reviews for: listing #64423 - Tucson, Arizona House rental

Villa Saguaro
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,300 - $1,940 /wk
    $4,420 - $6,596 /mth

sort by:

vacation 2013 from europe

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

Amazing place for quiet vacation.Well-maintained,clean property.Good start for biking and hicking.Include sunrise and sunset.Owner very friendly.We come back.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highly Recommend

Review submitted: January 14, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

We stayed at Villa Saguaro from December 27, 2013 to January 3, 2014 and loved it. We have 7 people in our family: my husband and I, 3 college-age kids, 1 high school-age kid, and 1 middle-school-age kid. We often travel to Tucson from Ohio to visit our daughter who attends the University of Arizona. We were first attracted to Villa Saguaro because it has enough beds for everyone. The house is very comfortable and is also nicely decorated and very well maintained. The house is every bit as beautiful as in the photos. We particularly loved the many balconies and the 2-story feature of the house, which seems to be rare in Tucson. The hot tub and the pool table were a big hit with the kids. We really appreciated the large flat-screen and Direct TV so that the guys in the family could watch all of the New Year's football bowl games. The location of the house is in the foothills, and we were a little concerned at first that it was too far from the University of Arizona, but we found that the 30-min drive was well worth it and very easy. The views of the mountains & foothills around the house are simply amazing. The house is in a very nice neighborhood, but you don't really see any neighbors because each property has 3 acres. The weather was sunny and 72 degrees every day, but take jackets/sweaters because it gets chilly at night. There is also a small lake and nature preserve 1 block from the house, which makes for a very nice walk. Villa Saguaro is our new favorite place to stay in Tucson and we would love to stay there for a month or two if we could. We had hoped to rent the house again in May when my daughter graduates but found that it was already booked. Hopefully we can find another time when it is available. We highly recommend this house. You'll never want to leave.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks a lot for this nice comment!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Treasure in the Desert

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: January 15, 2012

We are a retired couple and our kids and grandchildren come and visit. It is a perfect family home where everyone can get together and not feel cramped. Saguaro is a real treasure. This was our second year staying at the villa. Last year we were there for a month. This year we stayed for two months and have already booked it for next year. I can not say enough good things about the owner Wolfgang and Martina. We have stayed in many vacation rental houses. It is easy to separate a rental house from a home that the owner uses. This is truly a home that the owners have taken a great deal of pride in owning and renovating. Everything is immaculate and the furnishings fit the southwest feel. The house manager Karine is a delightful lady and makes sure the littlest detail is taken care of. Both Karine and Wolfgang are extremely quick to respond to emails. We did notice that one of the guest posted a UTube video of the house. It is listed under Villa Saguaro. I can't imagine that anyone would not enjoy Villa Saguaro.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Simply fantastic!

Review submitted: January 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 10, 2011

In spite of a long journey from Germany I would recommend to live in Villa Saguaro to everyone.
The house offers a lot what invites you to relax: swimming pool, spa, pool billard, many terraces and balconies for enjoying the fantastic views, and - the silence as the villa is out of town and near to the national park. The main background noise was due to the large variety of animals living around ...
The furnishings of the house do not leave any of your wishes open and because of the excellent arranged kitchen and further instructions you get used to there very well.
In the 'kingsizebeds' you can feel yourself like a princess for one week.
Just try it yourself, and you will find you are still thinking of the brilliant Villa Saguaro with its great landlord Wolfgang and landlady Tina even weeks after you left.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Visiting Villa Saguaro

Review submitted: January 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

First i want to say: Thank you for offering your wonderful house in this quiet and beautiful area.
We enjoyed our stay and feeled like beeing home. Often we used the pool billiard or were outside in the garden and looked in the desert with this amazing animals.

Next year we want to come back, because the last time in this area was one of the best trips we ever did !!!

Best regards, Katharina

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Completely Rested

Review submitted: December 30, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

I am an Innkeeper at a Bed & Breakfaat and Banquet Facility & when we travel we are always looking for a place with privacy and lot’s of “quiet” and Villa Saguaro has abundance of both. We loved the grounds and the views. Even though you are in a subdivision setting, you really do not see other homes from your windows—very important to us. My mother in law lives really close to this home and provided she stays in Tucson, we will be back next year.

The manual at the house is important, read it and it will help with all of the 3-way lights. Labeling switches would also help.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wow - what a special home

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

What a wonderful home. We are a active retired couple who have never lived more then a mile from a grocery store in a suburb of Chicago. Camping to us is staying in a Marriott Courtyard. Staying at Villa Saguaro was an absolutely wonderful, perfect experience. The decor is tastefully done and well thought out. It is easy to tell that their is a tremendous pride of ownership. We felt that we were staying in a home and not a house. This was important to us as we were there for longer than a month. Our grown children and grandchild visited us for a period. They felt the same way we did. There was plenty of room for all plus additional guests. The bedrooms are exceedingly comfortable. There is also many activities and museums in Tucson. Walking the neighborhood was very similar to walking the lower elevations of The Saguaro National Park East and Sabino Canyon which are both close to the house. During our stay, Tucson had the coldest 2 days in there history. The gas company cut off the gas to 11,000 homes including Villa Saguaro. The water pipes also froze in thousands of those homes. Both Wolfgang (the owner) and Karine (the rental agent) showed incredible concern for our comfort. They offered us temporary accommodations. We really did not need it as the home is insulated with well made new windows. The water was repaired the same day. Karine made sure of it. The gas we had to wait a few days, as the gas company had to call in emergency teams from other states. We really can not say enough about Villa Saguaro and our experience. It is easy to sum it up. We are reserving for two months in 2012.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Get away from the city

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

Comfortable home north of the Saguaro National Park East Side. Quiet setting away from the noise and congestion of the city. The home is set on several acres with a lake down the street and is very peaceful. Great home to get away and relax.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Such a great place!

Review submitted: April 7, 2010   Date of arrival: March 30, 2010

This property is wonderful!
Located on the East side of town far enough to guaranty quietness and privacy, close enough to shopping centers , it offers many amenities: great solar heated pool and spa, outdoor BBQ and fireplace for cooler evenings, beautiful views on mountains and desert landscaping, indoor poltable, comfortable new beddings, all kitchen utensiles for good cooks, etc etc...
You'll enjoy hiking, biking, wild life and bird watching: everything is close by!
Dealing with these nice owners is quite easy!
I highly recommend this home for families, bikers, hikers, and simply Nature Lovers!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

very nice

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: January 23, 2010

This is a great spot for those who like to have a refuge outside the action of the city. This was our first visit to the Tucson area and we were looking more for the "desert" experience. The house and yard are set very naturally and beautifully in the foothills east of the city. I saw a small bobcat, a javelina (looks like a wild pig), rabbits, and many different birds-- not to mention a lot of vegetation including hundreds of the majestic saguaros from the house. It was pretty amazing for us coming from Mass. and our son and his wife from Minneapolis.
There is a beautiful, but long, curving stairway to the second floor where the bedrooms are located. That might be a problem for those with limited mobility. In addition, those with small children should be aware that the pool does not have a separate fence inside the yard.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for this nice comment. We would like to mention that the pool does have a separate fence inside the yard - you may have not seen it, obviously. Meanwhile we mounted the child security fence, took some photographs, and we will add a section about it in the property 'manual'.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review