reviews for: listing #64426 - Annapolis, Maryland Cottage rental

The Yellow Cottage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $225 /nt

sort by:

The best things come in small packages

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

On a perfect autumn weekend, we arrived at The Yellow Cottage for nothing more than rest and relaxation. This cottage offers everything one needs. Views, quiet, space, comfy rooms, great location, a charming kitchen and Kayaks!
We live close enough to come back for a winter weekend, or a week in the summer and we will surely do both. The owner has created a perfectly charming home in which you most certainly are made to feel like a very special guest.
Leslie, William, Sherman and Nancy

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Charming cottage

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2012

In reviewing my experience at the Yellow Cottage, I can honestly say that, in a word, it was perfect! Rhonda was an exceptional hostess, the cottage was spotless, the setting ideal and we completely fell in love with Annapolis! As for restaurants, I highly recommend Mike's, Cafe Normandie, and the Red Red Wine Bar. The Ram's Head Brew Pub is also a can't miss - especially at Happy Hour! The activities we thoroughly enjoyed and recommend include a visit to the Naval Academy, taking a sailing tour on the Woodwind, kayaking on the river and, of course, watching the firefly's dancing at night!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Christmas Stay at Yellow Cottage

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

Three of us stayed at the yellow Cottage over Xmas. The cottage looks really small from the road but is in fact very spacious. The cottage is beautifully furnished and decorated and the beds are really comfortable. There is a great TV and excellent Wi-Fi. We felt cozy and warm and had a great time preparing our Christmas day dinner in the kitchen. It was a very easy drive into Annapolis in less than 10 minutes. Even the weather was kind to us and we look forward to returning in the summer when we can really enjoy the access to the water and the beautiful surrounding area

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place!

Review submitted: December 29, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

The yellow cottage was truly a great place to stay. We came in October, and the weather was perfect. The cottage was clean and fresh, exactly like the pictures. We had a very lovely writer's retreat with 7 of us (it's extra for more than 6). We def got a lot of writing done! And Rhonda was very easy to get in touch with. She was reachable before the trip and during, very easy going and accommodating. We enjoyed ourselves and hope to return!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Writers

Review submitted: December 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

The Yellow Cottage: where inspiration happens! We enjoyed our stay . We're leaving with fresh ideas and a renewed purpose for the art and craft of writing.We hope to return again. God really met us here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bridal Shower

Review submitted: December 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Thank you so much for letting us use your cottage for my daughter's bridal shower! It was the perfect setting and all of the guests really enjoyed it. We appreciate all of your help and all of the items that you loaned us. We hope that we can come back again and use it for a more relaxing visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Hospitality

Review submitted: December 11, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

The Cottage was just perfect and exceeded our expectations many times over. The kayaks were great fun and a nice change from ocean kayaking in Hawaii. Our son really enjoyed his swim camp at the Naval Academy and we really fell in love with Annapolis. Hopefully we will be coming back next year, so we will get our reservation in early! Aloha and Mahalo

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic place to stay!

Review submitted: July 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

This was the best place to stay for a relaxing, fun-filled vacation. The cottage was charming, well-maintained, extremely clean and the hospitality was excellent. It was a steal in price for all that was available and the number of people that we had staying. We will recommend it to family and friends. We are also hoping to get back there for some more great times at The Yellow Cottage!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The Yellow Cottage

Review submitted: June 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

Our recent stay at "The Yellow Cottage" was an awesome experience. We spent a week there while our son was at the Navy Academy. Surprisingly bigger than the photos show. Very homey and the decor was very tastefully done, bright colors and cheerful. We arrived to fresh cut flowers on the table and a fresh fruit bowl on the kitchen table. We really enjoyed all the flowers around the grounds and the dock at the creek. Had my morning Coffee outside on the dock and enjoyed evenings sitting by the water. It was serene and peaceful. Downtown and the Naval Academy is only minutes away and Rhonda was so helpful planning our trips. She was always available for any questions or a friendly chat. There were Kayaks available to us and you can Fish off the dock. After sightseeing busy Washington D.C. for the day coming back to the cottage to its beauty and peacefulness was very welcoming and relaxing! We will definitely return to this place and we highly recommend it to anyone. Definitely 5 stars........

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Felt Like Home

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

Not even snow and ice could conceal the warmth and comfort that the little yellow cottage provided us with during our stay. After long days of yoga it was truly a gift to be able to come to a place that felt like home! The kitchen had everything we needed to cook lovely meals. Even though we couldn't go outside to enjoy the sunrise, we enjoyed sitting in those big, comfy chairs and gazing out while we ate our breakfast. We will definitely be back when our teacher comes back to Annapolis! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Cottage

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

Totally delightful and a very pleasant surprise. We have stayed in a great many weekend rentals but never one so nice. Everything was first class all the way, it could not have been better. We will be back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Winter Getaway

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

Thank you so much for everything! We had a wonderful time and will definitely be back. We spent more time at the little yellow cottage than we had planned to. By far the best vacation rental we have ever stayed at. See you again soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Special Place

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: September 12, 2010

What a great week we had at the cottage. You truly made our visit feel like home. It started every morning with coffee and the views, which were great! Being able to relax here after long days was wonderful. The cottage is so close to everything, even drove to Philli for the day. Thanks for making us so "comfy" and "welcomed"! Will be back soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Spotless, beautiful, and hospitable

Review submitted: July 4, 2010   Date of arrival: June 9, 2010

We were thrilled with The Yellow Cottage where we spent a week in early June. The cottage is immaculate, bright and cheerful, a very workable kitchen, space enough for the three of us to spread out and not be under each others' feet. The decorating is charming and "fits" the cottage. The owner lives next door and is attentive while maintaining appropriate boundaries. Each morning we had coffee on the dock and watched the osprey soar and fish. We rented kayaks from the county park across Harness Creek, walked in the park, went to an outdoor theater, had crabs along the East Shore, and visited the historic buildings of Annapolis and the Naval Accademy.
We highly recommend a stay at The Yellow Cottage. We plan to stay again when we are in the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Quick Getaway

Review submitted: June 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

I chose the Yellow Cottage for an annual getaway for a group of 5 guys in our mid-twenties. Located in Annapolis, it was a very short drive from DC. We pulled into the cabin to be greeted by the pleasant owner of the property who checked if there was anything else we required to ensure a wonderful stay. The cabin contains an excellent kitchen, two well appointed bedrooms, and a great living room for hanging out (and of course a bathroom). After relaxing on the lawn overlooking the lake, we took a short drive into down for an amazing crab feast at Cantler's and a sampling of the charming Annapolis downtown bars and shops, we headed back to our cabin. There we stayed up late into the night talking about old times and enjoying each others company. After a quick breakfast and coffee in the morning, we ended our (too) short getaway.

I recommend this cabin to anyone looking to explore Annapolis or just take a few nights off from living in the city.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Girlfriends Getaway

Review submitted: June 3, 2010   Date of arrival: May 21, 2010

"My friends and I stayed at the Yellow Cottage for a girlfriends getaway weekend. It was fabulous! The location is so peaceful, tucked quietly away on Harness Creek, but so convenient to downtown Annapolis. We had the best of both worlds: we were able to relax and stay in, enjoying wine and appetizers by the water, but we also got to go out in fun downtown Annapolis, which is a very short cab ride away.

The decor inside is sooo cute! It's modern yet homey. Everything is very clean and neat. We loved staying at the Yellow Cottage. And the owner is a pleasure to work with. We will definitely be back for years to come :-)"

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review