reviews for: listing #6360 - White Mountains, New Hampshire Cabin rental

Cozy White Mountain Cabin w/Hot Tub & Fireplace nr Hiking
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $250 /nt
    $1,100 - $1,400 /wk

sort by:

A cozy slice of heaven

Review submitted: October 20, 2008   Date of arrival: October 17, 2008

My husband and I have now stayed at the Cozy Cabin 3 times in the past year, winter, spring and fall - all the seasons are beautiful and different. The cabin is exactly as described and pictured, in fact it's even better. Karin, the owner is very attentive and organized and, Deb, the caretaker in NH keeps the cabin extremely clean. The cabin is well equipped and situated in a completely private yard. The hot tub under the stars is sparkling clean and wonderful in all seasons! There's lots to do in the area, with all White Mountain attractions (and Vermont) being within driving distance. Sugar Hill / Franconia and Littleton are close with many restaurant and shopping options. The Cozy Cabin is highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beat Expectations...Will Definately Return

Review submitted: March 25, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

From arriving to leaving, the place beat expectations. The house was easy to find. The hot tub was amazingly easy to operate and was in great repair. The beds were comfortable. The house was plenty warm and had no drafts that I could tell. The kitchen was well stocked with all necessary cooking utensils. The fireplace was easy to use and the board game and VHS collection was plenty for passing time at night.

The outside was well maintained and lighting was good. We will definitely return and also recommend this place to our friends for winter weekends.

Karin was also very pleasant and prompt in all communications. I recommend booking early, as it fills up fast.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We'd live here if we could.

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 25, 2013

This was the most recent stay, but we've been here about 5/6 times before. This is the PERFECT getaway. Whether you are interested in hiking and spending time with nature or just relaxing in a hot tub with the sounds of birds chirping (or snow falling) and no cell phone reception -- this is the place to be. Don't forget coming home to a fireplace. The home and hot tub are always immaculate upon arrival ... you would never know that this house allows pets! Karin, the owner, is really professional, quick to respond, and always treats us super well. The house itself is surrounded by trees and has a ton of privacy, it is easy to get to, and it is conveniently located near necessity stores (food, clothing, miscellaneous) as well as SO many things to do: The White Mountains (endless possibilities there), Mount Washington, Conway, Littleton, The Kancamagus Highway, and the Flume Gorge just to name a few. Get massages here: Moondance Massage. Eat here: White Mountain Bagel Co / Littleton Bagel Depot. Staying in the White Mountain area? STAY HERE!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful weekend

Review submitted: May 3, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

This was our third stay at Cozy Cabin and the first with good weather. We did not need good weather to enjoy past trips to Cozy Cabin but the sun and warm temperatures helped us to enjoy the surrounding White Mountains. Cruising Rte 302 and the Kangamagus in an open convertible is such a joy when it's sunny and warm. Cool spring nights make the hot tub an incredible experience. As in the past the cabin was clean and comfortable. We opted for a three night stay this time, highly recommended! (two nights were not enough). We will return soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Looking for Secluded - This is It!

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2013

"We had such a great time at the Cozy White Mountain Cabin! If you are looking for a secluded place this is it! We wanted to stay in a cabin and didn't want to stay in one of those horrid campsites where cabins are clustered together and you are surrounded by neighbors. If you are looking for a romantic getaway you have found the place. We played Battleship (provided), watched "Cabin Fever" (provided and also rather unsettling considering the setting) and enjoyed the view! Karin is very helpful and communicative without coming off as an obsessive B&B owner. We are already talking about coming back!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pleasant and Easy Rental Experience

Review submitted: November 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

Hi Karin,

We received our security deposit refund check yesterday - thanks for sending it so quickly! I just wanted to let you know that not only did we love the Cozy Cabin and the location, you have also made this whole rental experience so easy and pleasant! I have dealt with a few other people through Home Away and you have been, by far, the most prompt, professional, courteous, organized, thorough and detailed! We are definitely considering returning next year to Cozy Cabin or trying your VT home instead.

