reviews for: listing #63459 - South Haven, Michigan Cottage rental

Cottage & Guesthouse in Lake Michigan Dunes! Gorgeous!!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $300 - $400 /nt
    $1,200 - $2,200 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Just What We Needed

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: October 28, 2012

This week-end get-away was just what we needed. The sand was cold, beach was freezing, but it was all fun.
Beware of Mr. Tole, old legend in these parts. He's always around laughter.
The house is amazing and we were blessed to stay here. Thanks so much for letting us stay here. We can't wait to come back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wonderful, Magical Place

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

A wonderful, magical place where every detail is perfect. This really is a home, not a cottage. We were here during bad weather and still felt the warmth and charm of this home and surrounding area.
Thanks you

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We laughed, we loved!

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

Thank you for all your beauty! We laughed, we loved and we said goodbye. We ate, we walked, we laughed, we loved, we even cried (from happy times). Get up, be brave & just laugh alot. Also eat alot.
Sand is good, water is wet, and our happy times are always in our hearts!
See you next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Home!

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

Thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful home! Couldn't wait to celebrate my best friend's marriage and this was the perfect place to get away. So cute! We love it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a Wonderful Month!

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

What a wonderful month our family shared at Dune Daze. The weather was beautiful and the Lake great!
Our whole family was able to come together Labor Day week-end and have fun, make memories and relax together after walking through a stressful year! Thank you for having this place for us to gather.
Family came and went but got to enjoy your place!
There were only 2 days that someone didn't get down to the water! God gave us great weather!
Thanks for letting us make family memories here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This is our 3rd Year!

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

The weather was a bit rainy and cold for a good part of the week but we had a few beautiful days. Like always we had great fun! This is our 3rd year at Dune Daze and we had a couple of bon fires, went to the Blues Festival, grilled out steaks and salmon. In all it was a great vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Already talking about next year!

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

When we arrived, my younger son said, "It's good to be back here." The rest of us agreed. We are so thankful to you for allowing us to gather as a family (4 generations!) and enjoy the cozy cabins, the lush woods, the beach, and a flickering camp fire. The guest house is perfect for son, his wife, and two boys. My parents were thrilled to be back and everyone is already talking about next year. I just cannot thank you enough for mrmories we are making and will cherish of our times at Dune Daze.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Creation!

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

What a wonderful week this has been! It can't get much better than this -- the family together in the midst of amazing creation -- sun, shade, sand, water, lazy wind through the trees, camp fires each evening, beautiful accomodations, the like of which can't be found anywhere else -- all of this plus a beautiful wedding on the beach, a 90th birthday party and the joy of being with our family whose age span sweeps across the years from the little ones to the older ones.
Thank you so very much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We love both!

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

Thank you for another awesome year in MI. This was our first time in Dune Daze because we always stay at Dune Hart. We love both. I love that you can get the home feeling and have the campfire in the woods at the same time. Our friends fell in love with the area and we had a great time all together. I loved being able to get away with the family and enjoy each other. Thank you for being a blessing in our life. God is good and faithful. May He keep your family safe and continue to bless you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beach is Beautiful!

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 6, 2012

Wonderful location for a fabulous family vacation. The beach is beautiful and the cabin is just the right size. Many family memories were made on this long weekend. Hope you enjoy everything as much as we did.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fond Memories

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

We had a wonderful long weekend visit. The set up was nice and worked wonderfully with our family. We loved the town and will leave with lots of fond memories!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful Setting

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

Thank you for sharing your home with us. Our group of old friends were able to reconnect and rekindle many fond memories in the lovely and peaceful setting here at Dune Daze. It's been a truly memorable experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Great Time!

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 13, 2012

We've been here from Chicago with a group of 8 for 2 nights. We had a great time!! We LOVE this place!!
And the beach was awesome, just a few minutes away.
We are heading back home with great experience & memories and LOTS & LOTS of pics.
Thank you for having us. We like the arrangements indoor and outdoor.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Inspiring, Beautiful Place

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

We're over from England for a couple of weeks in the U.S. Unfortunately our organized schedule only allows for 2 nights in this inspiring beautiful place. The colours in the morning are lovely. This is one of our favorite parts of the holiday so far.
Yesterday, we walked the Van Buren path into South Haven and lunched in the town centre. Thank you very much for having us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Carla

Review submitted: October 8, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

