reviews for: listing #64384 - Tybee Island, Georgia Condo rental

3 Pools, New Condo, Private Hot Tub, Oceanfront Complex
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Beachside Colony
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $159 - $275 /nt
    $999 - $1,799 /wk
    $1,899 - $1,899 /mth

sort by:

Great!!!!

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: April 21, 2014

We came for a family vacation. I've been many times but this was my husbands first time. It was great! I loved everything about the condo. It was just what we needed. My little boy really loved it. The pools were very convenient and the beach access was close. I would stay here again in a heart beat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We do improvements constatly on our condos and we are so glad you had a great time.

Dee and Jack

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Phenomenal Spot - location, furnishing & value - simply the Best!

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: September 14, 2013

I spent about 2 weeks culling through online listings reviewing places to stay in savannah & tybee for a combined business trip & birthday. I literally went bleary-eyed looking at all of the pics and descriptions...it felt a lot like online dating - tons of pics that tried to portray something that wasn't! I was so pleased with it that I had to write about it. The pictures here, while decent, just don't do the place any justice so I shot a video so you could see it better for yourself and I include it below; From the second we opened the front door, we knew we'd made the right choice! This unit is kept like something out of a designer's digest: gorgeous, quality furnishings; granite countertops in the kitchen and baths, stainless appliances & fridge with ice & water in the door, comfortable bedding and great baths. We loved the custom hardwood floor looking ceramic tile and the lofted ceilings in the great room and master. The unique custom fan in the great room really kept things cool. We were kid-less on this trip, which is rare....but if we'd had them with us, we would have really appreciated the separate cable boxes & tvs in each room and the great room!!
The master bedroom is spacious and set off to itself and away from the other bedrooms. The master bath offers a 2-person shower and a separate jacuzzi tub. If you're planning to stay for a week, you'll love the private and internal patio/courtyard complete with hot-tub & outdoor grill. There is a ton of seating on the patio with sliders to access it from the great room, hallway or master. There's even a wall mounted waterfall to add to the ambiance & ceiling fans to keep it cool on even the hottest day! We enjoyed having the Marlin Lounge poolside for drinks and eats.....and 3 pools with tons of loungers only a few steps from the beach! It's about a 15 minute walk down the beach to the pier and downtown Tybee. The location is killer and this well appointed unit is ready to entertain you and comfort you sun or rain! You can bet we will be back. I've rented a ton of units over the years...and alot of them online but I've never been more pleased than with this unit!! send me an email to get the video I shot of the place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Addendum to the previous review...

Review submitted: September 12, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

When I posted the previous review, I did not expect to hear from the owner, and when he called me personally, I had no idea what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised when he turned out to be a very nice guy, and he even expressed appreciation for making them aware of the problems we experienced. It was obvious during our conversation that he took everything we said seriously and had done the necessary followup to confirm the details and to make sure that this doesn't happen again. I got the impression that the owners value their reputation, and were genuinely concerned about the overall guest experience. While Jack could not give us the Sunday game time back, he did what he could to make it right, and we truly appreciate it. That level of caring and commitment for the property and for their guests make me more than willing to give it another try. After all, it really is a great condo! Thanks, Jack and Dee, for caring enough to contact me by phone to talk about this. It makes a huge difference in how my group will remember our mini-vacation, and that's enough to bump the experience up to excellent!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Darlene,
We are glad we were able to satisfy your concerns and you enjoyed your vacation. When you come back, we'll take care of you, your friends and family.
Dee and Jack

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful property, but...

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

It truly is a great condo, beautifully decorated, and spacious enough for six of us to have our own space or come together for meals and conversation. However, we had problems from the start.

We had planned to watch the Falcons/Saints game as a group, but the larger TV in the family room malfunctioned during the entire visit. Major bummer. It just wasn't the same watching on the small bedroom television, and very uncomfortable trying to fit six people comfortably in one bedroom for that purpose.

Many of the pots and pans were seriously dirty, forcing us to scrub and disinfect before we prepared our meals. The patio had obviously not been swept, for we found not only paper and sand, but leftover crab as well. The little electric grill worked great, but was filled with leftover drippings from previous use. I should mention wonderful fountain on the patio, as well as the two ceiling fans that create a steady breeze. And there's an enchanting stained glass window above the stove. Those were excellent features!

But...none of the clocks seemed to work, the lamp bulb was out in the third bedroom, and the ice dispenser was coated with some grungy white film. We attempted to use the vacuum cleaner, but the HEPA filter was literally clogged with caked dust and fiber so it picked up little. Considering that we paid a cleaning fee of $179, there was too much evidence that only surface cleaning was being done with little attention to detail.

With a bit more care about the guest experience, this could be a fantastic condo, but our overall feeling was that the owners or managers were not concerned about our problems. To some, they may seem minor. To us, we wasted too much of our precious two night stay trying to fix what was wrong. While we will continue to use VRBO, and will definitely return to Tybee, we won't be staying at this property again.