Thanks again and have a great summer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Money Well Spent

Review submitted: March 31, 2012   Date of arrival: March 26, 2012

This is DEFINATELY a great getaway for a couple wanting to share quality time. Very private and secluded, beautiful scenery, and only minutes from athe quaint town if Littleton. Don't pass this one up!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The best vacation of my life

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

As the name attests, I have yet to stay in a more COZY, comfortable, quaint or tidy rental than this cabin. My bf and I were looking to get away without breaking the bank (we're both graduate students). We did lots of research, looking at places from W.Virginia all the way up to Quebec. At the end of the day, nothing even began to compare with the Cozy Cabin on paper. We were not disappointed - After a fabulous week in the White Mountains, nothing can still compare to our experience. First, Karin is phenomenal. All of her e-mails and payment processes were prompt, organized, and very clear. Second, once arriving to the cabin, our jaws literally dropped. The entire place was spotless. Everything from the silverware to the wall hangings screamed cabin in the woods, and at the same time made us feel so much at home. Third, the hot tub was the best! We hung out in the tub every single night, enjoying light snow, -3F temperatures, and not to mention all of the gorgeous stars. Fourth, my bf loved the fireplace. He was always chopping wood in the garage for kindling and sat for hours getting the flames so they were just right. Fifth, the area is very fun to explore. We would take daily drives - sometimes with destinations in mind, sometimes not! We toured many quaint towns that we simply stumbled upon, and also enjoyed tearing through the mountain gouges and enjoying the scenery. For those who prefer to plan, there are lots of outdoor winter activities nearby from snowshoeing to skiing to ice skating. Sixth, we loved the privacy. The cabin is only five minutes from a major road, but still remote enough to feel like we were the only ones in the world. This was a great change from living in Philadelphia so I highly recommend this experience to anyone interested in taking a break from city-life. You will not regret a single dime that was spent towards renting this property, for any duration of stay. We will definitely be back. Hands down, the best vacation I have ever had.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

The ideal getaway

Review submitted: January 13, 2012   Date of arrival: December 29, 2011

This place truly lives up to its name. The place IS small and cozy, and that was what we just what we were looking for. The place had everything we needed to cook and relax. We all had a great time, even though there wasn't enough snow to go skiing that weekend. Thanks for making this place available!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great vacation

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

My husband & I spent a week in the cozy cabin w our 2 dogs. It was spotless when we arrived and the hot tub was wonderful and so crystal-clear! The cabin was close enough to all skiing which we went to cannon, bretton woods & Attitash! We also snowshoed right from the cabin. I would recommend this rental and will definitely go again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so very fortunate to have Deb as our housekeeper, she does a fantastic job keeping the cabin and hot tub in great shape!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 19, 2009   Date of arrival: November 19, 2009

This was the most perfect cozy cabin. It was clean, well kept and charmingly decorated. It was located in a private mountain setting, that was easy to find and close to Littleton, if you wanted some civilization. We loved sitting with a good book by the warm fire and soaking in the hot tub under the stars. Everything was as described in the listing and we plan on renting again in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect vacation!

Review submitted: November 4, 2009   Date of arrival: October 25, 2009

My husband and I stayed for a week in our first vacation since our honeymoon. This place was absolutely fantastic. It was perfect for a relaxing, secluded getaway, though could have easily been action packed if we had wanted it that way. I'd recommend bringing some bottled water, as the tap water is fine for cooking and dishwashing, but we found we didn't want to drink it. There are some maps and guidebooks there for local exploring, but if you plan to venture far, I'd bring your own map. And DO NOT FORGET to bring a camera, because you will not believe the scenery! We could not have picked a better place to vacation, and now that I know how wonderful vacation rentals are, I don't know that we can ever go back to hotels!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are always pleased to hear that guests have enjoyed our cozy, rustic retreat and that the vacation rental by owner experience was a positive one. The water comes from our own well and as is common in the area, iron content can give off a slight sulpher smell. While some people may prefer bottled water, our water is lab-tested annually and perfectly safe to drink.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 22, 2009   Date of arrival: September 22, 2009

The cabin was absolutely perfect. Your attention to detail is very apparent in the accommodations. It made our 10 year wedding anniversary more special. Great hot tub and relaxing by the fire was the perfect way to end our days. We plan on sharing this great experience with our children on our return vist.

