reviews for: listing #64975 - Manhattan, New York Condo rental

Amazing penthouse loft in Midtown!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $300 - $325 /nt
    $4,000 - $8,000 /mth

sort by:

EXcellent. Exactly as advertised. Perfect location

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 4, 2012

We stayed at Jims place for 2 1/2 weeks over the Christmas/ New Year period with our young children.
The apartment was fantastic. Jim was extremely helpful through the booking process and was always prompt to respond to any email enquiries.
The apt was fully stocked with linens, kitchen ware and basic pantry requirements. The laundry facility was very useful and it was great that it was open until 11pm.

The location of the apt is perfect. We explored the whole of Manhattan with young children very easily. The subway was nearby, but mostly we just walked everywhere.
The nearby Ritz Diner was a family favourite. It serves great, large, cheap meals. There are many great restaurants and shops within 5-10 min walk. We also cooked a few meals in the apt.
It was easy to get supplies from the local Food Emporium & Whole Food Markets.

We felt totally safe in this neighborhood and were walking around late at night with the children without incident. The Apartment building is fully secure, very quiet with very friendly staff. (my children grew very fond of Steve the doorman).
The heating and hot water service was great. We were very comfortable during our entire stay.

We live in a very quiet street, so at first the noise from the street was disturbing us, but after a couple of nights we weren't worried by it. I think we were too exhausted from our days. But hey - it is New York! (Bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper)
If you want to experience 'living' in New York, and to get away from the main tourist areas, this is perfect.

We cannot recommend this apartment as a vacation rental more highly.
We were sad to leave and hope we can come back one day.

Thanks Jim!,

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location and Property!

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: December 29, 2011

We stayed at this property over the New Years Eve holiday and it was outstanding. The building and location is convenient to every destination in Manhattan. Everything about this property made us feel safe is represented in the listing! Do not hesitate to stay at this property!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place

Review submitted: January 8, 2012   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

We stayed at this apartment in October. We had never stayed in this part of the city and were hesitant about the location After our 3 days we found we loved this location. On Sunday we went to a neighborhood restaurant named "David Burke Townhome" it was delicious. Had we not been in this neighborhood we would not have found this delight. We would definitely stay again.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to Stay !

Review submitted: December 28, 2011   Date of arrival: December 9, 2011

My wife and I visited Jim's apartment for a week recently (December) and we can honestly say it's the best vacation rental we've ever used. The apartment is perfectly as advertised, comfortable and clean, cosy, great facilities, tv, wifi, heating etc (it was very chilly while we stayed in New York ! ) We spent most evenings in the apartment as we'd been out seeing the sights of the city all day, a lot of walking involved ! It's perfectly placed for seeing all the best of Manhattan. Ten minutes walk to the Rockefeller Centre, Radio City Music Hall, Bloomingdales etc, and only a 5 minute walk to the subway at 59th and Lexington if you want to explore further afield.Just a couple of blocks away is the Food Emporium, a great little market for food shopping, there's a 24 hr store across the street and a 24 hr Diner too !The 59th St Cable Car ride is a short walk away too, a great trip to take. All through the booking process any enquiries were promptly dealt with by Jim, he even recommended some places to eat which we tried, all of them very good, there is also plenty of information in the apartment about things to do while in the city. We had some native New Yorker friends visit during our stay and they couldn't believe the standard and location of Jim's apartment for the price. I would definitely not hesitate to book the apartment again, in fact we're hoping to be back in the next year or so for another visit, New York made a big impression on us. Anyone looking for a vacation rental, perfectly placed in Manhattan, you couldn't get better than this apartment.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great place

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2011

Great place. Surely made the right decision by not staying in a hotel. The place is close to the center. Subway is a 5 minute walk. The description is valid except from the wine cooler which is broken. Not that it mattered! It is a bit noisy but I guess all of new York is. Also keep in mind that it is an apartment surrounded by light which might wake you up early in the morning. In general I would recommend the apartment. Very nice and tasteful decorating.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Apartment!!!

