reviews for: listing #64828 - Grand Canyon, Arizona House rental

Grand Canyon Escape
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $145 - $195 /nt
    $875 - $1,200 /wk
    $2,700 - $3,600 /mth

sort by:

Almost Perfect!!

Review submitted: June 14, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

It seriously, was almost perfect. A well equipped kitchen, comfortable beds, beautiful location, etc. And to top it off, a very full welcome basket with snacks, water, and a bottle of wine greeted us. The owners are super available for questions. I emailed Tamara with a question and heard back from her within minutes. The only "complaint" we had, if you can call it a complaint...We couldn't sleep with the window open in the one downstairs bedroom because of the air conditioner in the window. We much prefer the fresh air... But that is the only thing. Great place!

Owners response: Our guests comfort is our highest concern. We always strive to meet everyone's needs.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very good location

Review submitted: June 4, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

very nice and clean house with all amenities.

Owners response: We are glad you had a wonderful time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Stay nea Grad Canyon

Review submitted: May 22, 2014   Date of arrival: May 13, 2014

We had a wonderfull stay in this house with our familly and our 2 children. A lot of space to play inside and outside, not too fare from the Grand Canyon. The house is quite and clean, a very good stay for us!
The owner prepare a lot of things to welcome us in the house, is was the first time we had a so good "welcome" in a rental house and it is very pleseant.

Owners response: We are so pleased you had a wonderful time. You are welcome back any time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice Vacation

Review submitted: April 15, 2014   Date of arrival: April 7, 2014

Not too far from the South Rim and plenty of space for 4 adults and a teen, we had a wonderful vacation at this beautiful cabin. Decks on both sides allows you to be in the shade or sun, watching sunrise or sunset as you choose. Well-appointed kitchen makes eating in easy. Could be hot in dead of summer, but our early spring visit was perfect! One worry I had was whether we'd be too close to the highway and hear the road noise. At least with the windows closed, it was very quiet, even when the Harley parties cruised by. I'd recommend it to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so pleased you had a wonderful time. No need to worry about summer heat. Three additional air conditioning units will be arriving before the temps rise! Spring and Fall are prime times to visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

More than we expected!

Review submitted: December 17, 2013   Date of arrival: December 7, 2013

The house was very comfortable and homey. We only had a small issue with the kitchen sink leaking. Other than that, the house was perfect. It was a perfect distance from the Polar Express. We would gladly rent this home again.

Owners response: We are glad you had a good time. The repairman is taking care of the leak.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice home away from home!!

Review submitted: November 30, 2013   Date of arrival: November 20, 2013

We were a party of 8: My husband and I, our four sons, and his parents. We stayed for a week and everyone slept comfortably. The older two boys slept in the living room on the futon and love seat, while the two younger boys slept in a downstairs bedroom with twin size beds. My in-laws enjoyed the upstairs master suite with a large tub and shower, which allowed my husband and I to sleep in the second bedroom downstairs near the kids. The gas fireplace was amazing! It was so easy to use. We are used to a wood burning fireplace. Wow, were we spoiled for the week! The house was very clean and had everything we needed. They even provided a case of bottled water and a basket of goodies on our arrival, as well as the housekeeper's name and phone number in case we had any questions. She was very friendly and helpful when we had to call her. We were running low on water in the outside tanks about halfway through our stay, and my husband called to let her know. The water delivery truck arrived that same day and replenished the supply. There are plenty of towels and bedding; the kitchen is stocked with necessary cooking and dining utensils. The house is only about a half hour from the Grand Canyon. So we were able to see a sunrise one morning and hike the Bright Angel trail. The Grand Canyon has free tour buses which run every 15 minutes and we took advantage of the great price! Also, it's very close to Bearizona (located in Williams), which the whole family enjoyed. Being from Texas, we don't see a lot of snow, so the kids really enjoyed playing in it up where the lookout tower is at the Grand Canyon. The snow plows had piled it up in the parking lot into mounds, and our boys had a ball. The San Francisco Peaks were very beautiful as well. There was so much to do and see that we may just have to come back! ;) Thank you for a wonderful week full of family memories we'll treasure forever! We will definitely recommend to friends and family!

