reviews for: listing #63451 - Puerto Rico, Caribbean House rental

A Tropical Escape - Beach Home
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Villa Palmira
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $185 - $350 /nt
    $1,375 - $1,875 /wk
    $4,000 - $5,875 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful Family Escape

Review submitted: February 24, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

We had been to Puerto Rico before, but not to this area. We were enticed by the description of the property that certainly met our needs - three bedrooms, a full kitchen and a close beach. It was exactly as billed and even more! The house had all the amenities we required, was clean and quiet, had a beautiful yard with a nice pool. The beach was just down the road and was to die for!! It was perfect!! Other pluses were very close to shopping and the autopista, a nature park next door, AND your own concierge! We were also fortunate that the owners were at their house next door and became instant friends. They were not intrusive in any way and endeavoured to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We would return in a shot!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: We describe our property as accurately as possible with comments from reviewers “It was exactly as billed and even more!” and photo’s substantiating a true representation of what the vacationer is getting. Yes, the “Cast A Way”/”Survivor” type beach, with its fine sand and gentle waves “was to die for!! It was perfect!!”, is special to us.. We as owners, by vacationing close by, protect the environment that all our renters expect to experience.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: March 21, 2014

Thank you for a wonderful experience.
Traveling with my wife, 2 girls 9,11 and a 2yr old I was somewhat apprehensive with the area. However, I guess it depends on persons frame of reference. We quickly realized the area is safe, very quiet, and peaceful.

The beach is about a 5 minute walk at most. We decided to be lazy and drive the rental car the 1/4 mile since we were on vacation. Pathetic I know but keep in mind we do have a toddler which made it much easier for us. It is for all intent a purpose, deserted. I mean nobody but our family was there. The water is clean, calm and shallow for about 30 feet out. Unlike a resort beach, the sea grass brought in from the tides is not removed by workers each morning. However, it does provide a nice hiding place for crabs and such to make their homes and our kids got a thrill catching and releasing them back into nature. The back yard of the home abuts the nature preserve. Take take time to lay in one of the hammocks and listen to the soothing sounds of nature. It is hypnotic. Our 2 year old was filled with wild wonder with all the calls, sounds and songs coming from the variety of birds, frogs, lizards and other things in the back yard and nearby preserve. He was constantly asking, "What's that noise" or "What's that thing". The pool was also a big hit. The owner had a new life vest for our 2 year old to use. The girls and I made a up a synchronized swimming routine my wife filmed which was hilarious to do and see. The house is modest yet roomy. The air conditioning units are excellent and cool the house.

Definitely do the rain forest EARLY, give at least 3 hours. Skip the welcome center, $4/adult admission go directly to the water fall. We got there right @ 9AM and nobody was there. By the time we left there was no place to park. Stop at the Tower, great views. Find the Sleeping Giant from the tower. We stopped by Loquillo beach(twice) on the way back which is very nice. Old San Juan is a must. Leave after 9:30A to avoid traffic. We went twice and loved it. The fort and castle provide cool photo ops as do the colors of Old San Juan. You can make a picnic at the fort and fly a kite or people watch. Kayak in the nature preserve but go early, it fills quickly. Walk the trails early.

Overall, if you enjoy nature and privacy this is a great spot as a home base. If you want nightlife and manicured beaches, you might be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We appreciate positive reviews that have been posted, however, in our effort to maintain accuracy and integrity of our listing, corrections in perception of distance and space is sometimes needed. Our home is 150 steps from our “cast away”, unspoiled and secluded beach. Not ¼ mile!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

secluded getaway

Review submitted: March 10, 2014   Date of arrival: February 26, 2014

Thank you Julius for renting your home to us, and thank you Nancy for your help while we were there. Though the gated community seemed a little rough when we first arrived, the neighbors were nice, it was a quiet community, and we learned this was actually one of the nicer, local neighborhoods in the area. The house was plenty big for our group of 8 adults (2BR with 1 queen each, 1BR with 2 twins, den with full futon, and 2 full futons in living room). The house was clean, and had all amenities listed - comfy beds, clean linens & towels, toiletries, kayaks & life jackets to use, clean pool, patio chairs, and relaxing hammocks. The bathroom windows wouldn't close, so we had to keep the doors shut to conserve the A/C when we were home. We loved having the quiet and privacy your backyard provided. We hiked the Nature Preserve trails everyday, and were thankful it was nearby. Ralphs Super Market was about 10 min away, and was much better than Walmart in cleanliness & selection. Recent storms brought a lot of seaweed to the beach, and sea turtles were nesting while we visited, so some of the beach was quarantined, but it was nice to have nearby.

