reviews for: listing #63743 - South Lake Tahoe, California House rental

3 Bedrooms on Golden Bear with huge backyard
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Montgomery Estates
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $375 /nt
    $1,350 - $2,300 /wk

sort by:

Gracious and thoughtful hospitality

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: February 23, 2012

We have organized a trip to Tahoe for a group of our friends four out of the last 5 years. This is by far the best property we have rented! Imagine your eccentric great aunt letting you crash at her place while she's traveling and that's the feeling you get staying here. This doesn't feel like a sterile, personality-less vacation rental. The house is cozy and welcoming and you can tell the owners put great thought into what someone staying in the house might need. There are dozens and dozens of hooks and cubbies by the front door and in the bathrooms. There are snuggly throws in the living room for napping and cuddling on the huge and comfy couches. There are very nice TVs in every room, especially the living room. The desk area between the living and dining rooms is so useful if, like my husband and many of our friends, you're on call or have to work remotely during your stay. I'm the den mother sort, so I happily spent a bunch of time in the kitchen cooking for our group. Nearly every tool or vessel I wanted was available (and where it wasn't, there was a decent stand-in). I've never seen a vacation rental with so many kitchen appliances! There was even a burr grinder for coffee! There were tons and tons of cups and glasses of all sorts. The greenhouse window at the kitchen sink with its several plants added to the charm and homey feelings of the house. Finally, the best part of the house - the owner. We had many questions before making the reservation and this owner is the most communicative we've ever encountered! When the snow started dumping on us during our stay, she was able to arrange an extra night for us for a reduced rate. She was incredibly receptive to the few suggestions I made. She genuinely cares and wants people to love this house and it shows! Any time our group is eight people or fewer, we will be back at this house!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Gracious and thoughtful hospitality!

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: February 23, 2012

We have organized a trip to Tahoe for a group of our friends four out of the last 5 years. This is by far the best property we have rented!

Imagine your eccentric great aunt letting you crash at her place while she's traveling and that's the feeling you get staying here. This doesn't feel like a sterile, personality-less vacation rental. The house is cozy and welcoming and you can tell the owners put great thought into what someone staying in the house might need.

There are dozens and dozens of hooks and cubbies by the front door and in the bathrooms. There are snuggly throws in the living room for napping and cuddling on the huge and comfy couches. There are very nice TVs in every room, especially the living room. The desk area between the living and dining rooms is so useful if, like my husband and many of our friends, you're on call or have to work remotely during your stay.

I'm the den mother sort, so I happily spent a bunch of time in the kitchen cooking for our group. Nearly every tool or vessel I wanted was available (and where it wasn't, there was a decent stand-in). I've never seen a vacation rental with so many kitchen appliances! There was even a burr grinder for coffee! There were tons and tons of cups and glasses of all sorts. The greenhouse window at the kitchen sink with its several plants added to the charm and homey feelings of the house.

Finally, the best part of the house - the owner. We had many questions before making the reservation and this owner is the most communicative we've ever encountered! When the snow started dumping on us during our stay, she was able to arrange an extra night for us for a reduced rate. She was incredibly receptive to the few suggestions I made. She genuinely cares and wants people to love this house and it shows!

Any time our group is eight people or fewer, we will be back at this house!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful, welcoming home away from home!

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

Our family visits South Lake Tahoe every year during the first week in January, and this is our new favorite place to stay! I sensed it was a winner when Christina called me back within half an hour of my initial inquiry about renting, and she continued to be incredibly responsive to any questions. The contracting, payment, and deposit refund process was efficient and quick. The house was immaculate - thanks, Mrs. L!

As Christina explains on the website her family stays at Golden Bear and they have set up the home accordingly. We've had experience with many different rentals in Tahoe, and there are a number of things that set Golden Bear apart from the others, in addition to the well-equipped kitchen mentioned by the previous reviewer: comfortable beds with plenty of pillows, plush towels, responsive central heating (plus additional space heaters for those who like to be really toasty), well-functioning high capacity washer and dryer, wifi that is immediately available (no pesky passwords), that incredible back yard (our dog was in heaven), the TVs and sound system.... I could go on, but you get my drift.

The only "drift" missing was a snowdrift! We were disappointed that there was no snow, not only for ourselves but because it saddens us to see the toll this drought is taking on the entire Tahoe community. However, we enjoyed the ability to take long walks in the Eldorado National Forest that is only a few blocks away at the end of Golden Bear Trail. We also took the opportunity to go back in time to the Old West with a visit to Virginia City, which is usually difficult to reach at this time of year.

On our way home to the Bay Area, we stopped at our favorite breakfast/lunch restaurant, the Getaway Cafe. It's located at 3140 Hwy 50 just as you reach Meyers, and having our last meal there has become a family tradition - highly recommended. All in all, it was a fabulous trip. Golden Bear is definitely a repeater, in fact we are already talking about taking an additional trip in the summer!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

My wife and I, along with our friends and our kids go to South Lake Tahoe every year during winter break and this is the first time we stayed at this house and it was great!

