reviews for: listing #64324 - Mount Hood, Oregon House rental

An Alpine Chalet
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Timberline Rim
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $95 - $375 /nt
    $950 - $1,250 /wk
    $1,250 - $2,850 /mth

sort by:

Amazing chalet!

Review submitted: March 20, 2014   Date of arrival: March 14, 2014

My friends and I had a great experience at the chalet! It has a fully stocked kitchen, fantastic hot tub, and is a really great location. The rooms are all decorated very nicely as well. I would highly recommend staying here for any size group from 6-10.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very cozy chalet

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: February 21, 2014

We were very happy with our stay at the Alpine Chalet! Not only because of the location, but also for the fact that it was clean, cozy, and the kitchen had everything we needed to make a lovely dinner after a great day in the snow! The beds were comfortable and our children were very excited to sleep in the loft! Loved all the extra touches that really make guests feel welcome. We will be coming back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Goldie locks house !

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: February 21, 2014

We just spend a couple of night in the Alpine chalet and found it to be the perfect destination for a cozy weekend with friends! The decor makes you feel immediately relaxed! So inviting and very clean ! We loved it

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing!

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

Merci Beaucoup!! Words are difficult to fully express how we LOVED our stay at your Alpine Chalet! You provided all the amenities of home, even down to a junk drawer that really felt like home. This has been the BEST yearly family vacation we have ever had thus far. As our Grandson, Atticus said, “This place is RADICAL!” We all agree. Thanks again for a very relaxing stay.
Mike, Deany, Krystal, Ryan, Nancy, Atticus and John
Ps – if you every find yourself in Cajun Country look us up. We’d love to share our southern hospitality with you.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Oregon is great

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

What a fun time in Oregon – day trips to the Dalles, white water rafting in Maupin, Oregon Coast, Mt St Helens and of course Mt Hood and the Columbia River Gorge. Very beautiful! Lovely house! Really enjoyed Oregon!
Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great home

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 14, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful weekend. As a group we only get together once a year and this was a great stay. You have a wonderful home. I will surely share with my friends from Los Angeles the great time I had.
Jim
August 2012

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

French Family loved it

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: June 11, 2013

A French Family of 6 had a wonderful couple of days in the house. Everything is perfectly convenient, especially in the kitchen, which is really important to us French people. We will recommend your house to all Paris.
Best regards,
Elisabeth

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous Neighborhood and home

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

We have never seen such a perfect neighborhood ever. WOW! It’s the way to live, especially if you’re a kid! ? The house is beautiful, cozy & inviting. SO many extra and thoughtful and generous things left for us visitors that spoke volums about the owner / “host”. We felt cared for and very welcomed. Never experiences that from a rental before. WOW! Very cool! And I am inspired to pass that on whenever I have the opportunity. ? Thank you for opening your home to so many with love and care. We hope to come back next year. Many blessings to you. We had a Great & Memorable vacation with our kids and new grandson.
The Welches, Loomis, CA
Ps – no trophies at the lawn mower races but lots of great pictures, laughs and memories
July 4th

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Gorgeous

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: June 13, 2013

The pictures did not begin to show the full beauty of this home. I have already recommended it to many of my friends. Gorgeous ? We came for my husband to skydive in Molalla, Oregon. It turned out to be a breathtaking experience for all of us and we are so grateful to have had this cabin to share great memories and to really give this vacation a feeling of relaxation. I will certainly stay here when I return to Rhododendron. Fantastic hospitality from the patron of this cabin made this trip better yet. I am truly grateful for being able tot stay here. Picture worthy from every angle ? Thank you so very much for taking such great care of the people that stay here!
Gratefully yours,
John, Erie, Alaina and Cameron
June 14

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A wonderful retreat

Review submitted: April 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

My group of friends and I had an absolutely wonderful weekend at the Alpine Chalet. First of all, the owner, Becca, was so incredible to deal with. She worked with my group and our individual needs to really customize our vacation experience. Our group, of eight graduate students, had such a great time - skiing, xc skiing, snowshoeing, and snowboarding by day, and hot tubbing and playing games around the fire by night. The home was perfect for the eight of us to each have enough space but also some quality together time. I would absolutely recommend the Chalet for groups to enjoy a beautiful and memorable weekend with wonderfully pleasant owners.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Katherine,
Our sincerest thanks to you and your friends for chosing Alpine for your Mt Hood Weekend. The care and respect you showed Alpine was clearly evident in everything you did and it was truly our pleasure to have you! We wish you all great success in your continued journey and when you are ready to return, it will be wonderful to have you back. Thank you again!
Becca

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

We can't wait to return!

