reviews for: listing #63360 - Turtle Bay, Hawaii Condo rental

Paradise Awaits-Seclud Beaches MAY Special & Free 7th Night
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Kuilima Estates
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $190 /nt

sort by:

Paradise Found

Review submitted: July 2, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

We found the condo Nicer than we expected from the pictures. The condo was clean & comfortable & fully stocked. We loved that the condo on the resort & we could walk to the restaurant to have a meal or a drink without having to drive. We enjoyed that the heated pool at the condo very much for nighttime swimming. The owner was very professional in here in dealing with me. We would stay here again & would recommend it to both friends & family

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ideal Accommodation For An AMAZING Getaway (Super Family Friendly, Too!)

Review submitted: June 28, 2014   Date of arrival: June 20, 2014

BEST FAMILY VACATION EVER! We are just packing up after a beautiful 8-day stay at this gorgeous property. We are a family of four, with two young children (6 & 8) and also invited along my mother. From our first interaction with owner Trish via email, we were impressed. She was so responsive to our questions and so warm and welcoming. After a few days in Waikiki, we were totally ready to relax in the laid back paradise of the North Shore, and this development and this particular condo are so "family friendly." The condo totally lived up to its billing, and Trish made everything so crystal clear in terms of directions and amenities.

The condo itself is awesome -- beautiful from the outside and very comfortable and very well stocked on the inside (from a full kitchen to a washer/dryer to a big pile of beach towels). We easily slept 5 -- loved having two full bathrooms given how many of us were staying here. Our kids absolutely loved the loft, but our favorite spot was the wonderful lanai -- the perfect spot for breakfast or reading a good book while the warm breezes blow.

Our kids loved the heated pool, which is literally a 1-minute walk around the corner, and my husband was thrilled to have tennis courts so close by. As with all beaches in Hawaii, the beach at Turtle Bay/Kawela Bay is fully accessible to the public, and it is fantastic -- beautiful sand, turquoise warm water, shaded grassy area, a fabulous open air restaurant, snack bar, and nice toileting facilities. What makes this beach so special is that it's sheltered from the pounding surf, so the waters are warm and inviting for kids (and kids at heart). The snorkeling is also fantastic.

The location of the condo makes it easy to so many attractions, including Waimea Bay, funky surfing town Haleiwa, the Polynesian Cultural Center, and so much more. For those who are a bit reluctant to drive around the island, there are major buses that comes through the complex. Or, you could do what we did, and enjoy spending most of your time lounging in this corner of paradise! There are dining options galore nearby at every price range, and two big grocery stores within an easy 15 minute drive in either direction.

If you are looking for a magical getaway and a lovely, reasonably priced place to stay, look no further! We have very dear friends who are long time residents of Oahu, and they were so impressed with the property that we had found on line. We can't wait to come back! Mahalo, Trish!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean, comfortable condo for family of 7

Review submitted: June 20, 2014   Date of arrival: June 2, 2014

The unit was as pictured, including the sea turtles! We are a family of 7 adults celebrating a high school graduation, 50th birthday and engagement. Everyone in our party found the unit clean and comfortable with 2 beds, a fold out couch (with a very comfortable mattress), that was more than enough for 2 adult males and a futon on the floor. While perfect for our family size, 3 couples might want to consider a 3 bedroom. This condo was a very good value for the price and number of guests. We read reviews of other units with complaints of cockroaches, ants and power outages. We did not see one insect, though an occasional gecko, which was cool. Steph and Trish were very accommodating, even bringing out a cork screw which was very appreciated after a long day of traveling, and some extra paper goods. There were plenty of pots and pans for cooking and tableware. There was a minor plumbing issue, which was taken care of the very next day. You must realize that this is not a hotel with a maintenance and house keeping dept. with daily maid service. They have a very small window to clean the unit, wash the linens, make sure dishes are clean and take care of any issues that arise. For dining, we celebrated my wife's 50th birthday at Haleiwa Joes, which was excellent (beautiful sunset), the ahi enchiladas at Cholo's is to die for and the shave ice at Aloha General Market is the best ("da works"). Romy's Shrimp truck in Kahuku was good but over priced. For a luau, "Chief's Luau" (check yelp) was awesome, very funny, though a bit a of a drive. We enjoyed cliff diving at Waimea and snorkeling at Shark's cove. I hear "Impossible's Pizza" (truck) is a must, though we didn't have a chance to go. If you take a drive around the island, stop at Pali lookout for amazing views. We shopped at Foodland, though my sister says Costco prices are comparable to the mainland for alcohol. If you get hurt or sick, there is a Kaiser 4 miles up the road in Kahuku (found out the hard way). This is our 4th trip to Oahu in 10 years and we really love the condo's at Turtle Bay for their ambiance and amenities, oh and sunsets. It is very peaceful, especially with the rainfall in the evenings. We don't even bother with Waikiki, though we do go into town for the Arizona Memorial. All in all, a wonderful week. Thank you Steph and Trish. if you have any questions, you can email me at hansenbrood1@gmail.com. We would recommend this to friends or relatives.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Disappointed

