reviews for: listing #6468 - Tamarindo, Costa Rica Condo rental

La Ventola Condos - walk to beach - $115
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Tamarindo
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $115 - $115 /nt
    $750 - $750 /wk

sort by:

A great vacation destination

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: February 13, 2014

This condo is the perfect place to spent either a few days or a few months. It is very spacious and comfortable and very close to the beach. It also has a lovely swimming pool that we used everyday. We appreciated the privacy and sense of security we felt while staying there. It was great having a bank across the street and a grocery store just at the corner (a 2-minute walk). It is also close to a lot of restaurants and shops. Brenda and Brian were extremely helpful whenever we needed something or needed information. They are a lovely, warm couple whom we appreciated very much.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for us!

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: January 30, 2014

The condo was perfect for our needs. It is exactly as described and portrayed in the photos. It is well situated just off the main drag but still close to the beach, restaurants and small grocery stores. It has all the basics to help make your stay a comfortable one.

The condo was well maintained, clean and freshly painted. The courtyard where the pool is located is private and quiet, with nice trees and shrubs. The pool is cleaned every second day. We were visited by a family of howler monkeys one day during our stay.

Brenda and Brian are great folks who checked in with us regularly and were a pleasure to deal with and get to know

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Well located little treasure!

Review submitted: January 9, 2014   Date of arrival: December 24, 2013

We arrived in Costa Rica on Christmas Eve. Thanks to Brenda we had Costa Rican coffee, some fresh bananas and papaya ready for the next day. The condo was very clean and comfortable. We had a maid once a week; this was very pleasant. We enjoyed the pool and its tropical surroundings every morning and at night, the stars were beautiful. The condo was walking distance to Tamarindo near all the stores,restaurants and beach. Brenda was a great help for tour suggestions and directions. I would recommend La Ventola to everyone, it is a little treasure hidden in Tamarindo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 29, 2013

The pictures do not do this place justice! Beautiful condo, super clean, with really nice clean bathrooms (very important to me). Brenda and Brian were great hosts, they met us at the condo the night we arrived and took the time to give us recommendations on what to do, what beaches to go to, and recommended we eat at the restaurant right next door, which we wound up going to 3 of our 4 nights because it was so good. The location is great, just a few minutes walk to the beach and places to go out at night. Tamarindo was great and looking forward to staying here again when I come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love it!

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 19, 2013

Brenda and Brian's condo was spacious, clean, and perfectly situated just a 5 minute walk to restaurants, bars, the beach, shops, and cabs. The condo is very safe with a gate and built-in alarm system. We loved having the private pool out back to relax after our excursions. Brenda is incredibly accommodating and helped us with a lot of logistics and activity planning. She was always quick to respond via email and called a few times during our trip to check in. Tamarindo is a great beach town with plenty to do. We were there a full week and never got bored. Brenda will hook you up with a great family run tour company, who shuttled us to and from the airport and took us on a day-long excursion to Rincon de la Viejo. We rarely used cabs in Tamarindo except to go see different beach points. Everything is very walkable and the locals are friendly and willing to offer their recommendations. This was a very last minute trip and we completely lucked out! I would recommend booking La Ventola to couples, families, or groups!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great choice for Tamarindo stay!

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 29, 2013

The pictures do not do this place justice. Very clean, well-maintained, great bathrooms (which is very important to me). Brenda and Brian were great hosts, they met us when we got there and took the time to give us great recommendations on things to do, which beaches to go to, and a restaurant to try (which is right next door) that we wound up going to 3 out of the 4 nights because it was so good.