Owners response: We are so pleased you had a wonderful time! Thank you for the nice comments.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay close to Grand Canyon

Review submitted: October 22, 2013   Date of arrival: October 16, 2013

I tried to find a vacation house that can accommodate my family for our trip to Grand Canyon. Our group consisted of my in-laws, my husband's 2 aunt and 1 uncle plus my husband and I.

I am so glad I found this house to rent from Tamara. Its location in between downtown Williams and Grand Canyon meant we saved valuable time on both ways when we visited the National Park. The pricing is more affordable than if we had rented hotel rooms and we got so much more space. The full kitchen in the house also allowed us to make two meals on our own and saved a lot of money.

The sunrise in the middle of "nowhere" was actually a great view from the living room window. Yes, the house is located on a dirt road and when driving at night to reach the house for the first time, you may start to wonder what is going on because it is very dark. However,once you get the key out of the lock box and open the door, you will be glad that you found this place out in the field. Tamara's detailed direction was a great help so you will not get lost if you follow her direction.

Tamara also provided enough bottle waters for us to drink for the 2 night stay. There were also chocolate, graham crackers and mashmellows if you want. The kitchen has salt, pepper, cooking oil, and all the cooking utensils needed. We also used the washer and dryer to do our laundry (laundry detergent provided by Tamara as well).

I also want to say that Tamara is very nice and offered to let me reschedule our trip due to the government shut down (even though we could not really reschedule the trip and thankfully we did end up having the park reopened when we visited). She absolutely did not have to offer that because it is not part of the policy.

Our whole family enjoyed the stay and everyone said they want to stay here if we ever visited the area again!

Owners response: We are so glad you had a wonderful time. Barry and I enjoy sharing our home

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice home, but very hot in July!

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

Much like the previous review, it was really hot (85 degrees) inside the home when we arrived. A window unit was installed in the kitchen window, but the unit wasn't big enough to cool the downstairs. The floor cooling unit was installed in the upstairs master bedroom and it was really the only room cool enough to sleep in. As a workaround, we carried two twin mattresses from the downstairs bedrooms and placed them on the floor in the master, so my kids could sleep in the master with my husband and I. Prior to check out, we carried the twin mattresses back downstairs.

As a recommendation, I suggest setting the central air thermostat to 75 degrees - not 85 degrees. I tried to adjust the temperature but the thermostat was locked. I understand it was unusually hot this summer, but there needs to be some sort of contingency plan - as the portable units are just not effective in cooling a house this size. Additionally, it never really cooled down enough at night to open the windows (as suggested). We live in Florida where it gets very hot during the summer and I can tell you 85 degrees in your home is way too hot to be comfortable.

Bottom line...the location and home were great. The only thing missing from the equation was a contingency plan for weather conditions out of the norm. Our stay would have been much nicer if the house was a lot cooler.

Owners response: The warmest months are June and July in this region and usually they only top out at 83 degrees because the altitude is 6500 ft. at the property. By 5pm each evening the temperature will drop 20-30 degrees and just opening windows is quite comfortable. Most homes do not have central air unlike other parts of the country. When my husband and I lived at the home full time and we didn’t have portable units but purchased the two units to provide comfort to our guests; we are disappointed that they didn't meet theirs and wish we had been contacted during the stay to see what else we could have done then. We have had an unseasonably warm June and first week of July but things are back to normal. We are purchasing an additional unit for the bottom floor and asking the housekeeper to have AC on for guests upon arrival. We have had only two other comments in the last four years of renting and it was at the same time of year so we hope this solution will address the issue. Our guest's comfort is very important to us. In addition, typically it does rain every afternoon from July through September and it cools things off quickly.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Nice home, but air conditioned....not really.

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

This home is very nice and clean with a wonderful housekeeper who lives nearby and is very helpful, but when we arrived it was 94 degrees inside the home! The listing says air conditioned, but this consists of an uninstalled window unit that we found in the upstairs closet, and another floor cooling unit that we found in a downstairs closet, again not installed. Luckily my husband is very handy and in good shape, so he was able to install both units, which had no instructions. The housekeeper came to assist as well. One of the main reasons I chose this home was for the location, the size of the home, and that it had air conditioning. You see my mother came with us on this vacation and has a medical issue that makes her very intolerant to heat! So needless to say I was not happy upon arrival, but with the help of my husband, who carried the very heavy window unit downstairs to cool the main living area and my mothers sleeping quarters, we were fine. Unfortunately, this made us have to sleep upstairs without any air conditioning. The houses overall temperature regulation worked out well after all, but a very stressful arrival and first evening, to say the least!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Grand Vacation

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

We were a group of 6 and this cabin was perfect. The house was as listed with everything in good order. Tamara was great and very quick to respond to queries. Directions provided were very accurate and we had no problems getting to the house.