Review submitted: June 5, 2014   Date of arrival: May 25, 2014

Arrived at condo to find cleaning lady still cleaning. Waited another 15 minutes after 3pm check in time before getting access. Condo was very poorly cleaned, obviously due to the fact that cleaning person was rushing once she saw we were there to check in. Very unprofessional attitude from her like we should apologize for checking in on time. Cannot stress enough how poorly the condo was cleaned. Floors were dirty, dishes in the cupboards were not washed properly, pillows and duvet with stains, bathtub upstairs had hair from previous tenant stuck to the walls. Balcony was not swept or cleaned. The washing machine had black mold inside. Took pictures of everything. Had to scrub mold before doing laundry as we were worried for our ten month old. Do not believe this place was described as "luxury condo" in VRBO description. Extremely disappointed as we stayed in Maui in a condo for $20 a night more and it was a world of difference. Not sure how this place received such good reviews from others. Very outdated and poorly managed. Would never stay here again and most definitely would not recommend it to anyone.

Owners response: While I know this may affect your decision to stay in my condo, I can only ask that you trust me and the other guests who have written reviews. The appearance of the condo is exactly as shown in the pictures – Hawaiian style, including bamboo and teak wood furnishing and futon style couch for additional, comfortable sleeping for families traveling together. You will note that the previous review, April 2014, gave a rating of 5 stars. In 2013 the condo has no reviews as it was rented to the Director for Turtle Bay Resorts for the year until he could get his family settled in their new home in Hawaii. While check in time is 3:00 these guests arrived at 2:00 and called saying they would get a hotel as condo was not ready. I reminded them that earliest possible check in was 3:00. (At booking, I always let inquiring guests know if they have an early arrival and would like to check in prior to official check in time, if available, they can for 1/2 cost rent the prior night so we can guarantee an earlier check in or they are welcome to leave their suitcases until condo is cleaned and enjoy the Resort.). This guest was invited to leave their suitcases and enjoy the Resort or other North Shore pleasures until condo cleaning was finished. They chose to sit in their car in the parking lot. If the condo was not cleaned to their satisfaction they should have requested the housekeeper to address it or call me so I could see that it was cleaned to their satisfaction. It is difficult to understand people, and why they choose to not let us know so we could fix it, if in fact it was not clean, and instead selected to write such an unpleasant review. After seeing this review, I immediately called the housekeeper (who has cleaned for me for the last 4 years) and she was sad to hear that this was their opinion and we went over the items, and she said these items were clean although she said it was stressful in that she knew they were sitting in their car and that he came to the door several times saying he was waiting to check in. If you rent my condo and you get there and it is not cleaned to your satisfaction, I will immediately see it is fixed! Aloha and thank you for considering my condo for your Hawaii holiday.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise!

Review submitted: May 27, 2014   Date of arrival: April 18, 2014

This was my first time in Hawaii and not only are we glad we stayed on the North Shore but staying in Trish's condo was amazing. She is very accommodating and really helped make our vacation stress free. Everything on the listing was accurate. The property was beautiful and clean and the area, in general, was a breathtaking. I would recommend this condo without hesitation and would love to come back someday.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so happy when guests have an "amazing" time and I am glad we could make the stay a memorable one and I am favored to have a wonderful individual who assists with cleaning and caring for the condo. Her name is Steph and if you stay at my condo you will be glad to meet her as well.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Comments from a Family of Seven Stay

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 2, 2012

This family of 7, 4 adults and 3 children stayed for 2 weeks in my condo. I just received an email from these folk who wrote the following comment.