The location Is great, only a few minutes walk to the beach and places to go out at night. Would definitely stay here again when I come back to Tamarindo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great people but unfortunately poor experience

Review submitted: August 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

Brenda and Brian are the nicest people you will find in Costa Rica. Prior to our trip, Brenda answered every question and responded to all emails within 6-8 hours. Upon arrival, they gave us a great welcoming basket and the condo was as advertised. The place is located about a 7 minute walk from the beach and has a great pool. We were supposed to be there for 6 weeks. Unfortunately, after four days of my family being there, the condo got burglarized while we were at the grocery store. The people took our computer, cell phones, and all the cash in the condo. Because of this, our trip ended much earlier than expected. If this didn't happen to us, this review would be much different. The surf was amazing and all of the locals I met were very nice people. However, it takes one incident like this to put a bad taste in your mouth regarding a trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: First of all thanks for the kind words and we also enjoyed meeting you and your family. We’re glad that you were able to enjoy 3 weeks with us on your vacation and it was unfortunate you had to leave early. Like anywhere all over the world, Costa Rica is not exempt from robberies. Offering a quality vacation rental is important to us so our guests enjoy their visit all the while protecting their belongings and feeling safe. That is why our condo includes an alarm system (and safe) and we recommend to all our guest to use the alarm each and every time they leave the condo. I hope that one day we can meet again and you experience a renewed taste for our tropical “pura vida” lifestyle………………

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 28, 2013

My family and I had a great time in Tamarindo and in no small measure, it was because of the convenience and comfort at Brenda's place. though not close to the beach, the place is very central . we enjoyed the live music at the hotel opposite and sampled some excellent food .all very close by. would definitely recommend for a family. Thanks Brenda!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 28, 2013

My family and I had a great time in Tamarindo and in no small measure, it was because of the convenience and comfort at Brenda's place. though not close to the beach, the place is very central . we enjoyed the live music at the hotel opposite and sampled some excellent food .all very close by. would definitely recommend for a family. Thanks Brenda!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

We would just like to thank Brenda and Brian for the great time we all had in Tamerindo. The house was perfect for us and child friendly which is our most important concern. The place was clean and tidy when we arrived and the boys had a great time on the beach and in the pool so we would definitely recommend to families as everything is within easy walking distance so it was nice to have a couple of beers watching the sunsets and not have to worry about driving home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect place to experience Costa Rica

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

The condo unit was excellent, and in a great location! Just far enough off the busy main tourist street (1 block), and yet close enough to walk anywhere in town, and only a 5 minute walk to the beach. The owners were very helpful (50+ email inquiries from me, and answers from Brenda), and always a timely response to my numerous inquiries. The condo was clean, comfortable, and well equipped. The pool outside the rear patio doors was attended to daily, and very clean considering the beautiful tropical plant life surrounding the courtyard. With only 7 units sharing the pool, it was never crowded that we experienced, however we chose beach over pool most days. Tamarindo is also a great place to base your travel from. You don't need a rental car if plan to only stay in Tamarindo, but I recommend it for touring the Nicoya Peninsula in Guanacaste. We would alternate days between relaxing on the beach, and checking out a different location. We would recommend this property to anyone other than people who can’t have stairs as the bedrooms are on the second floor. We will be back, and believe we have made some new friends as well! Thank-you Brenda and Brian for making us feel at home in Costa Rica! Hope to see you again next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

La Venrola 2

Review submitted: March 31, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

The condo was in a great location.Owners were very helpful with tourist information. Previous reviews mentioned leaves in the pool. The first day we cleaned them out and after that the pool was leaf free everyday. We enjoyed the pool every afternoon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Happy Easter

Review submitted: March 31, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

My Brother came for easter to Costa Rica, we were looking for a good place that could match as much as possible our modest budget, so I found Brenda's place which is just way too much, very nice and she treat us super! I really recommend her place, you can't just get something not even similar for the price you pay here.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: January 16, 2013

Great place close to everything. Beautiful apartment, two stories, comfortable, clean and a beautiful pool that is lit at night. Great landlords that are more than willing to help! They even brought us to the bus at 5AM to catch the bus to san jose! Great overall experience and would recommend without a doubt.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location and Clean!

