reviews for: listing #6458 - St George Island, Florida Cottage rental

cozy bayfront cottage across bridge from St. George
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $625 - $725 /wk
    $1,350 - $1,395 /mth

sort by:

Cozy bayfront cottage across bridge from St. Georg

Review submitted: December 21, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

Six girlfriends, my little Boston Terrier and I stayed here October 2007. The cottage was sparkling clean, well maintained and comfortably furnished, even though our number was slightly over the actual capacity. (The hide-a-bed mattress is not the most comfortable, but the couch itself sleeps great.)
The cottage is almost literally right across the bridge, very convenient to St. George Island, and reasonably convenient to stores, shopping, etc. Directly across the street is a restaurant where we enjoyed our first lunch, and others are within an easy drive. Our purpose was to get away, and this cottage was perfect. We planned most of our meals in, and the kitchen was adequately furnished. There were plenty of sheets and towels although we went through enough to have to do some washing in the machines at the cottage. We had not brought toilet paper, paper towels or hand soap so had to share a roll the first night, but bought our own when we did our grocery shopping. The yard was partially fenced in, so not a place for an active dog unattended, but was fine and more than large enough for my little old lady. The view of the ocean and night sky is breathtaking, and the owners are as nice people as one can over hope to do business with. I would happily recommend this property to a friend or return their myself.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 50 / 50

 

Cozy Cottage with Great Bay Views

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the cottage for two weeks, the cottage was great, very clean, quiet, and well stocked with everything you need to just bring your luggage and clothes. Cottage has a great view of the bay, with alot of fishing in area, great yard and grill area. Our pug loved the cottage felt like home. Minutes from Bay Side Burger, great place to eat. Aaron was great to work with, we would recommend property to friends and family.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

What a dissappointment!

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 26, 2011

There is nothing CUTE about this cottage!. We pulled up at night and could not see anything, and not ever been in the area thought we were on St. George Island which we thought we rented. When the ad says right across the bridge, they forget to tell you the bridge is 4 miles long!
The yard at the "cottage was overgrown with weeds, the furniture was old. The pots and pans in the kitchen were older than the furniture.. We could not get the dvd player to work, but, the owner did take a little money off the rent for that.. The area across the busy road had a junky overgrown strip of land that I guess was called a beach, but we never walked to it. I didn't want to get full of pickers!
Go somewhere else! For another $100.00 you might not get right on the beach of St. George Island, but you will get on the island. I guess you have to know how to really read between the lines for a VBRO rental!
We left 2 days early! YUK!

Owners response: Not once did the renters contact us with concern, and we talked with them several times. I knew they were upset because they had rented movies and the dvd player (only 3 months old) did not work. Being New Year's Eve, we were unable to get another one for them but lowered the rent over $100 and offered to pay for the movies. I didn't realize they were going to take it out on us. They said they were leaving early because we were going to have freezing weather, which we did. If you will check out the other reviews on homeaway or vacation rentals you will see that all five reviews were rated a five (5). We take alot of pride in our properties. I realize this is an older cottage (across the bridge from St. George), but it's clean and neat. And, we've been told the best for your money.

Helpful votes: 11 / 15

 

Eastpoint Vacation

Review submitted: April 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

My husband and I rented this pretty house for a week. Our stay was fantastic!
We had everything we needed to just move right in right down to the bathroom tissue!
The bay is right across the road with a place to sit and watch the oystermen come and go. The owner of the house, Jeanne was so friendly and she kept in contact with us until we moved down helping us to get familiar with the area before we came. The house was spotless and there were ceiling fans in every room. The best part of it all is that she accepted our two little dogs with no questions asked. We felt safe enough in Eastpoint to leave them crated while we enjoyed ourself with no worries. She even recommended a vet close by just in case. We always picked up after our girls and disposed of it. That's the least we could do in appreciation of Jeanne accepting our girls. Can't wait till next vacation.
Thank you Jeannie for a wonderful stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Affordable accommodations close to great beaches

Review submitted: August 4, 2009   Date of arrival: July 21, 2009

This simple but clean and nicely furnished cottage provided great accommodations for our famiy of six, plus our dog. Some things had obviously been updated recently (couch and chair; kitchen table, dishes) but the mattresses need replacement. Otherwise, everything was in good condition.
The owner was easy to communicate with both before and during our stay, and lived in the same town.

St. George Island is 10 minutes away and has a great public beach with a playground. Dog friendly beach.

The neighborhood has a lot of dogs, which I didn't mind except when I tried to go for a run and they weren't tied up
.
The area was beautiul and not touristy -- a lot of commercial fishing -- and we caught glimpses of dolphins, crabs, etc. There was one kid attraction in town -- with mini golf and bumper boats. Grocery stores nearby -- one within walking distance.

Appalachiocola is 10 minutes across a different bridge, with shops and more amenities.

I would definitely recommend this cottage for a family on a budget who wants close access to the beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

NICE FOR THE PRICE

Review submitted: May 16, 2008   Date of arrival: May 4, 2008

I would gladly recommend this cottage for any of you that dont want the average beach traffic with lots of tourists. Very close to the bridge to st.george island.Beautiful white sand with blue water .Plenty to eat in all kinds of setting's.Nice ,clean house fully suppled with towels ,cookware all that you need.Will use them again in the future.Might check out there other houses they have in Carabella ,St George Island ,or maybe the Lake house . Thanks from tn.Pet friendly too.Ask my australian sheperd Maggie May

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 26 / 26

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review