"Just wanted to say we had a wonderful time and the condo was great. We would love to stay there again and will save your email address to come back hopefully next year. Thanks again."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location & price!

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

This condo could not have been better for the 4 of us! We planned a "girls getaway" to Hawaii, sight-unseen, & were beyond relieved when we entered our HOME for the week. We used every bit of sleeping space (2 beds, the pull-out couch, and the futon cushions), & it was awesome to have two full bathrooms! There were also plenty of linens and towels for us to use. We loved being so close to Turtle Bay Resort, North Shore Oahu, and Polynesian Cultural Center for a luau. We made sure to visit a different beach every day (our favorite was "Jump Rock Park" at Waimea Falls), and couldn't have done that without a rental car.

While we had grand plans to stop at Costco on the drive to Turtle Bay, we decided to go to Foodland instead (as recommended by the owner). GREAT suggestion, as it had any/everything we could need. It was literally 1-stop shopping, and the fruit stands along the way just added to our experience! Prices were surprisingly reasonable, too.

It was so great to have a full kitchen, a washer/dryer, and cable TV. It was nice to know that the owner and housekeeper were close, in case there were any issues. The condo complex was very quiet & clean - we didn't use the pools, but they looked inviting!

We would definitely stay here again!!

Owners response: Too hear how my condo and information I was able to provide assisted someone in having a wonderful vacation is "music to my ears" -- a beautiful song -- thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

First time in Hawaii -- North Shore perfect!

Review submitted: March 31, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

Our family (dad and mom with two teens, ages 18 and 16) stayed in this unit for eight days in February 2011. The condo offered everything that we were looking and made for a fantastic vacation!

The unit is located in the Kuilima section of the Turtle Bay complex. It's not part of Turtle Bay -- this is a separate development, so you cannot use the pool and facilties at Turtle Bay which are reserved for guests. But, this complex has its own pool, too, and is surrounded by the Turtle Bay golf courses. Every beach in Hawaii is public, with public access clearly marked, and the beaches at Turtle Bay are no exception. So, basically, you get the peacefulness and beauty of being at Turtle Bay without paying Turtle Bay prices!

The unit has a convenient washer/dryer combination and includes cable TV and a wired broadband connection (but no wi-fi). The kitchen is well-stocked; there's even a blender for making margaritas or smoothies. There is a grocery store in La'ie, just ten minutes away, so you can shop and then cook at the condo and save a ton (food in Hawaii is very expensive!). Also, there are a number of fruit stands along the road nearby, so you can pickup pineapples, mangoes, and papayas and bring them "home".

The second bedroom is a loft room upstairs. My two teenagers did not wish to share a bed with their sibling, so the 16 year slept on a futon cushion that was in the closet. The sofa in the living room pulls out to a bed, but we did not use it.

The condo complex is quiet and appears to be quite safe. My wife and I are runners, and she ran for several miles along the road each morning -- there's no sidewalk or trail, so the biggest danger is just from the traffic!

Turtle Bay is a long ways from Honolulu. That is a plus and a minus. The good side of that is that Honolulu has a lot of traffic and it really has a big city feel. But, when you get up to Turtle Bay, you feel like you've left it all behind. On the minus side, it's a long drive to visit attractions like Pearl Harbor and Waikiki. Try to plan no more than a couple days in Honolulu, so you don't feel like you spent your whole vacation in the car!

The Polynesian Cultural Center is nearby, also in La'ie, not far from the grocery store I mentioned above. There is also a Polynesian themed McDonalds there -- not that I flew 3000 miles to eat a Big Mac, but it looks pretty cool. For me, I enjoyed the sumptuous luau at the PCC!

This condo was a fantastic choice!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: “This condo was a fantastic choice!” I am so pleased that these guests ended their review with the sentence. I am so happy when the guests at my condo have a wonderful time.
And as mentioned in this guest’s review, there are 2 heated pools on the condo grounds for condo guest use, plus condo guests can use all seven of the Resort’s restaurants, bars, have drinks by the ocean by the hotel and watch the surfers go by, schedule a day at the spa, go on guided horse rides, play golf on 3 courses, and walk or ride bikes on the lovely trails that go both directions along the beach from the hotel, swim in the protected bay beside the hotel or start at Sunset Beach Park, just down the road from the condo, on the bike/jagging path that goes all the way to Waimea Bay and Waimea Audubon Park.

