reviews for: listing #63908 - South Lake Tahoe, California House rental

Rockwood
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $300 /nt

sort by:

Great Stay In This Vacation Cabin

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

We spent 5 nights over there in this nice cozy cabin for 2013 Christmas. The experience was great! It was clean and warmly decorated for our stay. It is located at the quiet corner of South Lake Tahoe in the wood, walking distance to the grocery stores etc. The cabin was newly renovated recently, everything are still new and modern.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved it here!

Review submitted: January 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 6, 2013

We fell in love with this cottage the moment we stepped foot inside. So cozy and full of character. We loved the fireplace in the bedroom and the rock floors. Our dog loved sleeping in front of the gas stove in the living room. Overall we had a great time here and will definitely be back. It has everything you need for a great getaway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

our stay at rockwood

Review submitted: January 25, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2012

thank you very much for allowing me and my family to stay at your lovely cottage Rockwood.We had a wonderful time and the cabin was very beautiful.Being that our trip took place the day after my weekly chemotherapy treatment ,my favorite thing about the cabin became the master bedroom with the view from the window and the fireplace, it was very comforting and I was able to watch the kids play in the snow from my bed. Sincerely Shelley

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 5, 2011

We stayed here after our wedding in South Lake Tahoe. It was close to stateline (right around the corner on the lake), but it felt so secluded and romantic.
It was so much fun, I would recommend to anyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Skier We are so happy you enjoyed Rockwood in tahoe and thank you for taking the time to let us know.It was a pleasure to meet you. PLEASE come again .

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Charming Hideaway

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

From the moment we saw Rockwood nestled across the way from Lake Tahoe we were enchanted. A cabin/house made out of rock with a delightful interior - lots of wood and rock and a very cozy, comfortable feel. Our stay was with our little dog and he loved going to the dog friendly beach across from Rockwood and swimming to his hearts content. We enjoyed the comfortable furnishings and the peek-a- boo view of Lake Tahoe from the every room. The kayak provided lake access and was absolutely magical when we were on the water watching the sunset over the lake and seeing and hearing the Canada geese fly over our heads. A truly magical place to unwind and feel like you are back to nature in the Sierras with all the creature comforts.

Owners response: Dear Ron. We are glade you enjoyed your stay at ROCKWOOD. Thank you for taking the time to let us know.It was my pleasure to meet you and for me to see how much you enjoyed your vacation. Please come again. ROSMARIE.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A magical Lake Tahoe experience

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

From the moment we saw Rockwood nestled across the way from Lake Tahoe we were enchanted. A cabin/house made out of rock with a delightful interior - lots of wood and rock and a very cozy, comfortable feel. Our stay was with our little dog and he loved going to the dog friendly beach across from Rockwood and swimming to his hearts content. We enjoyed the comfortable furnishings and the peek-a- boo view of Lake Tahoe from the every room. The kayak provided lake access and was absolutely magical when we were on the water watching the sunset over the lake and seeing and hearing the Canada geese fly over our heads. A truly magical place to unwind and feel like you are back to nature in the Sierras with all the creature comforts.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you both for being such terrific guests. We hope you will return.
Rosmarie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cottage near the Lake

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2011

If you are kayaking around Lake Tahoe, this cottage is the perfect place to "put in" for the night. The neighborhood has it's own private beach (a short walk from the cottage) and your boat can be tied up at the beach overnight. Enjoy some beach time on the shores of Lake Tahoe or walk back to the cottage for some afternoon time on the protected deck that is perfect for reading or enjoying an afternoon cocktail. Rockwood cottage is cozy and inviting. This is "Old Tahoe" charm in a rustic cabin upgraded with modern conviences.
This cottage is a special get away.

Owners response: Dear Peggy. We are glade you enjoyed your stay at rockwood. thank you for taking the time to let us know. Please come again. rosmarie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Vacation Home

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 2, 2011

We have stayed at the Rockwood for the past ten years. We now consider it like our second home. We first became aware of the Rockwood when we were searching for a dog friendly rental. We were pleasantly surprised to find not only a dog friendly rental but a perfect vacation home. A stone throw from beautiful Lake Tahoe and several dog friendly beaches to spend time swimming in the Lake and relaxing on the beach with a good book. The Twinnings provide you with a kayak for two to use that comes with the house The Rockwood is literally made of Rock and wood artfully designed with all the amenities of home. We highly recommend this house accept for the month we stay here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words regarding our cottage Rockwood. It is guests like you who make our efforts so rewarding.
Much appreciated
Rosmarie and Wilbur

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Stones Throw to the Lake

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

This cozy house is the perfect setting for a fun and relaxing vacation. The house is literally made of artfully designed rock and wood. It has all the amenities of home and indeed we think of it as a second home. It is steps from the beach and the owners Rosemarie and Wil provide you with a kayak. There are several public beaches to relax on. If you have a dog this is the perfect place. In fact, we first found the Rockwood because we were looking for a dog friendly rental. Rosemarie and Wil are exceptional people who have personally created this perfect getaway.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fifth year @ Rockwood

Review submitted: November 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

This is the 5th year we have stayed here. What a wonderful and relaxing experience ! Rockwood is such a charming and comfortable home to spend the week with our Australian Shepherd dog. The neighborhood is very dog-friendly as is the entire South Lake Tahoe/Stateline area. The owner keeps it so clean and supplied with the necessities. The view of the lake is wonderful and is just a very short walk to the water. Our dog loves it ! We come here from Colorado and make it a regular road trip. We will continue to return as long as we can. Thanks to the Twinings

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review