Loved the porch although we didn't get to spend a lot of time on it as it got really cold in the evenings. We enjoyed the games they had provided the most. Had an awesome time playing pictionary and clue.

Our primary trip was to the Grand Canyon and it was quite easy to get there. About a 30-35 minute drive. There were some nice restaurants in Tusayan which is on the way to the Canyon. Very convenient.

We have some great memories of our trip here and would definitely recommend this place to everyone. Two thumbs up to the owners for providing such an awesome experience. Looking forward to another memorable vacation here.

Moiz

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Finish to our month long trip

Review submitted: September 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 21, 2012

Tamara is great - from first contact and responding to emails and returning the deposit within a timely manner (within 3 days it had hit my paypal account). The house pictures are exactly what you receive.

We were a group of 6 adults and 1 child (2yr old).

The house is easy to spot from the road - just be careful with the traffic sitting on your tail - the grass makes the dirt road a little hard to spot. I was riding shotgun so the gate duties went to me (as a country girl it was easy to use), accessing the house was very easy (I love the rentals with key codes) and house was just as pictured. We did not specify that we needed two king beds before we arrived - so if you would like a specific bedding arrangement I would recommend letting Tamara know. So we ended up using the couch (as it was only me or my dad on it we didn't even lay it flat), all others agreed that the beds were very comfortable - I found the one in the loft great - nice and soft.

The "supplies" provided were great - soap, kitchen items and water, though it was hot in vegas and we brought our own bottled water we didn't need it as much as we thought due to the awesome thunderstorms we had every afternoon. The views from that patio's are great especially at sunset/sunrise. Do your shopping at Safeway in Williams (and visit a shop called pine country for a pie...not a meat pie for those aussies reading this but cheesecake pies).

Only thing that was frustrating was the shower water pressure - totally understandable as the water is tanked in - so do try out the bath!!!! And also the internet went down during the thunderstorms - I don't know if it was satelight or not but after the storm cleared it went back to normal.

The trip to the grand canyon for Sunrise was worth getting up at 3.30am - it was less crowded and we were able to stay out of the heat of the midday sun. I would recommend a tour with Westwind Air service - we did a flight from Grand Canyon to Monument Valley and we got to see the grand canyon at the same time - the extra price was worth it.

Thank you for allowing our group to stay in your lovely rental - I would recommend this property to family or friends wanting to experience this area

Owners response: It is nice to hear that others enjoyed our cabin as much as we do! Satellite internet is affected by weather. It is unfortunate but it is the best we can get in a rural location at this time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Grand Canyon Vacation

Review submitted: September 14, 2012   Date of arrival: September 4, 2012

We were a party of 6 adults out to see the Grand Canyon. The house was perfect for us and we breakfasted on the porches some mornings and had cocktails on them in the evening. The land is very flat so we got to see many staggering sunsets from the western porch.
The weather was perfect-50s at night and 70s in the day. Cattle grazed about the house early in the mornings. A bureau in the master loft would be helpful but otherwise the house was well furnished for guests.
We visited the Grand Canyon several times, took a half day rafting trip from Glen Canyon dam, visited Sedona and the red rocks and journeyed to the Meteor Crater, Painted Desert and Petrified Forest. A thoroughly enjoyable vacation from a great and comfortable home base.

Owners response: It is always nice to get input on things we can do to make our guest's stays better. We are also glad to hear when they had a great time.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A pleasant stay worth repeating.

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 27, 2012

We arrived on the 27th of Aug late at night. The directions were great, if we had followed directions to the T we would have driven straight to the door step, we made the mistake of improvising, later we read the directions again, found the place no sweat. It's a wonderful place. The back porch and front porch were great for star gazing and tea and biscuits in the morning/evening. Well furnished kitchen, with essential utensils available. 30 minutes from the canyon, WiFi internet, satellite tv. One suggestion i do have is regarding the mattress upstairs. Too soft (very little back support). Personally would have preferred a firmer bed preferably king size to accommodate a couple with a Kid. I had to sleep on the carpet 'cos there was not enough space for three of us. Tamara was very polite and pleasant to deal with. Got my refund promptly. We loved our stay, would definitely recommend the place and look forward to coming back, hopefully December!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

awesome

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

Great house! Great loction, very clean and well equipped. We didn't miss anything. We would always recommend this cabin and of course we would always choose this place again when visiting the area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT TIMES

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

I have nothing but great things to say about our stay at this proerty. It was clean, very easy to get to, and would say again if ever went back to grand Canyon....

