reviews for: listing #63695 - Lake Placid, New York House rental

The Hut on Grand View
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $120 - $295 /nt
    $800 - $2,000 /wk

sort by:

Great Warm Family Place to stay

Review submitted: February 16, 2010   Date of arrival: February 13, 2010

Great home in Lake Placid, in walking distance to Main St. Home is fairly new, and kitchen is well equipped (much more than typical rental home). Very nice living and dining area for warm winter evenings near stove. Owners are very helpful, and easy to deal with. Looking forward to go back,

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Well kept!

Review submitted: March 3, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

We were impressed by the house. It's in great condition with a well outfitted and -- for the modest size of the house - a spacious kitchen and dining room. We did not use the back sitting room because of very cold weather, but still found the living room, with a sofa and loveseat, met our needs. The two bedrooms are on the small side, but perfectly fine for two couples. The mattresses on the beds are quite comfy, which is the main attribute I look for in a bedroom.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great value and great time

Review submitted: January 24, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

Marion was wonderful to deal with - super helpful and replied to all questions very quickly. The house was very nice and cozy and we had everything we needed. Very clean and comfortable and lots of extra pillows and anything you could think of to make your stay like home. They even had butter and ketchup and other niceties that make a short stay like ours so much less of a hassle!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay! Lovely home!

Review submitted: October 23, 2013   Date of arrival: October 18, 2013

We booked this rental based on many other excellent reviews and were not disappointed. The owners are extremely friendly & helpful and the home is very cozy and clean. The location was perfect for us, close enough to the main strip were we could walk there, but enough distance to keep things nice and quiet when we were looking to relax. Garage/first floor is perfect for the hikers in the bunch - we can leave our gear down there so its locked up overnight without having to track dirt into the house. If you can't tell by this review - we've found our new Lake Placid rental spot! Thanks again to Marion and Bruno for an excellent stay! We look forward to the next time.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great for me and my three school aged daughters!

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 6, 2013

We were looking for a affordable place to stay for a few nights while visiting old friends, and it was found at The Hut! Spacious, clean, well-maintained and only a short walk to Main St. They owners were very responsive and friendly. A plus was they had a VHS tape of "Chitty Chitty Bang Bang", a classic I loved as a kid and was excited I got to watch it again with my girls! Highly recommend and we'll for sure stay again when we visit Lake Placid.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean, cozy stay. Great neighborhood & good value!

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

Rented this property to say for a summer Lake Placid wedding. Nice and cute. Very clean and a great value. Marion was nothing but nice to deal with. Would return for sure. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great home away from home Rental

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

We were so impressed with this home. It truly is a home away from home. All the personal touches made it very cozy.

We decided to rent a home rather then a hotel due to my food allergies so I could cook. This is an amazingly equipped kitchen. Close to grocery stores.

Rooms were all very comfortable and the living and dining room super cozy.

This is great get away for a family or couples as it is walking distance to Main Street. It's a nice quiet street that gives you the ideal location.

The backyard with Adirondack chairs and a gas BBQ was the icing on the cake.

Our only regret is that we didn't book a longer holiday. :)

Marion is very pleasant and professional to deal with.

I'll be back......

Nicole,
Ottawa, Ontario Canada

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great For A Family Gathering

Review submitted: July 27, 2013   Date of arrival: July 17, 2013

Many of the reviews refer to this place as 'cozy' and to me that indicates small. This place is not small! It was very spacious and accommodated my family (three college age kids with Mom and Dad) well.
We were in Lake Placid to visit our son who was doing a summer internship as a naturalist. This meant he spent the summer living in a tent. His only request was a BIG dry clean comfortable bed! He reports the bed as a 10+!
We stayed here during the NorthEast heat wave but the ceiling fans and plug in fans kept us cool and comfortable. Even with the extreme heat, the back sunroom had wonderful breezes with the windows open. This room also worked great for our two daughters to sleep in. It could be closed off and offered a private spot for them so we could be up having coffee early in the morning and not disturb them.
This place is well maintained and was extremely clean. The kitchen and bathroom were spotless.
It's proximity to town allowed my kids to wander on their own and limited our need to use the car. We walked to the public beach, ate dinner at the Lake Placid Brewery (highly recommended) and window shopped.
We easily prepaired home cooked meals ( another request from my son) watched movies on the huge television and played card games. This place far surpassed my goal of staying in a comfortable place where we could spend time together.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

FABULOUS

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

Wonderful home!!! Beautiful, spacious, pretty sunroom if inclement weather. Walking distance to town a major plus. Loved it. Would definitely visit again. Marion is great.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy, Quiet and Clean

Review submitted: June 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

Dear Marion and Bruno,

Thank you for sharing your home with us. We had a wonderful stay, too bad it was so short. The hose is cozy and very clean, very well appointed and organized. We really appreciated the garage and basement layout, where we were able to safely store our bicycles and gear. The street is very quiet too. It really feels like home away from home.

We look forward to coming back in June.

