reviews for: listing #63903 - South Lake Tahoe, California House rental

Stonehenge at Lake Tahoe
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $550 - $650 /nt

sort by:

Unique cabin in a beautiful location

Review submitted: September 30, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

We stayed at Stonehenge for a weekend and loved it. There are 5 queen beds so it can sleep 10 easily. We were 15 but we were able to find nooks and crannies so we could all fit in. It is a very warm and cozy cabin built while preserving the natural elements of the area. The owners are wonderful people and we had a chance to interact with them a bit which added to our appreciation of the cabin as they apparently built it by hand. The hot tub outside was great as it allowed us to relax both evenings after a long day out. There is a small negative - the place is about a 15 min drive to the casinos (but it is balanced by the beautiful location which would not be possible if the place was closer to the heart of town). I would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Unique property

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

What a beautiful home with fantastic views. Rosemarie and Robin made sure our stay in Lake Tahoe was memorable. Our entire family was impressed with our choice of this property for our family reunion. I guarantee we will be looking forward to coming back next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Sublime, unusual and AWESOME

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: April 11, 2013

Wow. This property is so cool. I agree with another reviewer who said the pictures don't do it justice! The house is the most unique house I've ever been in--each room has its own character, and there's a giant boulder and stream running right through the middle! But also, it's so comfortable and relaxing--the huge windows let in light from all sides, the kitchen is well-equipped, the beds extremely comfortable. My husband and I stayed for two nights and wished we could stay for another week or more. The vistas are gorgeous. You can sit and have breakfast watching bunnies and blue jays darting about in the yard or have a glass of wine in the hottub while stargazing. Because the windows at the back of the house all face the mountains, it feels extra secluded. We want to come back as soon as possible and share the experience with friends--it's a perfect place to have big dinner parties outside as the sun sets over the mountains.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Lexa. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay at Stonehenge.Thank you for letting me know. Please come again. ROSMARIE

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Can't wait to return!

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

This house was perfect for our group. It's in the perfect location, off the beaten path yet close to skiing and the lake. And it's built around giant boulders that add to the mountain house experience -- it's probably the coolest place we have ever stayed, and we can't stop talking about it! The huge yet cozy house has all the amenities one could want, including a hot tub to sit in and stargaze from. I wish we never had to leave! It's worth a stay for the views alone.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

An Amazing Tahoe Experience

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

I love Stonehenge! This special house is perfect for a getaway with friends or wedding parties, any group that wants to stay together but enjoy their privacy -- the house is spacious and relaxing. The views are unsurpassed, the Sierra and Desolation Wilderness are just outside the door. And the house is built around and amongst boulders--it's unique, and my friends who have stayed here can't stop talking about it. Stonehenge has all amenities, and plenty of room--you'll feel tucked away, but in comfort and luxury. It's close to everything that South Lake Tahoe has to offer, but its location is quiet and perfect for stargazing from the hot tub. Stonehenge is truly magnificent and an unforgettable experience--you won't find any place like it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spectacular and unique vacation home!

Review submitted: February 10, 2013   Date of arrival: February 7, 2013

My friends and I rented Stonehenge for a winter ski weekend. We absolutely loved its character, views, and amenities. It was clearly built with a lot of love, and every detail (and oh my, there are many details!) succeeds in making it a warm and welcoming place to stay. The views are incredible, and we spent far too long in the hot tub, identifying various constellations in the clear, starry mountain sky. We hope to return for another adventure sometime!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Outstanding

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

Dear Rosmarie,
Thank you for all your gracious hospitality. Your home is like no other. We are still in awe and have not been able to stop telling our friends what an incredible vacation we had in Lake Tahoe. We are planning to make this an annual family affair.
Gary and the Gang

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Gary and the Gang,
The pleasure was all mine. Thank you for being such terrific guests.
I look forward to seeing you again.
Rosmarie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Honored to share this dream

Review submitted: September 29, 2012   Date of arrival: September 24, 2012

The pictures and descriptions of this home do not do it justice!
From the moment you enter the Boulder faced entrance your eyes and imagination will fill you with envy as you take in the home.
Windows in all directions let the mountains and landscaping complete the picture.
From dawn to dusk we saw marmots, rabbits, squirrels, chipmonks and birds galore.
The floor plan allows for groups and privacy.The bedrooms and baths are good sized and comfy. Radiant floor heat, ample linens and supplies in each.

This is a one of a kind house and we feel honored to have stayed here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Steve for your glowing report on your impressions of Stonehenge!!!
The fact that we built it ourselves makes your descriptions especially gratifying. We never really thought, when in the design and construction, that others, like yourself would find it so pleasing. We are most appreciative .please come back again rosmarie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Sierra Dream Home

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

A very unusual property from the cave entrance to the giant boulders inside of the home to the gorgeous mountain setting - Stonehenge has it all!! We stayed several nights and woke each morning feeling as if we were the only people visiting Tahoe. The setting is very private with fantastic mountain views from every window. The seating areas on many levels allow you to spread out and take it all in. The various rooms (wine room, Greek bedroom, fur bedroom) add to the uniqueness of this home. The owners obviously crafted a most unique and comfortable home. We were provided with all the amenities necessary to enjoy a most relaxing stay. We will return again to Stonehenge as we felt we had truly stayed in the High Sierra in this home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you my wonderful guests.
All the best-
Rosmarie

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

WOW - A true Sierra Hideaway!

