reviews for: listing #64998 - Mission Bay, California House rental

Mission Bay 4 BR, bay/ocean view pool/spa
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $375 - $450 /nt
    $2,300 - $2,750 /wk
    $5,950 - $7,250 /mth

sort by:

Great Holiday Getwaway

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

This house was perfect for our family holiday trip to San Diego. We have relatives in the neighborhood so the location was wonderful - and extremely accessible to Sea World, the Zoo, PB and the bay. The backyard and pool were perfect for the kids. The nightly sunsets from the deck were fantastic. The house is well kept and the owner is responsive and extremely accommodating. Will definitely come back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House in a Great Location!

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 29, 2013

This property was just perfect for us! We were a family of 7; grandparents, parents, two young children and an uncle. The house was clean and comfortable and the pool and spa were sparkling clean. My older son, who loves to cook, was thrilled with the modern kitchen and gas barbecue and we had a great time sitting in the dining room together enjoying his delicious dinners. Everything was in perfect working order, and my grandchildren had a ball in the pool and playing the games, videos, etc. that were all available in the house. The location could not have been better either; a quiet neighborhood just a few minutes from the airport, the zoo, SeaWorld and Mission Bay Park. I would definitely recommend this rental to anyone visiting the San Diego area!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just Perfect for Us!

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 29, 2013

This property was just perfect for us! We were a family of 7; grandparents, parents, two young children and an uncle. The house was clean and comfortable and the pool and spa were sparking clean. My older son, who loves to cook, was thrilled with the modern kitchen and gas barbecue and we had a great time sitting in the dining room together enjoying his delicious dinners. Everything was in perfect working order, and my grandchildren had a ball in the pool and playing the games, videos, etc. that were all available in the house. The location could not have been better either; a quiet neighborhood just a few minutes from the airport, the zoo, SeaWorld and Mission Bay Park. I would definitely recommend this rental to anyone visiting the San Diego area!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation location.

Review submitted: May 1, 2013   Date of arrival: April 18, 2013

Wow! This vacation rental turned out to be a great choice for us. This has been one of our most relaxing trips to San Diego. We are from Arizona, but visit San Diego about every 2-3 months. There were 4 adults, 1 teenager, and 2 children on this trip. We all had quality family time, whether it was just relaxing in the hot tub, watching the kids swim & BBQ , or playing a game of pool. Gerry's home was perfect for us. The property was very close to the bay where our kids got to experience kayaking thanks to Gerry. The beach was a close drive too. The location of this property had a beautiful view of the bay. The house was conveniently located close to the beach, Sea World, Mission Bay, Balboa park.The house was clean and everything was maintained. As we all came to the agreement Gerry's home was like "our little private resort". We look forward to our next stay at "our little private resort".
Thanks again Gerry for helping us make lasting memories.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A home for a real vacation

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

Our family comes from Spain in the summer for one month and we have rented this house for the last 3 years. I can´t believe the review given by the Arizona family as it so far off. We have never had problems with the house not being clean. It is always spotless and Gerry upgrades the inside and yard from year to year. The backyard pool, spa and BBQ are ideal. We are always there in August and have never been hot as there is a good breeze. The house offers extras such as a pool table and a big TV in the living room. The bedrooms and closets are roomy. My husband and I love to take morning walks along the bay and it is so convient. There is a gas station and shopping center with a grocery store in the neighborhood. The house is in one of the best locations of San Diego as the views are spectacular and we can get to popular beaches, La Jolla, Pacific Beach and downtown all in 10 minutes. This house gives us everything we could want for a great vacation in So Cal.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Not a good rental

