reviews for: listing #64309 - Oceanside, California Cottage rental

Beach Bungalows on the Sand, Oceanside
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $99 - $299 /nt
    $594 - $1,794 /wk
    $1,782 - $5,382 /mth

sort by:

Best girls weekend EVER!!

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

The rental was WONDERFUL, everything they said it would be!! The managment was very helpful in setting up the rental. The rental property was completely stocked with all of the cooking supplies, we brought food and drinks and needed nothing more. The firepit area was great, and even had a sand area that's gated in with you, should you be bringing little ones. The view was spectacular and maybe only a blocks walk down to the beachside. It's close to the downtown area and the pier for walking around. And most importantly was pefectly clean. NOt to mention the off season discount. Totally worth EVERY penny!! See ya next time!! Truely the only thing I can say bad is that we could have used one more roll of TP....but we did have 6 girls staying :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beachfront vacation

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

We had an awesome time!!! Words can't even explain it, you have to go and see for yourself. The description and pictures were exactly accurate. Everything was clean and well maintained, and I would definitely recommend this place to a friend. It was a great place to stay with children. The patio was fenced in to prevent small ones from wondering off. We most enjoyed being able to ride our bikes a short distance to the pier, restaurants and shops. We also enjoyed the quaint little town which we felt very safe in while out and about. We had a very relaxing time since we did not have to drive anywhere. Everything we wanted was in walking distance.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love this Place!

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: November 25, 2010

I rented the 2 bedroom last time and thought it just canot be better than that, I was wrong!!! I Have an even more awesome time in a 1 bedroom!! I just LOVE THIS PLACE. It is a nice little getaway for the casual traveler. No Maids, no parking fees, no high priced restaurants, no annoying famiies. Just like living at the beach!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

5 star rating

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: September 12, 2010

We had a great stay, loved the location of opening up our doors and hearing the waves crashing. I would rate it a 5. The condition of the property I would say a 4, It could use some storage a place for food and clothing. We stayed for 3 weeks so I brought my own plastic shelving to make to put food on and clothes. I was happy to see shelving in the bathroom it helped so you were able to put thing on. I would recommend having some hanging hooks by the door or bathroom to hang beach towels or sweatshirts or jackets. Other than that we had everything we needed. Yes I have recommended it to friends. The property was clean I would say a 5, the location a 5 the managers were a 5. They brought us over a cofee pot right away when ours broke. Very caring. We loved the fire pit. I hope that they don't tear the cottages down, as we plan to come again next year. Thanks, Sheila

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful time

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 13, 2010

We were fortunate enough to get a unit in July on short notice, and had a wonderful time. A big plus is the courtyard right outside the door where we spent many relaxing hours lounging in the sun or in the shade of an umbrella, playing on the lawn, and sharing s'mores with some other folks we met at the gas firepit. We have stayed at other places in Oceanside, but this is now the only place we stay when we come to southern California!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great time, looking forward to comign back

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: September 8, 2010

This was the first time my wife and I visited Oceanside and we needed to get away from the Las Vegas heat. We searched on line and found "Beach Front Only Rentals." The price was fair and the location was great. After arriving we found the room to be extremely clean and well stocked. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was large. The outside area was very nice with chairs, tables, grass, a sand area and of course the fire pit which was fantastic. We met another couple from Germany and sat around the fire pit, had some drinks and enjoyed the cool air. The pier and the down town restaurants were only a 20 minute walk. Go on a Thursday and enjoy the street market which goes on almost all day. Over all we had a great time and are looking forward to going back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review of 835#3

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: October 11, 2010

We enjoyed our stay immensely. The kids loved running out to the ocean frequently and being able to come in for a warm shower as needed. We loved falling asleep to the sound of the surf each night. The location was perfect for us...we enjoyed being close to the Oceanside pier and marina (to take advantage of having brought our bikes) yet far enough to enjoy a little more seclusion and fewer people. The unit was well stocked with supplies. We were grateful for the binder that gave us a lot of fun ideas of places to visit. The agent we worked with was extremely courteous and personable. I was very impressed with the ease of making the reservation. We left a couple of minor suggestions for improvements on the survey form in the unit, but were very pleased overall. The only thing we would change about our stay would be to have had a little more sunshine during the week of our stay. Thanks for a memorable trip.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review 835 S Pacific #9

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

PROS: The location of bungalow #9 was awesome. There was no traffic to contend with and it was wonderful hearing the waves and looking at the beach directly from our patio and living room. The fire pit was the best and we stayed out there every single night to enjoy the cool air and sound of the water. The maintenance staff was very accommodating and responded promptly. Kudos to Juan and Paco!

