reviews for: listing #64994 - Dominical, Costa Rica House rental

Discover Costa Rica's Jewel of the Rainforest!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Dominical
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $786 - $1,214 /nt
    $5,500 - $8,500 /wk

sort by:

Luxury family vacation!

Review submitted: July 24, 2014   Date of arrival: March 30, 2014

In April 2014 our family spent an amazing week at Casa Big Sur in Costa Rica. Casa Big Sur is indeed a family friendly, luxury home with a million dollar view out almost every window. Housekeeper, Carolina, groundskeeper, Didier, and property manager, Ben took care of all our needs while we were there. The home had everything we needed to make our stay perfect. The house is in close driving proximity to beach caves at Ventanas Beach, the Whales Tail at Punta Uvita Beach, Manual Antonio National Park, and of course various surf breaks. Despite the close proximity to all these things, my 7 and 9 year old kids favorite part of the trip was the amazing infinity pool at Casa Big Sur. Here they spent hours playing, bird watching, and in awe of the view. Thank you Casa Big Sur for the magical and unforgettable family vacation. We hope to return soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The ultimate in Luxury!

Review submitted: April 10, 2014   Date of arrival: March 30, 2014

This place has it all. Beautiful surroundings, impeccable decor, panoramic views. Didier and Carolina are wonderful and their help in keeping the grounds spic and span is appreciated. The doors are all hardwood, so even if you are staying with other families it is quiet and private. The road up there is steep but well-maintained. There is a great bar/restaurant a short walk away with great burgers, wings, and drinks. Only 45 minutes to Manuel Antonio. Wildlife in the trees. We loved it! Great for kids!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the wonderful review! We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Casa La Big Sur - it really is like a jungle oasis on the mountain. We would love to welcome you back again some day!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise in the Sky!!

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

What can I really say!! The pictures are amazing but they don't even begin to give you the real sense of what this place is all about. Casa Big Sur sits on the side of rolling hills and overlooks one of the best ocean views I have ever seen. If you like laid back and peaceful or if you are looking for adventure Casa Big Sur and Dominical offer more than enough to satisfy. The house is better than any 5-satr accommodation a hotel could offer. Casa Big Sur, the staff, and Ben Morris see to it that every detail is covered and if you need something they will get it for you. We spent 8 days in CR and it went by way too fast. I can't wait to make my way back to Casa Big Sur and Dominical again real soon!! James - Cleveland, oh

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Amazing Surroundings!!!!!!

Review submitted: February 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2011

This is house is better than the pictures. The wildlife that seems to live on the property make you feel as if your all alone in nature. As far as the house is concerned it exceeded all the expectations. The master suites are humungous with huge showers and a jacuzzi tub with a view that was still private. The pool is incredible, Im not a big swimmwer but I found myself floating on the provided pool rafts every afternoon while watching the toucans and macaws flying over head. The only negative thing about house is that the two downstairs rooms as well as the bathroom are only accessible by going outside. This wouldnt be a problem except there are some pretty Ginormous bugs in CR, so if you have someone afraid of bugs put them upstairs. As far as getting to the house, they are not kidding about having four wheel drive. Its was pretty unbelievable the first time up but after that It was actually pretty fun. The service was great and I would definitely go back

Owners response: Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed the pool and the toucans!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Trip to Paradise

Review submitted: December 1, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

“Life doesn’t get any better than this”, we thought to ourselves as a toucan flew overhead and shrieks of excitement could be heard as a double rainbow formed in front of the kids. Costa Rica is full of incredible sights and sounds and hands down, was the best destination we could have chosen for our family vacation. Not only was it a haven to escape the rush of daily life, but it was an adventure that our children will never forget. Days could be filled with lounging lazily by the pool or being pampered with a massage to hiking through the rainforest or surfing at one of the local beaches. Our options and activities were endless, and we didn’t let the fact that we were traveling with 4 children (including a toddler and an infant) stop us! In fact, it made for a great fieldtrip for the older kids who learned all about the characteristics and animals of the rainforest.

