reviews for: listing #63795 - Black Lake, Michigan Cottage rental

August 16 - Labor Day still available at Zand cottages!
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $120 - $250 /nt
    $1,850 - $2,050 /wk

sort by:

A Hidden Vacation Gem!!

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

If you are looking for a great vacation spot, this is absolutely the place to go! You know, growing up in Michigan, I hadn't even heard of Black Lake. But after finding these cottages and the great reviews to boot, I thought it would be a perfect get away for my family.

When I say family, I mean me, my hubby, our 2 kids, my mom & dad, my brother, my sister & her 2 kids. These 2 cottages fit us perfectly! They were very clean, and offered tons of ameneties that made you feel at home. The cottages sit along a canal that was great for fishing & swimming. There was plenty of room to park our boat. I was pleasantly surprised that there was minimal boat traffic for such a busy holiday, so I felt it was very safe to take the kids tubing. The neighbors on either side of the cottages stopped over and introduced themselves...and they made us feel like we had lived there for years!

The weather was fantastic for us...and the average water temp was 75 degrees. We took a short trip (15 min drive) to Ocqueoc Falls during our stay, and we had fun playing in the waterfalls & walking the trails. On the 4th of July, we drove to Mackinaw City (45 min drive) had dinner, did some shopping & watched the fireworks.

The owner was great to work with from start to finish! She quickly answered any questions & concerns that we had. She was very easy to talk to...as if I had known her for years. If you are looking for a hidden vacation gem...this is it! We are now looking at our 2014 summer calandar...BECAUSE WE WANNA GO BACK!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great time on Black Lake!!

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

This being our first stay in the Black Lake area we chose the SaidiZand cottages for our August 18-25 vacation and could not have been more satisfied with our choice!. Having a teenage son, his buddy, two younger girls there are very few reasonably priced lakefront rentals that can accommodate; these properties fit perfectly! Everyone had their space and privacy. Each cottage was clean, very well equipped and appliances all worked without issue. Suffice it to say you have all the comforts of home! Having the washer and dryer in the 3 bedroom cottage was very convenient and saved laundry duty upon arrival back home. The beds were sufficiently comfortable in both cottages. Both cottages have about as good a view as any we’ve stayed in with the sunrises and sunsets capable of taking one’s breath away. The yard is very large and clean. The kids particularly enjoyed the hammocks! The outside bar and fire-pit are very inviting; we enjoyed a nice fire every night!! The state park is a short drive where plenty of free firewood can be found lying on the ground. We found the channel side dock extremely fun for both fishing and boat usage. There is a strategy however for getting out to the lake from the channel as the water was quite shallow during our stay. Once out on the main body we found the water temperature very refreshing and the kids got their share of tubing and wakeboarding! Heidi was great to work, professional, VERY prompt and ensured our needs and privacy during our stay was assured. Security deposit was returned within two weeks! HIGHLY recommend staying at the SaidiZand cottages!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Another wonderful Black Lake Vacation!

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

We had another wonderful vacation at Black Lake even though the weather did not cooperate this year. The addition of wireless internet helped us to keep an eye on the radar and jump on the boat in between storms. Luckily we still had a few mornings of calm water for skiing, wakeboarding and wakeskating. The guys even caught a few fish! On windy or stormy days we went on the tube, played corn hole, took naps in the hamick and went to the falls. The accommodations were fabulous as always! Thanks for a relaxing week and we are looking forward to next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing property! Very warm, spacious and inviting

Review submitted: September 11, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

My family has been vacationing at Black Lake for 4 generations. This was our first stay at the SaidiZand cottages and I must say, the property and hospitality by far exceeded our expectations!

The yard is large and very clean. Flowers and garden variety plants outline each cottage. 2 stable and comfortable hammocks. BBQ grill and picnic table for outside dining.

On the channel side of the property there is a small dock which is excellent for early morning and late evening fishing. The fish come into feed and we had a blast fishing (I personally caught 2 Bass, 4 Pike, 2 dogfish, 2 catfish and a ton of baby perch...and that was just in 4-5 days).

We did not have a boat (wish we did) but the dock would easily accommodate. We brought our own kayaks and and huge lake float which worked out perfectly. The lake is excellent to take a boat out on, whether fishing, tubing, or just relaxing. The lake is not crowded at all with boats.

Although we loved the outside of the property, the inside accommodations were near perfect! Each cottage was extremely clean (which let's face it, is not always the case in owner properties). All appliances worked perfectly and having the washer and dryer there made it extremely easy to not pile up bathing suits and towels. The beds were fairly comfortable but the best parts were the views. The 3 bedroom has an awesome view to the lake! They have everything that you could think of...Loads of silverware, dishes, cooking utensils, spices...I mean everything.

We spent time in Onaway, Cheboygan, Mackinaw, Mackinac Island, St Ignace, Ste. St Marie and even paradise (Taq falls). This property is not far from any attractions. However you may not even want to leave as it is beautiful.

I am very picky of where I vacation and very skeptical of booking online and crossing my fingers that I made a good choice. This vacation and the SaidiZand cottages far exceeded my families needs and expectations. I would STRONGLY RECOMMEND staying here (just don't book our week =).

Heidi is prompt to respond on any issues and returned my security deposit within 2 weeks. STAY THERE!!!

Thanks again Heidi - Charles

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

great family time

Review submitted: July 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

With a family of 14, it isn't easy to find a reasonably priced lake-front rental. This one really fit the bill. There was room for us all. The cottages were clean and caretakers were wonderful. The owners were great to work with and concerned that our needs were well taken care of. The location (on the lake and on the river) was great for fishing and boating. We had a wonderful time!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

July 4th 2010 @ Black Lake

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

The week went by too fast ! It was a Great time we rented both cottages and had our kids and grand-kids with us every day. The lake was clean good fishing and swimming was fun for the kids due to the shallow area next to the dock. What was extra nice is that you are only a short ride to lots of Michigan's most famous sight-seeing locations.
PS the cottage felt like home to us and was very neat & clean !!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review