We highly recommend making the 15 min drive up to El Makito for seafood dinner, and going to the restaurant by the gated community entrance for excellent Mofongo. The hour drive north to Luquillo/Rio Grande (the south entrance was closed) to El Yunque Rainforest was well worth it - plan to spend a whole day there hiking and enjoying the waterfalls. If you want to do a Bio-Bay tour in Fajardo or Vieques, make reservations before you come, because they sell out weeks in advance. Kayaking to Monkey Island with a tour was also booked up, so we used the provided kayaks and went on our own from our beach. This took about 4 hrs round trip (going against the current & wind there), but was very worth it to see so many monkeys on the island and peeking at corals & fish in the shallows around the island. Deep-sea fishing with Capt Matt at Maragata Charters at Palmas del Mar was a lot of fun, but we recommend the Sea Mounts trip instead of the 4hr trip (you'll catch more fish!). Skip the Bacardi Tour (just video tours & takes a minimum of 2 hrs), and instead plan extra time for exploring Old San Juan's forts & historic buildings.

Everyday was beautiful, mid-80s, and only rained at night. We thoroughly enjoyed our first trip to Puerto Rico very much, and are thankful we had this lovely home to stay in.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great 2 weeks in Puerto Rico

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 19, 2013

Our family of 6 stayed in the "Tropical Escape - Beach Home" for 2 weeks in December 2013 / January 2014. We do not like "sterile" resorts and chose this property because it is not in the traditional tourist area of San Juan / Isla Verde. We were all happy to have the chance to interact with the wonderful neighbors in Villa Palmira - everyone was really nice and helpful. The house was clean, the description is accurate, and we enjoyed working with the owner. (Thanks again for lending my mom your walking stick!)

We especially enjoyed kayaking, bird watching and running in the Humacao Nature Preserve, which can be accessed from a trail at the beach and (for kayaking) from the dock/canal at the back of the property. Our college-age sons also kayaked to Monkey Island for snorkeling - a 4 hour trip that they are still talking about. The swimming pool at the house, set against the rainforest, was great after running or hiking - I think we used it everyday.

We visited El Yunque National Rain Forest twice during our stay; once to the El Portal Tropical Forest Center area (including the tower and La Mina falls) and once to the Rio Sabana trail on the southern side. (Accessed from highway 191 in Naguabo, it's only about 30 minutes from the house.) Although the main "portal" area was interesting, it was really crowded. So, we really recommend the Rio Sabana trail - a beautiful hike through the rainforest to a river that is unbelievable! And, we only saw two other people while we hiked.

Three recommendations for others planning to stay at this property:
1. If your trip is over the winter holidays when most of the tourists go to Puerto Rico, make your reservations in advance for tours / expeditions to the biobays, snorkeling, caving, etc. We tried to book a trip from Palmas del Mar to the biobay on Vieques Island and they were booked for 4 weeks.
2. We found several great restaurants both close to the house and in Old San Juan. We quickly learned that eating out in Puerto Rico can take several hours and can't be rushed. So, relax, forget about your usual hectic schedule and enjoy the island!
3. When we stayed at the house in December, the ocean currents deposited a fair amount of trash in some areas of the beach for the Villa Palmira neighborhood. But, don't be discouraged, it's easy to find areas that are relatively clear - a little further east toward the water park or around the point adjacent to the Humacao Preserve.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Satisfied Repeat Customer

Review submitted: November 17, 2013   Date of arrival: November 2, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from our third stay in Villa Palmira. There have been many positive changes since our first visit back in 2010 - everything from new landscaping, furniture and linens to a refreshing pool! One thing that hasn't changed is the exceptional service and responsiveness from the property owner and concierge, Nancy. We are the type of people who enjoy independence and privacy in our vacations. We like to explore and spend most of our time outdoors in the tropical weather. We know that exclusivity can come at a price and feel that the value, service, and natural beauty we experience by staying in this home is something hard to find elsewhere.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

This was NOT a nice rental.