Best regards,
Andrei

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Look No Further!

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

This was our first time renting a home in Lake Placid, and we were very pleased with the accommodations . The house is nestled into a quiet neighborhood. Moreover, it is just minutes away from grocery stores, restaurants and activities. The cleanliness is superb and if you enjoy cooking, the kitchen will not disappoint you. This home provides a welcoming ambience and is equipped with everything you may need while spending time away from your home.

The owners are some of the nicest people we have met. They have truly tried to provide a house that will feel like your home away from home.

As we will be in need of lodging in this area quite often, we will definitely be repeat customers.

Sincerely,

Pennsylvania Patrons

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place!

Review submitted: February 21, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

"We want to thank you again to be able to stay at your house. Great place and we love it! We had wonderful time and looking to visit your place again".

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy & Quiet

Review submitted: February 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

The house is on a very quiet residential street within walking distance of the downtown area, and is easy to get to without going through the busy downtown area. The kitchen was very well-equipped for us to cook all of our meals. The main living area is spacious and comfortable for meals and relaxing in the evening.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Easy Place, Close to Village

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

This is a great little home for a girls weekend of skiing. The home was well maintained, and well lit, and access was easy through the basement.
The home was clean, and well stocked with linens, blankets and all the necessities. Plenty of space for the 4 of us [1 couple, 2 singles - used the living room pullout].
The franklin stove kept the place warm and cozy! We loved the large dining room for group breakfast.
We would definitely come back here for the space and the excellent customer service.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best time Ever!!!

Review submitted: January 24, 2013   Date of arrival: January 9, 2013

My family and I have rented the Hut for a skiing vacation and what a Find it was! The house felt cozier than home at times, which was amazing. All we needed was right there at our fingertips. Marion was a true pleasure to deal with - always on top of things, responsible and very nice.

If we are in Lake Placid ever again - it's a no brainer - we are renting the Hut of course!!!!

Wholeheartedly recommend for a getaway that feels like home!!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: January 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at The Hut on Grandview. The house was perfect for two couples each with a child under 8 months. Being walking distance from Main St was very convenient.
Marion is a very responsive home owner. All communications with her were very pleasant and prompt.
We would definitely stay here again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nicely located well maintained Place.

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

We rented the house for a cycling and hiking week end.

The house was very clean and comfortable with all necessary appliances, bedding and plenty of space to put all are our equipment in the garage. The house had plenty of place to sleep four adults but would also be perfect for a small family with two children. Parking for 3 cars was actually very much appreciated. The house is within walking distance from the main street (if you don't mind the small climb) and the neighbourhood is very quiet. Description of the place is accurate and picture match what you will get. Owners were responsive to requests we made. Would recommend to anyone.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay in Lake Placid!

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

It was our first time in Lake Placid and we really enjoyed our stay at the Hut on Grand View. We are a family of 4 (2 young kids) and this house was perfect for us as it is well equipped, clean and walking distance from main street. The area is quiet and the owners are very helpful and easy to deal with. I would recommend this place to my friends!
Thanks Marion and Bruno!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Great "Home Base" while in Beautiful Lake Placid

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

My wife and I and our 2 young sons (18 Months and 3 Years) has a wonderful time at the Hut on Grandwview. The Place was spotless top to bottom and was very tastefully decorated. The house was equipped with everything needed for a short or long term stay. The Kitchen included everything that the Chef of the Family could ever need (Except for a Muffin Baking Pan LOL). Entertainment Center was also fantastic, with a brand new 46 inch TV and Home Theater Sound, as well as tons of DVD's to watch when the weather is not so nice. The Hut is walking distance from the Shops, Parks and Mirror Lake Beach, so we tended to walk most of the time. Our 3 year old loved riding his bike along side of us up and down all the hills. Marion was excellent to deal with and was quick to answer any of our many questions prior to and during our stay. We can't wait to get back there again and stay here, maybe even off season when the town is nice and quiet. Thanks Marion and Bruno for everything, you helped make our Summer, one to remember. Bob, Becky, Carter and Daniel Scharien

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing and worry-free stay in Lake Placid

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

I have heard about Lake Placid from friends as a nice way to get in touch with nature while in New York. I looked up places to stay there and found this house. Through emails, the owner was very nice and accommodating; answering every question I had. I am a little difficult to please when it comes to cleanliness and the house has exceeded my expectations: it's seriously as clean if not cleaner than a hotel! The furnishings are cozy and complete and it is located in a nice neighborhood which is walkable to the center.

