reviews for: listing #64651 - Bahamas, Caribbean Cottage rental

Ocean Dreams Beach Cottage (Spanish Wells, Bahamas)
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Spanish Wells,Eleuth
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $275 - $325 /nt
    $1,500 - $1,800 /wk
    $4,500 - $6,000 /mth

sort by:

Million dollar views with affordable family price tag!

Review submitted: November 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

We spent last Spring Break at Ocean Dreams and have been dreaming about it ever since! We had such a unique and special trip for our first time to the Bahamas and could not have enjoyed the property more. My husband and I traveled with two teenagers and a ten year old.

Pros: The privacy of the house. You have a 360 up close water view all to yourself. The pink sand is right there with NOTHING obstructing your view. The sand is soft and the water is as blue as any you will ever see. It is that amazing! Unfortunately, it was a bit windy when we were there so we were disappointed in the snorkeling. We were told that the snorkeling about a half mile out at the Devil's Backbone would be good, but it was too vast and windy to see much. The good news is that in that same spot the fishing was great (we rented Jody's little boat for the week) and we had fresh snapper every night!

Other pros include the cleanliness of the house and the sleeping quarters. Great layout and everyone was comfortable. We all loved the use of the golf cart.

The biggest pro is probably the hospitality of the Pinders. Jody and Tara did everything they could to make us feel at home. And we really did. Tara had a pan of lobster tails awaiting us upon arrival. Loved talking to Jody about lobster fishing. They even invited us to church on Easter Sunday and we felt like we were visiting friends with hugs from all and invitations to the kids to youth group!

Since this is a review, I will mention the cons but they didn't really overly bother us, but it might be nice to know: this house is listed as new and it is no longer in "new" condition. It is right on the water so I am sure the salt air ages things rapidly. The pots and pans, etc. looked like they had been well-used. The washing machine broke while we were there and flooded the house. (Jody responded promptly.) The living quarters of the house is spare. So if you have plans on hanging out together as a family it is a little tight inside. In warmer weather that would be fine as the deck is expansive and perfect, but the evenings were chilly when we were there.

We loved Spanish Wells and thought Ocean Dreams was perhaps the best property there. Don't hesitate to rent this property.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Sorry about pots and pans salt air does take a toll on the stuff. We are currently replacing all pots pans and flatware. Our goal is to provide the very best service and environment on the island. We do whatever we can to ensure our guest stay is a perfect one. We have no control over the weather. Sorry once again! Jody and Tara

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

On a scale of 1 to 10, Ocean Dreams is.....

Review submitted: May 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

...13!
This is a wonderful house and everything on the website is true, but what makes this place so very special is the owner and the people of SW. Tara is so hospitable that we feel we have been friends forever. The evenings we sat by the ocean and chatted with her are amongst our best memories. There is nothing she and her family won't do to make your stay enjoyable. Every few days Tara would wheel into the driveway with a plate of lobster tails or some other delicacy...and, let me say, the cooks on SW are very talented! We were introduced to her friends and we loved meeting the members of her older daughter's senior class.
If you want 5-star restaurants, fancy hotels and golf courses Spanish Wells is not for you. If you want to briefly integrate into a community of intelligent, friendly and competent people it is for you.
We will be renting the house every March for the forseeable future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Vacation of a lifetime

Review submitted: September 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 5, 2012

Wow! What else do I need to say. This was the most amazing vacation we have ever taken. The setting was exactly as described and Tara was most accommodating. Anything we needed she was there for us. We were looking to get away from everything and that is exactly what we did, all week. Everyone on the island made us feel like family. The home was perfect, very clean and well stocked. The views breathtaking. We are planning to make this an annual trip. Thanks Jody, Tara, Kayston, Kerigan and Kalison for making us feel at home and sharing you lovely home with us. See you next year! Randy & Kathy Norris Lake, TN