The only thing is YOU must plan ahead if you are going into the park for tours, because they leave early and it is a good 1/2 drive, then you still must find parking. However do not let that stop you from staying at this lovely property.....considering we had a pary of 5 and the cost of rooms in the park are over 150 a night this is the best deal....Plus Tamara is great to deal with.

I wish they had more properties through out the world so I could use them again and again.....

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great house!

Review submitted: July 27, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

it was easy to find the house using our navigation system! and when arriving, we loved it! it was big enough for our group of 7 and we loved having breakfast/dinner on one of the porches!

Owners response: The porches are one of our favorite places as well. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved our stay!

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 20, 2012

Our family of eight recently stayed at this lovely home for six nights. We were able to find the house using our GPS with no problems. Although we had seen the pictures online, the house was even more beautiful in person. It was immaculate. We made sure to stop at the Safeway supermarket in Williams to pick up some essential groceries we might need before arriving and settling in at the house. Our welcome basket and case of water was a very nice touch. Although the summer days were very hot, we followed the instructions given regarding air conditioning and the house stayed at a very comfortable temperature. With so many of us at the house taking showers (4 of them teenagers), water consumption was an initial concern for us. But, we were conscientious and had absolutely no problems! In addition to the eight of us, three more family members, who stayed near the South Rim,joined our vacation. It turned out to be quite the family reunion and our memories of the Grand Canyon will last a lifetime. We saw the most breathtaking views and amazing sun rises and sun sets at the Canyon, and visited Williams and Flagstaff. We were also able to participate in this year's 21st annual Grand Canyon Star Party were astronomers from across the country are there with their telescopes eager to teach and show us different planets, stars, nebulae, etc. Simply amazing! Thank you for a wonderful stay. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: It is so nice to hear when someone has enjoyed our home! My husband is an astronomer as well, and loves viewing the the dark skies.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great house!

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

We simple loved the house! the location is perfect for visiting the Grand Canyon and the house was big enough for our party of 7! It was very clean and we loved having breakfast in the morning at one deck, and a late evening dinner watching the sunset on the other one!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house!

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

We simple loved the house! the location is perfect for visiting the Grand Canyon and the house was big enough for our party of 7! It was very clean and we loved having breakfast in the morning at one deck, and a late evening dinner watching the sunset on the other one!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Super

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

Great accomodation just as described. Lots of space for our party of 6 adults. It is well looked after. Communication with Tamara was easy and speedy throughout. Deposit returned the day after we left so no worries there. Highly recommend as a great place to base yourself for the Grand Canyon which is approx half hour easy drive. The basket of goodies on arrival was a nice touch and the wine much appreciated, thank you Tamara for a great vsiti only wished we could have stayed longer.

Owners response: Enjoyment by our guest is our goal. We are pleased to hear of our success.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house for the $

Review submitted: July 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 26, 2012

This was a great house for our family of 5 for the 4 days we spent in Grand Canyon. Drive up there was fairly easy (slow if behind pokey drivers) and less than 45 minutes. House was spacious and quiet. Appreciate fans and our BR AC. Housekeeper was available and very friendly. Only downside for us was the "landscaping" (left much to be desired) and the lack of some basic kitchen cookware (colander, garlic press, sharp knives, etc.) If you plan to cook in, I recommend doing your shopping on the way (Williams or Flagstaff) - the Grand Canyon store is outrageously expensive.

Owners response: Our property is lower in elevation than the Grand Canyon and therefore has a different landscape. It is considered the high desert. We appreciate hearing about any additional needs for the kitchen and will do our best to accommodate.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quiet retreat from the beautiful, busy canyon

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 18, 2012

This beautiful cabin was the perfect retreat from the bustle of the busy Grand Canyon for our little family reunion. It was such a short, easy drive from the Canyon. Although it is right off the main highway, it provided a blistful atmosphere where we could cook and visit together without the crowds. The cabin itself is more a vacation home than a cabin. It was clean, cozy and comfortable. We were concerned at first becuase of the limited water supply, but with four adults and two children we found that we had all the water we needed for cooking, showering, dishwashing, etc. The owners and the housekeeping staff were always available by phone and were very accommodating. We would highly recommend this property to anyone wanting to visit the canyon while enjoying a quiet, relaxing place away from the crowds. We would definitely come back!