Coming from Italy, I didn't know what to expect as I have only always stayed in Manhattan. But after this lovely experience in Lake Placid and this house, I will be sure to keep coming back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Hut on Grand View

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

We can't say enough nice things about this place. It was perfect for our family of 3, but I'm sure it could easily accomodate a larger family, as they have a pull out couch in the living room as well as the sunroom. Bruno and Marion have thought of everything - there's not only a refrigerator, stove, and coffee maker, but also a dishwasher, a coffee grinder, a toaster oven, and an espresso maker! Not only is there comfortable seating in the living room, but also a huge entertainment center and a gas-fired stove for ambiance (which we didn't use because it was a very warm week). Fortunately, in regards to the heat, there were fans provided for each bedroom for our comfort. Another very thoughtful touch are the numerous stickers on the light switches and electronics to help you figure out what turns on what.
My favorite spot was the sunroom/closed porch off the back - the windows provided great cross ventilation and the seating was very comfy. The house itself is conveniently located just two streets and a hill climb from Main Street, so you could walk to town and get whatever exercise you needed at the same time!
Most of all, the place is clean and well-maintained, and the owners are a delight to work with. They were able to keep contact with us any time we had a question.
We have already recommended this place to several of our friends and hope very much to come back some time.
Thank you for inviting us into your home and letting us stay as a little part of your family for awhile.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome weekend in a great house

Review submitted: July 1, 2012   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

We had a great weekend at Lake Placid. The house is perfectly located within walking distance from stores and restaurants, while being in the quiet neighborhood that we were looking for. Coming from NYC, the silence at night was fantastic. 

The house is very well maintained and has many nice features. The working fireplace and a well equipped kitchen made our stay very comfortable. The living area is cozy and welcoming. It is a very good spot enjoy the weekend hitting the slopes or just walking around and enjoying the snow and the frozen lake. 

Perfect for families and groups or even for a romantic getaway. 

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

3 Winter Nuts at the Hut

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

What a great time we had at the Hut!!!
The 3 of us arrived early evening and from the moment we entered we knew we were "home". Clean, neat and everything advertised, we really enjoyed our stay!
Marion was charming and welcoming throughout our communications with her and as usual Placid was GREAT!!
Thanks for everything, Marion and Bruno!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Place to stay

Review submitted: September 25, 2011   Date of arrival: September 15, 2011

Loved the home. It was so close to the village-within 5 min walking to shops and restaurants and Mirror lake. Perfect location. House perfect and well presented. Could fault nothing. Clean and so homely. Kitchen well stocked. One of the best self catering homes I have stayed in. Owners so nice to deal with. Would definitely recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our fantastic family vacation!

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

I'd recommend the Hut on Grandview to anyone looking to enjoy Lake Placid and the surrounding Adirondacks and have a nice, clean, quiet, relaxing and fully functional place to start your day, sleep at night and come back to at the end of a long day of exploring! We spent a full week there for the first time and will gladly return....The house had everything we could ask for in a cottage / summer home and was so central to be able to access everything in Lake Placid by foot (just watch out of the hilly walking!) or minutes by car - including restaurants, stores, beach, golf etc.....The house was extremely quiet and surrounding by kind and respectful neighbours. We cant say enough good things about this place - for young families, older kids, adults on their own, this place will suit you fine!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

We own a Time Share but we chose to go to The Hut On Grand View in Lake Placid for our Feb. vacation. We have never enjoyed ourselves more! The fun of the activities in Lake Placid speak for themselves no matter what the season. We have been to Lake Placid a few times before and in every season because there's always something to do. What stood out for us with this property was the owners of the The Hut On Grand View . They are very nice and very easy and to deal with, both over the phone and through email. The house is immaculate and beautifully decorated in an Adirondack style. They even leave out informational tourist pamphlets like the best hotels do. If you want to get away from home but don't want to stay in a hotel room then THIS is the place to go. It felt like it was our home away from home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay in Lake Placid

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2010

House was wonderful, super clean, well maintained, and all the comforts of home! It was really nice having a garage, since it snowed a couple of days we were there. Very convient location in Lake Placid, walking distance to down town area. Owners are very friendly and great to deal with.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Location for Lake Placid

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 25, 2010

We loved staying at this house. Everything was so clean and nice. The house was very spacious for our family of 5. It was wonderful to have a garage for the car and an area to take off wet ski clothes in the basement (with laundry). We frequently walked into town (5 minutes) and to the outdoor ice skating rink. The free shuttle pickup for Whiteface is only a short walk from the house. The location is perfect and we would highly recommend this rental. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent place to stay in Lake Placid

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Hut on Grand View in Lake Placid. Very clean and comfortable. Kitchen very well equipped. Use of garage was very helpful for storing our vehicle and sporting equipment. Excellent location - within walking distance to downtown, Mirror Lake etc. Owners very friendly and helpful. If we rent again in Lake Placid this will definitely be the place!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Best Stay!

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

We had a wonderful time in Lake Placid. The house was cozy, clean and perfect for a relaxing weekend! Owners are very nice and kind. Thank you so much and we will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

great place for a placid weekend

Review submitted: February 1, 2010   Date of arrival: January 22, 2010

We spent just a weekend with a few friends in this lovely house. Highly recommended! Location is perfect (close to the town, few blocks from the lake and the slopes). The house is well-kept by the owners, super clean and comfy. The owners are easy-going, which made it very easy to finalize the arrangements.
We are definitely coming back for another placid weekend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review