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 6, 2011

My friends and I really enjoyed staying at this apartment located in a great part of Manhattan, close to Central Park. The apartment is decorated with excelent taste and was everything we expected. We enjoyed every corner, specially the private terrace with a very nice NY view. We are really looking forward to go back to NY and Jim's apartment is defenitly our first option!! By the way, Jim, the owner, made everything very easy for us. Our NY experience was amazing and staying here really helped to make it even better. Thanks!!!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Location

Review submitted: November 26, 2010   Date of arrival: August 24, 2010

My husband and I enjoyed our stay in this apartment. Great light with floor to ceiling windows. Photos are accurate. Fantastic location, close to subways, grocery stores and restaurants. Staff in the building were very helpful and friendly. Jim was very prompt in answering emails and telephone calls. The private outdoor space is a luxury in Manhattan.
There are 2 spiral staircases which are lovely but you do need to be able to navigate them.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A plus on everything

Review submitted: December 16, 2009   Date of arrival: December 9, 2009

Our trip to New York was one of the most enjoyed/perfect trips in all aspects. It started with Jim the property owner. The communication was always provided in a very professional way and prompt. All questions were answered and followed through. The location of the condo was perfect, quite, peaceful, clean and it had all the utensils anyone would need. Everyone in the building was very friendly and the building was kept in tip top shape at all times. It was very easy to get around and just as easy to return after a long FUN day. I would recommend this property to anyone needing a place to stay in the BIG Apple. The staff at the building were very helpful and went out of there way to make you happy. You don't get this kind of service just anywhere.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 25 / 25

 

LOVED IT, HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Review submitted: November 3, 2009   Date of arrival: November 2, 2009

It was my first time in NYC and didnt really know where to stay. My friend gregg stayed here last summer and loved it, so I gave it a try.

Huge windows, sun, clean, great neighborhood, close to shopping, went running in central park every morning!

Will stay here again!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Very sunny, great neighborhood

Review submitted: October 30, 2009   Date of arrival: September 1, 2009

I came here with my mom and sister, had a great time, the apartment was clean, high end, reminded me of an expensive hotel because everything was so nice.

The rooftop patio was great, we had dinner yup there every night!

I would definitely suggest that people stay there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Had a great time, great place to stay

Review submitted: October 29, 2009   Date of arrival: October 19, 2009

Perfect location, nice people, lots of light and sun.

Not sure about the other reviewers, but I really don't need a coffee pot when there is a star bucks down the street! Roof deck is really nice and the best shopping in the world 3 blocks away.

Recommended for: people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Disappointment

Review submitted: October 13, 2009   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

Would refer people to September 2009 review with which we broadly concur. It is important to note that as Australians our views may be slightly different to US renters.
The positives - good location, with grocery shopping, diners, restaurants and bars around the corner. Plenty of room for two people. Felt secure and safe around the area at night. Staff very helpful.
The negatives - the whole feel of the apt was let down by alot of small things and the managers are not doing their job. Plug in bathroom washbasin broken. Rang and complained and was promised it would be fixed but it wasn't!! No kettle, no coffee machine, no iron, no ironing board. One chair for the dining table. Absolutely no instructions about where anything was, how they worked etc. Quality of crockery, cutlery and glassware was just laughable. Like something you would expect in the 3rd world not NY!! The upstairs patio was unloved.
Conclusion: If these minor matters were fixed we would have no hesitation staying there again.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Needs Work

Review submitted: October 1, 2009   Date of arrival: September 24, 2009

Good: Location is good if you want to be away from mid-town. Roof top patio is a nice bonus. TV is very good but some instructions would help for the non tecky types. Reception staff very friendly and accommodating. Just 2 blocks from a large grocery store.
Not so good: The photos must have been taken some time ago as the apt is showing a lot of wear and tear. Radiator housing fell off our first night. 4 or more light bulbs burned out. couple of others mysteriously turn on and off by themselves. Would describe kitchen as a 'bachelor's' kitchen - some chipped dishes from assorted sets, a supply of odd plastic shopping bags instead of proper garbage bags. No washer and dryer as adverrtised. On street parking is very difficult to find. Overnight parking is a block away for $29.00. A 'Welcome Letter' to explain the workings of various equipment etc would be a nice touch. No phone in apt.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved it, very hip.....fantastic place!

Review submitted: February 8, 2009   Date of arrival: February 2, 2009

I stayed here with my girlfriend, it was a great apartment, hip, tons of light, cool outdoor deck, close to shopping. Modern art on teh wall....fun!

K
Paris, FR

Helpful votes: 6 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review