reviews for: listing #63733 - Folly Beach, South Carolina House rental

Across the street from the beach! 2 kitchens+
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $425 /nt
    $700 - $2,600 /wk
    $2,500 - $9,000 /mth

sort by:

Second visit

Review submitted: May 31, 2014   Date of arrival: May 18, 2014

We had a very different experience this year, since the family with children was unable to come. It was all adults. We had a great time, more relaxing than last year. The weather was perfect. There were some nice improvements to the house: new decorations, a new coffee maker, a new hot/cold outdoor shower, some landscape and plumbing work. I accidentally left my work computer at home, so I had time to peruse the extensive beach reading library. There were two good, recent, local color works: Folly Beach (a romance) and Folly (a mystery), both quick reads but with a lot of description and history of the island.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Great Value

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

We stayed on the first floor for a lovely week to escape the cold winter in the North. Were able to bring our little dog along at no extra cost. Loved the location, bright furnishings, ease of reservation and contact with owner. Foley beach is just steps away and we enjoyed walking along the beach and seeing the other area sights. We were 2 people but plenty of room for up to 5.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Because the Cottage is only two bedrooms, we can offer it at a reasonable price even with the location being just across the street from the beach. It is a great way to be at the beach in comfort and style without a major financial investment.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our Home at Folly Beach

Review submitted: October 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

For approximately 20 years, I've been coming to Folly Beach every June with a group of friends to enjoy the last weekend of Spoleto. Rosie/Kudzu has become our home away from home. We've tried a few other vacation rentals but always come back to Rosie's because it's charming, comfortable and reasonably priced. Hanging out on the big screened porch with a view of the ocean is so pleasant that sometimes it's hard to tear ourselves away to go into Charleston (20 minute drive) for the excitement of Spoleto. We save more money by preparing most of our meals in the well-equipped kitchen. The house is well arranged with spaces for gathering and for withdrawing for time alone. The yard is Magical... you have to see it to understand. The owner is great to deal with. One year I forgot my keys in a dresser drawer, and she mailed them back to me within days.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful weekend

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 6, 2013

Stayed with a group for the weekend and would return in a heartbeat. There were five of us total (and two dogs), yet we didn't feel cramped. We stayed on the top floor. The house was clean, all dishes and furnishings were provided for. Beds were comfortable, sheets were crisp. The grounds were well-kept and neatly mowed. I have to say that my favorite thing about the outside(aside from the waterhose, which we used a good deal to wash off the sand- a lifesaver!) was the screened-in porch. Though there is a house between this one and the sea, we still had a nice view of the ocean and we thoroughly enjoyed sitting outside and listening to the waves.


We rented bicycles which we used when we wanted to eat downtown, which would take us between five and ten minutes to reach.

And of course, the beach was a 30-second walk away.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: This review makes me long for some time on the porch right now! I enjoy gardening at the house and love to share the tropical plantings with guests from more northern climates.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming and relaxing

Review submitted: September 28, 2013   Date of arrival: February 3, 2013

I spent a glorious month at this wonderful house during the late winter. Immediately upon arrival, I felt at home. The care given in decorating is obvious and you feel like you are a personal guest of the owners. During my stay, several family members and friends came down to visit. Every single person said they wanted a place just like this for their own. We all joked that when we won the lottery we would build one. The location is fantastic, close enough to get to the main shopping areas quickly but far enough to away from the traffic. There are fantastic restaurants nearby and a well stocked kitchen, both upstairs and down. Even when my plans changed without notice, Susan never hesitated to accommodate me. This house is perfect if you want to get away with friends or by yourself. I found myself sitting on the porch - even in the cold - with my Kindle and a cup of coffee. At night, the sound of the waves lulled me right to sleep. Not only am I recommending this house to my friends but I plan on staying there again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are happy to rent for months at a time in the off season and love to get this great feedback from longer term guests!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I love Running & Rosies

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

This is my 4th trip to Rosie's Cottage and I have never been more pleased! A few little upgrades like fast wireless and new decorations only add to the charm. But, the reason I keep coming back is the charm of the cottage. From the porch I can see the ocean and enjoy the breeze. It's quick drive or nice walk downtown to some of my favorite local joints (like Taco Boy). This is a great rental, the beds are all comfortable (I've slept in almost all of them), the house is clean, quaint and feels like home. I love this house and the owners are wonderful to work with.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfect Beach Vacation

