reviews for: listing #6465 - Amelia Island, Florida Condo rental

Amelia Island Oceanfront Getaway
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Amelia Surf and Racquet Club
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $135 - $180 /nt
    $750 - $1,100 /wk

sort by:

The Real Deal!

Review submitted: January 19, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

We are currently staying at the rental condo and despite it being mid trip, felt compelled to write a review! This place is heavenly. We flew into Jacksonville and it was a quick and easy car ride to get here. We love the oak-lined canopy road that you drive through to get to the complex. The complex itself is located in an ideal location, right on the beach, next to the Ritz, very safe and secure. The apartment was spotless upon our arrival. It is spacious, comfortably furnished, and has the BEST view of the dunes and ocean. We enjoy watching for dolphins and pelicans and listening to the waves crash on the beach. The bed is huge and very comfortable! If you come, be sure to take the two hour Amelia River Cruise, you will not be disappointed! We saw dolphins, wild horses, raccoon on the beach, egrets, herons and more! The history and commentary was an added plus. Also, stop by the Pecan Roll bakery for the best baked goods we have ever had (and we have eaten pastries throughout Italy!). We also highly recommend Jack and Diane's (located in downtown historic Fernandina)- it is a cute, casual but cultured restaurant with GREAT food!!! That's all for now. Back to sitting on the lovely balcony enjoying the ocean view, a walk on Talbot beach later, and perhaps Fort Clinch, and more good local eats! We love it here, and will certainly be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Chicago girl

Review submitted: October 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 19, 2013

I loved everything about this condo and Amela Island. It is situated on the south end of the island down a road covered with a beautiful canopy of trees. The condo looks even better in real life and is nicely decorated with many beachy touches. Very clean and the bed is exceptionally comfortable. The balcony is great because not only is it a direct ocean view but also is very private. The ocean is close and the walk there is pleasant; past the nice little pool on a wooden walkway through well manicured gardens and over dunes. The beach is not too crowded and there are seashells, pelicans and porpoises to watch. We even got to see a newly hatched turtle make it's way to the water! Very small and so amazing to see it go right into the ocean. Fun things to do are the Museum of History since Amelia Island is rich in that area and also Fort Clinch. There is a wonderful town area with shops, restaurants and bars where I heard some really good local musicians. These are in historical buildings and there are also beautiful turn of the century Victorian Houses. I liked the local "Parkway Grill" which is close by the condo as well as a really good grocery store. The Tastee Burger is good and you can also buy fesh seafood in town to cook yourself. Beware of the Pecan Roll Bakery! It is devastatingly good and you will keep going back. It seems there are many good restaurnts but I was pretty exhausted from work when I arrived so the condo was the perfect place to unwind; it was quiet with beautiful ocean views fom both rooms and the people I met there and in town were very friendly. The owners are very nice and call you back right away if you need to understand how to work something. Ths is a fabulous area to visit and a wonderfully low key condo complex in which to unwind. I highly recommend it! There is a lot to do but I was happy to keep it simple. When I return I hope to check out kayaking/birding in some of the natural waterways.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our August 2013 stay.....

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

This condo was as advertised & commented on by other guests: clean, comfortable, just right for a couple. Nice, clean pool. A solid choice for any couple looking for a quiet, laid-back time on the beach, just relaxing.

We did horseback riding on the beach @ Kelly Ranch, located on south end of island, in the state park. And our best meal was at The Crab Trap, on 2nd Street N in Fernandino; decent amount of good food for the money, great service & atmosphere. Also liked 29 South Eats (gourmet) & Sliders Grill.

We would definitely return to this condo if Amelia is in our future vacation plans.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for renting from us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate your comments.

Amelia Island is a wonderful vacation spot. We hope you return soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great condo

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: April 10, 2013

What a great condo - fabulous view, comfortable and it had everything we needed. We so enjoyed our meals on the balcony. Loved our quiet time at the beach. Hope to be back soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Jim & Donna

