reviews for: listing #63938 - St Martin/Maarten, Caribbean Studio rental

Penthouse Floor Studio at Caravanserai/Sunset Beach!
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  yes
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Maho
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $100 - $150 /nt
    $700 - $900 /wk
    $2,000 - $3,200 /mth

sort by:

Just awsome

Review submitted: June 21, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

Hi John

Just want to let you know I'm back from vacation and to say thank you for renting me the apartment. It was abosolute top notch with anything (and more) that one could hope for.
I'm ashamed to admit that I slept better in your bed than in my own, so maybe it's about time I change my old one for a newer model :-)
A wonderful view from the 5'th floor over the sea and on the other side from the terrasse a fantastic view over Maho and the airport, what more could you ask for. We all had a great time time spotting from the terasse and
from the Royal Islander terasse by the pool, and off course around Maho beach, so we got a lot of great pictures this time. The only "negative" was the weather, it was hot 30-35 C, but mostly cloudy and windy
and the occasional showers, but that's off course to be expected in the hurricane season, so that couldn't spoil an otherwise perfect vacation.
I hope that if I come back to St.Maarten another time, that your apartment is available, so once again thank you for helping to make my vacation one to remember.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: May 25, 2013   Date of arrival: May 14, 2013

This place is perfect! It has everything you need, a beautiful balcony that overlooks the ocean and pool, a little kitchen, and everything else you might need from snorkel gear to coolers for the beach! We felt so comfortable here. We rented a car for a day and after seeing the whole island we had both agreed that this condo is in the best location. You have bars, restaurants, casinos, and beautiful beaches all within walking distance. Loved it and will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Love This Place!

Review submitted: April 25, 2013   Date of arrival: January 6, 2013

We have been coming to St. Maarten for the past 25+ years with a change here and there to visit other Islands, but always return to St. Maarten and the Maho area. We just love it here in Maho/Caravanserai Resort with all the restaurants, shops, beaches and things to do within walking distance. Now that we found John and his Penthouse Studio, we just do not want to leave and we didnt for 23 days. We have already booked for next year and are staying even longer 27 days.....Yea!...can not wait!
If your looking for the comfort of a home away from home, where everything is at your finger tips then this is the place, even a new ice machine for all those Pina Coladas you will be sipping while enjoying those fantastic sunsets, over those pristine blue waters from your spacious Penthouse level balcony.
Thanks John for that you do to make your place.....our place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks guys for,the kind words. We are glad you like our little slice of paradise as much as we do. We are always working to make it better.

Thank you

JD

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

Wow another AWESOME year at Johns place. This is our 2nd year staying there and we are already booked again for next year. The place is excellent. John is always checking to make sure everything is going well. My wife and I Love staying here. It is close to too many things to do. You never run out of options. This has been a home away from home. Thanks for sharing it with us.

Mike and Kim

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Caribbean Daze

Review submitted: March 8, 2013   Date of arrival: February 19, 2013

Spent 11 relaxing,sun-filled days in this clean,well-equipped studio. The 5 th floor balcony is the perfect spot from which to watch the variety of sea going vessels, checking out what is happening at the pool & bar just below and mostly watching the sun slide to bed each evening!The owner John, has thought of everything ,right down to a first aid kit & numerous beach coolers.The Caravanserai is perfectly located to access Mullet Beach,numerous cafes and restaurants and a short walk to "down town "Maho where you can enjoy entertainment & try your luck at the casino.We found the staff here very pleasant and willing to do whatever they could to make our stay enjoyable.The cleaning staff was also very pleasant & eager to help.This was our fourth trip to St.Maarten and upon returning ,we will definitely come back to this location!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Anne, glad you liked the condo, and thanks for the kind words. We put a lot of time and effort into our unit, and it means a lot to hear you enjoyed it. My wife and I have tried to put everything in that unit that we enjoy ourselves each trip to St. Maarten.