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

We have stayed at Folly Beach for years and this was an exceptional trip. The downstairs portion of the house was incredibly charming and perfect for a week at the beach. Beach access was convenient and downtown folly was a nice late evening walk. The owners were staying in the upstairs unit during the same week. They were wonderful hosts and gave us a tour of the entire place. We hope to go back in the spring and look forward to many more trips! Our baby Yorkie Maggie loved the house and open space as well.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is always fun to share the house with good people having good times.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Bridge Run Weekend

Review submitted: September 22, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

My girlfriends and I have been coming to Rosie's house for several years now in the spring for the Cooper River Bridge Run. What a fabulous place to get away and relax -great porch, close to the beach and the restaurants -especially Taco Boy!!
We will continue to come back for many years to come.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great week on the beach.

Review submitted: September 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2013

We rented the whole house, upstairs and down, and had a great time. Plenty of room for our extended family of 12. Especially nice was the screened porch facing the ocean in the upstairs unit (the downstairs porch faces the neighbors). We spent most the week on the beach or relaxing in the house. There are two beach accesses each less than half a block from the house (hint, use the one to the west, it is a shaded, leaf-strewn, pedestrian path).

Both kitchens were well-equipped, and we cooked and ate all our meals in the house. The laundry has brand-new, high-efficiency equipment.

We took a couple fun sightseeing drives into Charleston. We particularly Magnolia Gardens.

Our nieces, age 5 and 7, enthused on the first day "This is the best day ever!"
and were very unhappy to leave at the end of the week.

We would definitely (and probably will) stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: The perfect renter: enjoyed the house, the beach and Charleston!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Wonderful House

Review submitted: September 20, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

We always have a wonderful experience when we stay at Rosie's and we have been returning to this house for many years. It is charming, convenient, clean, well equipped adn has a great library of paperbacks. We also love being able to bring our dog with us! Susan is easy to communicate with also. If you are lucky enough to get a reservation at Rosie's you will be very happy!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Repeat renters become friends -- you can't wait to hear about their most recent trip to the house and how they have been since their last visit.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Lovely May Visit

Review submitted: September 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 16, 2013

Rosie's was the perfect spot for a much-needed getaway. We initially chose this because 1) we could take our small dog, 2) it looked like the beach cottages we grew up with, not some designer home, and 3) it was quite close to the beach, but more affordable due to being a few steps farther than the waterfront properties. The street crossover was super easy, and it was so close that it was not a deterrent at all to going back-and-forth a few times from house to beach.
Extras we hadn't considered: 1) The lockbox was a great way to make the key available to all in our group, but ONLY us. 2) The one bathroom is actually long and divided-up enough that one person can shower while other family members are brushing their teeth. 3) The laundry room is very convenient, esp. for downstairs where we were. 4) That hose and bench outside the back door -- priceless. 5) The screened-in porch is quite pleasant. 6) Plenty extra blankets and pillows. 7) Space for our clothes, etc., so we didn't live out of the suitcase. 8) A nice little stash of movies and other things-to-do in the living room, although the weather was too nice for us to need them. 9) We ate in for all of our meals, and the kitchen had everything we needed.
When we return, we will probably request the upstairs, which is just slightly more, if it's available. The huge beach-facing balcony/ porch looks really nice.
Also I would add that Susan was very easy to communicate with by email and phone -- couldn't have been more gracious.

Owners response: We try to think of everything that will make a stay easy, fun and memorable and love to hear that an idea(s) worked!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Fun, Quirky, and Charming Beach house.

Review submitted: September 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

What a wonderful beach house is all I can say. The house was built in the '20s and withstood many a hurricane. Yes, it is an older house, but the character and charm take over and you are just transformed! It reminded me of houses we used to stay in when I was a child.
I was staying in Folly because of a wedding I was attending in Charleston. I rented the downstairs, while some of my other family members rented the upstairs, so I got to see both levels. Each Just as charming as the other. I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a relaxing, laid back experience with easy access to the beach. There was ample parking and the apartment had everything I needed to be comfortable.
Thank you Susan for allowing us to share you wonderful little spot at Folly Beach. I would most definitely rent it again.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway

Owners response: It is that unique, low country, time standing still feeling that we offer our guests. It is an absolute delight to hear that they got it!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Embarrassing

Review submitted: September 15, 2013   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