Review submitted: October 6, 2012   Date of arrival: September 12, 2012

This is our fourth time staying in this condo. It is always clean and has everything we need. We love sitting on the balcony in the morning and having our coffee. Sometimes we see turtles climbing across the dunes and dolphins and shrimpboats in the ocean. The landscaping around the condo is beautiful and the beach is wonderful. It's great for swimming, walking or just relaxing with our books. We love Amelia Island and it has become our favorite place to vacation. There are so many good restaurants and fun activities. We went kayaking for the first time and loved it! Madeling and Tony are very easy to work with and their condo has become our home away from home! We would highly recommend it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

surf&racket club

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

This condo was exactly as discribed, nice,clean updated,beautiful view of the ocean,beach,pool. Sit on the balcony and have coffee and watch the sun rise in feb. wow. The condo is very quiet with mostly older people not teenagers. It is a small old town, very layed back and not fast paced, with some very good resturants and shopping. Tony and Madeline were a pleasure to deal with and very helpfull. thanks so much Jim

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

surf & racquet club condo

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

This place was exactly as discribed, very nice,clean,updated, with a view of the ocean,beach,pool. Sit on the deck and have coffee,and watch the sun rise,in feb. wow. Everyone there was very nice, it is a small old town with some very good resturants, and shopping. Every thing was slow paced nothing like a bigger city. The condo was very quiet, with older people there, not a bunch of teenagers. Tony and madiline were a pleasure to deal with, and very helpfull

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My favorite place

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 20, 2010

I've been renting this condo for many years, almost every year, and cannot say enough nice things about it. The view and location are unbeatable, and the condo is very comfortable. Other than not permitting pets (which isn't the owners' fault--the complex forbids them), I think this place is perfect.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 15, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2010

Five beautiful days of soul restoring relaxation. Love Amelia Island.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 15, 2010   Date of arrival: September 14, 2010

We had the best time at your condo. I was looking for the perfect place to ask my girlfriend to marry me and in front of the living room window with the morning light and spectacular view turned out to be the perfect spot. The area and the beach is very peaceful and beautiful. We shared a very special moment in our relationship here and hope to return together for many years to come.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 15, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

It was our first trip to Amelia Island. We loved the beach, waves and the condo. Thanks for letting us stay here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 15, 2010   Date of arrival: June 28, 2010

The view is awesome. We love Amelia Island and this is our second trip here. We've found a favorite place in God's world to enjoy, relax, and regather ourselves after a very recent wedding. We love walking on the beach and the beautiful, beautiful ocean to enjoy. We love the condo. Love the sun rising in the am time of each day.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 15, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

Still coming to Amelia - fifty six years now and have enjoyed every visit. Things have changed quite a bit - but still the same in a lot of ways. New restaurant Merge at 8th St and Elm is a very good place to dine. Great three day get away. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 15, 2010   Date of arrival: June 17, 2010

It is lovely here. My family enjoyed the state immeasurable. I found inspiration to complete a song entitled "Mermaid's Dream. Hope to visit again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 15, 2010   Date of arrival: June 1, 2010

Thank you so much for the use of your condo. We were here on our honeymoon and had the most wonderful time. So sad to leave. We will be back next year. Such a beautiful place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 15, 2010   Date of arrival: May 17, 2010

We absolutely love the condo. Thank you so much for letting us stay here. This is the most relaxing vacation spot. We hope tocome here many more times. The cali king is way comfortable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 15, 2010   Date of arrival: May 20, 2010

Thanks soooo much for letting us come down for an escape from all the youngins. It was great relaxing on the beach.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 15, 2010   Date of arrival: November 15, 2009

The view is spectacular! Thank you for allowing us to stay in your condo. We had a great time - very relaxing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 15, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2009

We had a great time! Your condo is really nice and we would love to stay here again in the near future. We loved the view from the balcony and enjoyed having our coffee there in the morning and watching the dolphins! Thanks for letting us stay & we will be in touch again, i"m sure.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 15, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2009

We had a much needed rest and lots of relaxation at your lovely condo. We walked on the beach every day and enjoyed finding fun local places to eat and shop. Unbelievable weather. God Bless.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 15, 2010   Date of arrival: July 16, 2009

Our stay was excellent - the condo is perfect. Thanks so muchj!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 15, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2009

Great place! Beautiful weather! Wonderful stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 15, 2010   Date of arrival: June 15, 2010

Thank you so much for letting us stay at your wonderful condo. We love the area, the view, and the pool. We couldn't have asked for a better vacation. Your place is just perfect. We will be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 15, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2009

GREAT place, GREAT time. Although our stay was short, it was wonderful. Thanks for sharing your wonderful condo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 15, 2010   Date of arrival: May 23, 2009

Thank you so much for the use of your condo these past 2 weeks. The view of the ocean is spectacular, whatever the weather! Had a great time and hope to come back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review