CONS: My only disappointment was that 1) the window blinds were old, dirty and missing wands and/or slats, 2) the bathroom window was corroded and there was no screen on it, 3) the fillers in the shower were missing so we were visited by two HUGE roaches our first night, 4) the shower curtain was absolutely disgusting (it had mold all over it) and we had it replaced, 5) the carpet smelled of mold and mildew, 6) there was no hamper in the condo for dirty beach towels and 7) there was no screen on the french doors so it was difficult to leave open at night without bugs coming into the condo.While the property had a laundry room on site, it was old, dirty and not very inviting. Also, it did not remain locked and didn't appear very safe.

For the price that we paid, the issues we had should have never occurred. Especially when you consider that bigger, nicer, newer properties with the same location had lesser rates. But, we liked how quaint this property is. It is a "50's" traditional looking bungalow and property, which is a big part of its charm. I would like to try Beachfront only again, however in a different condo. Based on this experience, I would say that you don't get what you pay for or what is advertised to you from Beachfront Only. So, naturally, this is a red flag. However,in all fairness, I would say that another stay is in order at one of their other properties to decipher. I am hopeful that our first experience with Beachfront at 835 #9 was simply a fluke (an expensive one). I don't know if management if interested in this review as we filled out a comment sheet and left in the condo when we checked out. We still have not received a response.
Food for thought.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Vacation Stay

Review submitted: May 26, 2010   Date of arrival: September 14, 2009

Our family really enjoyed staying at the charming bungalow in Oceanside. It was very clean and we had everything that we needed to make our stay pleasant. I loved the fact that the beach was so close and the common area was great. I didn't want to leave to come home! (835#3)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What's not to Love?

Review submitted: May 26, 2010   Date of arrival: May 3, 2010

We had a great time here. The staff at Beach Front Only Vacations are very helpful and accessible. A+ The beach location is terrific and very close to grocery, Rite Aid and Costco stores. A+ The directions given were spot on and we got right to the condo from the airport on a windy,stormy night. A+ The door code worked well, however could be more secure. The fire pit and patio area are great, we grilled steaks on the propane grill and met folks from all over the country. A+ My only complaint has to be the ocean waves were so close, the sound of waves crashing on the surf kept waking me through the night. A+ Angelo's breakfast burriots on 111. A+ Carsbad's Fields of Flowers is fabulous. A+ Would I stay here again? In a New York Minute. (835 #3)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just what the doctor Ordered

Review submitted: May 26, 2010   Date of arrival: May 21, 2009

We were very pleased with the bungalow. Everything was brand new and clean. The bed was so comfy I didn't want to get out of it. We enjoyed the area so much, that we are returning for Memorial Day weekend. A special plus was the gorgeous, extra large firepit. No one could be disapointed! (835 #6)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place

Review submitted: May 26, 2010   Date of arrival: July 27, 2009

We really enjoyed our time in your condo on pacific. It was very clean and had everything we needed for our stay. The courtyard with the grass, sand area, and patio made the stay. It was nice to get off the beach and still be able to enjoy the views! The only issue we really had was water pressure. It was low at times. I would recommed this property to any family wanting to spend some quality time at the beach. (835 #6)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Enjoyable

Review submitted: May 26, 2010   Date of arrival: September 12, 2009

The cottage was clean and well stocked. The staff were friendly and helpful. We loved the location, and we used the patio and tables for relaxing and eating, every day. Other guests were also friendly, pleasant, and expressed how much they enjoyed their stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review of Cozy beachfront vacation rental 835 #9

Review submitted: May 26, 2010   Date of arrival: October 4, 2009

Will visit again for sure. Customer Service was unbelievably superb. When I needed something, it was delivered IMMEDIATELY. The bathtub didn't have I stopper - I HAVE to take bath's - a stopper was delivered in about 30 seconds. There was a power failure my first night (not the fault of Beachfront) and we all got dry ice delivered to us which was appreciated because I had $81. worth of rib eye steaks in the freezer.The only thing is that there is hardly any water pressure if somebody in another unit is bathing the same time you are. Also, carpet is not a good idea for a beach rental. You are either wet from washing off sand before entering the unit or someone is always tracking in sand. Again, in times when customer service is almost non-existent, These people exist for your every whim. Thanks for the best vacation I've had in a long time. (835#9

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Getaway

Review submitted: May 26, 2010   Date of arrival: December 3, 2009

We absolutely love this place to getaway! We are very saddened that they are even considering tearing them down to replace them with something not made for the COUPLE looking for a peaceful getaway. BFO - we hope you have other rentals to accommodate just a couple like us when these no longer exist! See you in January 2010!! (835 #9)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great views, & location, great rental agents!

Review submitted: May 26, 2010   Date of arrival: December 15, 2009

I would rate this property a 5, we had a great stay, we loved being on the ocean, even in the storm, we saw the ocean in a different light. We loved having the fire pit, it was cozy. Great location, the unit had everything you need. We would stay again. You can say a satisfied renter from Cottonwood. Thanks (835 #9)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review