Review submitted: February 22, 2013   Date of arrival: January 9, 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the Alpine Chalet for three weeks and it was absolutely wonderful. From the moment we entered the house we felt home and so did our 3-year old. We have been home for three weeks now and she is still asking when she can go back to 'her house' with 'her big bed'.

The Chalet is in a quiet, friendly, family-oriented neighborhood. Every one of the three bedrooms is cozy and beautiful in its own way. One bedroom has a ladder going up to a little loft area which is fun for children to play, or could sleep more people. All rooms are spacious and have many windows. We especially loved the many skylights in the ceiling. We were happy to meet the owners who are wonderful people and helped us one time we got stranded on the side of the road.

If this cabin is not the right size for you, check with them about their other properties. They are just as amazing or better. The Alpine Chalet is conveniently located a 15 min drive or less from restaurants, grocery stores, ski and snowboard rental, a daycare, gift shop, and about 35 minutes from Timberline Lodge ski area or 30 minutes to Skibowl for night skiing. The distance was very comfortable for us and we snowboard every day. There are hiking trails by the Sandy River, close to the house. Don't waste your time to look any further and stay here. It is the right place if you look for relaxation, quietness, and convenience.

Thanks Becca for everything, I know we will meet again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Sabrina and Stephan
It was such a pleasure to have you stay at Alpine! Its not often we have a Guest really 'live' in one of our homes as if it was their own - we appreciate you sharing your experiences with vrbo. And, of course, we look forward to when we meet again!
Richard and Becca

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

utterly terrible

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 31, 2012

horrible owners, smelly place, bad location, drafty windows. there are much better houses to rent in this area. don't put yourself through the trouble of this one.

Owners response: While I do not know who this guest is, he says he was with the previous New Years renter.

I guess some people choose to stay on the negative course instead of taking responsibility for their actions. I do not wish to rehash what was a horrible guest experience for us.

If this review is important to you, you may want read our response to the previous 'review' from the New Years Guest and understand the rest of the story.

Again, we wish them a very joyous, healthy and prosperous 2013.

Helpful votes: 0 / 7

 

Great House: Unprofessional Manager

Review submitted: January 6, 2013   Date of arrival: December 31, 2012

The house was beautiful, no doubt about that. Unfortunately, the woman in charge of the property was unnecessarily rude when neighbors made a noise complaint. It's of course understandable to get frustrated when neighbors continue to call to complain. However, it is never appropriate to use an abundance of expletives when confronting the clients when things go wrong.

We should have have never gone to this house in the first place. The house sleeps 6-10 people, but the plumbing couldn't handle our stay. We reported the problem immediately, spent half of the night trying to fix the situation ourselves, and then ended up getting charged the full deposit to have it fixed and subsequently berated by an unprofessional and pejorative email.

Ultimately, it was a very negative experience for all parties involved I'm afraid. If you are looking to have an enjoyable experience with friends, DO NOT COME HERE.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: While I understand you are upset, let’s at least agree to a certain basic level of honesty in your critique. First, at no time was any language used that could, by the largest of measurement, be construed as inappropriate or termed “expletive".

Secondly, as I conveyed when the first complaint call came in at 12:15am New Years Eve, we are all for you and your far more than contracted number of guests having a great time, but please show some consideration for the fact that you are in a neighborhood. When the second call came in at 12:45am, and we could hear you through the phone of a family that lived 6 houses away, maybe there is a certain degree of inconsideration you need to take responsibility for. And then when the third call came in at 1:15 AM because you and your guests showed absolutely no measure of respect, we were still respectful to you, though you clearly had none for your environment. And then you afforded us the opportunity to do it all again the next night. Though I can assure you, the language the neighbors used this time was far less than amicable.

