reviews for: listing #65001 - Austin, Texas House rental

Hancock Modern, Home Away from Home!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Shoal Creek
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $300 /nt
    $1,400 - $1,500 /wk
    $4,000 - $5,000 /mth

sort by:

Austin Oasis

Review submitted: June 13, 2014   Date of arrival: June 9, 2014

Beautifully updated home. Great landscaping, fully furnished. Immaculately clean. Very spacious with four bedrooms. Quiet neighborhood. Very safe and easy access to major freeways. Outstanding!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

LOVED this house!

Review submitted: May 11, 2014   Date of arrival: April 30, 2014

This home was not only extremely comfortable but decorated retro chic with a cool eye for details (Rachel?!). We were a group of five, two couples and a friend, coming for a music festival from Paris, France and we were quickly falling in love with Austin thanks to our marvelous stay in this unique house.
Description, photos, listing were accurate and plus +. Delightful yard in the back was a surprise (no photos on the site).
We had a warm welcome with music playing and few lights on as we arrived at night. There was a little problem with a toilet that was taken care of by Nick the same day. We really felt that the owners had put a lot of love and thought into this home and wanted to make sure we enjoyed our stay, which we thoroughly did. Thank you, Rachel and Nick!
Highlights of our week stay: Austin Psych Festival, Barton Springs Creek pool (the local pool was enjoyed, too!), La Condesa, food trucks, Ginny's Little Longhorn Saloon, beer

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Experience

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

We used this house for a weekend when we had lots of guest in town. I live a block away so guest could easily walk to and from. Our guests found the location convenient when they ventured out on their own. We had five adults, two couples and a single adult., however, the house would easily sleep 8 guesting in bedroom plus there is a daybed/futon as well as two more sofas. Much more economical then a hotel. I have used VRBO in many countries. As a result I was pleasantly surprised at how well appointed and maintained the house was. On setting up the house for guest arrival I noticed the coffee carafe was missing in the coffee maker. I called the owner, she picked up immediately. Directed me to a supply area in the garage where they stock supplies and where the replacement carafes are kept.
All appliances worked well including A/C and washer / dryer. The owners have extra fans stored in each bedroom closet for guests.
Owners live near by and are as professional as delightful. The whole experience was easy from reservation to checkout. I will be using this house again for future guests.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing home and location!

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

I came to Austin to look for a warehouse space to start my art studio, I had rented another one of Rachel and Nick's lovely homes, the Hancock cottage which is also a beautiful spot to stay. Rachel was kind enough to book me into the Hancock Modern last minute, making sure that everything was perfect for the stay. The house layout is absolutely GORGEOUS. 4 large rooms with very comfortable beds. The living room is large and very inviting, a great spot to have business meetings or just hang out with some friends. The kitchen was spectacular, everything you need to cook up a storm is ready at your fingertips, and if you aren't wanting to dirty the kitchen up the house is surrounded by amazing places to eat. Northcross shopping center is a bike ride away, and the Domain which is one of the most impressive shopping centers i've seen is just a 5 minute drive away, tons of wonderful stores to shop around in and some amazing restaurants. Rachel the home owner went out of her way to make sure that my stay was perfect, some of the most wonderful customer service i have received. All in all, a perfect stay for a group of friends, business meetings, or just a family vacation. I would absolutely recommend this home to anyone making a visit to Austin.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House

Review submitted: June 28, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

Wonderful house and very reasonably priced. Very convenient location close to everything The hosts were very helpful. Would definitely stay here again

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Race weekend retreat

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

My extended family stayed at the Hancock modern on the weekend of the motogp. The accommodation was stylish, clean and spacious and suited 3 generations of family well (2 gradparents, 2 sets of parents and 2 children <5). The location of the house provides easy freeway access and it took us about 20 minutes each way to COTA. There are lots of eateries and stores within a short drive of the house and we found the neighborhood was leafy and quiet. It was great to come back to this house and relax after a day at the racetrack, it's child friendly and so is the yard. I'll definitely stay here again...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

*EXCELLENT RENTAL*. Period.

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

Let me first start off by explaining a little about myself - I'm 27 years old, like technology and comfortable, clean living. I'm used to a nice place, good TV's, wifi and comfy couches. The Hancock Modern absolutely encompassed a "home away from home" for me. I stayed there for a month and couldn't be happier with the entire experience. I'm hard to please and was worried at first, but as soon as I walked into the Modern my worries went away.

The house itself: Exceptional. Tons of space - I'm 6'3" 220 and there wasn't ever a 'cramped' feeling in the house. VERY comfortable living room; a good TV, very comfy, large couches, and fantastic kitchen. You walk in, hit the grocery store and you're ready to go. There are four bedrooms, one of which has twin beds, a queen, and then two kings that are extremely comfy. AC is fantastic, wifi is up there with the fastest and goes throughout the house. Showers are also great too - tons of pressure.

The Neighborhood: Fantastic. Nice, friendly, and safe neighborhoods. Right off Anderson and Burnett (a lifeline of Austin), grocery store less than 4 minutes away, great walking/jogging and biking trails on the streets and a very nice park nearby. And a 15 minute cab ride downtown to the festivities of Downtown Austin.

The owners, Nick and Rachel, are great - they definitely give you your privacy and quick responses when you need them.

Overall, I couldn't be happier with the stay. As I said, I was there for a month for a training program and LOVED to go "home" after I was done with work. Which says a lot.

Don't overlook this one - I'm telling you, it's great. I'll be back for sure.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

*EXCELLENT RENTAL*. Period.