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Family vacation

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Ocean Dreams Cottage for a family vacation the first week of July, for a wonderful and relaxing family vacation. We visited with our twin four year old daughters and my parents. If you arrive via the the airport recommend setting up the transfers for a seamless transition, we were met by a van taken to the ferry landing, Jody and Tarra (owners of the house) met us at the ferry landing in Spanish Wells and got us and all our luggage to the house and settled us in and oriented us to the house beach and town very well. Tarra had prepared a tray of split tail lobster for our first dinner. They were perfect hosts giving you the space you want and prompt attention if you needed any help or information. The house is very comfortable the pictures and previous reviews give you a very accurate description of what to expect. The beach is out of this world (isn’t that why you want to travel there.) The water temperature was in the high 80s F, the reef off shore keeps the water calm. This is a big factor in our selection of a vacation place with two new 4 year old swimmers and proved perfect for them. If we saw five other people on this three mile stretch of beach during the days it was a busy day, you have the beach to yourself. They learned to snorkel, there was a great diversity of fish right at the beach in from t of the house, the girls loved looking at live conches and we even had two wild dolphins swim two yards from us one day. The town was fun to explore (highly recommend getting the golf cart) , people have craft shops they run out of there garages (for example sea shell shops and craft stores.) Everyone was very friendly and helpful. After a day a t the beach and after dinner it was fun to take the golf cart to Papa Scoops for a soft serve ice cream. Beware sizing of slushies and ice cream, the medium is a mongo huge size at all locations. We self catered most of our meals, we brought with us some steaks, chicken, cereal etc. The grocery stores as well stocked but pricess are higher than in the US. Also not the stores are closed on Sunday and milk soon runs out when it arrives at the stores. As we were arriving on a Sunday Jody was happy to pick up a load of groceries for us to it would be at the house for us. We did make a daily trek to the bakery on the island to pick up jonney cakes (yumm). We also swung by the fish processing plant’s store and got some mahi and stone crab claws that made for an excellent dinn

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderfully secluded!

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

This cottage is an absolute dollhouse! Our family stayed there April 7 – 14th. From the first point of contact in making the reservation up until we departed Jody and Tara made our vacation in the Bahamas a pleasant and stress-free experience. They answered all our e-mails and phone calls promptly, arranged for taxi service, and even called to let us know which church on the island was having Easter Sunrise services.

This couple takes great pride in being able to provide comfortable, affordable accommodations in a paradise-like setting. The property description and amenities are accurately advertised on this website. The cottage was very clean, well-equipped and well-maintained. We packed fewer clothes because of the convenience of having a washer and dryer on site. We do not have international cell phone coverage so the long distance service to the U.S. meant relatives back home were a phone call away. Also, the Wi-Fi connection allowed us quick, easy access to the internet on our laptop computer. The bicycles and golf cart enabled us to explore the community, shops and nearby Russell Island.

The surrounding property is landscaped with a variety of lush, native tropical plants and following the pathway in the backyard through the woods is well worth the short walk. If you kayak over to Pierre Rock you will not be disappointed. The water is teaming with a variety of marine life which we photographed on our underwater camera. Be careful though as the terrain on Pierre Rock is quite rocky and will challenge the most surefooted.

If you are looking for a secluded beachfront cottage this property is for you. The shallow pristine waters here are especially great for young children making it an ideal destination for families. Even those who don’t care for the sand or beach can still take in the beautiful views without ever leaving the deck. Travelers seeking the glitz of fancy resorts and night life will be very disappointed here. Spanish Wells is a charming and quaint community where the locals lead a very quiet and simple lifestyle. We are grateful Jody and Tara are willing to share their adorable cottage with the million dollar views and we can’t wait to return to St. George’s Cay and Spanish Wells for another family vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfection!

