reviews for: listing #63360 - Turtle Bay, Hawaii Condo rental

Paradise Awaits-Seclud Beaches MAY Special & Free 7th Night
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Kuilima Estates
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $190 /nt

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Comments from a Family of Seven Stay

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 2, 2012

This family of 7, 4 adults and 3 children stayed for 2 weeks in my condo. I just received an email from these folk who wrote the following comment.

"Just wanted to say we had a wonderful time and the condo was great. We would love to stay there again and will save your email address to come back hopefully next year. Thanks again."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location & price!

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

This condo could not have been better for the 4 of us! We planned a "girls getaway" to Hawaii, sight-unseen, & were beyond relieved when we entered our HOME for the week. We used every bit of sleeping space (2 beds, the pull-out couch, and the futon cushions), & it was awesome to have two full bathrooms! There were also plenty of linens and towels for us to use. We loved being so close to Turtle Bay Resort, North Shore Oahu, and Polynesian Cultural Center for a luau. We made sure to visit a different beach every day (our favorite was "Jump Rock Park" at Waimea Falls), and couldn't have done that without a rental car.

While we had grand plans to stop at Costco on the drive to Turtle Bay, we decided to go to Foodland instead (as recommended by the owner). GREAT suggestion, as it had any/everything we could need. It was literally 1-stop shopping, and the fruit stands along the way just added to our experience! Prices were surprisingly reasonable, too.

It was so great to have a full kitchen, a washer/dryer, and cable TV. It was nice to know that the owner and housekeeper were close, in case there were any issues. The condo complex was very quiet & clean - we didn't use the pools, but they looked inviting!

We would definitely stay here again!!

Owners response: Too hear how my condo and information I was able to provide assisted someone in having a wonderful vacation is "music to my ears" -- a beautiful song -- thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

First time in Hawaii -- North Shore perfect!

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

Our family (dad and mom with two teens, ages 18 and 16) stayed in this unit for eight days in February 2011. The condo offered everything that we were looking and made for a fantastic vacation!

The unit is located in the Kuilima section of the Turtle Bay complex. It's not part of Turtle Bay -- this is a separate development, so you cannot use the pool and facilties at Turtle Bay which are reserved for guests. But, this complex has its own pool, too, and is surrounded by the Turtle Bay golf courses. Every beach in Hawaii is public, with public access clearly marked, and the beaches at Turtle Bay are no exception. So, basically, you get the peacefulness and beauty of being at Turtle Bay without paying Turtle Bay prices!

The unit has a convenient washer/dryer combination and includes cable TV and a wired broadband connection (but no wi-fi). The kitchen is well-stocked; there's even a blender for making margaritas or smoothies. There is a grocery store in La'ie, just ten minutes away, so you can shop and then cook at the condo and save a ton (food in Hawaii is very expensive!). Also, there are a number of fruit stands along the road nearby, so you can pickup pineapples, mangoes, and papayas and bring them "home".

The second bedroom is a loft room upstairs. My two teenagers did not wish to share a bed with their sibling, so the 16 year slept on a futon cushion that was in the closet. The sofa in the living room pulls out to a bed, but we did not use it.

The condo complex is quiet and appears to be quite safe. My wife and I are runners, and she ran for several miles along the road each morning -- there's no sidewalk or trail, so the biggest danger is just from the traffic!

Turtle Bay is a long ways from Honolulu. That is a plus and a minus. The good side of that is that Honolulu has a lot of traffic and it really has a big city feel. But, when you get up to Turtle Bay, you feel like you've left it all behind. On the minus side, it's a long drive to visit attractions like Pearl Harbor and Waikiki. Try to plan no more than a couple days in Honolulu, so you don't feel like you spent your whole vacation in the car!

The Polynesian Cultural Center is nearby, also in La'ie, not far from the grocery store I mentioned above. There is also a Polynesian themed McDonalds there -- not that I flew 3000 miles to eat a Big Mac, but it looks pretty cool. For me, I enjoyed the sumptuous luau at the PCC!

This condo was a fantastic choice!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: “This condo was a fantastic choice!” I am so pleased that these guests ended their review with the sentence. I am so happy when the guests at my condo have a wonderful time.
And as mentioned in this guest’s review, there are 2 heated pools on the condo grounds for condo guest use, plus condo guests can use all seven of the Resort’s restaurants, bars, have drinks by the ocean by the hotel and watch the surfers go by, schedule a day at the spa, go on guided horse rides, play golf on 3 courses, and walk or ride bikes on the lovely trails that go both directions along the beach from the hotel, swim in the protected bay beside the hotel or start at Sunset Beach Park, just down the road from the condo, on the bike/jagging path that goes all the way to Waimea Bay and Waimea Audubon Park.