As Christina stated in our conversation, the pictures did not do this place justice. It was spacious, the back yard is massive and the house was completely equipped with all the amenities you need (towels, plates, bowls, cups, glasses, knives, forks, spoons, juicer, rice cooker, pressure cooker, books, games, DVDs), you name it and they had it - and plenty of it. You can just arrive with food and guaranteed you will have anything you need.

The large flat screen TV with surrond sound was very nice. I brought my own cables (VGA and audio), so I hooked my computer to the TV and let the kids watch movies and shows from my computer. The Wi-Fi was faster than my home cable modem, so this worked great.

One of the best things is that our friend was able to bring their small dog, since this is a pet friendly house.

The only thing that was missing was snow, but we were still able to enjoy the slopes on Heavenly and all-in-all it was an excellent experience and we will definitely be returning.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: I am glad the wifi performed so well. We just changed service providers in November and I was hoping the new outfit would live up to their promises.

I am always adding kitchen gadgets and it is nice to hear the additional amenities are appreciated. I look forward to your return to Golden Bear.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Golden Bear Trail

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

Christina was responsive and timely with all inquiries and communications both prior and during our stay.

The house was amazingly well equiped with everything you could possibly need.

We had a great stay for our family reunion and would love to come back again sometime. THANKS so much for everything.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wildflower spotting!

Review submitted: July 24, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

My husband and I, along with my daughter and her boyfriend and our golden retriever (Dexter) stayed for a week. My daughter and her boyfriend were particularly grateful for the Wi-Fi since Daryl (the boyfriend) had to take an on-line final while he was visiting. I appreciated the beds, which were very comfortable and my back (which is usually sore when I wake up) actually quit hurting while we were staying. I obviously need a new mattress! My sister came up to visit for two days from Sacramento as well, and one thing all of us really enjoyed was the extensive trails behind Lone Indian Trail (the backside of the property. Dexter loved running on the trails but the rest of us liked the wildflowers. There were so many! We live in the desert and love to spot wildflowers when we are home but haven’t seen that many around Lake Tahoe before. One in particular that we found is called a Mariposa Lily. We have them in the desert in southern California but they are orange and the flowers around Lake Tahoe are white. The Mariposa Lily is fairly uncommon. (You can google the flower to see what they look like). There were also a lot of other types of wildflowers spotted in large "clumps" that we took pictures of. We had a great time and hope to visit again.

"Native to California and Pacific Northwest, the Mariposa Lily is considered to be among the most beautiful bulb plants in the world. Mariposa is Spanish for butterfly, as the markings inside the cup of the flower resemble a butterfly. Also commonly referred to as Mariposa tulip or Butterfly tulip, some members of its genus, Calochortus, are now endangered."

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for the photos you sent. I plan to post the Mariposa lilies on Golden Bear's flickr stream. I don't know much about wildflowers, but I have always enjoyed the blue bonnets up in Tahoe. They last much longer there than they do here in Texas. You have inspired me to take more pictures of the trails behind the house and Trout Creek and I will keep my eyes peeled for Butterfly tulips.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Loved this Place, Great house/yard

Review submitted: February 10, 2011   Date of arrival: January 26, 2011

The Place was great, we loved it. Great Location, great yard, it was perfect for my family with our dog. The kids played and played in the snow. We didn't have to go anywhere else. We came to relax and kick back and spend quality time with our family and this place was perfect. Thanks to the owner, Christina who was very prompt in calling us back when we first put in the inquiry on the place. We will definitely keep this place on our list of places we would return again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: January 19, 2011   Date of arrival: January 6, 2011

The home was great, more than large enough for us and 4 kids. The kids loved the house due to a large lot to play in the snow and the hot tub. They were able to enjoy their WII and play computer games on the provided WIFI. We loved the gorgeous fireplace and the large(well supplied) kitchen for cooking our meals. As a large family the dinner table allowed us all to eat our meals together. We were very nervous about purchasing a vacation home rental over the Internet due to the increasing amount of vacation home fraud but this website and Christina were great. Just talking with her put me at ease and everything turned out perfect!!! Christina was such an awesome property manager she made our stay the best it could be!!! We couldn't have found a better place to stay. This was perfect!!! We will definitely stay again!!!

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great House, loads of fun

Review submitted: January 1, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

Me and a group of my friends rented the house. were all teenagers all of us 18 but we had two 15 year olds and a 3 year old baby. So I was happy to have the owner rent it to us, most owners wouldn't. The house was great, and we had a great time minus the power outage. The only thing that bothered us was the tv in the 3rd bedroom was not great quality. Alos the top bunk bed wasn't comfortable. However the others beds were comfortable and my friends said the leather couches kept them warm during the cold nights.