I must say this was one of the BEST, most beautiful, places we ladies have stayed!Everything about this home was perfect!The owners have gone above and beyond to make sure that they have not forgotten anything that you may need to start your vacation.Perfect spot for "girls" week-end,the cottage is very private and relaxing.Not sure what the highlight of the wk-end was 1- getting massages in the guesthouse or the beautiful sunsets each evening on lake michigan, or the nice path thru the woods to the beach or was it sitting around the bonfire with all my best girlfriends? I'm the one out of our group of ladies who book our trips and have never had a more awesome house and surroundings then staying here.We will be back that is a promise, and Kathy just can't Thank-you enough for letting us build beautiful memories with the use of your home! VERY RELAXING PLACE!! Loved the flip flops too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

girls night out 2012 suzanne send off

Review submitted: October 1, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

what a place! can't get much better than this. relax,check eat great.check walk our great michigan coast,check live,laugh,love,check. we will be back. thank you for a time well had by all chris and the girls(some of them were just a mess)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Girls Week-end!

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2011

Our girls weekend was great and your place was perfect for us. The layout of the cottage and the property was good for sleeping and the view of the woods was so nice & relaxing. We hope to come again sometime. The flip flop decorations are really unique. We had a great time. Thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous Stay!

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

The Bunco Babes had a fabulous stay in your house, everything was perfect! The Dunes and the Midweat Ocean (haha) are amazing and we burned off lots of calories walking up the hills. South Haven is gorgeous, we loved the food at Tellos! ice cream at Kilwin's, and food at SuCasa and Clementines was wonderful!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Memories

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2011

Thank you for sharing your house with our family. It was a great way to celebrate my son's 13th birthday. We had a wonderful time and made great memories.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just What The Doctor Ordered!

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: September 11, 2011

We wanted to thank you very much for a great relaxing week-end. Your home is so cozy, it's just what the doctor ordered. The photos online don't do it justice, your home bypassed our expectations. Thank you so much, can't wait to come again. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a Blast!

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

Your place was exactly what the doctor ordered -- rest, relaxation, and fun in the sun! Our daughters had a blast on the dunes, clean beaches, and hammock! We had fun with rolling waves, rock hunts, hot dunes (wear shoes), and sandy shores. Thank you for offering your home! We had a blast!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Stars at Night Are Amazing!

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2011

We had an absolutely wonderful time at your lake house! The house was clean and fully supplied with anything we needed. Our children and grandchildren made some wonderful memories around the campfire and also down by the beach. The stars at night are amazing and we saw a few shooting stars as well. We already can't wait to come back next year. Thank you for your hospitality!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hours at the Beach

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

Thank you SO MUCH for the opportunity to relax in your cozy home! Our family has enjoyed making memories of being together....thank you for allowing us to stay at Dune Daze. The weather has been absolutely beautiful, we enjoyed many hours at the beach....this is just what we all needed, a home away from home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So Well Supplied!

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2011

It is my first time here, but my daughter's family has come the last 4 summers. It has become a family tradition for them! They love it here. Your two cottages are so well-supplied and cleverly decorated. The flip-flops on the walls are especially creative! Blue Lake Michigan, White caps crashing on the beach, Peaceful South Haven.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Place To Enjoy The Company of our Family

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

What a wonderful time we had here at Dune Daze! We spent a wonderful week enjoying the beach and Dune hikes as well as the local attractions. We shared this place together for a whole week with ages ranging from 2 - 78 years old. Thank you for a wonderful place to enjoy the company of our family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely Charming!

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

We had such a great time! The cottage is absolutely charming - just perfect! Thank you so much for everything - beach & sun, shops & restaurants and this wonderful accomodation! We hope to be back again next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Place!

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

Great week and great weather. Perfect place to get our 3 grand kids (plus 1 kid-in-law) together since it's hard at the winter holidays! Thanks You!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great!

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

Beautiful weather & nice cottages!
Enjoyed our 60th in your lovely cottage. Great weather, Great Dunes, had a great time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved It Very Much!

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: June 6, 2011

The cottage is wonderful, and we loved it very much. Our parents came all the way from Quebec. Montreal and it was perfect with the extra place. South Haven, St. Joseph and the other towns are wonderful. It makes us want to find a place of our own here someday. We got a couple of good days on the beach and found some great beach glass, even with the colder weather. We actually had a 40 degree difference in a couple of days. We will definately try to be back again next year. Thank you

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderfully Brilliant!