Owners response: We are so pleased to hear when guests had a great time at our cabin. It is a quiet retreat that we enjoy and want others too as well.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Reunion at the Grand Canyon

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

Thank you Tamara we had a wonderful time!! This was a family reunion and the use of the rental house made our time much more relaxing. We loved sitting out at night and watching the stars. Wonderful. Very comfortable setting, wonderful clean house. Highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: We do have a big lot (3 acres) so the property can accommodate larger groups for daytime activities. We are so pleased when others can make good use of it. We welcome families of all sizes!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great place

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

Great place to stay if visiting the Grand Canyon. The owner is quick in returning your deposit. It was returned within days of our stay. The beds were comfortable and the snacks/waters are really nice. It is very clean. It is a quiet area, but a tiny bit hard to find the road. The only slightly negative thing would be that the kitchen could use a few more pots/pans. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

Owners response: The skies are very dark at night which makes it difficult to see the property from the highway if it isn't light. We do ask our guests to let us know when they will be arriving so we can leave the "porch" lights on to welcome them and make the cabin more visable. We appreciate suggestions on how we can improve the property and all recommendations are welcomed.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A perfect getaway...........

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 6, 2012

Tamara........thank you for a fantastic place to stay. All of us enjoyed ourselves tremendously. A great way to have family together on both sides for my birthday. When we return for the Grand Canyon we will definitely stay.
The RVing kids got there around 2 or so and Maxine was very accommodating and allowed them to get the RV on the pad. My wife and I got there a bit later and had a nice talk with her. Very personable woman and made some suggestions for the area.
My daughter will be looking at renting when she can get her husband to take time off and go to GC.
Great place, and we will all recommend it to others we know who are traveling that way.

Owners response: Sometimes we do receive special requests like parking the RV at the house. It is great that we have 3+ acres of property and a concrete pad with electrical right next to it so we can accommodate. We are pleased to hear when everyone is satisfied and enjoyed themselves. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Grand Canyon Visit

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

Whenever we can, our family will rent a home while vacationing to have the freedom to come and go as we please, not find ourselves cramped into a small hotel space, and so on, as might happen in tourist destinations. Certainly glad we rented a home for our Grand Canyon visit! This home met our goals as far as the reasons we rent; however, we have mixed feelings about a recommendation for it. The welcome basket of goodies and water was appreciated, and the GC was only a short drive away. Part of our hesitancy, though, lies in the fact that the home is definitely in need of some simple maintenance. First of all, we found ourselves standing in “not clean” water while showering in the second bathroom as the tub is very slow to drain. Personally, this is a real turn-off for our family. Next, the sink stopper was also broken in this bathroom. A person could leave the stopper out so the water would empty, but the drain was then wide open for items to fall down the pipe. The alternative was placing the stopper back in, but that rendered it inoperable and the sink filled with water that then required manual draining. The master bedroom bed frame was broken, but did hold up for our stay. Not a big deal, but we never did meet the housekeeper. Apparently, she did stop by to check on things while we were out one day as she left the sliding glass door unlocked for an undetermined amount of time. Finally, our most disappointing part was the multitude of items on the checkout list which was binding upon the return of our deposit, and above and beyond the cleaning fee. Completing the list of tasks for this rental property was onerous and probably delayed our departure by about 30-40 minutes. We are conscientious folks and don’t mind organizing a bit for the cleaning person, but the duties went far past that. We would also assume that the housekeeper is more familiar with the home and knows exactly what needs to be done as we were simply guests and found ourselves a little unsure of some of the tasks. Bottom line, why did we pay a cleaning fee only to discover we had to perform a litany of housekeeping chores, too? Not our idea of a successful conclusion to a vacation.

Owners response: We try very hard to make sure our guests are comfortable with their stay. As part of the standard checkin procedures we supply them with our contact information including the personal cell phone numbers for both the owner/manager and the housekeeper so we can address all issues as they arise any time day or night. It is important to us that each guest has a wonderful vacation. When an issue isn't presented until after a guest has departed, it is very disappointing because it is impossible for us to meet our service commitment to that guest.