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

A very unusual property from the cave entrance to the giant boulders inside of the home to the gorgeous mountain setting - Stonehenge has it all!! We stayed several nights and woke each morning feeling as if we were the only people visiting Tahoe. The setting is very private with fantastic mountain views from every window. The seating areas on many levels allow you to spread out and take it all in. The various rooms (wine room, Greek bedroom, fur bedroom) add to the uniqueness of this home. The owners obviously crafted a most unique and comfortable home. We were provided with all the amenities necessary to enjoy a most relaxing stay. We will return again to Stonehenge as we felt we had truly stayed in the High Sierra in this home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Ron,
It is guests like you who make me happy to share Stonehenge.
Please come back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Viva La Stonehenge

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

WOW!! Unique just begins to describe this mountain home, literally built around giant boulders. Inside and out we found opportunities to relax, entertain and take in the breathtaking views. Close to town, with the feeling that you are the only one for miles. If you are looking for something out of the ordinary, Stonehenge is the ticket. Very enjoyable.

Owners response: DEAR PEGGY. THANKS FOR YOUR GREAT REVIEW. YOU MADE MY DAY. SO HAPPY YOU ENJOYED STONEHENGE PLEASE COME BACK AGAIN.BEST REGARDS ROSMARIE

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredible setting! Perfect for Families, Retreats, or Receptions

Review submitted: March 8, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2011

We brought a party of 4 from across the country to stay at Stonehenge and host a writer's reception. The house is incredible! There is something to look at in every room -- you'll exploring the house for hours, if you can take your eyes off spectacular views of Echo Summit and the Desolation Wilderness. The windows along the back side of the house look out onto boulders, mountains, and forest, all the beauty of Tahoe without the tourists or the casinos (which are only a 15-minute drive away). There is a great outdoor area with picnic seating and a jacuzzi, and plenty of room to host a gathering or a large group of guests. It would be hard to find a better view on this end of town. In fact, we never wanted to leave the house!

The most remarkable part: The house was built around gigantic boulders that sit in the middle of the living room, and a stream runs inside, along the base of the boulders. It is truly jaw-dropping, and is part of the reason we will return.

It feels like a real Tahoe cabin, but on a much grander, wilder scale. It is fully furnished, has everything you could ask for, and is centrally located but doesn't feel like it. Staying here is worth every penny. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review. We look forward to seeing you again at Stonehenge.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A perfect place to vacation in Lake Tahoe area

Review submitted: November 5, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

What an amazing setting! I've stayed at Tahoe Stonehenge a few times during the past five years and can't say enough good about this truly unique place--everywhere you look there are gorgeous views; it is an extremely comfortable, well-equipped home in a truly spectacular area. Everything has always been beautifully maintained, clean and well-cared-for. The owners are lovely people who provide excellent service and are extremely responsive, personable hosts. They give recommendations for good local restaurants, services and places to shop or visit.

My family has vacationed here often and we have greatly enjoyed all the amenities this place has to offer for small or large groups, including intimate dinners and parties for big family reunions. It is close to everything one needs for a fabulous stay in the region. It's near the beautiful lake for boating and swimming, great hiking trails, ski resorts, the beaches, golfing, tennis, casinos, whatever you can think of for enjoying a relaxing and fun-filled time. I'll come back again and again, and have often recommended this vacation rental to family members and friends.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Extraordinary Home!!

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

A very unusual property from the cave entrance to the giant boulders inside of the home to the gorgeous mountain setting - Stonehenge has it all!! We stayed several nights and woke each morning feeling as if we were the only people visiting Tahoe. The setting is very private with fantastic mountain views from every window. The seating areas on many levels allow you to spread out and take it all in. The various rooms (wine room, Greek bedroom, fur bedroom) add to the uniqueness of this home. The owners obviously crafted a most unique and comfortable home. We were provided with all the amenities necessary to enjoy a most relaxing stay. We will return again to Stonehenge as we felt we had truly stayed in the High Sierra in this home.

Owners response: thank you so much for taking the time to write this review . we look forward having you visit us again. best regards rosmarie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful House

Review submitted: September 23, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

This house is perfect for a larger family! We have stayed here twice and have loved it every time. There are so many beds and bathrooms that accommodate our large family, and the kitchen is great for cooking. They supply all the tools for cooking large meals. The backyard is very spacious for the kids and the pool table is great for entertaining the young adults. Beautiful house...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sierra Keyes Manor, South Lake Ta hoe

Review submitted: September 9, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

The listing was accurate regarding location, layout and amenities. The property was well maintained. Rosmarie came by the day we were leaving and it was certainly a pleasure meeting her. I definately would recommend this property to others. There is boat riding, festivals and lots of restaurants, and lots of shopping! The casinos were only 5 minutes away. We really enjoyed ourselves and will never forget our stay. We loved the fact that we could come out to the backyard and there was a lake which allowed us to take boat trips up and down the lake. The view was beautiful too! Excellent vacation choice!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Most Unique House in Tahoe

Review submitted: October 24, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

After searching through many listings for Tahoe vacation rentals, it was a blessing to find Stonehenge. The owners have put a lot of care into their eclectic home. Everyone in the group fell in love with the house. It is truly a gem!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: thank you for your time to write a review.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review