Owners response: Darlene,
It was nice talking with you. We are glad you had a great time and we thank you for bringing your issues with your stay to our attention. Per our discussion, we are happy to provide you with a partial refund to make up for your incoveniences. We are truly sorry about the Comcast issue for the Falcons game. We had one of our technitions work with Comcast from Sunday morning and we are sad that Comcast couldn’t fix the issue with their signal prior to the game starting. We only wish you had notified us about the cleaning concerns, as we would have sent over a cleaning person immediately to take care of it. We are taking steps with the cleaning crew to avoid problems in the future. These are not normal issues with our condo as we take great pride in working hard to make the customer experience great. Again, we appreciate the honest feedback and appreciate you accepting our offer to make things right.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Location

Review submitted: May 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

We chose to stay in Tybee for my daughter's graduation from Georgia Southern. The first few days we would have a crew of 8 people. We found this unit on VRBO.com. I normally always want the ocean view, but this was an excellent compromise. Tucked in the middle of the complex are 6 units in the Gardens, The unit was decorated so nice with a great courtyard with a hot tub that extended the living area. We spent so much time out there. When you walk down the hall to the unit you are deceived, then you open the door and your chin drops!!! Only a few steps to the beach, bar, or restaurant. I give Beach Colony resort an A+++.

Owners response: Joe,
We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your kind words.
Dee and Jack

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A wonderful place to stay!

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

The condo was perfect for us. We have three teenagers and there was plenty of room to spread out and feel at home. Decorations were beautiful and well done, not cheesy and touristy. It is in a great location close to all shops and restaurants. There was a glitch with the management company not calling us back with a minor issue, but it was taken care so quickly. We would definetly stay there again. Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Memorable vacation!

Review submitted: April 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2012

We were thrilled with this vacation place for Spring Break 2012. Kids had plenty of room to spread out to play games, watch TV, sit in the hot tub or the jacuzzi. We played in the ocean, laid on the beach, walked to the Pier, and swam in the pools. My husband enjoyed seeing the dolphins early morning at the north end of the beach. We toured Fort Pulaski (an excellent history lesson), and ate at the Crab Shack. In Savannah, we drove around many of the Squares, toured Bonaventure Cemetery, ate at Screamin' MiMi's Pizza twice and enjoyed the most delicious down-home food at Mrs. Wilkes Dining Room. Wish we could do the whole week again! Thank you for being good to work with in making the arrangements - it was even better than we thought it would be!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Owners response: We are so glad you and your family were thrilled and had a great expereince. Family vacations are all about great memories of special times together.
Dee and Jack

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Our AWESOME stay and vacation!!!!!

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 6, 2011

The condo was magnificent. It was close enough to walk to shops and restaurants without having to worry about parking, plus the on-site restaurant was very tasty too. It was just like the pictures only better. Could not have had better accommodations anywhere else. The high ceilings and the stained glass skylight was gorgeous made me want these in my future home!!!! We stayed with another couple they used the master bedroom (bc the guy is quite larger then we are) so they would have more room while my hubby and I took the queen bedroom. We loved it and the spacious shower. The hot tub was great also, used it every night. This rental was what made part of our trip memorable. Would definitely rent again or recommend to others. Thank You for letting us stay in your beautiful spacious condo!!!! Thanks, The Stfflers

Owners response: We truly appreciate the kind comments and look forward to seeing you again. We work hard to ensure the experience is memorable.
Dee and Jack

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Spring Break 2011 was Fantastic!

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

Wow! Just like the pictures. We were thrilled! Kids loved the hot tub. We loved that we could cook there on the grill or go out to one of many fabulous restaurants (Crab Shack, Fannies on the Beach, Sting Ray's, Huc A Poos). Close enough to Savannah to visit the River shops, take a trolley tour and eat a Paula Deans' "Lady and Sons" and The Pirate House. Great shops on Tybee...We walked the beach to the Pier (only about a mile) and found Fannies on the Beach. Kids loved it. Found several great ice cream shops. Went Kayaking too! We will be back and will hope this unit is available. Loved it!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We couldn't have said it better. Thanks for the kind words. We'll keep working hard to make the experience special for guests.
Dee and Jack

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Beautiful condo!

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

We spent our spring break 3/19/11-3/26/11 at this beautiful condo! Great location ~ walking distance to everything. Bike rentals are a must on Tybee (you can travel the whole island on a bicycle)! Met great people down at the restaurant "Marlin Monroes" (right in the complex)! Would definately recommend this place, words cannot do it justice. Just beautiful! Tybee is the best place to spend a relaxing vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: October 28, 2010   Date of arrival: October 13, 2010

My 4 sisters and I really enjoyed our time in the garden. It lacked nothing! Plenty of space and comfy beds. Clean and well maintained. The Hot tub under the stars was so relaxing!! I believe the days in Tybee must only be 12 hours long as our time there passed much too quickly. We had no time to enjoy the pool! Several restaurants (Sundae Cafe is a MUST!) in walking distance and dolphins greeted us along the beach! Perfect place for a get away. We plan to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks Kata,
We work hard to make our guests' vacation experience memorable. We are so glad you had a great time. We look forward to your return!
Jack and Dee

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

AWESOME

Review submitted: August 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

This property is Very nice!! We went with 4 children and 4 adults and felt it was very comfortable. The bathrooms are huge, the kitchen is good size and the hot tub area was a added ++. It was very clean. We had a fuse blow in the living room area, on a Sunday and it took no time at all for them to come out. The only thing con we had was the size of the pools, they were alot smaller than they appear in the picture.
Savannah was only 20 min away with so much to do there. Great food everywhere. Would recommend the Mellow Mushroom in Savannah, awesome pizza place. We will be going back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review