Safe Travels,

JD

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great Winter Getaway

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 8, 2012

We had a wonderful time in the condo. This year they made improvements of a full size fridge, a large wall mirror, and an ice maker. The ice maker was very well thought out, as we take a cooler down to the beach all the time, you can never have too much ice in the tropics! The view up there in that unit is very nice. Sunsets are beautiful. The unit was cool and clean every day when we came back from the sun. We love St. Martin and will go back next year to escape the snow in Canada.
It's an easy walk to Maho for dinner, or a 10 minute drive to Simpson Bay, we love the location.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great Value

Review submitted: June 8, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

Although we only stayed over the weekend, I loved the place. Very clean, and cool up there. Loved the privacy of the top floor. Room had everything we needed and more. Pool bar is a great place to hang out, and I could walk over to Casino and eats in Maho in 5 minutes.
Overall, for the price of $150/night, you can't go wrong. Would highly recommend the place to anyone!

John Thanks for accomodating me on short notice, two other units wouldn't take me. I really appreciate that. When I come back to St. Martin, you are my first call.
thanks
Joe

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you liked it Joe, and look forward to hearing from you next time you go out to St. Maarten.

thanks
JD

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Our Best so far...

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

Another week of great stay at Johns studio, in Maho, St Maarten! We liked the ambiance of the Maho area! Just right for us, if you want the beach, just walk across the parking lot to Sunset Beach, if you want great restaurants, just walk across the beach to Maho, if you want to swim the pool is excellent, with a view of the sailboats passing by. The views from the bedroom and the balcony, awesome!The unit itself has everything we need, from kitchen utensils, to hairdryer, to a cell phone and even snorkles! I love the security of the hurricane shutters to close it down at night, and when we leave to keep it cool. The island cable is good enough to catch up on current events, we watched a few of the DVD's in the room also. Thank you John for allowing us to enjoy your place again. Three weeks next year 2013!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Our Best so far...

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

Another week of great stay at Johns studio, in Maho, St Maarten! We liked the ambiance of the Maho area! Just right for us, if you want the beach, just walk across the parking lot to Sunset Beach, if you want great restaurants, just walk across the beach to Maho, if you want to swim the pool is excellent, with a view of the sailboats passing by. The views from the bedroom and the balcony, awesome!The unit itself has everything we need, from kitchen utensils, to hairdryer, to a cell phone and even snorkles! I love the security of the hurricane shutters to close it down at night, and when we leave to keep it cool. The island cable is good enough to catch up on current events, we watched a few of the DVD's in the room also. Thank you John for allowing us to enjoy your place again. Three weeks next year 2013!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Annette, we are glad you enjoyed St.Maarten again, thanks for the kind words. Looks like your days of the Pelican Resort are in the past!

JD

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

loved it!

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this top floor condo back in April and loved it. We met some friends that stayed in the Caravanserai timeshares, and although it was nice, John's unit was far superior. The view off the balcony is awesome overlooking the pool, and the sea to watch the sailboats go by. The bed is ultra comfortable, and a king size which was nice.
Everything we needed was in the unit and more. It has all the kitchen and bath needs to need, including a hair dryer which my wife needed, but also a huge wall mounted HD Tv with built in blu ray disc, lots of games, they even have a cell phone and snorkle in it to use.
I thought the best part was you could walk to everything if you want to. The Sunset Beach bar, and the beach is a 1 minute walk. There is a Casino in the parking lot(lost too much $$$!), also you can walk over to Maho in 5 minutes with alot of shopping and fine dining.
Marty is the bar tender down at the pool,and is alot of fun. Really makes your time down at the pool enjoyable.
Overall, I love the location, the unit is clean, cool, and has everything you need in it, along with endless views from the balcony. The other great thing is, this unit is very cheaply priced compared to others, and especially for what you get. We are going back as soon as we can.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Stay

Review submitted: February 8, 2012   Date of arrival: January 21, 2012

We just recently returned from St Maarten. Our stay at John's unit was exactly as described. The view is incredible and the place was very clean. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. We are booked again for next year. Thanks John.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 32 / 33

 