We only ask our guests upon checkout to follow recommended industry standards for departure from any vacation rental. This is limited to loading the dishwasher with any soiled dishes, removing the bed linens and towels and placing in the hampers, turning off/down electrical appliances/heater and removing the trash. Our housekeeper does all the laundry, cleans, mops/sanitizes, and vacuums the entire home, makes all the beds for the incoming guests, and prepares the home for the next arrival. All of these duties are covered in the cleaning fee and are offered for our guest's comfort because many are traveling far distances and don't want the cleaning burden.

Finally, our guest's privacy is important to us. Our housekeeper is instructed to not enter the property while it is occupied without permission of the guests. Again, if a situation arises it is important the owner/manager is made aware immediately so action can be taken to address concerns.

We are sadden to hear when any guest is disappointed but appreciate hearing about it so we can address all issues. Items indicated in this review have been noted and action is underway to address all of them.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful, Calm and Relaxing

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

We arrived at this place on a friday (late night) with instructions provided and did not take more than 10 mins to figure out the location of the home. Tamara was really helpful in providing us exact directions.

We were four couples and we wanted to have a home where we could cook and also have a great time together.

We also enjoyed the time at the back porch and did some BBQ. I loved the fact that everything was available to us (not to forget the great kitchen, TV and all the entertainment available.

We would definitely come again and rent this place. This was affordable and we definitely recommend this to everybody who is looking for a great vacation time near Grand Canyon..!!!!

Owners response: We try to accommodate everyone's needs the best we can and are pleased to hear when we were successful. Glad it was a wonderful time.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic!

Review submitted: April 29, 2012   Date of arrival: April 18, 2012

This accommodation was far and away the best we had on our roadtrip of Utah and Arizona. The house is very spacious, we had five people in our group with a lot of luggage, so it was great for us. Two bathrooms and a full kitchen. Very clean. Verandah outside, great to eat breakfast on. And the stars at night were spectacular. I highly recommend this location for groups. Is a bit of a distance from Grand Canyon but was worth it in our book. Supplied with lots of bottled water and welcome basket. Thank you for a great stay. I would definitely stay here again if I was to return to the Grand Canyon, and I hope I do!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We strive to make sure our guests have the best vacation possible. We are glad to hear when we are successful.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wow...amazing vacation

Review submitted: April 14, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

The canyon was splendid and amazing! The house was a great place to rest our heads down after a long day! We would definately recommend this house for any family looking for a quiet retreat.

Owners response: We are glad you had a great time. Come back and see us again!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Cabin

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

This was the perfect cabin for our party of 7. There were plenty of room for us. The place was clean and the kitchen was well equip. We arrived very late, after 11pm, and the place was harder to find at night. We called the owner and she stayed on the phone and guided us through until we opened the front door. The cabin is less than 30 minutes drive to the south rim entrance to the Grand Canyon. Also, it is about 3 miles from a small town called Valle where we visited Flintstones Bedrock City. A visit to the Safeway store in Williams is definitely recommended prior to heading to the cabin, as the stores in the area is way overpriced. We all enjoyed our stay in this cabin and will recommend this to our friends.

Owners response: We appreciate your kind remarks and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay! We'd love to welcome you back anytime.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Terrific

Review submitted: March 22, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

An impeccable HomeAway property with kind and attentive owners. Perfect location between the Grand Canyon and Williams. Would absolutely go again and recommend to friends and family.

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your kind comments. We would be happy to welcome you again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cozy cabin with good location!

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 25, 2011

We had reserved the cabin for two nights for our family of 7. It was a great fit for us with 3 bedrooms and the futon in the living room. Although a bit difficult to locate in the dark, we were successful and found the home with the porch lights on in welcome of our arrival. The fire place was warm and cozy on the chilly nights/mornings as was the the welcome basket of hot cocoa! Our hosts and Maxine were quite accommodating - even finding an extra crock pot for us. We appreciated the release of the flocks of Mountain Blue Birds in the early mornings just outside the cabin - amazing! Williams was close for grocery shopping and good pizza. This location worked well being within 30 minutes to the Grand Canyon - our destination for a hike down to the bottom. Would definitely recommend this home to friends/relatives!