Review submitted: November 18, 2012   Date of arrival: November 12, 2012

Me and 2 other friends stayed here for 3 nights. We drove into Tamarindo from La Fortuna and Brenda was helpful with directions and Brian was flexible with timing when we wanted to be there by 7pm but ended up lost and arrived almost an hour late. The place had plenty of room for all of us and was exactly like the pictures. The location is great because it's just a bit off the main road in Tamarindo so you don't get any noise, but it's still within walking distance of everything (like 3 blocks if that). The restaurant right next door (La Pochanga) was AMAZING! I would have eaten there every day! La Bodega two doors down is cool too. Decent sandwiches. I'd agree with another reviewer that the pool was a bit dirty, but I saw the guy clean it, I think it's just impossible to keep clean with all the trees surrounding it. And no one was ever there so we always had it all to ourselves. We also had a little trouble with ants, but I would guess that's pretty normal wherever you stay in Costa Rica. Overall you can't be the price for the amenitites that are offered. We'd stay again! Brenda and Brian were great about everything!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review..............you're right.........it's hard to keep the pool leave free all day long.........but we will be trimming the landscaping back some this year and that should help...........looking forward to seeing you guys again the near future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything to enjoy Tamarindo

Review submitted: September 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 19, 2012

I had a girl getaway with my daughter and some friends of her.
Every detail on condo worked fine... and location is good too.
Actually for my daughter and me, it was our second visit. We had good reasons to go back, owners are very kind, condo has all you need and about groceries there are several options nearby and AutoMercado supermarket in the area.
100% recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Experience

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

We had a great experience staying at La Ventola Condos. Brenda was always good at getting back to us and the apartment was in amazing condition. We will be staying there many more times!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: April 4, 2012

Great place to stay, we stayed there for 5 days. Since the beginning Brenda was super nice to me, the condo is exactly as in the pictures, everything you need is there... A place to relax! The only negative thing was the pool, it was a little dirty but still not a big deal for us... great great place, we will be back soon!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

Great for Families or groups (2-5 people):
La Ventola is great for families (or a group of friends) seeking a fully equipped condo. My girlfriend, her two daughters and myself stayed here for a week and had a great time. The owners were insightful, flexible and friendly during our stay. The living area and kitchen downstairs were spacious and clean. We cooked breakfast/lunch almost everyday there at the condo. Two bedrooms/two bathrooms with a pool gave us exactly what we were looking for. The kids enjoyed the pool when we were not out doing other activities.

Location:
The condo is located three short blocks from the beach (~5 minute walk), two-minute walk to a grocery store and plenty of restaurants/shops/bars within the same area. Although we rented a car and used it quite a bit, we could have done without it. However, if you surf or are looking to explore different areas, a car is needed. Most tours provide transportation. If you fly into Liberia, the drive to the condo takes around an hour and ended up being quite easy with the detailed directions provided by the owners.

Tour recommended:
We took the sunset catamaran cruise out of Playa Flamingo (Google seabird sailing Costa Rica)...about a 20 min drive from the condo.

Although we did other tours, this was my favorite. It was $10 cheaper than the option out of Tamarindo and we lucked up having the whole boat to ourselves (with only one other couple). The food was great with plenty of left-overs. There were plenty of drink options too, unlike some other cruises checked. The only negative portion of the trip was the unfortunate timing of the red tide, which led to poor snorkeling visibility in the water.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pura Vida!

Review submitted: March 22, 2012   Date of arrival: March 8, 2012

The condo is in a great location! It is close to the grocery store, restaurants, tour guides and beach. Everything is within walking distance. We also enjoyed the pool when we weren't at the beach surfing or sun-bathing. We highly recommend this condo for families who want to be in the center of it all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We will be back