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 20, 2013

I have many photographs to show that the posted photos are deceptive.
Mildew on awnings--they were black and rotting.
Mildew on life preserver for 3 foot deep above ground pool--unsuitable for laps
Mildew on outdoor furniture

Stains on furniture in living areas...had to put towels down to sit to feel comfortable.

Rust stained lamp bases...bugs in the light fixtures...
This is not how I live nor how I like to vacation.

Owner offered me money to not discuss this further with him or anyone else--I did not take it. It was insulting. I paid (in full) more than I would have to stay in a nice hotel during the lowest season.

I have over a dozen photographs that speak volumes.

Owners response: This renter, over a period of 4 months, attempted to extort monies from me from the discounted rental amount she paid. First it was her initial tale of hardship, then her inconsistent mixed messages of her likes and dislikes about our rental. There was the selective photography, where one outdoor chair, with a saltwater stain was photographed, among all the other outdoor chairs that were new. Her selective photography went as far as removing the custom covers on the futon to photograph a Clorox stain. The pool is a semi in ground pool, specially made to be installed in a slopping hill, shipped from the States, and costing more than traditional cement or fiberglass pools. It is 25 feet long, 15 feet wide and 52 inches deep.
I repeatedly asked and offered a reasonable sum of money to resolve this matter to avoid her implied threat of a negative review on all my web advertising sites. Her response was consistent; the amount of additional monies offered was an “insult”. Every comment this disgruntled renter made about our home was petty, picky and often the result of living on the windward side of the Caribbean Sea and at the edge of a tropical wildlife sanctuary. Her comments are disingenuous. I stand by my 22 positive reviews, the quality and service of the rental we offer and the integrity of the photographs that accurately represent our rental. I will not be held hostage to extortion.

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

Family and friend happy time

Review submitted: September 30, 2013   Date of arrival: September 28, 2013

Thanks you, for the opportunity of stay in your Villa, everything was wonderful and happiness. Your Villa is very pretty and comfortable. I hope stay again in there with my family and friend. My son and his friends thoroughly enjoyed the pool and kayaking, ended exhausted.
Nancy is wonderful and nice hostess.

Fam. Cruz, Bayamón

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Nice relaxing atmosphere!

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 31, 2013

Our stay at Villa Palmira was more than what was expected. Nancy is an excellent concierge. The directions to get to the house are right on the money. If you are not a local you should have no problem getting there. Once at the villa she is very helpful on getting you ready to hit the ground running. They have much info on local places to see and visit if that is your intention. However if you decide to stay at the Villa you will have plenty of leisure there as well. The Villa is big but not overwhelming. The atmosphere is beachy but yet still offers all the home comfort you need to make you feel at ease. You have Wifi, cable TV with a nice selection of channels to choose from and the A/C’s throughout the house keep you cool no matter what the heat is like outside. The rooms are large and have every comfort you are sure to have at home. The brand new stove is a dream for those who love to cook, my wife even used the oven…on vacation! The outdoors are private and have many inviting features. The gazebo is small but offers a nice refuge from the Sun’s heat. You even have outdoor electrical outlets to hook up you laptop or listen to music. There are two hammocks covered by enough trees to provide shade and give you a forest feeling. The centerpiece of the entire outdoors is of course the above ground pool. Surrounded by luscious greenery all around it provide a feeling of being in a lagoon in the middle of a tropical forest. The sun deck offers a nice spot to cool off with drinks and have a nice conversation even after the rays stop shining.
We were also able to use the kayaks that Julius includes as a special treat. Since you are so close to the Natural Reserve it only seems fitting. The Reserve is huge to cover all of it if you are not an avid kayaker. Nonetheless, it provides a fantastic opportunity to see raw nature. Turtles, birds, iguanas (big and small) and many fish jumping out of the water are part of what you can see. Of course you will find troublesome insects but even the dragonflies will bring you back to amazement of what nature has to offer. The Reserve also has many trails you can walk along. Just make sure to bring water since you might come across some sunny parts. The beach near the Villa is not recommended for swimming; however there is a public beach just a short 5 minute drive from the Villa.
We would definitely come back to stay here even for a short trip. If you have kids, are planning some time with your s