And if you want to email your friends/family while away, there is a high, speed, cable internet connection available in the condo for your use (Roadrunner).

I so look forward to you staying with us, here in Turtle Bay, on North Shore, at my condo!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Family trip for Labor Day Week 2010

Review submitted: October 12, 2010   Date of arrival: August 27, 2010

The condo is very nice and we had a wonderful time there.

Great location! Close to La’ie and North Shore, our favorite places.

Comfortable furniture throughout.

The pool is nice and warm. Also, it is pretty, the tiling in it looks like turtles in the pool. It was great for a quick dip to relax after the ocean or for the kids to swim while dinner grilled.

Turtle bay is clean and secure.

Parking is easy.

Neighbors are silent.

Condo was clean , bedding was clean, bathrooms were also clean.

Although it is in a complex, the placing of the trees makes it feel very private.

The suggested restaurants were exactly as they described in their info notebook.

Patricia answered right away when we called with a question.

The online description is accurate.

I recommend this to families or couples who like a relaxing area.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Hawaii in December

Review submitted: February 7, 2010   Date of arrival: December 11, 2009

This was a great trip to Hawaii. My wife and I along with a 10, 12, 17 and 18 year old stayed in this condo and had a wonderful time. The owner was great to work with and the unit was fabulous. The owner answered all our questions and gave us several suggestions to make our trip more enjoyable and affordable. It was clean and fully stocked with the appliances/utensils needed to eat at home and save money. The free internet connection was very nice to be able to keep in touch. Being next to Turtle Bay was very centrally located. We were 10-20 minutes from pretty much everything on the North Shore. We spent 4 days on Oahu at this unit and it was comfortable like home. The Macadamia Nut Cream Pie at Ted's Bakery was GREAT!!. Even the kids who don't like macadamia nuts liked this pie. Shave ice in Haleiwa was a GREAT price. Masumoto's is what everyone talks about, but several others are just as good, imo. Shrimp trucks are all over, but if you don't love shrimp, it's not worth the money. The unit is a short walk to Turtle Bay Resort and has a nice little beach that is sheltered. Pretty much anything else was really beaten by the waves. We were there in December and saw some of the Triple Crown surfing and spent time at some of the local beaches also. The waves were kind of exciting.

Have a great time in Hawaii and enoy this condo. Aloha.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

10 wonderful days in North Shore

Review submitted: September 9, 2009   Date of arrival: August 18, 2009

My husand and I recently returned from a wonderful trip to Hawaii. We were able to secure this condo through the owner who is a delight to deal with. This is just like staying in your own home, you can cook, listen to music, watch tv, movies, etc. There is an internet connection, so you can bring a laptop if needed which for me was a real plus. I own my own business and that was important. The unit is very clean, well appointed and has a washer and dryer which is another plus. The beds are comfortable and the area is very quiet and peaceful. We ate several times at Ola's at Turtle Bay, visited Haleiwa for food and shopping. A great place to hang out. We ate at one of the shrimp trucks. They are all the same, so try a few of them. The people who live in North Shore truly know the art of Aloha. You will enjoy staying there and this condo is a gem to stay at. Make sure you go to the Farmer's market which is in Honolulu on Saturday mornings. Get there early to partake of fresh food, flowers, etc. I was able to make several meals out of the food I bought there. The fresh ginger makes the unit smell fabulous.This truly makes your trip memorable. I highly recommend a store in Haleiwa called Global Creations for shopping and vacation memoirs and of course, you have to go to Masumotos for Shaved ice. Make sure you to to the Waimea Valley Audibon Center. It is about a 2 mile hike and a great waterfall that you can swim in for your reward for the hike. Wow, it is fabulous. We also tried Ted's in North Shore for breakfast, very yummy and very local. This is a part of Hawaii not to be missed and this condo makes it all worthwhile. We will return again. The weather in North Shore is cooler and more tolerable than in Waikii. In China town if you go, try Little Kitchen for Chinese food. We also went to Pearl Harbor, very moving and a visit to our past not to be missed.
Have fun and enjoy the beauty of Hawaii. Aloha

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review