reviews for: listing #63510 - Brooklyn, New York House rental

Superb Living III
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Stuyvesant Heights
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $215 /nt
    $875 - $1,800 /wk

sort by:

well equipped. good subway connection

Review submitted: December 11, 2013   Date of arrival: December 1, 2013

The property was clean and has good equipment. A little paint here and there would make it perfect. We felt to be in very good hands of Megan. Super kind and helpful! Thx a lot.
Only 5 min walk to subway. Well connected to Manhattan, where we stayed most of the time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful apartment in Brooklyn!!

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this apartment in Brooklyn! Michelle was extremely easy to deal with and even made a trip to the apartment the night of our arrival to give us the instruction sheet. It was a very short walk to the Metro station. It is on the second floor so getting our luggage up the steps was a bit of struggle but not that big of a deal. We were there during an extreme heat wave and the two window unit air conditioners did a great job of keeping the apartment cool. We were driving on this trip so parking was a little tricky but it wouldn't prevent me from staying there again. There was plenty of room for our family of 5 including two adults and three children ages 15, 12 and 7. We stayed 3 nights and loved every minute of it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great app in Brooklyn

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

App. in Brooklyn was great, and the owner is very helpful.
Also when I am forgetting things.
We stayed 5 days here and enjoyed.
All equipments (tv, wifi, kitchen .. etc) were operating OK.
Rooms were spacey and clean. Something short ?, call owner and she fix it fast.
Location is near MTA (metro) station, not far from JFK, many grocers, ATM and laundry around.

Will surely get back when in NY again.

Toni & fam
Netherlands.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect!!

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 15, 2012

Gorgeous place to stay in a wonderful area. I had my nerves wracked up traveling to New York for the first time but after a walk through the neighborhood all my nerves were calmed. Can't say too much as all the other reviews have said it all.. great place, very cute kitchen although like most... we ate out most of the time. Great cheap breakfast joint a couple blocks away called Crave.. yummy omelets and the best coffee!! The couple times we did cook though.. I loved how the scent stuck around.. always smelled so good ! Everything was as described, bed was extremely comfortable and the location was perfect and convenient.. so close to the subway !! Room was chilly the first night we were there.. a quick email to Michelle and she said she would be in to check the next day..! Toasty sleeps after that !
Would definitely stay here again our next round to New York!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A home away from home

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2011

Our family of four from Norway stayed in this apartment for two weeks during Easter 2011 and it was a thrill! We have been to New York several times, but decided for an apartment in a quieter place this time, rather than staying in an hotel in Manhattan as we usually do. We soon got the New York-feel here, and really enjoyed this different kind of vacation. We felt safe during our stay, and it was quite easy to get in touch with people at the coffeeshop and in the restaurants in the neighbourhood. Though the facilities in the apartment are good, we chose to eat out almost every night - most of the time at Peaches which is really awesome, but also sometimes at the pizza place nearby.
We loved the apartment so much, and were impressed by the kindness of Michelle (whom we didn`t meet in person) and her friend who came by one of the first days of our stay. We booked cleaning once during our stay, and this was also terrific. And the bed in the main bedroom is actually as wonderful to sleep in as the beds at Waldorf Astoria!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Gorgeous apartment in quiet and safe neighbourhood

Review submitted: December 18, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

This is a lovely, lightfilled, spotless brownstone apartment, exactly like the pictures. As previous reviewers have mentioned, the apartment is located a 5 minute walk from the subway and you can be in lower Manhattan in 10-15 minutes. The neighbourhood is quiet and very safe, even at night.
It's a wonderful retreat after a hectic day in Manhattan and comes with a modern kitchen so you have the option of self catering.
Fantastic food and coffee at rustic Italian cafe/restaturant, Saraghina, a 1 minute walk away.
Michelle is very responsive to all enquiries and there is detailed information in the apartment about local transport, supermarkets, laundromats etc.
Brooklyn itself is gorgeous with lots of lovely parks, museums, boutiques and cafes and has a great vibe and loads of lovely and interesting people.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Séjour dans un quartier tranquille de Brooklyn

Review submitted: November 15, 2011   Date of arrival: October 30, 2011

Appartement situé à 2 pas du métro dans un quartier tranquille et typique de Brooklyn.Chambre lumineuse, la salle de bain très propre mériterait un rafraichissement de la baignoire (typique elle aussi ^^)
Nombreux restos sympas dans le coin, supermarché (super Foodtown) à 15 minutes de marche sur Fulton ave et supérettes au coin de la rue.
Nous avons passé avec mon fils de 10 ans et mon mari un agréable séjour. La propriétaire très gentille a été très disponible durant le séjour.

Helpful votes: 2 / 6

 

BEAUTIFUL PLACE TO GO..........