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: This unsolicited, detailed review, said it all! From the excellent customer service given by your personal concierge, to the comfort in the home and availability of technology for the tech savvy traveler, with a private and secluded back yard of 3000 acres that is truly a nature lover’s paradise with the amenities to satisfy the discriminating needs of singles, couples and families with children, this vacation rental has it all. Our “Cast A Way” beach, subject to natural weather conditions, randomly occurring, certain times of the year, is secluded, private, accessible and always swimmable in the clear blue green waters of the Caribbean Sea.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fun, fun, fun

Review submitted: March 15, 2013   Date of arrival: February 18, 2013

We vacationed with my brother and his family and had a wonderful time. Kayaking, both in the mangrove swamp and in the ocean was one of the highlights. The house is simple, yet has everything you need for a pleasant escape. Julius and Nancy were quite accommodating, even arranging for perfect weather.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great for Extended family

Review submitted: January 19, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

This house was great for our extended family of 8 adults and 3 children, ages three and under. It was just as pictured, older but exceptionally clean, and the beach REALLY is a short walk. If you want the feel of a resort, driving a golf cart to the beach, sharing a pool with strangers after you've carried all your gear down an elevator, this is NOT the place for you. But if you want a feel of the island, kayaks and beach gear at your disposal in the garage ( and not rented be the 1/2 hour), and a crystal clear pool just steps from the back door and surrounded by a nature preserve ( beware of ant bites) then this IS for you. We had only 2 problems : 1) openers/keys -we had 3 rental cars and needed a second gate opener which Nancy, the terrific concierge, quickly resolved, and we made 2 more sets of keys and 2) internet service via an extender did not work. Nancy came by and checked it, but it was a more technical problem than just resetting. Enjoy your stay!

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: A true and accurate review that sets us apart from the condo resort style vacation. As said in a previous review on vacationrentals.com “A Tropical Escape...The Name Says It All” swilan (Morristown, TN). The vacationer’s comments are a testimony to the quality of rental we offer and the attentive service we provide. The technical problem, due to region wide power interruptions, has been repaired. Internet up and running!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: May 27, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

My wife and I were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary and picked the perfect location. The house was very clean, cozy and just far enough off the beaten track to relax but close enough to all kinds of great Puerto Rican sites and activities. Nancy, the concierge, met us on our arrival and made sure we were comfortable and knew where everything was, she also checked in with us before and during our stay to make sure we had everything we needed. The pool is an added bonus and provided a welcome soak after long days of climbing El Yunque, walking through the neighboring nature preserve, exploring Old San Juan and the Camuy Caves or being fortunate enough to kayak out to monkey island with Julius, the owner of this house and the one next door who came down a few days after us with his wife Linda for the Memorial Day weekend. The hammocks in the backyard brought another level of comfort to our visit, not to mention the best nights sleep my wife and I had in many years. We also enjoyed all the wildlife and got to try a delicious mango growing in the backyard.

We chose to cook and eat in most evenings but did check out the local cuisine a few times, I recommend trying a mofongo if you have never tried one. Head east on route 3 to El Makito for a nice night out or walk to one of the several restaurants just down the road. We also were fortunate to meet several of the neighbors who were very warm and welcoming. All in all we had a great time and look forward to a future visit with the rest of the family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Family Vacation for 7 adults, todler and baby

Review submitted: May 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 27, 2012

We enjoyed our 8 day stay very much. The house worked very well for our family: 2 active grandparents, three daughters, one husband and one boyfriend, a 3 year old toddler and a 7 month old. The house is very comfortable and flexible. Back yard is shaded with palm trees and pool is great. Beach is 5 minute walk- you can feel the sea breeze all day and night. Beach runs for tens of miles. Great surf- for swimming and kayaking in the waves. Walks in very big nature preserve like a jungle. Day trips by car to El Yunque rain forest, beaches at Luqillo, and other coastal towns. Day boat trip to Monkey Island. The house met all our expectations++ at a very affordable price. Great to get to know Julius, who was there at the time in his house next door. Very good experience! Thank you.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

got stiffed on my deposit

Review submitted: February 7, 2012   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

very disappointed with the house, house needs a fresh coat of paint, master bed room shower door needs to be replaced or fixed, the beach is nothing to brag about,came with friends who had never been to puerto rico,they where disappointed with house. after getting in touch with owner about my deposit, gave me the run around about it, hope they use it to do repairs on the house.

