reviews for: listing #64953 - Galveston, Texas House rental

Newport Beach House (beautiful beachfront property)
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Miramar Beach
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $400 /nt
    $1,400 - $2,800 /wk

sort by:

Perfect for 2 Families!

Review submitted: March 28, 2014   Date of arrival: March 17, 2014

First of all MiMi is such a nice person to deal with. She is kind to email back quickly with answers to any questions you have. We rented this house with another family and our kids were ages 3-10. They had a blast! We had plans to leave and do some tourist stuff but ended up just staying at the house and becoming beach bums. Our kids loved the convenience of the private beach and we loved to be able to relax in our own space. There are even sand toys near the shower outside that the kids can play with. The top deck is fenced in so you can feel safe letting your children sit out on the deck too. The deck even has a large picnic table for dining outdoors. There's a full kitchen and laundry room so you don't have to leave with dirty clothes and you don't have to waste money going out to eat. We cooked every day! There's a toaster oven, electric skillet, microwave, even a blender. The upstairs is the master bedroom and it's incredible! There's an awesome deck to sit and drink coffee on overlooking the ocean off the master bedroom. There are TV's in all 3 rooms and the living room. There's a nice stereo system and even DVDs, books, and toys for your kids to play with. There's even a kid potty seat, high chairs, and other needed items for babies provided in the house. I think I even saw a pack in play in one of the closets. The kids room has 2 bunk beds. Perfect! We found so many nice seashells because the beach is not public. It was everything we hoped for and more. I have no complaints. MiMi really wants you to enjoy her house and puts you at ease too. We loved it! I recommend this to anyone wanting to unwind at the beach in peace. We rented a house last year and it was nice but MiMi was way more approachable than anyone we have dealt with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Home with A Beautiful View!

Review submitted: February 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

We were in Galveston for a cheerleading competition for our teenage daughter. We also have two toddlers who we did not want to spend the weekend in a small hotel room with. The Newport Beach House was perfect for our family. The little ones were able to have space to play and run around. There is a huge patio that is very secure with railings and a safety gate. I was able to let the kids play on the patio with all the windows and door open where I could watch them closely.

The house was well equipped and to my surprise even had two high chairs and toys! Everything was clean and comfortable.

MiMi is great to do business with. She was SO accommodating to our requests/needs. She is friendly and responds quickly to emails.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Most Amazing Time!

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

My husband and I spent our honey moon here! It was so peaceful and beautiful! We had an amazing time and plan to return for our anniversary! Mimi was kind,very helpful, courteous, and fabulous hostess! The cabin had everything we needed! It was like a home away from home! We can't wait to return!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Fine

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

What a wonderful time we had here. Very private beach. House was very clean and well equipped. Patios and decks were great. Very kid friendly. Will definitely rent this one again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Family Vacation!

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

We had the most wonderful time at the Newport Beach House. The cabin was fully stocked with anything you could possibly need. The beds were very comfortable. The furnishings were beautiful and the view was awesome! It was very nice having a fenced in yard for the kids to play in. They even set up a tent in the yard. Everyone raved about how nice the house is. We will definitely be back. Thank you MiMi for an excellent time! :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great home and location.

Review submitted: December 7, 2010   Date of arrival: November 25, 2010

We had a great time. Home perfect for 2 families, including 4 grandchildren. Master upstairs and private, 2nd and 3rd bedroom on same level with living area and kitchen. Description and photos was accurate. Layout of home was better than I expected. Home is great beach location and quiet. Great yard area on the beach side for the little ones to play and big enough to set up croquet for older kids. Easy access to crossover which is short walk to the water. Kitchen fully stocked with everything you need to prepare meals. MiMi was wonderful and left a surprise goody basket for us. Nicely stocked grocery store within 6 miles of home. We will definitely return.

Was tricky to find as the home addresses skipped around. Wouldn't want to look for it in the dark. Better to identify which beach access sign it's closest to.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Beach Week

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

We had a wonderful week at The Newport house. Very nice home with everything you need and more. The kitchen was well stocked, bedrooms comfortable and the master bedroom was it's own little upstairs retreat! The week we were there had a lot of dried seaweed on the beach. I guess Galveston does not groom the beach this far down the island. This is our 4th year renting a beach house on the West End and this by far was the nicest one.

One note, the map on info page is not accurate. The house is at the end of the island, not by Jamica Beach.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

great stay!

Review submitted: March 29, 2010   Date of arrival: March 17, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Newport House. We found it very clean and with all necessary linens for the bedrooms and baths. The kitchen was very well equipped. We also enjoy the fenced and grassed yard for our grandchild. The location and view of the ocean was terrific.

These are not really complaints, but we could have used a table that accommodated more people. We would have also enjoyed a house where we could have brought our dog. There was a "pet friendly" house a few doors down and they seemed to enjoy so much having their pets with them. But we totally understand that policy is totally the decision of the home owner.

We would definitely recommend Newport House and will go back ourselves.

Thanks for a great few days!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Galveston's Best Kept Secret

Review submitted: March 24, 2010   Date of arrival: March 12, 2010

All I can say is, "Wow!" We were so pleasantly surprised!!! This cabin is awesome and so are the owners, MiMi and David! When we arrived, there was a welcoming basket trash bags, a roll of paper towels, a couple rolls of toilet paper, toys for the kids, etc. There was also a sweet note from MiMi welcoming us! The cabin was so clean and everything appeared to be new and in wonderful condition. All the lines were provided, and the kitchen is totally stocked! The pictures don't do the cabin justice, it is right on the water. With a private bridge/walk-over over the dunes that is shared with just one other cabin. The private beach was wonderful! We could sit on the deck of the cabin and watch the kids play, and call them in when it was time to eat! The master bedroom takes up the whole top floor with a balcony overlooking the beach! What a great way to wake up in the morning!

I can't express in words how wonderful and perfect this experience was. But, it definitely qualifies as one of our best vacations ever!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review