Our accommodations were Grade A. Casa Big Sur proved to be everything and more than we anticipated. Nestled atop the rainforest, the sunrise vistas were breathtaking and having a howler monkey as our wakeup call was a pretty cool experience. Upon our arrival, the house was open and inviting, the kitchen already stocked with food, the pool ready to be jumped in, and a beautiful mahogany crib was awaiting our littlest weary traveler. The house staff was incredibly friendly and attentive to our every need. Our hosts Ben and Sidia, made us feel right at home in addition to making us feel like family. Our time in Costa Rica and especially at Casa Big Sur is something we’ll never forget. We intend to be back soon, ready for another adventure and ready to settle into Pura Vida!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Don't Hesitate- Rent it! - TripAdvisor Review

Review submitted: December 1, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2011

My extended family/ friends (10 of us)rented Casa Big Sur the first week of November. We have occupied a number of properties on the pacific coast of Costa Rica over the past two years and Casa Big Sur is at the very top. The house is gorgeous, with privacy and breathtaking views. The drive up can seem daunting at first, but becomes routine by weeks end. The towns of Uvita and Dominical are wonderful places to explore, small and friendly. The house staff was excellent, and communicating with the owner was always a pleasure. He was always available and ready to aid us or answer questions. We did utilize a chef, and I will review that separately. I would recommend a 4x4, and don't miss whitewater rafting, canyoning , and beer/wings at the Jolly Roger (walking distance)while in the area. Finally, we saw more wildlife at other sites, but if you are going primarily for wildlife hit the Osa! This is a very beautiful home, in a lovely and tranquil setting. Go!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

tropical blessings -TripAdvisor Review

Review submitted: February 9, 2011   Date of arrival: December 7, 2010

We already know that no where else we will stay and vacation will exceed the memories made at casa big sur. utter relaxation. removed yet still a big part of the community and costa rican experience. modern and spacious yet peaceful and welcoming. no where else will compare!
· By n. gamette from san clemente, ca

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Healing - TripAdvisor Review

Review submitted: February 9, 2011   Date of arrival: December 15, 2010

It was truly "Healing" -- physically, mentally, and spiritually
· By Haberfields from San Diego

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Disconnect on the South Pacific - TripAdvisor Rev

Review submitted: February 9, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

My wife and I plus our three children all loved Casa Big Sur. While there is plenty to do such as surf, fish, zipline etc. simply relaxing and soaking up the view and the sounds of the jungle are a pleasure. From the toucans and parrots to the howler monkeys your eyes and ears will be treated to the beautiful natural sounds on Costa Rica.
· By SAPuraVida from San Antonio, Texas

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Casa Big Sur awaken Your Soul - TripAdvisor Review

Review submitted: February 9, 2011   Date of arrival: January 22, 2011

Whether you are taking a family vacation with your children or looking for a trip to spend with colleagues or businees associates, Casa Big Sur has something for everyone.
Our first trip in June 2010 was with our friends and thier children. We found the house to offer an arrary of activiites nearby as well as a chance to do "just nothing". since we did not know what activities were the best , we relied on our host Ben to guide us. He suggested places to lunch and dinner as well as setting up our personal chef Vanessa. Additionally he provided all kinds of ideas on where to visit, surf, horseback ride and zip line. When we visited with the children, we enjoyed the pool in the mornings. We would whale watch from inside the pool!! The children had a wonderful time at the Manuel antonio National Park, just an hours drive on the new highway that runs north to south throughout Costa Rica.
On our second trip to Casa Big Sur, we traveled with our clients. This group wanted to simply unwind. We spent hours in the pool and jacuzzi, even during rainy in the evenings we sat in the jacuzzi. The constellation of stars is the most incredible you can ever enjoy. Our guest Ken saw many shooting stars one evening while relaxing on the terrace.
Every detail of the house is unmatched any where else in the world we have traveled! The chef services inlcude typical Costa Rican meals as well as hamburger or hot dogs on the bbq.. One of our guests thoroughly enjoyed the salt scrub with Melanie. The best she has ever had in 35 years. Upon request, couples massages are available too!!!
From the folks in Chicago who travel often,Casa Big Sur is a
destination you will never forget.
· By Casa Big Sur from Chicago on 1/22/2011 for a stay in 1/1/2011

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Casa La Big Sur - TripAdvisor Review

Review submitted: February 9, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

This is Pura Vida! Staff & Owner are Fantastic People!
Toucans evryday around the villa! Location is 800 feet above sea level and the view is spectacular!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 10, 2010   Date of arrival: March 15, 2009

We definitely had a great time and I wanted to thank you again for trusting us to stay in your house.  Thanks for the returned deposit and I will make sure to send your information along to those who might be looking in Costa Rica.   

Caleb

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 10, 2010   Date of arrival: May 14, 2010

We had a great time in Casa La Big Sur and were totally spoiled by you.  You went beyond the call of duty to make our stay fun and enjoyable. The house is absolutely fantastic and you must be proud of the job you have done there.  Our friends were bowled over by it. Please pass on our thanks and appreciation to Diana for her superb cooking. 

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 10, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

My first visit to CBS was pure magic from start to finish and I'm hopinghopinghoping to be coming back for the rest of my life.

Leah

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review