And if you want to email your friends/family while away, there is a high, speed, cable internet connection available in the condo for your use (Roadrunner).

I so look forward to you staying with us, here in Turtle Bay, on North Shore, at my condo!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Family trip for Labor Day Week 2010

Review submitted: October 12, 2010   Date of arrival: August 27, 2010

The condo is very nice and we had a wonderful time there.

Great location! Close to La’ie and North Shore, our favorite places.

Comfortable furniture throughout.

The pool is nice and warm. Also, it is pretty, the tiling in it looks like turtles in the pool. It was great for a quick dip to relax after the ocean or for the kids to swim while dinner grilled.

Turtle bay is clean and secure.

Parking is easy.

Neighbors are silent.

Condo was clean , bedding was clean, bathrooms were also clean.

Although it is in a complex, the placing of the trees makes it feel very private.

The suggested restaurants were exactly as they described in their info notebook.

Patricia answered right away when we called with a question.

The online description is accurate.

I recommend this to families or couples who like a relaxing area.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Hawaii in December

Review submitted: February 7, 2010   Date of arrival: December 11, 2009

This was a great trip to Hawaii. My wife and I along with a 10, 12, 17 and 18 year old stayed in this condo and had a wonderful time. The owner was great to work with and the unit was fabulous. The owner answered all our questions and gave us several suggestions to make our trip more enjoyable and affordable. It was clean and fully stocked with the appliances/utensils needed to eat at home and save money. The free internet connection was very nice to be able to keep in touch. Being next to Turtle Bay was very centrally located. We were 10-20 minutes from pretty much everything on the North Shore. We spent 4 days on Oahu at this unit and it was comfortable like home. The Macadamia Nut Cream Pie at Ted's Bakery was GREAT!!. Even the kids who don't like macadamia nuts liked this pie. Shave ice in Haleiwa was a GREAT price. Masumoto's is what everyone talks about, but several others are just as good, imo. Shrimp trucks are all over, but if you don't love shrimp, it's not worth the money. The unit is a short walk to Turtle Bay Resort and has a nice little beach that is sheltered. Pretty much anything else was really beaten by the waves. We were there in December and saw some of the Triple Crown surfing and spent time at some of the local beaches also. The waves were kind of exciting.

Have a great time in Hawaii and enoy this condo. Aloha.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

10 wonderful days in North Shore

Review submitted: September 9, 2009   Date of arrival: August 18, 2009

My husand and I recently returned from a wonderful trip to Hawaii. We were able to secure this condo through the owner who is a delight to deal with. This is just like staying in your own home, you can cook, listen to music, watch tv, movies, etc. There is an internet connection, so you can bring a laptop if needed which for me was a real plus. I own my own business and that was important. The unit is very clean, well appointed and has a washer and dryer which is another plus. The beds are comfortable and the area is very quiet and peaceful. We ate several times at Ola's at Turtle Bay, visited Haleiwa for food and shopping. A great place to hang out. We ate at one of the shrimp trucks. They are all the same, so try a few of them. The people who live in North Shore truly know the art of Aloha. You will enjoy staying there and this condo is a gem to stay at. Make sure you go to the Farmer's market which is in Honolulu on Saturday mornings. Get there early to partake of fresh food, flowers, etc. I was able to make several meals out of the food I bought there. The fresh ginger makes the unit smell fabulous.This truly makes your trip memorable. I highly recommend a store in Haleiwa called Global Creations for shopping and vacation memoirs and of course, you have to go to Masumotos for Shaved ice. Make sure you to to the Waimea Valley Audibon Center. It is about a 2 mile hike and a great waterfall that you can swim in for your reward for the hike. Wow, it is fabulous. We also tried Ted's in North Shore for breakfast, very yummy and very local. This is a part of Hawaii not to be missed and this condo makes it all worthwhile. We will return again. The weather in North Shore is cooler and more tolerable than in Waikii. In China town if you go, try Little Kitchen for Chinese food. We also went to Pearl Harbor, very moving and a visit to our past not to be missed.
Have fun and enjoy the beauty of Hawaii. Aloha

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review