Thanks for lovely weekend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great place

Review submitted: May 4, 2009   Date of arrival: March 11, 2009

My wife and I had a great time at the cabin. It was clean and neat and nicely appointed. The fireplace was great, as was the hot tub. Karin did a great job getting us into the cabin and it was just as she described. It was a quiet and peaceful four days for my wife and I. Just what we were looking for. I would recommend staying at Cozy Cabin to anyone who wised to get away from it all but still be close to any attractions. For my wife and I, we never left the cabin once we arrived. Hope to be back soon.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing retreat

Review submitted: March 23, 2009   Date of arrival: March 14, 2009

I had an extraordinary week at the Cozy Cabin. The cabin is exactly as pictured. The views from the living room are gorgeous. The afternoon sunlight was so nice and relaxing. Everything was perfectly clean and neat. Loved hearing the howling sled dogs at night too, lots of stars to watch from the hot tub. Peaceful, and serene. Many thanks! :)

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 3, 2009   Date of arrival: March 3, 2009

The cozy cabin was a great little getaway for us! We spent two nights and went snowshoeing, sledding, and explored nearby Littleton. The cabin was very cozy and clean. The fireplace was so nice in the evenings to get warm by. By the fireplace is where I proposed to my girlfrend Melissa, she said yes. It was the perfect private atmosphere I was looking for.

Thanks for everything Karin,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 26, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

All I can say is WOW! We had SUCH a relaxing time this Christmas. The moment we walked in my fiance said we should have booked this place for a week, instead of 4 days. It was VERY clean and neat (I was afraid to see spiders or bugs but it was spotless) and the water in the hottub was crystal clear. Karin had thought of everything when she set this cabin up for rental, there is every convenience imaginable. There are board games to play, DVDs, VHS tapes, all the cooking utensils you need, extra blankets, fire wood, even a washer and dryer right in the (very clean) basement! We will definitely return to Cozy Cabin, next time with friends!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A piece of heaven

Review submitted: October 22, 2008   Date of arrival: October 14, 2008

This is a perfect place to unwind. The weather was perfect, it rained one day which was nice to stay inside and enjoy the fire place. The hot tub was enjoyable after a day of exploring, A walk in the woods was so quiet and
relaxing a great place if you have a dog.
I look forward to returning again and I have told a lot of people about it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Vacation Get-A-Way

Review submitted: October 21, 2008   Date of arrival: June 30, 2008

WOW is all we can say!!! As soon as we opened the door my husband said, “they are as neat and clean as you”, many things reminded us of home. It was much more than we expected. It was soooo very clean, orderly, cozy, well equipped, and all that we could have asked for. You would never know that you allow pets (which we do not have), not a smell or trace at all. You always wonder when you rent a place what you might walk in to and that was not an issue. My husband still is talking about the hot tub (which we all enjoyed thoroughly) and how unbelievably clean and refreshing it was. I don’t think we have ever seen one look that clear – honestly. When our boys settled down is when we enjoyed the hot tub the most. It was our pleasure to keep everything tidy and really I would not have had it any other way.
I’m sure it is not easy opening one of your homes up to others and not always knowing what condition they may leave it in or how they might treat it while they are there, so we are so grateful for having the opportunity to rent it. Thank you very, very much!

Best -
Tracy, Tim, Travis and Tristan

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cozy Cottage is in a quiet and tranquil setting.

Review submitted: October 17, 2008   Date of arrival: October 5, 2008

The cottage is nice wooded setting. The hot tub was very clean and quite enjoyable although it would be nice if there had been some kind of lighting system out there at night to assist with the removal and replacement of the cover. We enjoyed Miller's Cafe on the river in Littleton for lunch and a ride up the tram at Cannon Mt. I will say I was a little disappointed in the cottage itself and felt a little misled by the reviews that were posted. The kitchen could use a little TLC and there were mice droppings in the utensil drawers. We are both avid readers but all the lamps were so dim that there was no comfortable place to read after dark unless we sat at the table, and although we like it cool in general, there was no heat at all in the bedroom. It was quite frosty out both nights we were there but luckily I had bought a big quilt with me. I would recommend the cottage for the location and use of the hot tub but would forewarn guest not to expect too much of the cottage itself.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for submitting a review of our property. We strive to create a comfortable experience for all our guests and your feedback is important to us. I regret that your experience at Cozy Cabin did not meet your expectations.

The lighting issue (both inside and out) are easily resolved and will be addressed promptly. Given the rustic location of the cabin small creatures do make occasional visits. We keep mouse traps and cubes of tomcat around the property - but sometimes one gets past us. I have spoken with my housekeeper about being vigilant in checking all drawers and cabinets in between guests.