Amazing Place to Spend Your Honeymoon

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: December 12, 2011

We rented John's condo and couldn't have been more pleased with the location and the amenities. Don't let the word "Studio" fool you. The condo was a great size, very clean/updated and extremely well maintained. It was nice having a cell phone in the room and a $10 calling card lasted us almost the entire 9 days we were there. John provided us with a lot of helpful information on where to eat and places to visit. There is a great little Mexian place to eat that is resonably priced just across the parking lot called Taco Macho and also a grocery store just down the road to get food and drinks so you don't have to eat out every meal. The staff was also really friendly. They can suggest day trips for you- all priced well for what you get. We did the Farewell Friday tour and had a blast with the crew. It was a full tour around the island with 3 stops for snorkeling. It's open bar and they serve snacks and then take you to a restaurant for an awesome lunch. We spent a lot of time at the pool bar and the bartender Marty is very entertaining! He let's you keep a tab going while you are there so you don't need to worry about bringing money down with you. I suggest playing Bingo there on Wed. night-free rum punch and snacks. My husband and I both won these prize packages that had a lot of "Buy One Get One" coupons for dinners at nearby resturants and a massage at the spa just up the road. We rented a car and did a lot of exploring- driving around the island is easy to do. We spent a day in Marigot, a day in Phillipsburg and a day in Orient Bay. The condo is in a great location, though, so if you don't rent a car there is still plenty of places you can walk to easily. The balcony offers an amazing view of the sunset, the ocean and you can scope out the happenings at the pool. Famous Sunset Beach is just up through the parking lot and next door there was a club and a new little French restaurant and bar we are excited to try when we return. We did a little snorekling there with the gear that was left in the room. There are so many little beaches and areas of the island we didn't get a chance to visit so have a long list of things to do for the next time we go back- will definately stay at John's condo again and highly recommend it for anyone looking for a place to rent.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 36 / 36

 

great location, finally got to unwind.

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

I wasn't sure what to expect, this unit looks great online, but the reviews from earlier in the year seemed horrific. Well, we got there, and just loved the place! We like watching the planes at Sunset Beach Bar, and it is a one minute walk over to it. Spent almost every night there enjoying the island atmosphere. The condo was excellent, very clean, the TV is huge, almost too big for the room, we used the snorkling stuff over at El Pinel island and saw all kinds of fish. My wife even saw a ray on the bottom! The resort is still being finished as I write this, but we didn't care, we loved the unit we were in, and we are out almost every day exploring. We had to use the elevator on the opposite side of the building, as the one on our side is not done until August(so they say), but overall I can't complain. They also have to work out some lights in the stairwells, but the guy was working on it as we left, so that should be taken care of also. The swim up bar is awesome, you don't see that very often in Jersey. The bartender says he is plannig on opening up some kind of small restuarant right there on the ocean/pool area when he gets permits, so that would be another plus. There is a small kitchen with small toaster oven, hotplates, blender, etc. But we ate out most often, and I knew that going in, that is was a studio, so didnt bother me. It had a fridge for my beer, and coffee maker in the morning, that's all I needed. We walked over to Sunset Beach for breakfast, or even over to Maho twice. The shopping and Casino Royale at Maho, are only a 5 minute walk, and we loved the nightlife over there. I think when the rest of the resort is finished, they have a great location, and people will get over the first few months, when they probably opened too soon. We already booked this unit for next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Brad, I am glad you and Rochelle liked our condo. We have put alot of hard work into it, and I am continually trying to improve it. We wanted to have some "extras" in our place without the extra fees. Although, we had some growing pains in the beginning, the resort is coming around nicely.


Thanks again, see you next year!
JD

Helpful votes: 41 / 41

 

unit was fantastic!

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

We loved John's unit at Caravanserai Resort. It was just like his video showed on his website. It had plenty of extras, we watched BluRay DVD'd, he left board games in their for the night it rained. Didn't use his snorkle stuff, but it was in there just in case. The resort itself is just getting finished, but the pools are done, and the swim up bar is excellent. The staff is quite friendly, and most times helped us out right away.
We loved the location of the resort, as we could walk over to the Maho area, and dine and shop. My husband even did a little blackjack at the Casino. They say the rest of the resort will be done in mid summer, but the studio is everything we thought it would be. Would recommend to my friends!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 34 / 34

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review