyed many vacation homes – this one tops our list.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home Sweet Home

Review submitted: January 8, 2011   Date of arrival: March 28, 2010

This was a perfect vacation for myself and my family.The owners were very helpful. Sometimes they were too helpful. There was so much to do and so little time. The kitchen was amazing and had everything that you needed plus more that you did not need. The only thing that we could not find was an Apple corer. The upstairs roof/look out was awesome I was told. I am in a wheelchair and had no problem getting around because of the elevator. The bathroom was accessible which is always a plus when you are in a wheelchair. We would definitely recommend this to everyone. I would definitely be back if I could not visit another state.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Long Weekend for Bridge Playing and Relaxing

Review submitted: November 15, 2010   Date of arrival: November 11, 2010

Staying in this beach house is like being the guests of wonderful hosts - not like being a renter! The owners have thought of everything for convenience and comfort. This is a First Class home in every way.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a jewel

Review submitted: October 27, 2010   Date of arrival: October 14, 2010

I can not say enough about this beautiful home and it's owners. From the minute I walked in the door I know how much attention had been made to all the details. We did not need one thing because it was all provided with great care. The house is big but cozy and what a great location. Very friendly family neighborhood with the beach right across the street. The beds were so comfortable that everyone in our party wanted to take them home. I would go back to this home anytime and hope I get a chance to do just that. Thanks for a wonderful weekend. SH, you are the perfect host.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: October 20, 2010   Date of arrival: September 22, 2010

This beautiful home is VA Beach's best kept secret in the rental world! Our group of 10 (6 adults and 4 children) were able to spread out quite comfortably and the "beachy" decor was fabulous and fresh. From the glass elevator to the boogie boards to the 7 flat screen HD TVs - this home has it all! We will highly recommend it to family and friends. And, we would love to rent it again for the next family reunion!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

FAMILY REUNION

Review submitted: October 6, 2010   Date of arrival: September 22, 2010

This is an A#1 property. We had a total of ten guests spanning three generations and everything was perfect. The owners anticipated every possible need including those of the young children. We are looking for an excuse to return and have recommended this rental to family and friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful House, Great Location

Review submitted: September 17, 2010   Date of arrival: April 9, 2010

Really enjoyed our stay at this great house, Owner went above and beyond to show us everything in the house. There was not one thing that we needed for the stay that was not in the house.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

"There is nothing like FAMILY!"

Review submitted: August 18, 2010   Date of arrival: March 24, 2010

"I should have posted this sooner, but this thing called life kicked back in after my family and I spent a wonderful 4 days together in this meticulous home. From the intitial contact with the owners, to looking out the rear veiw mirror as we pulled away, one word comes to mind.....PRICELESS. The ease of working with the owners in securing the rental was amazing. They provided area recommendations, seasonal information, brought additional linens and a blow up mattress for our extra large family, and even baked a beach themed cake complete with hot cocoa because the weather in March during our stay was rainy and cool. The home is not only well designed and spacious, but you will want for nothing. The owners spared no cost on the finishing and the home is appointed with everything you can think of. Bring your groceries....that's it! The kitchen is a true cooks kitchen with top of the line cookware and every utensil/serving option, from traditional to clam bake. We traveled with children, teens, adults and grandparents. The elevator was a must to accomadate the grandparents we traveled with and the children enjoyed catching a ride when in use. Our family can not wait for an opportunity to stay again. I think it may be our new tradition!!!"

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

There is nothing like FAMILY!

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: March 24, 2010

I should have posted this sooner, but this thing called life kicked back in after my family and I spent a wonderful 4 days together in this meticulous home. From the intitial contact with the owners, to looking out the rear veiw mirror as we pulled away, one word comes to mind.....PRICELESS. The ease of working with the owners in securing the rental was amazing. They provided area recommendations, seasonal information, brought additional linens and a blow up mattress for our extra large family, and even baked a beach themed cake complete with hot cocoa because the weather in March during our stay was rainy and cool. The home is not only well designed in spacious, but you will want for nothing. The owners spared no cost on the finishing and the home is appointed with everything you can think of. Bring your groceries....that's it! The kitchen is a true cooks kitchen with top of the line cookware and every utensil/serving option, from traditional to clam bake. We traveled with children, teens, adults and grandparents. The elevator was a must to accomadate the grandparents we traveled with and the children enjoyed catching a ride when in use. Our family can not wait for an opportunity to stay again. I think it may be our new tradition!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 21 / 21

 

Lovely, easy and beautiful place

Review submitted: May 30, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

The owners of this home spare no efforts to make your stay amazing. My family, four children, spouse and mother have stayed here twice and both times it has been amazing. The owners have taken the time to stock the house with everything you need to have a great vacation. Not only did they stock toys and beach gear for us, they also have everything you need in the house to relax and enjoy yourselves. It is close to the boardwalk and all the restaurants and all the fun but far enough away to enjoy your stay.

We will stay here again, hopefully many times.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful Getaway

Review submitted: March 17, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2009

My husband and I were looking for a local beach house to rent for our 20th anniversary. We happened upon this website and this wonderful property. It's an amazing house owned by an amazing couple. They really made us feel like we were "home" for the weekend. It's a hop, skip and jump from the ocean, lots of restaurants and entertainment. Our stay made our wedding anniversary weekend perfect. Suffice it to say that we can't wait to stay again...longer this time!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review