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

This beach house has great square footage for large families, and a fantastic backyard. Those are the only two things that impressed us. This house was soo dirty! All the door handles, walls and lightswitches were dirty. The hall bathroom was disgusting. The shower didn't drain, the trash can had brown splatter all over it, and there was mold in the shower. The kitchen had a used coffee filter and the tray that holds the utensils was so grimy we didn't want to use anything. This is NOT a rental property! This is the owners personal residence. We felt like we were borrowing his house. All of his personal belongings were in the drawers, closests and medicine cabinets. It was very uncomfortable. The carpet was very stained and gross. I never took my shoes or socks off because I didn't want my feet to get dirty. This beach house is not a ten minute walk to the bay. It is more like a 10 to 15 minute drive to the bay and the ocean because you have to cross two freeways to get there. The furniture is very hodge podge, and that is why there are no pictures of the bedrooms. When the owner was confronted on how dirty the house was he did refund us our cleaning deposit, but rationalized and made excuses for everything. I would not recommend this property to anyone unless a complete overhaul is done and you don't mind packing up your car everyday and driving 15 minutes to mission beach.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Hi Everyone,
I expected this review and am excited to respond. This is my first negative comment in 3 seasons so I appreciate very much the opportunity to respond. All of the bedrooms have carpet that is 3 weeks old, and the rest of the carpet in the house was replaced the day this group left. The home also went through an extensive deep cleaning the following day. All drains were also checked. I always like to make things right with renters, which is why I returned their cleaning fee, despite the home looking like a war zone. I would like to add that many happy renters have looked at the home before renting. I am happy to provide pictures of the bedrooms, which I often do. Every bedroom has it's own, empty dresser and nightstand, and my furniture is by no means hodgepodge or inexpensive. I do keep some personal items in the home, but they are not meant to impose, but rather contribute to how well-appointed the home is. I leave plenty of supplies, including items like bandaids and sterile pads, and suntan lotion, but for the benefit of the renter. It is my part time personal residence, but I have been told many times how many people feel right at home. I also have a guestbook filled with comments to this effect, and have had many return renters.

The home is very centrally located, with many complements on the location. The bay is about a 1-2 minute drive, and a ten minute walk. (if the light is green at the bottom of the hill, you can be there in 45 seconds.) There is only one bridged freeway that needs to be crossed (I-5). Google maps will show this as the spot where I-5 nearly touches Mission Bay. The ocean is about a ten minute drive, not because it is so far away because it can seen, but because you can't take a direct route as you would have to drive right through middle of the bay. You have to go one exit south to Sea World drive, or one exit north through Pacific Beach. One more thing, I do not offer this home as a "beach" house. This is a home very close to the bay in a very nice neighborhood of million dollar homes. Sea World (and the nightly summer fireworks) can easily be seen from the house, as can the bay, and in the background, you will see the ocean.


In closing, I would like to say that my utmost personal goal is to make the home a great place for you to rent. I will always perceive your comments as constructive, and will gladly make any adjustments necessary.
Thank you kindly,
Gerry

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Team Candelario 2011

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

Gerry,

Where do we begin? Our stay here in your awesome home couldn't have been more perfect!!

For starters, the layout of "the land" reunited us nicely. Whether is was a time for family or a time for solitude, we had it all.

When searching for the perfect place, most did not offer the amenities yours offered. But the best was the hospitality you shared. You made us feel that "Mi casa es tu casa". We truly felt at home and wish we could continue our second week here.

Thank you so very much!

"Team Candelario"

(Ohio, Puerto Rico, Florida, California)
Dec 20, 2011-Dec 27, 2011

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

We loved our stay here. This house is a very accessible to many San Diego attractions. The weather was fair so having the pool and hot tub that is heated was very helpful for more outside fun. We actually slept 10 with the sleeper sofa in the master so we were able to have three families sharing the house. The owner was very friendly and accomadating. I would recommend this property to any family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

This was our first time using Vacation Rentals and I can only hope that future owners will be as wonderful as Gerry was. The property was maintained beautifully and was more then we could have ever hoped for. We spent the week with 7 adults in the house and had plenty of room and enjoyed the use of the heated pool and hot tub daily along with many games of pool. The location was very central to all the major attractions San Diego has to offer. Mission Bay is a short walk and has great bay side bike trails. I highly recommend this property and would definitely book it again if I am in the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great family vacation home in San Diego!

Review submitted: March 16, 2011   Date of arrival: February 6, 2011

Great family getaway in San Diego. Good location, great house and the back yard had an amazing pool. Great for any family with children. Owner was very accommodating.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review