reviews for: listing #64838 - Tybee Island, Georgia House rental

The Splash Inn--4BR/2BA Beach House with Private Heated Pool
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  South Beach
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $239 - $599 /nt
    $1,195 - $2,995 /wk

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 7, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

We love this house! my sister and family take the downstairs and we take the upstairs we have various aged kids and they all have a great time....relaxing, plenty of space to be togther as a group and also space to be alone for some quite time...you won't be disappointed.

Helpful votes: 10 / 13

 

BOSS ( by kala )

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 10, 2010

I love staying there because the beach is like so close to you you could smell the beach when my family visits what we do is in the morning we go to the beach then at lunch time we come back shower off eat lunch then go in the pool or go back to the beach again this home is BOSS which means awesome if you were wandering!!!!!!!!!!!!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Spring Break

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

A group of us came for a college spring break. The property was very accommodating for our large group and was very close to all the popular areas on the island. Very short walk to a lot of public beach entrances and the downtown area. Great stay, and very nice property.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Location

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 26, 2011

This beach cottage was just right for our week on Tybee Island. The location on the main street was a bit busy but so convenient to the beach and downtown Tybee. We found the beaches to be great and the local merchants friendly and helpful. We loved how bicycle friendly the island was and we rode each day all over the island.
We loved the old timey beach feel of SpashInn. Our older girls enjoyed having their own space in the downstairs living quarters. The private pool was a wonderful relief after a hot afternoon at the beach. We would look forward to visiting SplashInn and Tybee Island again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best Family Trip Ever

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

Last week, my sister and I rented the entire Splash Inn for our family yearly trip. The location was ideal for walking, for shopping, going to the beach and nights out on the town. I found your description and pictures of your rental was exactly as you said they would be. I would highly recommend it to anyone who was looking for a family friendly clean place to stay... Thank you for helping make this vacation one we won't forget for a long time....

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Barry

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the splash Inn on Tybee Island. The location is perfect, just a couple of blocks away from the bars and restaurants, so away from any noise but close enough to walk to them all. We enjoyed the pool every day and also took some day trips. The open trolley tour of Savannah is excellent and only a 20 minute drive from Tybee. We took advantage of the local cuisine and had some wonderful meals, Sundae Cafe and AJ's our favorites.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed your stay--we aim to please!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Barry

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the splash Inn on Tybee Island. The location is perfect, just a couple of blocks away from the bars and restaurants, so away from any noise but close enough to walk to them all. We enjoyed the pool every day and also took some day trips. The open trolley tour of Savannah is excellent and only a 20 minute drive from Tybee. We took advantage of the local cuisine and had some wonderful meals, Sundae Cafe and AJ's our favorites.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Great Vacation!

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

We rented both units for ourselves, adult children and their families and single sister. What a great week! We had some apprehension when seeing that the cottage was on a busy street, but it turned out to be a perfect location for the beach, grocery store and pier. The weather was great-and we enjoyed all the benefits of Savannah (about 30 minutes away).
Although both cottages sleep a total of 14, there were 8 adults and a toddler in our group and that was enough. Additional people would have been sleeping on couches.
The pool was awesome, a bit cooler than the temperature indicated, but happy to have had it cooler with the warm days.
Highly recommend Tybee and easy access to Savannah. The best of both worlds!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: So glad you had a good time and hope you will return again soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 12, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

Had our whole family here for the week and couldn't have had a better time. House is is very cute, clean and comfortable. Couldn't hardly get the kids out of the pool to go to bed at night! Loved the little restaurants and shops on the Strand--reminds me of the beach community my parents used to take us to when we were kids! Will definitely be back . . . .

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing!

Review submitted: February 13, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2009

We loved visiting Tybee and staying at Splash Inn! We go there every year with my family and the Grandparents. The Splash Inn is very cozy and relaxing after a long day at the beach. Everyone, especially the kids, love the pool. I wish we lived closer!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Loved The Splash Inn

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 22, 2009

We stayed for a long weekend in October and the weather could not have been more perfect. The Splash Inn is in a great location on Tybee. We walked to the beach, the Breakfast Club...yummy, the pier, and all the local shops. We also loved just hanging by the heated pool and enjoying the swing on the screened in porch. One evening we popped over to downtown Savannah for an enjoyable time at Five Guys. Everything was just so convenient!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the Splash Inn!

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2009

We loved the Splash Inn and the entire family enoyed the house for 2 weeks. It was our first time to Tybee and we loved the fact that the house had the pool and was only 1 block to the beach. We hope to visit again in the coming years!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful!

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

This place is beautiful and the pool is great! The beach was terrific and we had a lot of sand dollars to find. The weather was perfect and the local people were very friendly. The Crab Shack was cool and Savannah was wonderful. Hope to return one day to vacation again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks so much!

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2009

Thank you so much for an enjoyable and very relaxing 29th anniversary excursion! It's a very nice place and we appreciated all the amenities.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Surprise Birthday Party!

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 3, 2009

We came here to surprise a friend for his 30th birthday--what a great time! The house was fantastic--we had a great time and would definitely come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed our stay!