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2011

First off, the cottage was absolutely & wonderfully brilliant. We spent mornings lounging around - sipping coffee, afternoons lazing on the beach - nights watching movies & living it up. T'was magical.
ps-thanks for the tick warning - we saw a few.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Time!

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 30, 2011

The flood, tornado and lightning storm did not stop us from having an amazing time! Tons of great memories thanks to dune daze!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect!

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

Your cottages were perfect for our group of 7 women! We enjoyed a fire inside, played Quiddler, walked over the high dune to the lake, shopped downtown, etc. walked the trail.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lifetime Memory

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

Our "Four Generation Vacation" was made perfect by this beautiful, secluded property with all the amenities of home. The house and guest house were immaculate and all we had to add was food and beach towels. The nearly private beach was a short walk away and was clean and pristine. The large areas for people to gather for meals and movies were fun. We kept a fire going in the outdoor firepit and sat around itin the evening sharing family stories. Everyone from my 86 year old parent to my 15 month on grandson had a great time. My children and husband want me to rent this property again next year, and that sounds like a great idea. The Grand Haven shops on Phoenix Street were attractive and fun, and places to buy groceries and fresh produce were very handy 5-10 minute drive away. This is a perfect setting for a family vacation with plenty of room to get together and plenty of space for that needed privacy at times. I look forward to going back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Memories for a Lifetime

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

The cottage, guest house, and amenities exceeded our expectations. The memories of our "Four Generation Vacation" will last a lifetime. The large dining table, spacious sitting areas, and open fire pit were wonderful places to gather. The nearly private beach, sand, and water were enjoyed by all from my 86 year old parents to our toddler grandson. South Haven is a quaint town at which we enjoyed walking to the lighthouse and visiting the many shops along Phoenix Street. My children want us to rent this Dune Daze property again next year--and I agree that is a splendid idea.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Not Our Last!

Review submitted: April 4, 2011   Date of arrival: August 28, 2010

This was our first year here but hopefully not our last. We had a wonderful week, the weather was great and the beach was fantastic....Even though I was only here for a week, I admit I've fallen in love with your hammock. Dune Daze has inspired me to invest in one!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Memories!

Review submitted: April 4, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

From the campfires outside to the quiet, private beach to the cute shops downtown, everything was wonderful! This was our first family vacation in years and we intend to make it an annual traadition from here on out. The cabin felt like home from the first night we arrived. The two year oldd twin goys traveling with us couldn't get enough sand in their ears to last them a year,, but they got close! Thank you for allowoing us to create some great memories and some hilarious fun times!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another Year at Dune Daze!

Review submitted: April 4, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

Another year at Dune Daze and it has been just as great as the last years. We revisited old favorites and found some new spots as well. We keep on coming back and next year will be no exception. The beach is beautiful, the cottage is cozy, and the town is entertaining. Thank you for having us back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Incredible!

Review submitted: April 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2010

We had a lovely time staying at your beach cottage. We shared the experience with our neighbors across the street! The beach & dunes were incredible, our kids will cherish the great times and memories they had. We definately hope to come back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Three generations!

Review submitted: April 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2010

Thank you for sharing your beach cottage with us! We had a lovely family vacation with 3 generations! We had a great time shopping, eating, cooking, combing the beach for treasures and just hanging out. We hope to come back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Setting!

Review submitted: April 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

Nice, relaxing week-end away from Chicago. Gave us a good chance to reflect on our life decisions and giggle. Thanks so much for the lovely setting.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow! A New Decade!

Review submitted: April 4, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

We all fell in love with the cottage immediately. So pretty and decorated perfectly! Right on que, an unbelievable snow storm started up on New Year's Eve night. It really picked up on New Year's Day and we all estimated the total at around 20 inches! Lake effect snow! We hiked the dunes anad went skiing at Timber Ridge. The whole trip was perfect. Thank you so much! Everytime I think about a new pair of sandals, I'll think about Dune Daze! Thanks for the memories!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Ladies Weekend

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: April 30, 2010

Dune Daze was perfect..we were very impressed with the house as soon as we stepped foot in the door..everything was great.....we relaxed, played games and hiked to the dunes several times....was very relaxing to walk along the shore...loved the flip-flop decor...would definetly be somewhere we would return....
Deb, Julie, Sharon, Libby, Pat & Emily