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 4, 2011

This is a beatiful aparment very very comfortable,it is 5 blocks from subway and there are some market shops one block away ,the owner take care of every thing ,maps,easy instrucctions, directions, in the kitchen there are some items already ( for cooking ) Thank you soo much It was a pleasure have been stayed at this place.I will reccomended it to anybody as the best option.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

BEAUTIFUL PLACE TO GO..........

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 4, 2011

I was at Michelle´s apartment from July 04-09/11 and was my best experience..It is a nice apartment very well furnished with all items you could need ( there is umbrella also !! ) just in case it is raininig ..The owner is a very nice person and the location was fine ...Thank you soo much Michelle!.I will contact you in my next trip for sure and hope you have availability ..Yvonne Fuentes

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent base for visiting Manhattan

Review submitted: May 25, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

We spent a week in this charming apartment. The Subway s 5mins away and will get you in to Manhatttan in 10mins. The neighbourhood is quiet and very friendly. We ate at Peaches 3 nights where the food and staff are excellent.
The facilities provided are perfect. Everything was very clean and tidy.
There is a lot of information provided in the apartment. We bought the New York Pass which made it easier as we didn´t need to take as much cash.
The supermarket Fine fare is very near and quite cheap. The other 2 are more expensive.
We took our laundry to the laundrette recommended and found it very quick and cheap. We left it in the morning and collected when we returned in the evening.
I would recommend this apartment to anyone looking to visit Manhattan but does not want to pay extorsionate prices. The subway is safe and very easy to use.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A gem!

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: April 4, 2011

Spent a week at the apartment and had an excellent time.
Place was spotless on arrival, kitchen very well equipped, very charming decor, incredibly comfortable bed and good local
amenities.
Owner is very friendly and helpful.
We liked the apartment so much, that we ended up staying in most nights, cooking and just hanging out 'at home', or going for dinner 'round the corner.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful apartment - easy links to Manhattan

Review submitted: October 20, 2010   Date of arrival: October 6, 2010

My partner and I stayed at this apartment in October this year.
We flew into JFK and then got a taxi to the property - which cost us about $30. On the advice of the property owner - we got an official yellow cab and avoided the 'not-so-official alternatives'.
The apartment itself is very, very clean and tidy - and the furniture and general decor is impressive. The apartment, in general, has a 'welcoming' feel to it - which helped us settle in and 'feel at home' very quickly.
On arrival, we found that the owner had left us a list of useful hints, tips and recommendations - and we really appreciated the thought that had gone into that. The apartment also contained a good selection of guide books and maps relating to Brooklyn and Manhattan - which we found invaluable.
There were plenty of pots, pans and cooking utensils in the kitchen - so it'd be a great place for anyone who feels like eating in now and then. There's also a grocery store, a couple of restaurants and a take-away or 2 very close to the property.
The walk to the nearest subway is only about 10 minutes away (UTICA station on the A or C train) - and the trip over to Manhattan doesn't take long at all (especially if you get the express (A) train). If you're there for a week you can get a 7 day unlimited pass for just $27 (which we thought was a bargain).
After spending long days walking miles and miles around Manhattan doing the tourist thing -- we were happy to discover that the mattress on the bed is fantastically comfortable - and helped us sleep and recharge our batteries most successfully :-)
This is the first time that I've rented a holiday apartment (rather than a hotel) and I was a little nervous about the process. However, the owner and the property manager both proved to be very approachable, reliable and friendly.

I would definitely recommend this property to a friend. :-)

Recommendation for things to do in Manhattan: If you're a fan of Broadway shows - find 'Ellen's Stardust Diner' (near Times Square). The food isn't great - and its a little more expensive than other restaurants/diners in the area -- but the waiters and waitresses entertain the customers by singing songs from the shows as they serve food. The performances are sometimes awesome - and sometimes less impressive - but its ALWAYS entertaining.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Oasis in Brooklyn

Review submitted: August 8, 2010   Date of arrival: August 4, 2010

My family had an amazing stay in Bed-Stuy at this property. The accomodations were lovely and there were lots of nice touches everywhere in the space. It was the perfect respite for us and our 11 month old son. It's convenient to the A train and other transportation. The immediate neighborhood has some great restaurants and a coffee shop. If you are looking for a reasonable price, great space and oasis from the rest of the hustle of the city - we highly recommend this space. Book it and enjoy it. We will be staying here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

An Oasis in Brooklyn

Review submitted: August 8, 2010   Date of arrival: August 4, 2010

My family had an amazing stay in Bed-Stuy at this property. The accomodations were lovely and there were lots of nice touches everywhere in the space. It was the perfect respite for us and our 11 month old son. It's convenient to the A train and other transportation. The immediate neighborhood has some great restaurants and a coffee shop. If you are looking for a reasonable price, great space and oasis from the rest of the hustle of the city - we highly recommend this space. Book it and enjoy it. We will be staying here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review