The hot tub was perfect for cold nights, the yard was huge for snowball fights. Much to explore on the street, like the woods at the end of the street. The kitchen had everything we needed, house was clean and was extremely beautiful. The dimmer lights were perfect when watching movies with a fire a going.

If our stay was longer it would have been a perfect vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: There was heavy wet snow during this stay that caused multiple power outages around Tahoe. A line on our street came down under the weight of the snow, but the electric company was on the ball and had the power restored the same day. Ray and his friends were troopers.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Amazing Tahoe House!

Review submitted: September 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 27, 2010

We have rented this Golden Bear Trail home 4 times now and we have been extremely happy each time. The rates are extremely competitive and she offers a discount for returning customers. The house is always very clean and has a bunch of amenities that you can't beat. Great kitchen appliances, waffle maker, stocked cupboard, TV, hot tub, and more. More than you can ever ask for.

The owner is very accommodating and always tends to our needs. The first time we stayed we had a problem with the coffee maker and she had it replaced immediately.

We've rented the house in both the winter and summer season and our experiences have been amazing. The location is perfect for Heavenly season pass holders as the resort is about a 5-minute drive from the house.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Awesome Place to stay

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: August 16, 2010

We stayed at Golden Bear for over a week and enjoyed every minute. It is spacious and has a convenient location accessible to all areas of lower Lake Tahoe. There are great trails behind the cabin leading down to Trout Creek for both biking and hiking. The house is large with plenty of room for my family. We used all of the beds and there were plenty of linens and towels for everyone. This home is well furnished and equipped with all the amenities. We loved our stay and plan of returning in the near future. The yard is enormous with a rear entry that allows large vehicles, boats and/or many autos to be parked inside the gate. Our grandchildren ranged from 1 years to 18 and everyone had fun.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Bachelorette Party Dream

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

My friend found this house to use for my bachelorette party getaway weekend for my girlfriends and it was honestly the best place for us to stay! It was clean and spacious and all of the amenities were a blessing. The beds were really comfortable and the linens and towels were luxurious. The house was centrally located for all of our activities last weekend (the lake and the casinos). The extra parking in the back lot is also a plus. We also loved the hot tub! We loved the house so much, the girls and I are planning annual trips to stay at the Golden Bear house!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Hike, Bike, Close to Everything!

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

Explore the National Forest just half a block behind the house. You can hike or bike tons of trails. The trails behind the house are so close and anyone can take a leisure walk, hike or bike. Be a little more energetic and take mountain bikes and find the trail up off Pioneer, up past the school.

Fallen Leaf Falls are only 20 minutes and it is very relaxing. You don't have to hike too far to see a couple different waterfalls. Perfect photo opportunity for the family. Close to shopping and Regans Beach.

The house has everything possible. Lots of linens, cookware, spices etc. You know it is a special home as it is so comfortable. Our dog Ozzie was in heaven as he had so much land to explore.

The spa ran great and it was a nice touch after the hiking and biking.
We will be back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Golden Bear Trail stay

Review submitted: May 29, 2010   Date of arrival: May 19, 2010

The house is much nicer than the photos. Vaulted ceilings and box windows not seen in photos. Very comfortable bedrooms.Clean and well stocked kitchen and linens. Plenty of everything needed for a large group stay. My pet enjoyed his stay too! Place was easy to find. I enjoyed my stay. I plan to visit again.
I enjoyed the drive to Fallen Leaf Lake. The falls were awesome. Next time
I'm bringing my bike.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the thoughtful review. We have definitely tried to make the house as comfortable as possible.

I was just up at the house last week and took more photos - some of which try to show the vaulted ceilings and skylights. As soon as I have sorted them, I will post a few to the house's page.

Best,

Christina

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

weekend trip

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: February 19, 2010

I rented this cabin with a large group of people and was very pleased. Like above, the kitchen is very well stocked, you can cook pretty much any meal you would like to. There are tons of glasses and silverware - ample space and dinnerware for at least 15 or more. Beds were very comfortable and came with plenty of extra sheets, pillows, and blankets. Water was always hot, even with a large group all taking showers. Easy access to the large hot tub and also very easy access to the Heavenly. Peace of cake to find the home. Will rent again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Fully Stocked & Close to the Slopes

Review submitted: February 19, 2010   Date of arrival: February 12, 2010

I had reserved this cabin for President's Day weekend to get in some time at Heavenly. It was easy to find and I was very happy to see how well stocked everything was. Plenty of pots, pans, and cookware, ample space in the refrigerator, and a large dining room made group meals nice and easy. The bedrooms were more than sufficient with plenty of extra blankets, pillows, and towels. The hot tub out back was perfect after a long day riding. It took less than 10 minutes with traffic to get to Heavenly in the morning on a holiday weekend so you can't beat the location either.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review