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 8, 2009

Splashing about all the days. The beach was close while being very sandy, therefore we found the pool especially handy! The outdoor shower was good for sandy feet and helped keep the pool and house nice and neat! We had fun with lots of laughs, being with family, making memories to last. Thank you Splash Inn!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fun Family Gathering

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: April 8, 2009

Family gathering from PA & Atlanta GA-9 of us had a great time! Our 2 teenagers kindly left their attitudes at home and our 4-yr-old tried not to whine and followed her cousins devotedly. The heated pool was a big plus-especially when it rained! Worth the extra money!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was hot!

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 10, 2009

It was almost 100 degrees during our stay, but the pool & ocean helped us cool off. We had a ton of fun at the Splash Inn. The beach was a great place to hang out and body surf. The house is a great place for family vacations!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love it!

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 16, 2009

We loved the house, the beach, the town, the people--everything!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Even Better Than We Expected!

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: March 28, 2009

With some of the earlier reviews of this house, we didn't expect it to be so great, but we absolutely loved it! We really liked the pool and the beach was absolutely beautiful. We went on a fishing charter with my dad and caught 12 speckled trout--cool! This break was one of the best that we've had and I hope we can come back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Family Weekend

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: October 25, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay here! Great memories for have for a lifetime . . . The pool was great--We didn't hardly need to go to the beach! I also loved the swing upstairs. Be sure to go to The Breakfast Club--you won't be hungry for the rest of the day!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great for Couples or Families

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2009

I have recommended this property to friends and plan to return. The location is great - easy walk to the beach and to restaurants! Everything was very clean - including the pool, the kitchen areas and bathrooms. The layout of the rooms is ideal for couples to have privacy and still have plenty of space to be together. I really liked sitting near the pool, but also on the front porch, another good spot for socializing, but not too close to the street. The living areas are inviting with charming decor and comfortable seating. The pool is heated and very private; it has different levels of lighting for evening use. No disappointments here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We had the best time at the SPLASH INN!!!

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Spash Inn October for Pirates festival at Tybee. We had prime seats since the Splash Inn is on the parade route. The Splash Inn has a great location, we could walk everywhere.
We loved the pool heated swam every night. The Spalsh in was clean and comfortable, we slet so well in the king size bed.
If your looking for a great beach experience, with a heated pool Go to the Splash Inn!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sherri

Review submitted: December 4, 2008   Date of arrival: October 12, 2008

This beach home was very clean, cozy, and relaxing! We (family of 6) have stayed at the Splash Inn four times. We plan on staying there again on our next trip to Tybee. It was a quick walk to the beach and convenient to the shops and restaurants. There was a lot of information on area attractions. We went to see the forts and light houses. I have recommended this Inn to friends. The biggest hit was the pool. My only regret is that I wish we lived closer so we could visit more often.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Overrated

Review submitted: June 6, 2008   Date of arrival: May 12, 2008

The house is on the main street, which is not shown in the picture... it was a little loud with the traffic. It was a nice house, but the bottom and top floor are not connected at all... You must walk outside. Also, their biggest selling point is the pool. The pool was filthy, and we were unable to use it at all. When we contacted management, we received no response, no apology, and no refund. I would not recommend this property. We were very dissapointed.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Family Getaway

Review submitted: April 29, 2008   Date of arrival: April 19, 2008

Our family of 7 adults and 2 children stayed at Splash Inn April 19-26, 2008 and everything was very good. Any problems we did encounter were taken care of quickly. The property was clean and well-maintained for the most part. Kitchen is adequate with just the basics - don't expect anything fancy here. Could use more blankets for the beds - a sheet and thin bedspread is on each bed. Within walking distance to restaurants, grocery store, surf shop, rental shop etc. 1/2 block from a beautiful clean public beach and a great heated pool in a very private setting. We would definitely recommend to a friend and will plan another trip here ourselves.
A short 30 minute drive to Savannah for those interested in sightseeing there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Splash inn experience

Review submitted: January 8, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

We rented this house from searching the internet.
There were 10 of us....the house is split by two floors with the steps being outside to get to each floor. We would have rathered had a place that would not divide us. But it worked out anyway. It is on a main street....so you hear traffic. It is across the street from the beach...but you do not see the beach. You see houses. The appearance of the property was clean as was the house. Very convenient to small stores, grocery and restaurants, all within walking distance. We had a few issues with the house....we weren't left enough toilet paper (might seem trivial to some) but for 10 peeps, 5 nights and 3 rolls of paper...not enough. I had to buy the spool for the toilet paper holder also. We also bought beach chairs and mats and a hair dryer because the website said they had these things...but didn't. And the downstairs has an awful smell when you used the water. Not sure what it was...but it smelled like rotten eggs. There are no closets in the house...so no where to put your luggage...the rooms are small so if you had alot of peeps in the house...it would be hard to get around in the bedrooms. I can't imagine 14 people in this house with 2 baths and all the luggage. The lights downstairs over the porch and upstairs over the kitchen sink or counter did not work, The heated pool was nice...but not turned on as I asked (and paid for). Was not offered any credit towards any of the above. All in all we had a nice time...but the owners or the management needs to be more detailed within the house and be sure everything is in order. No I doubt that I would recommend this house to a friend. As I said no reply from the owners or compensation offered from rental agency for the issues listed above. Little things and service mean alot (to me).

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review