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We are trying our best to leave the lights on if our guests are arriving late. We do promote our dark skies for star gazing - :-)

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Even nicer than we imagined!

Review submitted: December 15, 2011   Date of arrival: November 25, 2011

This home is roomier than the pictures can display, especially the living area. Very clean and welcoming. All contact with the owner and housekeeper was friendly and pleasant. Quiet location.


Only one thing would have made it perfect; the kitchen cookware (pans, bowls, utensils) was sparse. (There were enough pots, skillets and cookie sheets however.)

I would highly recommend this beautiful home!

Owners response: We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and will take your suggestion to heart. We will make some additions to the kitchen right away.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Grand Canyon Rental

Review submitted: August 3, 2011   Date of arrival: July 27, 2011

My family spent a wonderful time at the house. Very nice, helpful owner. Was a little worried about the water situation but we had no problems. We loved the cows, and the quiet. The nights were so cool and beautiful. An amazing sunset. Will go back first chance we get. The house was so clean, made us feel welcome. We toured Williams, Grand Canyon, Bearizona, kids loved that, and local areas.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the cabin! We welcome you back any time!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Escape!

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 13, 2011

This was a beautiful "cabin" with spacious rooms. I find it funny they call it a cabin as I see it as a decent size house (coming from Europe). It was a perfect distance between the Grand Canyon one way and the city of Williams the other way. The property was clean and well maintained.

Thanks with the help of our Garmin we found the dirt road entrance leading to the property. Being our first time using a vacation home in the USA and driving towards the house, it was a bit daunting as it was really "in the middle of nowhere" but once we went inside the house, we fell in love. Playing outside was not really something the kids were looking to do in the heat anyway.

The owner was responsive and helpful when needed. (for non-US residents make sure you have a cell phone that works!)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you review.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place

Review submitted: June 11, 2011   Date of arrival: June 6, 2011

Clean, updated and convenient. The property is no more than 30 minutes from the Grand Canyon National Park Entrance. We loved that we had a place where we could stretch out, play games and feel like we were home at the end of a day at the park.

Owners response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and visit again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

We enjoyed the house so very much. It was exactly as described and so much more. There was plenty of room for 5 adults. The location was wonderful. Everything was in perfect condition for us when we arrived and the owners were so very easy to work with. My deposit was refunded in less than two days which is unheard of. The quiet was so peaceful and restful. We would recommend this property for anyone visiting the Grand Canyon area and you must go to Williams and see the gunfight,Route 66 and stop by Twisters for ice cream. We hope to stay there again on ou next trip to the Grand Canyon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so pleased that you had a great time. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: June 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 16, 2011

The house is very nice- exactly as described. The house was clean and in good repair. The location was great, about 1/2 hour south of the entrance to the Grand Canyon. We had 8 people in our group. We did fine for space, but 8 people is likely too many for the amount of water that is brought in for the property. We did not use the water exhorbitantly, but we ran out. The owner responded quickly, so everything was working again when we returned at the end of the day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Relaxing Visit (even with 4 kids!)

Review submitted: May 30, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

The cabin was in a great location between Williams and the Grand Canyon. Everything was well maintained and clean and there was plenty of room for our family (4 adults and 4 kids under 4). A great way to have a family vacation with no worries. We enjoyed our time there!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We really try to make your experience a great one. Who wants a vacation with hassles? We don't. We are glad you enjoyed your stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Grand Canyon Escape

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

This was our first experience with a vacation rental and we were very fortunate! The property was exactly as described and was immaculate. We had all the comforts of home and then some.

The owner was very professional, prompt with information, and easy to work with. Everything was organized both in securing the reservation and at the property.

Since we had not stayed at a vacation rental before, I had a little bit of skepticism about the whole process as far as whether the property would be as nice as it looked and or if the transactions would be secure. No worries! This was by far one of the most pleasant vacation experiences we have had. Thank you!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We are so pleased that all was as expected and you had a great time. Our housekeeper does a wonderful job and we work together as a team to make your stay a restful and carefree time. Come back again and send your friends!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice House Near the Grand Canyon

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

The house was very clean and very well maintained, and it was so much more comfortable than a hotel room. It is just far enough away from the Grand Canyon to get away from the crowds, but it is still within convenient driving distance to the National Park. The reservation process was very simple and all communication with the owner was very pleasant and professional. I would definitely be willing to stay there again on a future trip.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We really appreciate your review of the cabin and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We welcome you back anytime!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great home! Perfect place to vacation!