Third, while you were presented with a fresh (ie first fill) hot tub, the water was so unbelievable fouled when you and your guests left (we do have pictured to prove it) it took multiple sanitizing cycles to get it clean. Per your Rental Agreement, you were charged for the clean, and refill, as it is not a simple or quick procedure.

Fourth – the plumbing is perfect – it was your abuse and guest usage that caused the problems. But thank you for that assessment.

And lastly, I would like to sincerely thank you and your guests for coming to our home. It is because of you we have implemented a new policy, whereby we may NEVER, ever rent on New Years Eve to anyone other than a family with children. Because of this, I am certain of two things: One, we will never experience the level of disrespect we had from you and your guests, not only towards our home, but to the environment in which it resides. And secondly, I have absolutely no fear whatsoever that any guest we would want to stay in our home would be dissuaded, in the slightest, from your review.

We wish you a very healthy, joyous and prosperous 2013.

Helpful votes: 4 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

July4th
We have never seen such a perfect neighborhood ever. WOW! It’s the way to live, especially if you’re a kid! The house is beautiful, cozy and inviting. So many extra thoughtful and generous things left foe us visitors that it spoke volumes. We felt cared for and very welcomed. Never experienced that from a rental before WOW! Very cool! And I am inspired to pass that on whenever I have the opportunity. Thank you for opening your home to so many with love and care. We hope to come back next year. Many blessings to you. We had a Great& memorable vacation with our kids and grandson.
The Welches
Loomis, CA
ps: No trophy’s at the lawn mower races – but lots of great pictures, laughs and memories. AWESOME Fireworks!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

2 adult couples - Missouri and Tennessee

Review submitted: August 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

It was everything we hoped for! We always look for someplace a little out of the main rush of things but close enough to get where we are going without driving forever. We did Silver Falls State Park, Mt. Hood (snowball fight in July), Mirror Lake, the Infinity Loop, parts of the Fruit Loop (boy did we eat a lot of fresh fruit!!!), and even the old Barlow Pass Trail. But we also took time to relax and enjoy ourselves at the house. Thanks for providing the recycling containers, and for all of your help before and during our stay when I had a question.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Patti! It was truly our pleasure to have you all here. We are glad you saw so much of our beautiful state - it has so much to offer.Come back soon!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 8, 2011

Your cabin was amazing. My new Husband is from Hawaii and so we weren't looking for a beach getaway. The homie experience was a great start to our new life together. The hot tub was amazing. The fireplace was his favorite and the rooms were great. We wish we could stay longer and enjoy your wonderful cabin again. Thanks so much.
Heather and Christopher

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

ALOHA from Hawaii! We enjoyed the Alpine chalet with waling up with falling snow and days filled with snow fall up at Mt Hood Meadows. 1st Time we ever rented a home and we definitely loved it! Plan on doing this again with friends and/or family. Will tell all of Hawaiian Air about this beautiful Chalet! Yes, it was warm, cozy, comfortable, just like Home! Enjoyed the hot tub after every ski session. The comforts of home with washer and dryer and stove and all appliances. Loved it! Definitely will pass on the word!
Aloha Mahala

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Honeymoon

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 8, 2011

Your cabin was amazing. My new Husband is from Hawaii and so we weren't looking for a beach getaway. The homie experience was a great start to our new life together. The hot tub was amazing. The fireplace was his favorite and the rooms were great. We wish we could stay longer and enjoy your wonderful cabin again. Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Aloha from Hawaii

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

ALOHA from Hawaii! We enjoyed the Alpine chalet with waling up with falling snow and days filled with snow fall up at Mt Hood Meadows. 1st Time we ever rented a home and we definitely loved it! Plan on doing this again with friends and/or family. Will tell all of Hawaiian Air about this beautiful Chalet! Yes, it was warm, cozy, comfortable, just like Home! Enjoyed the hot tub after every ski session. The comforts of home with washer and dryer and stove and all appliances. Loved it! Definitely will pass on the word!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Awesome Alpine Chalet