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

Absolutely the very best holiday ever! We took our children(aged 2 and 3 years) to Spanish Wells last week and could not have imagined a more perfect setting. Oceans Dream is the best located home on the island. We spent lazy days on what felt like our own private beach, swimming in the shallow, calm, magnificent blue ocean. We used the Kayaks provided free of charge by the hosts to explore the nearby beaches and Tara even brought over snorkel equipment when we asked for it. We discovered all of Spanish Wells and Russel island(attached to Spanish Wells by bridge) with the golf cart provided for a well worth $250. Evenings we BBQ'ed lobster and fish that we bought from the harbour seafood shop while watching the sunset from our deck. The local grocery store has more than enough variety to supply whatever you may need. There are a few restaurants/snack bars on the island, but after trying it once we realized that nothing comes close to BBQ'ing fresh seafood oceanfront. There aren't any bars so purchase any alcoholic beverages at the dock on Eleuthera before taking the water taxi to Spanish Wells. They had our favourite wine there, South African KWV. Tara met us at Spanish Wells harbour when we arrived, escorted us to the cottage where lobster supper was already cooked(bliss after 3 flights and a water taxi all with 2 toddlers). She did the same when we had to leave which helped tremendously as the 4 of us and our luggage would not have fit on one golf cart. We always felt safe knowing that whatever we needed, Tara was a phone call away. The weather was around 27degrees with a constant breeze day and night(March).

The only thing we will do differently when we go back(and we will go back) is to take the ferry(bahamasferries.com) directly from Nassau to Spanish Wells. I would not recommend the Southern Air charter we took from Nassau to Eleathera to a nervous flyer. If you're adventurous that way then go ahead as it is beautiful!

Thank you Tara and Jody for a perfect week, we certainly have recommended Oceans Dream to all our friends and hope that via this review we'll encourage other families to experience your paradise.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Island Vacation

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 24, 2011

We are so tardy in writing to thank our wonderful hosts Jody and Tara for an absolutely perfect vacation. My husband and I rented this charming beachfront home in May to celebrate our anniversary. From the moment we arrived, we felt welcomed to this special house. Jody and Tara picked us up at the dock and there was a delicious lobster salad waiting for two hungry travelers. The house is immaculate and positioned on a very secluded stretch of beach- we felt like we had a private waterfront beach all to ourselves. We rented a boat from Jody and he was kind enough to take us out the first day and show us the waters. After that, we fished every day and caught tons of fish for lunch and dinner. We rented a golf cart to get around the island, but really preferred going by boat whenever possible. Make sure to visit the local supermarket and look for the shelf with local sweet potato bread and other delights made by local residents. Also mangos from local trees. We slept like babies with the upstairs door open so we could hear the ocean and take advantage of the breeze. My husband is still talking about this trip as "The best ever". So relaxing, the locals are wonderful and friendly and it feels very safe. Not your tourist oriented trip. Would return in a heartbeat!! Thank you, thank you Tara and Jody for your exceptional hospitality.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Perfect home away from home

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

We traveled with 4 women and 2 children and this house was PERFECT! The kids loved the bunk beds and everyone else was very comfortable. One bedroom was on the main floor which was perfect for Grandma. The house was clean and well stocked. The grocery was a short drive away. The water off the beach was shallow and very calm. We enjoyed the kayak, but did not attempt the wind sail. Jodi and Tara gave us a warm welcome and we really loved the island. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. I have recommended this home to all my co-workers. We can't wait to visit again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise Found

Review submitted: April 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

My family of 4 just returned from 5 nights at this most incredible location. Jody and Tara are wonderful hosts that make you feel like family right from the start. Spanish Wells is an island gem and Oceans Dream beach house is the getaway of getaways. The house is RIGHT ON THE BEACH an endless white-pink sand beach surrounded by crystal blue waters. Naps while being warmed by the sun and cooled with ocean breezes, lazy walks, sea kayaking, indulgent dinners of seafood and easy swims were our daily agenda. We had fires on the beach at night and just relaxed constantly.

Ocean Dreams is a beautiful, clean, tastefully appointed home with all the comforts a person needs to just kick back and completely de-stress in one of the most beautiful places on earth.

Spanish Wells has only a few shops, resteraunts and no bars..this is a place to go and be one with nature and relax, there is a fine supermarket and fresh fish store at the marina. We got around the island by golf cart, we spoke to many very friendly locals and we cooked for ourselves and only bought take out once but we ate the best seafood every night that we prepared at "home". Jody and Tara have a kitchen that is well equipped for home cooking..ask Jody about getting some stone crab claws!! I can't wait to go back someday. It is a a very special place and I highly recommend it to anyone that needs to just turn the rest of the world off for awhile.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Better than a dream!

