reviews for: listing #63504 - Playa del Carmen, Yucatan Condo rental

Gorgeous 3Bdr Oceanfront Condo! (EF-104)
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  El Faro
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $230 - $300 /nt
    $1,600 - $3,200 /wk

sort by:

our second stay, excellent

Review submitted: April 5, 2014   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Would love to come back every year if available! We love it, the location, and Playa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Coral 104 - September 2013

Review submitted: April 5, 2014   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We stayed at this same condo when El Faro was new and I could not believe how this unit had declined. Walls were scratched up and touched up with paint a totally different color, the stove didn't have a 'face' so it was very difficult to use the oven, the refrigerator looked like it had been in a hail storm and the furniture in the living room was filthy and torn. Very disappointed but the location is great. However, we would not stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

More attention to detail

Review submitted: April 5, 2014   Date of arrival: July 10, 2013

Rating Details:
I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This place could have been very nice. Location and complex were very good in terms of location. Probably best complex in Playa Del Carmen. The unit itself has many issues to improve on. No handle on inside of front door; backdoor lock very hard to operate; washing machine broke; dishwasher broke (not fixed during our stay); front face of oven controls completely missing -- management company had to made photocopy of oven controls so we could use oven; couch needs replaced. Very saggy, mold looking spots and cut/hole on couch. No oven mitts to use. Management company was very responsive to come out and fix items (with exception of dishwasher) but these items should have been fixed or identified prior to my arrival. Rentals Your way has made kind offer for my inconveniences. Location is very easy walking to 5th avenue and Walmart (groceries).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great value and location to beach and 5th Avenue

Review submitted: April 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 20, 2013

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was adequately helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Over all we were pleased with this choice. Upon arrival a bit of confusion as our management company was not located on site, non the less we were able to gain access. The manager did stop by personally to check on us. We missed her each time. I was impressed with the location as it was very convenient for our four teenagers to enjoy. The condo itself was very well appointed, however a few items were broken/missing. The onsite drinking water, message and beach location were nice additions for the ease of vacation. The actual location of the condo is toward the rear of the complex however still a nice ocean view to wake up to.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

El Faro Coral 104

Review submitted: April 5, 2014   Date of arrival: December 20, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was adequately helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Wonderful Location and amenities. We did have a problem with the air conditioner 3 days prior to the end of our stay and after 3 v/m's and direct conversation with the cleaning team nothing was fixed or as far as I know no attempt. I never recieved confirmation from anyone at the property management that it was being looked into. Aside from no A/C in the common area for 3 days of the stay it was a wonderful trip.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

el faro 104

Review submitted: April 5, 2014   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The property needs some TLC.The couch needs replaced as well as more living room seating for 6 people.Love the location.The door on the hall side only closes with deadbolt.If you don't remember to close door behind the people coming in the condo the door isn't shut. At least if the other latch was working the door would actually be closed just not locked. We had to go back to the condo one evening because we realized that we hadn't done the deadbolt after the guy left.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best acomodations ever!!!!!

Review submitted: April 5, 2014   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Wow, It's just hard to put into words, I have never stayed in the water so much, I couln't decide on the ocean or the pool, we just did both all day long! I don't think you could dream of staying in a nice place and location, well, the same thing!
Thank you so much for a wonderful trip! We would love to book again, and again, and again, etc!
Ronnie Haislip

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place, great location!

Review submitted: February 18, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
El Faro is a perfect place to enjoy the beach and walk minutes to 5th Avenue where all the restaurants and bars are.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

El Faro 104

Review submitted: February 17, 2014   Date of arrival: January 15, 2014

Rating Details:
I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Amazing location for this room. Just on the beach and a block from night life, shopping and restaurants, BUT the condo itself needs work-worn, mildew on couch, oven and dishwasher don't work with no plan to replace. Fridge problems first day left us worrying that our stocked groceries would all spoil. Onsite mngt took care of fridge.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Had a great time!

Review submitted: February 14, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

We stayed at El Faro for a week. the location is perfect...minutes from 5th ave with all the bars and restaurants. The beach is amazing. The atmosphere is quiet and beautiful but when you want a drink or food it's seconds away at Wiki's or Zenzie. We're coming back next year!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay at El Faro