It went from bad to worse. Our family arrived in the evening to find no sheets on the beds and no towels (we had rented the linen package) with no response to multiple phone calls and emails. The first five minutes of entering the upstairs of the house i killed 7 palmetto bugs and 3 roaches in the bathroom and kitchen. The was an open window in the bath room with no screen and a missing pane of glass in the same room that was covered by a taped piece of cardboard. The light fixtures or single bulbs almost came out of the ceiling when you pulled on the chain. Downstairs is concrete block walls with small windows and 3 window air units (4 palmetto bugs in the bathroom on a quick walk through). The washer and dryer are in an unfinished root cellar at the back of the basement (downstairs unit). Upon finally getting in touch with Susan the next day around 11:00 am she blamed all problems on the cleaning service. When we asked about the open window and all the bugs she said a "homeless person must have climbed up to the second floor bathroom window and opened it climbed in and stayed the night". We asked for a refund due to the poor representation of the house and Susan told us we probably only got the Kudzo Rose because we could afford anything better. We informed her that we would post a review of what we experienced and Susan said "extortion is illegal in South Carolina". We found a much better home several blocks down the road paid upfront and had a wonderful stay at folly beach.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Owners response: This review is false. This renter threatened me with a made up bad review unless I allowed him out of his rental agreement at the last minute. When I refused, he made up this review. The "facts" he recounts about our home are not truthful. I wish there were a way to review renters but there is not. I refused to refund his rental after he had apparently decided to meet family members at another house on the day his rental of my house was supposed to begin and during one of the nicest times on Folly Island. I had reserved his rental period for many months and refused to be bullied by his threat of a review that he said he would write to "ruin me." I told him he could not cheat a home owner with a threat like that. So, I guess this is what one sometimes gets by sticking to her guns and not allowing herself to be victimized by a bully. Our house is exactly as it appears on the site. It is wonderful and many families have enjoyed it this summer, including a family that checked out just yesterday and called me on their way to home to tell me how much they loved the house and appreciated our renting it to them.

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Awesome experience!

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

I want to thank Susan for the most amazing weekend my family could have asked for!! We rented both the upper and lower parts of the house which worked out well as we put they ounger crowd in one and the older crowd in the other. The walk to beach was about 3 minutes with awesome views!

Both units were decorated very nicely and very clean. Folly Beach center is really laid back. Charleston was close enough.

We would rent this cottage again in a heart beat! I actually hate to leave a good review because it will probably be booked when I want to rent it again :p

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: We love the young ones too, but we also love a little break from them off and on during a vacation at the beach!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

2012 Labor Day guests reserve for Labor Day 2013

Review submitted: September 7, 2012   Date of arrival: August 30, 2012

Hi Susan,
I wanted to let you know that we loved your beach house! It was a warm and cozy spot with a perfect location to the beach access. We would love to rent it again soon. We are looking at possibly early November and we would like to reserve it again next Labor Day. How soon would you need the deposit for next year?

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

OH family vacation at Folly Beach

Review submitted: June 30, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

Just wanted to send my thanks for your part in what was a great weekend. My group of friends loved Charleston, Folly Beach, and Kudzu Rose. The place was perfect – exactly as advertised. We realized too late that we had forgotten to sign the guest book, so I just wanted to send a quick note.

Thanks!

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

NH visitors fall in love with the Low Country!

Review submitted: May 18, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

We had the most incredible vacation at Folly and in the Charleston area. We spent a day in Charleston and took a horse and buggy tour, as well as a lot of walking down side streets and to the Battery- absolutely gorgeous. The Jasmine, the roses, the sea! Lovely. Ate at Bubba Gumps- shrimp and grits. Horse back riding at Middleton Plantation , 2 visits to Magnolia, and one to Drayton house. Many, many happy hours on the beach - the dolphins came and went all day right in front of our spot one day! The weather was mostly gorgeous. You have a beautiful spot, we had our coffee on the porch every morning, listening to the birds chatter.
We had a great time, and your place is cozy and had everything we needed.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect family vacation spot!

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

We had the whole house for our large family annual gathering and we loved every inch of it! My teenagers walked to Center Street while my mother read a book on the porch and my sister and I each used a (different) kitchen to get a family breakfast together. This house provides so many options and it is wonderfully southern and beautiful. We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved it!

Review submitted: May 12, 2010   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

We just spent a long weekend at the Kudzu Cottage and it was wonderful. The location is perfect - across the street from a beautiful beach on a tree-lined street and a porch under the palm trees and water oaks. What more could one want? Thank you!

Helpful votes: 17 / 18

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review