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything Hoped For

Review submitted: February 17, 2010   Date of arrival: October 23, 2009

The cottage was everything we were hoping for and we had a wonderful weekend re-connecting with friends. The atmosphere lends itself to laid back days and cozy nights by the fireplace. The weather Saturday was wicked cold, but that made us feel very adventurous on our walk to the lake! Thank you for providing such a beautiful place to get away from it all!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything Hoped For

Review submitted: February 17, 2010   Date of arrival: October 23, 2009

The cottage was everything we were hoping for and we had a wonderful weekend re-connecting with friends. The atmosphere lends itself to laid back days and cozy nights by the fireplace. The weather Saturday was wicked cold, but that made us feel very adventurous on our walk to the lake! Thank you for providing such a beautiful place to get away from it all!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect and Beautiful

Review submitted: February 8, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2009

Thanks so much for sharing your beautiful home with us! We had a wonderful week of swimming, hiking the dunes, bonfires, and more! Mostly -- it was so great to get our whole family together, and for the children, who are cousins, to really get to know each other for the first time. This setting was perfect and beautiful. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Week!

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2009

Everything works!!!!! that is amazing!!!! We loved the decor. Great to be so close to the dunes & Lake Michigan. We had a beautiful week. We were able to swim everyday, had beautiful sunsets and had a wonderful time. Thanks for all the little extras you provide. It feels like home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place!

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: August 28, 2009

What a great place to gather family together. The attention to details and the amenities were very much appreciated. It is obvious that the two of you put a lot of thought into making this a pleasant, comfortable place to vacation. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceeded Our Expectations!

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2008

Your cottage exceeded our expectations! We were so amazed and excited when we walked in and saw how beautiful the cottage was. Every little detail was wonderful...the little placecard with my name on it to welcome my family. Wow! Too bad the wooded path was closed. But we still enjoyed the beach! It was worth the drive from Canada! Thank-you for sharing your home away from home with our family and it was so nice to meet you! p.s. The two boys, Alex (1 yr.) & Parker (8 mos.) loved it! They were so excited here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place!

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 28, 2009

What a great place to gather family together. The attention to details and the amenities were very much appreciated. It is obvious that the two of you put a lot of thought into making this a pleasant, comfortable place to vacation. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceeded Expectations!

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2008

Your cottage exceeded our expectations! We were so amazed and excited when we walked in and saw how beautiful the cottage was. Every little detail was wonderful...the little placecard with my name on it to welcome my family. Wow! Too bad the wooded path was closed. But we still enjoyed the beach! It was worth the drive from Canada! Thank-you for sharing your home away from home with our family and it was so nice to meet you!
p.s. The two boys, Alex (1 yr.) & Parker (8 mos.) loved it! They were so excited here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Week

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2009

Everything works!!!!! that is amazing!!!! We loved the decor. Great to be so close to the dunes & Lake Michigan.
We had a beautiful week. We were able to swim everyday, had beautiful sunsets and had a wonderful time. Thanks for all the little extras you provide. It feels like home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 23, 2009   Date of arrival: October 23, 2009

The cottage was everything we were hoping for and we had a wonderful weekend re-connecting with friends. The atmosphere lends itself to laid back days and cozy nights by the fireplace. The weather Saturday was wicked cold, but that made us feel very adventurous on our walk to the lake! Thank you for providing such a beautiful place to get away from it all!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 11, 2009   Date of arrival: September 11, 2009

We had a beautiful week. We were able to swim every day, had beautiful sunsets and had a wonderful time. Thanks for all the little extras you provide. It feels like home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 28, 2009   Date of arrival: August 28, 2009

What a great place to gather family together. The attention to details and the amenities were very much appreciated. It is obvious that the two of you put a lot of thought into making this a pleasant, comfortable place to vacation. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 7, 2009   Date of arrival: August 7, 2009

Thanks so much for sharing your beautiful home with us! We had a wonderful week of swimming, hiking the dunes, bonfires, and more! Mostly -- it was so great to get our whole family together, and for the children, who are cousins, to really get to know each other for the first time. This setting was perfect and beautiful. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 25, 2008   Date of arrival: July 25, 2008

Your cottage exceeded our expectations! We were so amazed and excited when we walked in and saw how beautiful the cottage was. Every little detail was wonderful...the little placecard with my name on it to welcome my family. Wow! Too bad the path was closed. But we still enjoyed the beach! It was worth the drive from Canada! Thank-you for sharing your home away from home with our family and it was so nice to meet you!
p.s. The two boys,, Alex (1 yr.) and Parker (8 mos.) loved it! They were so excited here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review