reviews for: listing #6350 - Waikiki, Hawaii Condo rental

Skytower Ocean View 1 bedroom, w/Internet! 85 special now!!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Waikiki Skytower
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $99 - $120 /nt
    $623 - $770 /wk
    $2,380 - $2,800 /mth

sort by:

Beautiful one bedroom condo!

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

This was a great condo. My husband and I enjoyed the beach, parks, zoo and aquarium, all of which were in walking distance. The pool on the roof was always busy, but never over crowded and had amazing views of Waikiki. The condo itself was spacious, very clean, and had all the necessary utensils and amenities, (extra sheets and blankets were available). It was quiet at night and we had no problems with any of the staff or other guests.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6


Vacation rental keeper

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 13, 2011

The location of this condo was really nice. We also liked the amenities which included two cable TVs, wireless internet connection, newer kitchen appliances. Also the owner was very helpful and atentive to our vacation needs. We had a great time. This condo is a keeper for future traveling to Waikiki.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5


Awesome location

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 7, 2011

Exceeded my expectations in regards to location, comfort, relaxation. Great views from the living room and lanai. We really enjoyed the lanai so much, large enough for 4 people. The appliances were newer and the bed mattress very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6


Excellent condo, Nice location

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

For a one bedroom, this is a very spacious condo, we are a family of 4 and we were comfortable there. What we like the most about this condo are the great views from each window because is on a corner location in the building, also was very clean, and kept well.
The kitchen has great amenities that are very convenient, a large refrigerator with ice maker, large microwave, dishwasher, a nice oven. There is also a washer and dryer in the unit like the advertisement said.
We ate mostly in the lanai, we were able to seat all four of us at the outdoor table and enjoy the beautiful lanai views.
The high speed internet connection work well for us because we have an on line business.
The only problem for us was that the closet space wasn't enough for the four of us and the built-in dining table inside the unit was a bit small but we mostly ate outside
The check-in process was smooth, the cleanliness and location was excellent.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3


Poor conditions, even worse customer service

Review submitted: August 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

There was awful mildew odor in the bathroom and bedroom. This was a 1-BR unit with a futon sofa in the living room, which we chose because it slept 4 (2 in BR, 2 on futon). The odor forced us out of the BR after one night and bedding all four quite uncomfortably on the futon. The supposedly clean towels and bedding reeked of mildew. We asked the assistant to see for herself and send a cleaning service, but she never responded, so we washed all the towels at our own expense (no detergent) just to use them.

The kitchen sink drain had a severe leak. Water spilled into the undersink cabinet and into what was the ceiling space above the condo below. We mopped standing water and used pots to catch subsequent leakage, which we had to empty in the bathroom. We notified the owner, but neither he nor his assistant sent a plumber despite what was clearly a major problem.
The kitchen also had ants, which was a concern. That they occasionally made it onto us and bit while we sat or slept added to our dissatisfaction.

2 of 3 blinds on the condo's view side didn't work. While not a major issue, it forced us onto the lanai to enjoy the view which, to be fair, was nice (to also be fair, the location per the beach was good).

The condo was filthy. The bathroom was clearly not cleaned. We had to wipe the floor of accumulated sand, hair, dirt, and bits of coral – yes, coral. The bathtub had accumulated scum. The irony is that the owner charges a cleaning fee, but does not appear to use those funds to have the condo cleaned and linens laundered between renters. Or, he does not realize he's being ripped off by those he pays to do it.

We promptly reported all the problems to the owner and assistant by email, text and voice messages, but neither sent a cleaning service or plumber to address the problems. It is disconcerting that the assistant, who the owner told us to contact with any problems, never replied. Equally disconcerting, the owner’s response to our issues and concerns was to tell us that we didn’t have to stay and should have left if we didn’t like it. We paid 6 nights in advance and offered to pay for the first night but wanted out of the remaining 5 nights of the contract. He responded on Day 4 and only to offer a 10% credit, which wouldn't cover a single night elsewhere in Waikiki. We worked hard to pay for our vacation and couldn't afford to simply walk away from our payment (minus 10%) and pay for other accommodations on top of that.

Owners response: Is hard for me to say this because I like to believe in people but in regards to the guests that placed this bad review, they were looking for a free ticket.
Obviously there was no issues with the condo, when they called me I was unable to reach them back. I left messages in their voice mail to get their permission to enter and take care of the "issues". I am a very peaceful person and don't want any trouble so on my messages I also gave them the option get fully refunded if they wanted to vacate.

They did not call me back and stay in the condo. After they happily used the condo for their entire reservation days, they contact me to request and pursue a full refund on their stay!!. To keep peace I gave them a 10% off.

We take pride in the upkeep of all our condos, including plumbing, electrical, air conditioning. The Waikiki Skytower is the favorite of our repeat guests.
We always get the condo prepared and ready after departure before new guests arrive, cleaning thoroughly including kitchen, bathroom, washing bedding, towels, etc.

There is no leak on the kitchen drain. In addition, the homeowner association Waikiki Skytower fumigates all condos for ants twice a year. We don't have ants.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4


Safe, clean, and good location

Review submitted: December 3, 2010   Date of arrival: November 13, 2010

The place was very reasonable and in a good location 2 blocks from Waikiki beach, one block from a grocery store and 4 blocks from 24 hour fitness. The place had all the amenities, except wireless internet. The advertised partial ocean view was a disappoitnment, and while the place was generally in good condition, it's storage spaces (e.g. closets and cupboards) had a lot of junk in them such as old hangers, or old food containers. But overall, not bad for the price.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4


Reviews are the subjective opinions of travelers and not of, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review