reviews for: listing #64841 - Savannah, Georgia House rental

Historic 'Captain's Quarters' in Landmark District!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Historic District
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $199 - $259 /nt
    $1,195 - $1,550 /wk

sort by:

Awesome Savannah Rental

Review submitted: December 19, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

Spent Thanksgiving 2007 at this lovely rental. The attention to detail was incredible. We were 2 couples and the place was perfect. The upstairs suite affords privacy yet the balcony allowed conversations easily with the living room downstairs. Outdoor patio was lovely in the morning in the cool weather with a nice cup of coffee. Beds were high quality and extremely comfortable, even with bad backs! I could go on forever! Have recommended this place to all my friends and their friends who ever want to go to Savannah. Close enough to walk to the riverfront, far enough away to feel like a local. Grocery store very close! Will certainly go back to Captain's Quarter for my next long weekend!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 36 / 38

 

Birthday weekend

Review submitted: July 14, 2014   Date of arrival: July 10, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this property for 3 nights with two other couples for my birthday. The location is great, only a couple blocks from Forsyth Park and within walking distance of the Savannah Visitor's Center. We brought our bicycles and that was a great option for getting around. It is possible to walk to River Street but not really the ideal option, especially since it was raining on and off for a little while. Having 6 people in the house was comfortable, I personally think 8 would be pushing it a little. All the pictures do the place justice, it really is a darling little place and very cozy.

The only critiques I would give it would be the patio areas. The awning that you see in the photo of the lower level patio wasn't there, it would have been nice to eat out there for a meal or two but it was just too hot. The upper level patio could be really awesome with some TLC! Right now there are just a couple plastic chairs and again, it's really hot up there. You could invest some time and a little bit of money to it and make it truly special. With some shade and comfortable seating it or maybe a hammock it would be magical. Just a suggestion to the owners. Other than that, we had a great time and would definitely go back and recommend it to friends. A charming place to stay in Savannah!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The house was adorable and perfect for my family

Review submitted: June 22, 2014   Date of arrival: June 4, 2014

The house was so charming and cute. It had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. There was a minor problem with the air conditioning which Bill took care of immediately. The location was great so we could walk everywhere. We would definitely come back and recommend it to others.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous house and location!

Review submitted: May 7, 2014   Date of arrival: May 2, 2014

The house is adorable with a bedroom on the first floor and another one upstairs. It is exactly as pictured...no surprises. It has a wonderful location close to downtown. We will be making several trips to Savannah over the next few years and will most certainly try to reserve this house.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place

Review submitted: January 2, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

The house is very comfortable and in a great location. The neighborhood is really cute and there is a lot to do close by. The agency that rents the property was great at getting back to me and answering all of my questions. Would definitely recommend to friends and would certainly stay there again when visiting Savannah.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Alex:

We thank you for choosing Calypso Rentals and appreciate your kind words. We look forward to having you return soon!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Property Photos and Description are Quite Misleading

Review submitted: July 21, 2013   Date of arrival: July 2, 2013

The property had some nice amenities associated with it: easy street parking, within blocks of Forsyth Park, and a nice restored wood interior. However, upon arrival to the property, we experienced some issues in regards to misleading descriptors of the property as indicated on the VRBO website. Our stay was in July 2013, so hopefully the property description has been corrected since this time. I wanted to pass along this information so that you will not be mislead as we were:
1. This property is a duplex. As of 7/13, the website photos made it appear as if it were an independent structure, which is obviously not correct. The connected duplex is ALSO a rental unit, and YOU WILL hear the people in that unit! Here is a photo the actual front of the structure looking from the street: http://i1226.photobucket.com/albums/ee404/brtrnlds/photo-1.jpg
2. As of 7/13, the property description/photos state that a "private courtyard" with "covered patio seating" is in the rear of the house. Actually, the courtyard is shared with a completely different house...not the adjacent duplex, but a COMPLETELY DIFFERENT HOUSE! We were not certain if that house was inhabited by renters or owners, but they were certainly present in the courtyard many times during the day smoking cigarettes. This certainly isn't "private". Also, there was no "covered patio". Here is a photo of the courtyard taken from the back door of the unit: http://i1226.photobucket.com/albums/ee404/brtrnlds/photo.jpg

Helpful votes: 35 / 37

 

Great house, Great location, Great town!

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: January 25, 2012

The house is lovely, comfortable, efficient, clean, and in a beautiful location. We have already recommended Savannah and the Captains Quarters and hope to come back again! A great town for all ages!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 7

 

Perfect for family college visit

Review submitted: October 23, 2011   Date of arrival: October 23, 2011

We recently rented the Captain's Quarters while visiting the Savannah School of Art and Design which one of our daughters is interested in. The location was perfect. It's within a reasonable walking distance to just about anything you want to see in the historic district and 2 blocks off of Forsythe Park. The house has good internet connectivity, but only the basic cable and 1 TV. With 2 teens, I thought this would be a touchy point, but their was just so much to do that they didn't really seem to miss it. The house is comfortable and has the basics. We would go back again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place for Family!