I am very sorry to hear that you went for 2 nights without heat in the bedroom. The heat in all rooms was checked and working prior to your arrival, but upon your departure found that the switch on the thermostat had been inadvertently turned off. We encourage guests to call with any questions or problems and the home and cell phone #'s for both myself and my caretaker are posted at the cabin. We find that a quick phone call can take care of most issues.

Again, we really appreciate your feedback. It only helps us do our job better. Our aim is to cultivate a clientele that chooses to return again and again to either our White Mountain Cabin or Vermont Chalet.

Respectfully,
Karin

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 29, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

The cabin is absolutely wonderful. I plan to visit again and again!!! Karin is attentive and responsive. It was the most relaxed wonderful week I have had in years and years! We had a buddy - a barred owl, spectacular!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 26, 2007   Date of arrival: August 26, 2007

Hi Karin –Just a quick note – I had to write – because we have been mentioning your name and your cabin in conversation the past two days and I wanted to share that with you. We just got back from renting a cabin on Stinson Lake in Rumney, NH – owned by the family of a friend of a friend – they had a cancellation – we took it sight unseen, etc. What a disappointment. The “private” cabin was private – within the family compound of 4 other cabins! The “private beach” was no such thing. Our “private deck” overlooked the walkway to the beach, so that everyone passed by as they headed to and from the lake. (The lake was lovely and the cabin was close to hiking – but that was the only good feature.) The kitchen was tiny, the bedrooms had twin beds, it was dark and dreary, and as Cliff said – “there wasn’t a comfortable spot to sit in the whole place!”Anyway, all this to say that you have such a wonderful cabin and we so enjoyed (and very much appreciate) the experience we had staying there this past March. You have attended to every detail and comfort - and offer a CLEAN, aesthetically pleasing, private getaway that truly delivers what it promises. We are looking forward to our next visit to your wonderful place. As I said, it’s a real gem! Best regards,Catherine

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 17, 2007   Date of arrival: July 17, 2007

Karin,

The cabin was wonderful. Everything was fine and exactly as you said. Its location is excellent and all of the amenities in the cabin were great and appreciated from the Hot Tub, to the Washer and Dryer, to the little surprises like the telescope and games and videos. The rooms were comfortable and very nice. The kids (and even the dogs) had a wonderful time. We were able to visit Storyland, Santa's Village, Clarks Trading Post, Six Gun City, Lost River, Cannon Mt., and St Johnsbury VT and all were reasonably close to the cabin. If you know any coin collectors Littleton has one of the largest coin dealers in the U.S. (Littleton Coin). They offer tours of their facility on Wednesdays and Fridays at 2pm and have a nice gift shop. They are only 15 minutes from the cabin.

We will definitely consider re-visiting and perhaps even checking out your place in Vermont. If you have a mailing list, please add us to it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 28, 2007   Date of arrival: June 28, 2007

Dear Karin,

Our family had a wonderful vacation at your cabin, thank you for allowing us to use it! Occasionally when "buying online" one could be very leary but you have made this a pleasant and secure experience from start to finish. Thank you for the refunding the sec dep. so promptly

Oh, we loved the journal that is kept by the phone, there was great insight into things to do in the area. We particularly loved the swim hole on Loop Rd in Easton- we spent several hrs there swimming, sunning and eating.

Have a wonderful summer to you and your family!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 7, 2007   Date of arrival: June 7, 2007

Hi Karin,
My wife and I had a wonderful time at the cabin. Annie and I were able to get to see some of the things we missed out on during our last trip to the cabin. We hiked Franconia Notch Park, The Flume, The Basin, Lafeyette, Mt. Washington, visited the nearby lakes, barbecued, and relaxed in the hot tub and on the deck. Love the chairs. We had wonderful meals at Polly's Pancake Parlor, 99, and The Ammonusic Inn. All in all it was a great trip. We got to see some amazing sites.Thanks again and we look forward to our next stay at the White Mountains with you. It is an amazing place!

Travis, Annie and Ripley

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 16, 2007   Date of arrival: March 16, 2007

Well the cabin definately lives up to its name. You have a wonderful place here and we immediately felt at peace as soon as we came in. We loved the walks through the snow and seeing all the deer tracks. Thanks for having us up we really enjoyed our stay and we hope to revisit sometime this summer.