Review submitted: January 30, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We were timeshare owners through Encanto. ElFaro has recently had some bad publicity due to the demise of Encanto and unethical behaviour of its owner.
I have stayed at El Faro for the last few years through our timeshare. I've always enjoyed it. We were though still able to use our stay this year that we had booked through Rentals Your Way, even though the booking from our timeshare fell through. I was nervous about it but have five stars for Rentals Your Way. It's past summer They took the time to explain the situation to e best of their knowledge to me and as they said it would be our stay was wonderful.
The booking went smoothly. There were no issues. The room was clean, well appointed and the beds very very comfortable. Coral 104 has two king size beds and one queen. We had WiFi in the room plus a washer and dryer. ( which came in handy as we were in Mexico for a month and I only pack for a week).
There is a safe in each bedroom and each room has its own A/C unit.
The pool here is wonderful. Lots of knooks and crannies which provides fairly private seating areas. Plenty of chairs for everyone. It is clean and the grounds are well kept. All staff were friendly at all times. And a few have been here for a while.
The only negative of our stay which is due to nature, was the beach was not very large. In the past it has been repaired and will be once again.
Aristi and Sylvia have been here from the beginning of El Faro and are wonderful hosts. I also find the security to be excellent. The location is just off of fifth avenue, so a quick walk up to the shops and restaurants.
So, overall very pleased with our experience. Thanks again to Rentals Your Way. I would definitely book through them again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

my second stay

Review submitted: December 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 22, 2013

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
El Faro C104. Another wonderful stay. 8 days in paradise

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Super Comfortable Paradise

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: September 25, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
It was so nice to stay in El Faro, i like everything, reservation very easy, instructions, and comfortable stay. Thank you for everything!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Disappointed on Return Trip

Review submitted: September 17, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

I have to say that since our last trip a fews years back, this condo has taken quite the beating and is in need of a lot of TLC! Even though the location is perfect, the condo is very short of that. The interior shows significant signs of wear and tear. The furniture is stained and has slight tears, electric range face in so damaged that you cannot read it, walls were touched up with a completely different color paint but still have significant scratches, both shower heads are plugged up completely and the refrigerator looks like it was in a hail storm. The internet wervice was intermittent and we also had problems with the Vonage phone service. Good things were a great location, clean pool and good housekeeping service. However, we would not stay there again.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

El Faro Coral 104 Review

Review submitted: June 29, 2013   Date of arrival: June 4, 2013

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
beautiful location and building: the exterior of the facility/pool is well maintained. The Coral 104 unit interior shows pretty good signs of wear; furniture spotted/slight tears, electric range face damaged, wall paint scratched, card entry lock removed for repair, one shower head plugged up completely and others with bad spray patterns. The internet only worked about 1/2 the time we were there; intermittent service which would come and go. Overall, a nice unit that could use more careful assessment of condition on a regular basis and timely maintenance.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome Rental

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

We just got back from a 3 week stay in Mexico

We renting ElFaro 104 for 1 week.
We stayed at a 5 star all-inclusive for a week
We stayed at a 5 star hotel in Cancun for the 3rd week.

By far the best experience was our stay at ElFaro 104

All 6 of us felt at home, we felt safe, we felt that we experienced mexico
The kitchen is well equipped
The cleaning staff did a wonderful job
The location is the best. A short walk to Cozumel ferry.
1 minute walk to 5th Ave.
5 minute walk to the Mega store or Walmart (Mega is better for groceries)
There security making sure non-guests don't disturb you.

You don't need a car... everything in Playa is within walking distance. Taxis and buses are real cheap too if you need to get away for excursions.

We will definitely be returning and recommend this unit to anyone traveling to Playa.
The arrangement for payment, keys etc was all easy to understand and follow.
Communicating with the unit owner and property manager was instant and they saw to all our needs and answered all our question. Thanks Jeff

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing condo !

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

We could not be happier with our stay ! We called Jeff a couple weeks before arriving and asked if we could add a couple family members in for a week of our 3 week stay. Jeff was so great and didn't seem at all bothered by the extra people in his condo. The rental company that looks after the condo was so helpful. Cleaning staff was great too ! We have stayed in other propertys over the years and feel we have now found our home away from home ! Can't wait to rent this condo again !!

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: December 20, 2010   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

My husband and I stayed there for 8 days in December. We loved it! The condo was great with all the ammenities listed above. There are a few things I'd like to clarify to help those who would like to stay there in the future. There are two king suites with en-suite bathrooms. The third bedroom is a double bed. The condo does include a washer and dryer which was a great surprise for us. However, the condo did not have a stereo or iPod docking station like we were told. Good thing we brought ours with. It does have satellite radio that can be played from the TV and we were able to hook our iPod into the TV and listen that way. While we were there, they installed WiFi in the unit along with Vonage telephone service so we could call back to the states for no charge. Those two additions were great during our stay. All in all, we would definately stay there again. Just wanted to clarify some things about the condo. Thanks!

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Awesome beach front condo in the heart of Playa del Carmen

Review submitted: November 19, 2010   Date of arrival: November 9, 2010

We just got back from 10 days in Playa del Carmen. There were 3 couples staying in room 104 and we had a fabulous time. The condo, service, grounds, pool and beach bar were all top notch. The condo was clean and comfortable. The maid service came every other day with 4 people. The Wickys bar and restaurant and the beach club had fabulous food and service. I would highly recommend staying here and plan to again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review