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

Last year we had a great experience in Panama at the Playa Blanca all inclusive resort, but to me this was better. I sort of fancy myself as a cook and all five of us ate mostly at "home'' with no complaints about the facilities, (and hopefully about my cooking). La Ventolla is set next to the Flores Hotel and Seasons Mediterranian restaurant, but the main attraction of the street is '''The Liqour Store''' where you can buy any drink (or bottle) of your choice and 'Legally' drink it outside, glasses provided. The Nibanna beach restaurant (five minute's walk) is the place to be for happy hour and the staff are great. Tax is included in their prices but not the tip. Ask for your bill for the first drink anywher'e else on the beach front, as tips are already included in your tab. For 'fresh caught fish shrimp or Lobster' (for cooking at home) go to Pedro's on the beach, (beside the Umbrella rental circle), you wont be disappointed with the prices. The Catamaran, 'sunset trip' on the Blue Dolphin, was the highlight of our whole trip; with proprietor, (South African), Captain John And his Scottish) assistant Tracy from Balfron, organising the trip, Best value for money anywhere... They sail from the Pescador beach Restaurant everyday around 1.00 pm. They will pick you up and drop you off at no charge, Tell them Ruby & Tommy and big Alex told you this. Another good deal is the estuary boat trip ($25.00) to see the crocs and monkeys, go thru Victor Hugo. Any taxi driver outside the Hibanna will arrange it with tranport for $4.00.. (take your own beer) pop is provided. The airport Shuttle will cost you $20.00 pp and will also take you to Playa Coco for the same price pp. Keep away from Santa Cruz, its a very bumpy ride, and nothing to see. We stayed in Tamarindo for two weeks, but it was'nt enough for me or our group. Tommy & Ruby Brotherston, Alex Dunlop, and Tom Reese&Cheryl Ross. We will be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place

Review submitted: January 6, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

Perfect place to stay with friends or family. Real close to everything. Lots of accomadations! Super recomended

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Definite Paradise!

Review submitted: December 22, 2011   Date of arrival: November 26, 2011

We stayed in Tamarindo, Costa Rica for two weeks. I am a 40 year old male Power Engineer from Canada and my travelling partner is a 28 year old female Legal Aid. Our purpose for the trip was adventure, sight seeing and some relaxation. We opted to stay at La Ventola. We booked and put down a deposit through PayPal. Brenda, one of the owners of the condo we were renting from even arranged a cheap shuttle for us to take from Liberia Airport to the condo in Tamarindo which was absolutely wonderful!

We met Brenda and Brian at the Condo at around 9:30 pm on the Saturday. We paid the balance of the room in cash, and had a quick tour of the place, which was certainly larger than we expected. The amenities were quite impressive and the owners exceptionally friendly and honest. They are ex-pats from the US so English was definitely not a barrier. There is maid service for an extra cost if you are interested.

The condo is in very close approximation of several surf shops and restaraunts, and easy walking distance to two grocery stores. The wifi was very reliable and the cable tv was a bonus. The beach is about a 5 minute walk. A very good bonus was the condo is VERY close to a tattoo shop, which was of great interest to us as my travelling partner and I get a tattoo in every country we visit.

The swimming pool was one of the best features of the condo. It is located within the confines of the complex, and as there are not very many condos in this complex, the pool was always available. As it is surrounded by the condos, there was zero noise from the streets or nearby bars making it a little slice of paradise. Certainly what surprised us the most was one day we had a parade of exotic animals cross through the trees surrounding the pool area which included 7 monkeys, 2 very large squirrels, some unusual birds, and across the ground a very large frog. I guess that part ruled out any adventure tours, lol.

I would certainly stay at La Ventola again and would certainly recommend it to both friends and family!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Recent Vacation

Review submitted: December 15, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

Recenly vactioned In Tamarindo, CR and had an awesome time. If you want to get away and relax this is the place to go but at the same time offered a great night life, which provided a healthy balance of both. Great food and very friendly people. Highly recommended place to visit.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: January 3, 2011

I stayed in Tamarindo for a few nights as I was making my way through Costa Rica and I enjoyed it thoroughly. The apt I stayed at with three of my friends was very clean and stocked with all the amenities of a regular home. This was great because we were on the last leg our trip and making home cooked meals was inexpensive. Also, there was a sizable pool in the backyard - perfect for cooling off or lounging around. Bonus!

During the day, I did all the touristy things: ATV, surfing, shopping, beach, and walking around the neighborhood. There were also plenty of stores for souvenir shopping. At night, my friends and I walked around and found several local spots that catered to our tastes. Our first stop was a local bar that had kareoke and 80's music. Our second stop was more club oriented and lastly we ended up at a open courtyard/dance space, where we danced the night away with all the locals.

I would highly recommend this place for anyone looking for a balance between moderate physical activity (although I was plenty sore from surfing) and just hanging out. I'd definitely go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review