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

We are from Hawaii and was pleasantly surpised at the neighborhood, we thought it was going to be isolated. Beautiful home, very comfortable and spacious. Will definitely use the home again and tell all of my friends. We loved the private hot tub anfd fireplace. It was clean and cozy. The owner provided great service and was well accommodating as we had no electricity the first night of our stay. It was a drive to the mountains, but it was well worth it!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Patty, It was truly our pleasure to have you here! You all were such troopers, sleeping in front of the fireplace after the wind storm knocked out the power everywhere. When you are ready to return, you will be welcomed with open arms.
Mahalo! Becca and Richard

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

Dear Becca and Richard Thank you so much for another lovely stay! We had a great time just visiting as a family. The kids loved the hot tub! We hope to visit here again. Thank you for the great hospitality!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: February 9, 2011

Our Family Reunion and birthday celebration at your house was wonderful. We love the feel of the house – rustic and fully appointed to accommodate all needs. Beautiful place! Thanks,

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: October 20, 2010

The only complaint we have is that we didn’t stay longer! The house was a perfect base for our Ladies weekend. After a hike at Trillium Lake, beers at Timberline Lodge and pizza at ZigZag Inn, we nestled into our comfy warm beds. Woke up to a warm hot tub and coffee with truffles and donuts. What more could we ask for? Thanks so much for a lovely stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: November 9, 2010

Your Alpine Chalet was a wonderful place to stay for our Oregon vacation! Wow . . . Becca – you have thought of everything!! Thank you so much for your amazing communications too! Its tough to plan a trip when you’ve never been to the area – you made it easy and shared so much expert information with us! Our two boys would like to stay and live here now!! We would strongly & happily recommend this home to everyone! Thank You so much!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: February 23, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Alpine Chalet! Hot Tub, swimming, tennis, walks, etc. The House had everything we needed including a griddle for sourdough pancakes! And Fruit! We had the biggest and best fruit salad ever!!! Thank you Becca and Richard for your help and attention to details.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: December 21, 2010

Our family had so much fun!John and I had gotten pretty exhausted over the past year with work schedules, kids sports schedules and just craziness of every day life. We needed this badly! The first day we went to Wildwood Recreation Area. Very cool! Paved paths all throughout, perfect for bikes and water fountains, bathrooms everywhere!!! Monday we hiked up to Mirror Lake, not paved paths – no water fountains! Very exquisite views of the reflection of Mt Hood in the lake though. Tuesday we went to Mt Hood Adventure Park. Well worth the money spent just for the Alpine slidealone! We rode the slide fro about 3 hours Each evening we visited the pool and played games. We made wonderful use of the perfectly equipped kitchen, where absolutely everything was thought of. Shanks for sharing your home!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: January 13, 2011

Richard and Becca you have exceeded my expectations.You have thought of everything we needed for a great getaway. We are members of World Mark by Windham and use it often but this is better. We sure don’t get truffles there. Our grand kids want to move here. We really appreciate your hard work.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: October 19, 2010

Merci beacoup de nous avior invite! The chalet is beautiful and homey. We must do that fun downhill mountain bike trail again and feel like kids again! (as soon as our butts recover!)Thank You so much again. This weekend will remain one of our favorite weekends to think back on. Beware of the Mushfakers!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: September 20, 2010

What a beautiful home! We enjoyed every second here, even with the rain. The truffles were terrific, the rain made sleeping great and we got the rest we needed so desperately. Hate to go back home because the Chalet is home now! Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 6, 2010

The Chalet was the perfect start to our trip. Truffles . . .yum yum!! The kids loved the river and our hikes! All of the people in the neighborhood were so friendly . . . I can’t remember the pool lady who went out of her way to make the kids feel happy and comfortable. Being from Croswell, MI I hope we find the rest of Oregon to be as wonderful as here! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

so comfortable!

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: October 14, 2010

Our family of 8 adults stayed at the Alpine Chalet for 3 nights and we loved it. The house is beautiful with many lovely rustic features that fit so perfectly with the beautiful setting of this mountain community so close to Mt. Hood. The living room and kitchen areas are great for family conversations, meals, movie watching, game playing. The wood stove in the living room makes it all feel so cozy and warm. The upstairs bedrooms are lovingly appointed with nice linens, towels, bath facilities. The kitchen has an amazing amount of dishes, glasses, cups, cooking implements. And the hot tub in the back is great! We highly recommend this house.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Maureen! It was truly our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming back such wonderful guests.
Richard and Becca

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review