Review submitted: April 1, 2011   Date of arrival: March 1, 2011

Hello dear Tara and Jody and thank you for the best vacation of our lives! Your house is absolutely a dream, and we all decided we want to come back as soon as possible!

We loved everything about our stay in Spanish Wells, and I can truly tell it is the most fantastic place I ever have visited, and I actually have travelled extensively and seen very many places on the earth!
Warm greetings from cold Norway,
Brynjulf Barexstein + family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: December 12, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

My husband, brother and I stayed for 7 days in November and had the most relaxing vacation. Jody and Tara are excellent hosts and made sure we had everything we needed. We were welcomed at the dock and taken to the cutest house on the island! Tara welcomed us with cinamon muffins and wonderful lobster. We spent our days walking the beach and shell collecting, fishing and riding around the island. Although we rented a boat, we only used it a few days because it was so windy and we weren't quite sure on tides. Not much to do here except relax The house has everything you need and is very clean. I would recommend this warm, beautiful cottage for families our couples. Thanks Tara and Jody!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome Getaway

Review submitted: May 29, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2010

My family and I just spent the most relaxing week in May at this beautiful vacation spot. When we arrived we were all exhausted after taking three planes a van a boat and a golf cart. We were so suprised when we pulled up the house was so inviting and when we walked in everything was so clean and dinner which consisted of stuffed lobster and rice was waiting on the stove. The beach was all ours and my three year old grandson loved the clean, calm water. This is the perfect place if you are totally into just being in the water and relaxing. The owners Jodi and Tara are wonderful people. Thanks again for a "perfect trip" "The Long's" May 2010

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Peaceful and Beautiful Place-HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Review submitted: May 3, 2010   Date of arrival: April 19, 2010

We stayed at Ocean Dreams in April 2010 for a week. The home itself is well-appointed and very comfortable, it is also beautifully sited on an incredibly gorgeous beach. Spanish Wells is a wonderfully remote location that still has all the amenities you need--a good supermarket, restaurants, etc. The owners of this home are incredibly helpful and kind people who will make you feel right at home. Pack some champagne and enjoy your own private beach!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A wonderful place to fly fish for bonefish and relax

Review submitted: April 24, 2010   Date of arrival: April 11, 2010

My wife and I spent 8 days at this wonderful beachfront house to flyfish and relax. Even with difficult (steady 20+ knot winds) we caught fish. We ate fresh fish every night that we caught (grouper, snapper, jacks) and also managed to hook 19 and land 13 bonefish. You can catch bonefish literally 30 yard from the deck. The island has flats on 3 of its four sides -- all of them hve bonefish on them. Furthermore, you can take a boat or kayak to other flats not reachable by wading. Bonefish are a tough quarry. It took us a day or two to figure out the tides, entrance and exit patterns on the flats etc. (which is a polite way of saying we didn't catch any bonefish the first two days).

This is a do-it-yourself fishing spot and its helpful if you are already experienced at this sort of fishing. Locals are not into fly fishing for bonefish and you have to be fully prepared, there is no flyfishing tackle available onthe island. But the fish are there.

This is our second trip to the island and we will come back and hopefully stay again with Jodi and Tara

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

GREAT Place to fly fish and relax

Review submitted: April 24, 2010   Date of arrival: April 11, 2010

My wife and I spent 8 days at this wonderful beachfront house to flyfish and relax. Even with difficult (steady 20+ knot winds) we caught fish. We ate fresh fish every night that we caught (grouper, snapper, jacks) and also managed to hook 19 and land 13 bonefish. You can catch bonefish literally 30 yard from the deck. The island has flats on 3 of its four sides -- all of them hve bonefish on them. Furthermore, you can take a boat or kayak to other flats not reachable by wading. Bonefish are a tough quarry. It took us a day or two to figure out the tides, entrance and exit patterns on the flats etc. (which is a polite way of saying we didn't catch any bonefish the first two days).