Review submitted: September 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 8, 2011

We stayed here last weekend and really enjoyed the house! The home is from the 1880's and has beautiful old floors and characteristics. We comfortably cooked meals in the kitchen and the house seems larger than it is. There was plenty of space for all 6 of us to spread out. There were 6 adults so we used all the beds and everyone slept very comfortably. The location is perfect as you can walk to the park and take the purple DOT into down town fare free. We had dinner on the back deck which was great to be able to have privacy while enjoying our family. Everyone really loved the house and enjoyed every minute there!

There are only a few points I would say need attention (but nothing that would ever keep me away from this place!). The linens and comforters are getting old & worn so new ones would be an icing to this cake! There is a waterspot in the ceiling which isn't problematic, just an asthetic bump, and there are a couple places paint can be touched up. Finally, the downstairs bedroom can use more decor....its a little bland in comparison to the rest of the home. Needs a little extra to make it more cozy and homey feeling (like the rest of the home!). Again, I am planning to stay here EVERYTIME I return to Savannah so none of these are issues.

Overall, excellent and awesome home and I hope you will enjoy it as much as we would!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Captain's Quarters

Review submitted: May 26, 2010   Date of arrival: May 11, 2010

The house is well equiped and close to everything. The neighborhood is charming and the neighbors are friendly. The rental agency is a dream to work with. I wouldn't recommend to families with young children as the stairs are dangerous to navigate.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 12, 2010   Date of arrival: February 21, 2010

We ate, drank and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Savannah and your home! It was really quite lovely. House is in great location to walk to most everything . . . .

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 12, 2010   Date of arrival: February 26, 2010

Had a great time--thanks for the house! Nice walk to River St., etc. in downtown. Try Lizzy's--has awesome grouper. Thanks again and will totally recommend!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 12, 2010   Date of arrival: February 13, 2010

We loved Savannah--the old churches, the siteseeing, and the beach! This house is very comfortable and in a perfect location!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 12, 2010   Date of arrival: May 31, 2009

My wife and I came down to Savannah for our honeymoon and had a wonderful time! We arrived late on our first night here and it was such a pleasure to come into a place that is so warm and relaxing. We enjoyed ourselves so much and this home was a large part of it. . . . thank you for making this cottage available. It became our home away from home and we'll definitely talk about it with family & friends who plan to visit!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 12, 2010   Date of arrival: May 12, 2009

Your guest home is lovely and we felt comfortable and very much at home as soon as we arrived! It was a big part of our wonderful holiday here in Savannah. We will have many happy memories. Thank you for having such a great place!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 12, 2010   Date of arrival: April 26, 2009

Four from Muskegan, MI arrived for the 30th reunion of the Anzio Beachhead Vet's of WWII. We thoroughly enjoyed the house and its convenience to the Historic District--only 10-15 min walk to River St. What a beautiful city--we hope to return soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 12, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2009

Had a great stay--the house is in a perfect location. We biked all over the islands and Savannah. Great weather -- a real change of pace from Colorado! Thanks for providing a beautiful home . . . .

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 22, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

Our family stayed in this lovely house for about a month back in 2006 and had one of the most enjoyable vacations. The spectacular accomodations truely made for an interesting, relaxing, fun-filled stay away from home.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sea Captain's Home

Review submitted: March 26, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

6 of us had at great time in Savannah and loved staying at the Sea Captain's Home. It's convenient to walk to most of the historic district. Cleverly decorated and enjoyable outdoor areas,

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

Savannah is magnificent! The food, the architecture, the history, the people . . . we've never experienced anthing so wonderful! And this charming, snug little cottage was the perfect "home" to come home to!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 22, 2007   Date of arrival: May 22, 2007

We enjoyed our visit--the house made our Savannah trip extra special. The location to everything was great! And . . . Great time, great place!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 7, 2007   Date of arrival: April 7, 2007

The house is beautiful! Thanks for providing us with such a warm and cozy place to stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 18, 2007   Date of arrival: March 18, 2007

The house was absolutely amazing and we look forward to another adventure!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 4, 2007   Date of arrival: February 4, 2007

Wonderful visit!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 14, 2007   Date of arrival: January 14, 2007

The house is very comfortable--we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 28, 2006   Date of arrival: August 28, 2006

I would like to welcome you to the Captain's Quarters vacation home. On behalf of SouthCoast Properties, I thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope that you have a wonderful vacation and will come visit with us again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review