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

Let me first start off by explaining a little about myself - I'm 27 years old, like technology and comfortable, clean living. I'm used to a nice place, good TV's, wifi and comfy couches. The Hancock Modern absolutely encompassed a "home away from home" for me. I stayed there for a month and couldn't be happier with the entire experience. I'm hard to please and was worried at first, but as soon as I walked into the Modern my worries went away.

The house itself: Exceptional. Tons of space - I'm 6'3" 220 and there wasn't ever a 'cramped' feeling in the house. VERY comfortable living room; a good TV, very comfy, large couches, and fantastic kitchen. You walk in, hit the grocery store and you're ready to go. There are four bedrooms, one of which has twin beds, a queen, and then two kings that are extremely comfy. AC is fantastic, wifi is up there with the fastest and goes throughout the house. Showers are also great too - tons of pressure.

The Neighborhood: Fantastic. Nice, friendly, and safe neighborhoods. Right off Anderson and Burnett (a lifeline of Austin), grocery store less than 4 minutes away, great walking/jogging and biking trails on the streets and a very nice park nearby. And a 15 minute cab ride downtown to the festivities of Downtown Austin.

The owners, Nick and Rachel, are great - they definitely give you your privacy and quick responses when you need them.

Overall, I couldn't be happier with the stay. As I said, I was there for a month for a training program and LOVED to go "home" after I was done with work. Which says a lot.

Don't overlook this one - I'm telling you, it's great. I'll be back for sure.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for a family holiday

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: December 14, 2011

The house is well located and well furnished, with state of the art appliances in the kitchen and living room. Plenty of kitchen utensils and linen, no need to bring anything. The location is exclusively residential, in a quiet area of tree-lined streets. It is however close to the main highways going north, south, east and west, so that mobility is very easy (about 15/20 mins to downtown by car). Shopping for basics (supermarket, drugstore, pharmacy etc.) is just a few blocks away. The owners are very attentive and in our case even provided a few grocery items (bread, milk, eggs etc.) when learned that we would move in immediately after a long flight from overseas. It was perfect for our family gathering around Christmas and New Year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great for families attending ACL!

Review submitted: September 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 15, 2011

We reserved this house for ACL weekend 2011 and were very happy with it. We had our 5 month old daughter with us as well as another couple. it was very clean and well stocked. They even had a pack n play and a high chair (the exact same as the one we use at home even) there for our use. The drive to Zilker park down Mopac was easy and quick and very convenient for us since we had VIP parking that was directly off of Mopac. Many restaurants and lots of shopping right down the street. The chickens in the backyard (in a fenced in coop) cracked us up and the flowers on the counter when we arrived were a very nice touch.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

PERFECT FAMILY HOUSE!

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

My son got married in Austin over Memorial Day weekend. I needed a house that would be comfortable for 8 family members. This house fit the bill perfectly. They had plenty of room so each person could have their "space." Kitchen was well equipped. Having the 4 chickens in the back yard added to the fun, especially for the kids in the family. Enjoyed the fresh eggs. VRBO photos show the house exactly the way it is in person. The rest of the family rented another house in the Allandale neighborhood, 6 blocks away. Allandale is a great central location, close to everything! I would not hesitate to rent this house again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Family Loved the Hancock Modern!

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

Thank you so much for furnishing such a comfortable "home away from home." Everyone had a great time, and this house served as a perfect meeting point for all of our friends and family from all over the country (and world!). We will be back! Sincerely, The Cerda Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Your Home In Austin

Review submitted: October 29, 2010   Date of arrival: September 1, 2010

We stayed at Hancock Modern for 2 weeks when we first relocated to Austin. Not knowing anything or anyone in the city was a bit daunting but staying here made everything so simple and easy. Rachel and Nick really went out of their way to make us feel at home. We moved to Austin from Los Angeles not knowing a soul. They showed us around and even helped us find our own house. Staying here was such a treat! The house is big, comfortable and tastefully decorated. It was stocked with all the amenities you could ever need including a fully stocked kitchen, wonderful linens, even flowers and a bottle of wine!!! There were even toys for our dog in the closet. The chickens gave us fresh eggs everyday and coming from L.A., you don't get fresh eggs unless you buy them at the farmers market. The huge park around the corner was a delight and all your conveniences are nearby. Definitely try the Vietnamese restaurant on Anderson at the shopping center. The best Pho hands down! It was a great start to our new life in Austin and it would never have been as easy a transition had it not been for choosing to stay here and meeting Nick & Rachel.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

perfect for our family

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 26, 2010

Truly a Home away from home, just bring your toothbrush. the owners of this home had everthing in place for a comfortable stay. there was milk & juice in the frig , so we didn't have to run immediately to a store, Our grandchildren enjoyed picking up the fresh eggs for their breakfast. Everything is in this home to ensure a comfortable stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

weekend getaway

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2010

The Modern was just as lovely as described. The house was very spacious and newly renovated and perfect for our group. The location was very convenient for night life on 4th-6th street--- which we took advantage of on both nights. It was also not too far from lake travis, about twenty five minutes. We had a great day out at the lake with beautiful views and cheap boat rentals. After the lake, we came back to the house and had ourselves a nice little bbq. It was a perfect weekend, other than the fact that i was so relaxed that i forgot my expensive temper-pedic pillow in one of the rooms! I would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends. They kept asking me how I found the place--- i just say i got extremely lucky. Rachel was very helpful and prompt in answering all our questions and was very accommodating.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review