Review submitted: October 12, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

This is a lovely new home in the desert. After enjoying the magnificent starry sky, we went to sleep to the sound of coyotes howling! The home is very clean, and well-maintained and perfect for vacationers who want more than a hotel can offer (such as a washer/drier and a kitchen). The owners were easy and very professional to work with. Great location for Grand Canyon hikers who want to get an early start!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay and yes the skies are beautiful. It is our favorite part of staying at the cabin too. We welcome you back anytime!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Lovely new house close to the Grand Canyon

Review submitted: October 12, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

This is a lovely new home in the desert. After enjoying the magnificent starry sky, we went to sleep to the sound of coyotes howling! The home is very clean, and well-maintained and perfect for vacationers who want more than a hotel can offer (such as a washer/drier and a kitchen). The owners were easy and very professional to work with. Great location for Grand Canyon hikers who want to get an early start!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. They skies are gorgeous! We welcome you back any time.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent - Location, Clean

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 27, 2010

Stayed from 9/27/2010 - 9/30/2010 ( 2 couples)
Everything is as explained. Close to the Grand canyon.

Enjoyed sunrise + sunset + so many stars.

Perfect for Family, friends and etc.

Fast deposit return (only 3 days after check out -> Full refuned)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We appreciate the review and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and see us again and send your friends we would love to have them.

Tamara and Barry

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Nice Stay!!

Review submitted: September 14, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

8 of our friends stayed there during our hiking trip in Grand Canyon. We enjoyed the stay. Facilities were good.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Great time. Home away from home

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

Our experience started with finding the remote drive off the main street.
The house sits back away from the main street so the drive way you go down
is past the house, (deseptive), it wasnt marked well but we found it.
The house is very comfortable ,We sat outside every morning drinking our coffee
and enjoying the peace, the house is away from all the crowds which made it a nice retreat. The porches are very nice one faces the sunrise the other the
sunset . Bedrooms were roomy the upstairs had a window unit which worked great, the bedrooms down stairs were warm they did not have a cooling system or ceiling fans in them,fortunatly friends bought a big box fan from home and it circulated the air for them in their one room (there was a couple of nights when
they really needed it and where uncomfortable but other than that they were happy with the place)
Air conditioner - they did have a mobil air unit but it stays in the main living area ,because it vents through a special window setup with a hose to the outside .(it did okay for the living area/kithen but it didnt have the power to cool the bedrooms downstairs)
Kitchen-stocked well enough. The frig. wanted to freeze things in cerain areas and the freezer does not have an ice maker, but it worked and did the job.
The owners were easy to reach (I accidentaly called them one morning and they answered the phone immediatly) they checked on us the first day we arrived to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. They made me feel like if we had
an issue with anything they would have fixed it.
They put together a binder with helpful info and things to do which was nice.
Everything said we were happy with the place and would stay here again . :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Cabin!

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2010

Our family very much enjoyed staying in this cabin, it is so close to the Grand Canyon which meant we could get a full day hiking at the Canyon. The owners were very helpful and pleasant to deal with. The cabin was immaculately clean and well appointed, lovely and quiet, beautiful sunsets from the deck! There is quite a bit to do around this area in addition to the Grand Canyon, Williams is an historic town on Route 66 and "Bearizona" was also worth a visit. We would highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: It is a delight to welcome our guests who were traveling from outside the USA. We are glad they enjoyed their stay and look forward to welcoming all and sharing where we can to the awesome experience of the Grand Canyon!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great Home!

Review submitted: April 12, 2010   Date of arrival: April 5, 2010

We enjoyed our stay very much. The home is very nice and well taken care of. It is only a short drive to the Grand Canyon so we could spend whole days viewing the canyon. The owners are easy to work with and very nice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Great place to stay when visiting the Grand Canyon

Review submitted: April 7, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

Just have to say that the place is awesome - only about 1/2 hour from the Park. Clean, spacious and as a bonus you get beautiful sunsets from the back porch. Tamara was extremely helpful and we'd stay there again in a heartbeat. Skip the hotels - this is the best value in the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you so much for your comments. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and welcome your family to come back and see us again any time. We agree - the sunsets are the BEST! TM

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review