Owners response: On two previous occasions we have tried to return the deposit of this renter only for them to continue to assert that they have never received their deposit that we had sent in the mail. We have been in constant contact with the renter throughout this process verifying address details and noting dates of mailings. Our last correspondence was on January 24, and we assumed it had been received. It wasn’t until just the past Tuesday, February 3, that the renter again informed us that he did not receive his deposit back. Unfortunately, he resorted to posting an unflattering review before we had a chance to once again confirm mailing confirmation details. We are now in the process of sending a third deposit, certified/return receipt requested, in the hopes that this will resolve this issue. The renter does bear some responsibility in keeping us informed as to whether or not he did or did not receive the deposit in a timely manner.
We stand by the reviews of our previous renters and the pictures on our website speak for themselves. We would hope that any future renters would not be swayed by the words of a disgruntled renter, grasping for minor issues in our home to make his point, and realize that we have nothing to gain by not returning a $200 security deposit when it isn’t warranted.

Helpful votes: 11 / 14

 

A Great Christmas Vacation!

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

Arrived and used the directions from owner for the 45 minute drive to the property. It was late and we missed the entrance to Villa Palmira at first but were in contact with both Julius and his concierge, Nancy, and they expertly guided us to the house where they both greeted us. The home was immaculately clean! Every need had been seen to. During out stay, our son, daughter-in-law, daughter, son-in-law and grandson (age 2) joined us. Julius and Nancy made extra efforts to see to the comfort of everyone by supplying a portable crib and a wading pool for the toddler. The neighbors were all friendly and helpful. The younger generation all enjoyed kayaking/swimming in the ocean. Everyone liked being outside and just going out for walks in the neighborhood. Hiking through the nearby nature reserve with easy access from the beach was nice. We went to the rain forest (El Yunque) and were impressed with the museum and roads. We drove to the mountainous area of Guavate to enjoy the lechonera restaurants. Some of the mountain roads such as Hwy. 184 are not for the "faint of heart" but you'll never regret the adventure/scenery it provides. Two of the younger set did the bio-bay excursion and still are amazed by their experience. Day trips to Arecibo and San Juan were fun, too. The house was loaded with literature detailing local restaurants/activities/opportunities. Orchids came into bloom in the backyard while we were there and the abundance of local wildlife is easy to see. Some research and pre-registration for activities(expecially the bio-bay kayak trips) is recommended so you don't miss out on anything! Everyone in our family plans to return and take advantage of everything the area has to offer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Definitely Charmed!

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2011

Our experience was wonderful. The neighborhood was quiet and peaceful. Neighbors very welcoming. We took advantage of the kayaks and floated through the wildlife refuge. We spent a day "crabbing" with the locals in the wildlife refuge,cooked and ate fresh crabs that evening. The beach was so close we drank our morning coffee looking east through large palms and seeing the ocean. Total enjoyment, relaxing in the private secluded back yard. We walked trails adjacent to the Villa properties, hiked up the trail to the hill overlooking the beach, discovering WWII bunkers. Opportunites for adventures are limitless. Easy access to shopping and groceries, or local resturants.
We took day trips to the Rainforest and Culebra Island. We were totally comfortable, the home was roomy and well supplied with everything we needed. The landlord and assistant knowlegable and helpful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A Great Vacation