This is a do-it-yourself fishing spot and its helpful if you are already experienced at this sort of fishing. Locals are not into fly fishing for bonefish and you have to be fully prepared, there is no flyfishing tackle available onthe island. But the fish are there.

This is our second trip to the island and we will come back and hopefully stay again with Jodi and Tara

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A wonderful place for fishing and relaxing

Review submitted: April 24, 2010   Date of arrival: April 11, 2010

My wife and I spent 8 days at this wonderful beachfront house to flyfish and relax. Even with difficult (steady 20+ knot winds) we caught fish. We ate fresh fish every night that we caught (grouper, snapper, jacks) and also managed to hook 19 and land 13 bonefish. You can catch bonefish literally 30 yard from the deck. The island has flats on 3 of its four sides -- all of them hve bonefish on them. Furthermore, you can take a boat or kayak to other flats not reachable by wading. Bonefish are a tough quarry. It took us a day or two to figure out the tides, entrance and exit patterns on the flats etc. (which is a polite way of saying we didn't catch any bonefish the first two days).

This is a do-it-yourself fishing spot and its helpful if you are already experienced at this sort of fishing. Locals are not into fly fishing for bonefish and you have to be fully prepared, there is no flyfishing tackle available onthe island. But the fish are there.

This is our second trip to the island and we will come back and hopefully stay again with Jodi and Tara

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Dream Vacation @ Ocean Dreams Beach Cottage

Review submitted: April 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 5, 2010

We had an absolute wonderful time in Ocean Dreams Beach Cottage . It was everything we expected and then some. Jody and Tara were marvelous hosts that respect your privacy and at the same time immediately at hand when anything was needed. Our family, including 2 teenagers, had the greatest of times, snorkeling, fishing, spearfishing, kayaking, sailing, beachcombing, picnicking, exploring by boat, and just relaxing. The house is so private and yet conveniently close to everything you need - 3 minute golf cart ride to the town. House is in excellent shape, very clean, and also all the conveniences if needed - including AC and TV's in every room - if needed.
This was for us a standout vacation with treasured memories of this paradise and it's people. We will surely recommend this to any of our closest friends as it offers tremendous diversity on how you want to vacation - with everyone doing their own thing if needed. Planning our next visit already.......................
I truly try to find something to be critical about - but there is none.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Dream Vacation

Review submitted: April 13, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

If you want sun, sand, peace, and tranquility, this is the place!
Have you ever thought of looking for paradise? Well, we found it! Ocean Dreams has everything you need. The kitchen is fully equipped and all amenities are provided. Tara’s landscaping provides a beautiful surrounding including the “park” area at the front of the house with walking paths.
We have been coming to the Bahamas for 14 years and staying on Spanish Wells for 13.
Two years ago we were walking the beach and came upon a new beach house surrounded by trees and a spectacular beach view. A sign on the beach said “for rent”.
This is our second year (2010) of spending the month of February in paradise but better known as ‘Ocean Dreams”. The owners Jody and Tara Pinder (and their three children) are some of the nicest and most accommodating people you could ever want to meet.
If you want to go fishing, they will set it up. Want to go island hopping? They can explain about the Bo Hengy, the Eleuthera Express, or a car rental to drive the island of Eleuthera. Since we are in the hosting business we feel qualified to judge Tara and Jody’s hosting skills and we rank them at the very top! We know that if we have any problems big or small they will do there very best to solve them.
Spanish Wells is a great place to spend some time and Ocean Dreams is in our opinion is the best of the best!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

AWESOME

Review submitted: January 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 3, 2009

That is one word to describe the entire house, island & owners. I stayed a week in June 09. Loved every thing about the place. If there was something missing Jody Pinder and wife would find it and get it to you. They are wonderful people, and would highly recommend the house. It is well worth the money. All things that are listed about the house is exactly what you get. Have already confirmed another week in June 10. Bringing the entire family this time. My kids are looking forward to the adventure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review