P.S. We found a saucer in the garage and used the hill behind it to sled down. It was great fun!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 4, 2007   Date of arrival: February 4, 2007

As soon as my boyfriend and I arrived we were immediately welcomed by the warmth and charm of this cabin. It felt like a home away from home. I will remember always the snowy hot tub adventure, the moon lighting the sky so bright andof course the late nights by the fireside. Thank you for creating such a welcoming and relaxing haven. We look forward to coming back in another season.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 18, 2006   Date of arrival: August 18, 2006

The 3 of us had a nice time. Walt & I loved those deck rockers and sat out most evenings after grilling supper while Brad toasted marshmallows (can't do that in a hotel!). The cabin was very private & we enjoyed having our dog, Raven, with us. We didn't have to worry if she barked at a chipmunk or two. (She's a black lab mix with a loud bark.) About mid-week, we met Deb, who is a nice lady. You are lucky to have such a nice person taking care of your property. She had that cabin pretty darn clean when we got there.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 10, 2006   Date of arrival: March 10, 2006

Karin,

We had a great time! Your cabin is wonderful! It only snowed lightly our last day, but there was enough snow on the ground for us to get a few days of cross country skiing at Jackson. We really enjoyed Littleton, especially that it wasn't as touristy as other towns in the White Mountains. The waterfall near the school was beautiful. The whole area is beautiful - we spent a lot of time driving around looking at scenery. The cabin was perfect as well. You're very lucky to have such a charming get away.

And yes, we did enjoy the hot tub, though it was awfully cold getting in and out!

Take care,

Mindy and Bob
San Francisco, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 10, 2006   Date of arrival: February 10, 2006

Karin,
We had a wonderful time! The cabin was more than what we expected, you have a jewel. Great location and views. Private and secluded, but not to far from civilization. The caretaker called shortly after we arrived to check on us and to offer her help if needed. The cabin was very clean. We snowboarded at Loon and Cannon, visited Franconia, hiked on the trails near Perch Pond, ate in Littleton, and watched our Pittsburgh Steelers win at the pub "99" . We spent our evenings in the hot tub and by the fire. Neighbors dogs were very cool. We do a lot of traveling and this trip ranks with the best. It was our first time to the White Mountains and they were amazing.
Thanks again

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 8, 2006   Date of arrival: January 8, 2006

Karin,

I would like to thank you for such a pleasent stay at the cozy cabin. It was a great experience, just what i was looking for, remote, romantic and of course cozy. We had a great time there and I will def. keep your info so i can visit again sometime when I get back out east.

Thanks again

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 27, 2005   Date of arrival: November 27, 2005

Thank you so much for the relaxing week. This was the perfect place to spend our honeymoon. Soaking in the hot tub is as much fun under a starlit sky as it is in a dusk snowstorm. Toasting marshmallows in the fireplace was also a highlight of the week.

Thank you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 8, 2005   Date of arrival: November 8, 2005

We had a wonderfully relaxing time at the cabin. I was really impressed with how meticulously clean the cabin was, and I can’t really think of anything that would have made it more comfortable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 12, 2005   Date of arrival: August 12, 2005

Thanks Karin,

Everything we could possibly need or think of was available to us. The information box and the atlas of the New Hampshire area were extremely useful. The hot tub was great and very well maintained. The bed was perfect, very comfortable with the pillow top. It was a nice surprise. I was expecting a hard, old, uncomfortable bed. The movie
selection was good and we watched one almost every night.

I would never have been able to tell that you were new at the vacation rental business. It appeared that you had years of experience, as you addressed every need that someone could have.

I was very happy to see a guest book. It was fun reading what the first guests wrote and we shared our experience there as well.

Thanks for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 8, 2005   Date of arrival: August 8, 2005

Hi Karin,

I just wanted to tell you that we had a fabulous time at your cabin his past weekend. I know you mentioned tjat this was the first year doing this and wanted feedback so here goes.

Highlights:
The deck and chairs are soo comfy - we spent hours out there just reading and relaxing
The cabin is adorable - great job decorating, it's very cute
the hot tub
the old school movies

It was fabulous and we'd be interested in renting it in the winter.

Thanks so much,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review