Review submitted: January 18, 2011   Date of arrival: December 11, 2010

Our family spent four weeks at Villa Palmira. We have stayed at several beach resorts,after our stay there we all agreed this was the best vacation we've had. We had a quaint three bedroom, two bath, spacious living area with a large back yard with lounges, hammocks, swings, tables and gazebo. From the front door you are a short distance from a natural two and one half mile beach. Most of the time we had it all to ourselves. A short hike over a beautiful mountain is another beach where shelling is wonderful. From the beach you can see the Islands of Vieques and Monkey Island. Our four teenagers kayaked to Monkey Island on Christmas Eve and had a wonderful time. Our house was ten minutes from Walmart, Sam's, Walgreens and most fast food chains. Food and fuel prices were comparable with the States. Things we enjoyed very much were Flamingo Beach on Culebra Island, Rain Forest, Bioluminescent Bays, Monkey Island and don't miss the pig roast the locals have on the mountain. We ate with them two nights. They were very friendly and welcoming to us. All the people we met were very friendly, they invited us into their homes on Christmas and were very helpful to us. In the evening we walked through the neighborhood enjoying the company of the nicest kids and their dogs. For our four weeks stay the biggest worry we had that a coconut might fall from a tree in our front yard onto our rental car. We really enjoyed this trip, everything from the friendly and couterous service from the landlord and his family, the neighbors and everyone we met seemed to try to make our stay more enjoyable. We would recommend this trip to anyone. We hope we can go again. VERY SATISFIED FROM TENNESSEE.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great stay in tropical Puerto Rico!

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

We enjoyed our week in tropical Puerto Rico and would recommend this particular neighborhood for other families interested in a convenient, safe rental. The house is spacious, and our favorite feature is the lovely landscaped backyard replete with hammocks, reclining chairs and a gazebo. Lots of wildlife to enjoy, short walk to the beach and the mysterious lagoon - a very nice vacation spot.

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

A Tropical Escape...The Name Says It All

Review submitted: April 7, 2010   Date of arrival: March 19, 2010

Our family truly enjoyed our stay at this home. The neighborhood was quiet and secure. The house was clean, comfortable, and spacious. The private back yard was a tropical Paradise in it's own right, with lush foliage and plenty of hammocks and chairs to sit back in and enjoy the sights and sounds from the jungle beyond. The beach was a sort walk from the house and was beautiful... You practically had the whole thing to yourself. Their were also many trails that led into the jungle and out to even more secluded stretches of beech.

We were also very pleased with the Humacao area. As you drove out the gated subdivision turning one way, took you to an area that had all the big box stores and restaurants that we are all so familiar with on the mainland. Turning the other direction took you along a 2-lane road following the coast through quaint fishing villages with open air markets and local seafood restaurants.

We were truly pleased with this home and would recommend it to anyone

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Great stay!!!

Review submitted: February 22, 2010   Date of arrival: January 30, 2010

This home was everything we hoped for on our Puerto Rico vacation. We were a group of five on the island for a week of hang gliding excursions and this place was perfect. It was comfortable and beautiful- very clean with plenty of space for everyone. The backyard was full of fabulous hammocks and comfy chairs for relaxing and star gazing at night. The beach was a close walking distance and we also enjoyed taking the kayak into the lagoon in the back of the house. We will absolutely seek to stay here again if we're back in town. Not a single complaint in the group and excellent value for money.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Perfect getaway

Review submitted: December 26, 2009   Date of arrival: July 12, 2009

We had a great vacation at Tropical Escape! I would definitely recommend it for its convenient location, beautiful decor, and comfortable setup. The private neighborhood allows for peace and quiet away from other tourists, while still giving you the luxury of a very close beach, hiking trails, and nearby shopping. The house is beautifully decorated and spacious, but my favorite part was relaxing in the back yard which is full of plant and wildlife. When we were feeling more adventurous, we visited the Wildlife Reserve and went to El Yunque which is a short drive away. Can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Everything we had hoped for and more!

Review submitted: December 13, 2009   Date of arrival: August 27, 2009

I was SO pleased with my rental! The house was very clean, accomodating, and cozy. Every morning after breakfast, I'd take a stroll over to the beach for a swim. I absolutely loved the backyard; it was full of plant and animal wildlife. As the sun went down, I'd use the grill in the backyard to make dinner, pour myself a glass of wine, and unwind. The rental and it's gorgeous setting was everything I needed to get away from it all. On the last day, I didn't want to leave! I wish I could have stayed longer. I will most definitely be a returning customer (Next time I'm giving that kayak a try). Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review