reviews for: listing #64811 - Cayuga Lake, New York Cottage rental

Knapp Guest Cottage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $900 - $900 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful week in a wonderful cottage

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

We spend the week at the Knapp cottage and had the best time balancing between family time with the kids on the lake and romantic nights with wine and cheese we picked up at the locals wineries.
The tomatoes from Steve’s garden were the sweetest ones we ever had, and our dog had a great time playing with storm (Steve’s dog)
Thank you Steve for your hospitality,
We will be back in the future

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We were pleased to have Janet and her family join us for a very pleasant week. Although we don't always have ripe organic cherry tomatoes, we always try to personalize each cottage visit and serve the needs of our guests. My dog Storm is also pleased to receive a very kind review. ;-) We hope these nice folks make their way back from New Hampshire sometime in the future.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Knapp Guest Cottage

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

perfect cottage for our week with friends. quiet neighborhood. perfect beach, excellent dock, excellent access to Cayuga Lake. Plenty of hiking, but limited bicycling unless you are willing to start with a hill climb. Close enough, but not too close to Ithaca.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We were delighted to have Cindy and her friends spend the week. More and more the Knapp Cottage is used to provide a base for family reunions and a venue to reunite friends. Both the deck and dock facilities can accommodate a good number of visitors and seems to be an ideal place to relax and reminisce. We are thankful for Cindy's review and hope to continue our consistent 5 star rating from our guests.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Knapp cottage King Ferry

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

My family has stayed at Knapp cottage for a number of years. We find it to be a great value. The dock is great and the kids love the access to the water. Beautiful sunsets. Very quiet, bring a book.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children

Owners response: We are very thankful to have Pat's review online. Pat and his family are some of our regular guests-- having stayed at the cottage for many years. I should note that a picture of Pat is on the web site. He is the one holding a 9 lb. landlocked salmon caught aboard my boat straight out from my dock. Others have caught large salmon recently trolling the upper 30 feet of water in the weeks preceding July 4th. Pat reported that the salmon was delicious!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

classic cayuga cottage

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

Everything was just as advertised. I feel sorry for everyone who was late trying to rent this property, you really missed out. Good for us, tough for you.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We were very pleased to have Dave and his family stay with us recently. They hosted a family reunion at the cottage jointly with others staying along the lake in the same neighborhood. They caught tons of lake trout and salmon and shared some lake trout fillets with us. We had baked lake trout ala Capt. Knapp the next day. Recipe is available to our guests! We hope Dave returns soon for another reunion.

Capt. Steve Knapp

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Paradise on Cayuga Lake

Review submitted: June 25, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

If you are looking for a peaceful relaxing getaway this is the place! The owner is friendly and hospitable. The cottage is nestled in trees which shade you from the hot afternoon sun and frame a nice view of the lake while you rock away the hours in the comfortable chairs on what I call the observation deck. The steps down to the lake are well kept, very sturdy with double hand rails and have landings to stop and rest on the way, if you are unable to walk the stairs you can also drive right down to the beach. Once you are down by the water there is a large dock that also has a covered area with a swing, where we spent every night enjoying the beautiful sunsets! The fishing is good right from the dock; my husband caught his first northern pike.The owner takes great pride in the landscape with several potted flowers throughout the property;an arbor covered in flowers to the stairs as well as raised flower beds. The location is perfect as you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere however Auburn is a short drive where we visited the Bass Pro Shop and they also have several malls, restaurants and a variety of shops. Ithaca is also a short drive where we visited the Taughannock Falls, restaurants and shopping.We didn't spend much time in the cottage however it is well equipped with everything you need. I can’t say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay and we will return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We thank Emmett and Donita for their kind words. As mentioned in their review we are starting to get some nice sized northern pike in off the dock as well as the usual Chain Pickerel, pan fish, and small mouth bass. The week after Emmett and Donita left, a 7 year old girl caught the fish of her lifetime using just a night crawler-- a 5 lb. large mouth bass.

It was great to have Emmett and Donita stay with us. We are very much looking forward to having them come back again.

Capt. Steve Knapp

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

What a good time

Review submitted: June 29, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

My family and I had such a good time at the Knapp Cottage. Steve and his son were extremely pleasant, informative and polite. The property is a very well maintained and has a view of Lake Cayuga that I hope stays with me for many years to come. The cottage is very clean and has many nice amenities, including Satellite TV, microwave and a nice new grill. The porch at sunset, however, was me and my wife's favorite.

The waterfalls in the area are excellent and easy to get to with little kids. Ludlowville Falls wasn't on our GPS but was definitely worth looking for. It is literally at the end of a park with a playground which is a homerun with a 2 year old. Taughannock Falls is a drive but beautiful. Ithaca Falls is great too. Long Point State Park doesn't have a waterfall, but my son absolutely loved it and it was only a couple of minutes away. We went there 4 or 5 times in a weeks time and flew kites and skipped stones. It is a beautiful park.

The local wineries are very good. I recommend the Sauvignon Blanc from Long Point Winery and the Gilded Lily from King Ferry Winery. Both are 5 minutes drives.

King Ferry Golf Course is another 5 minute drive. It is extremely well maintained, and the staff very good.

Ithaca is a beautiful city that is a 15-20 minute drive. Cornell and downtown Ithaca are great to walk around. The local restaurants are excellent. Rogue's Harbor Inn in Lansing is excellent and not too far from the cottage.

Our week up at the Cottage was an excellent time. It was a perfect getaway from the hustle of the City. Thanks Steve

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: We certainly enjoyed having Bill and his family stay in our cottage. His comments are gracious and very much appreciated. We take pride in welcoming guests to the Finger Lakes and helping them enjoy the bountiful resources in the region. We hope the word gets around in Jersey so that we can have more guests like Bill and his family.

Capt. Steve Knapp -- owner

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review