reviews for: listing #65004 - Gatlinburg, Tennessee Cabin rental

Mansion in the Sky /10 BR/9 fireplaces/hot tubs/hm.theater/
  • bedrooms  10
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cabin
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Chalet Village
  • sleeps  40
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $960 - $1,895 /nt
    $6,720 - $13,265 /wk

sort by:

Couples Retreat 2013

Review submitted: November 2, 2013   Date of arrival: October 24, 2013

This was the first of many to come, thanks to Mr. Earl & The Mansion in the Sky!!!! We were a group of 20 and oh boy, did we have an awesome time. My family have visited Pigeon Forge several times but I have never had such an experience. The cabin was awesome. It was over and above of what I imagined. All the rooms were great with really nice decor. The kitchen was totally furnished with all items we needed. The downstairs theater room was just GREAT!!! The sound was wonderful.
I don't have one bad thing this to say about our stay in The Mansion in the Sky!

We made life lasting memories & we look forward to staying in this cabin again.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a fabulous journey

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Our family, 22 of us ranging in age from 92 to 4, spent 8 nights at the Mansion. "Incredible" was the word of the week as was "unbelievable". The pictures are 100% accurate. The home is beautiful, the view breathtaking. While we really didn't have any issues (we just couldn't figure out a couple of things), Earl/Mark were very responsive. We had two people with wheel chairs and they had no problems getting around the main level of the home. We went the week that kids in TN were back in school so Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge were basically empty so we had no wait for any attractions (zip line, white water rafting, Dollywood, etc.) It probably helped that every day we had perfect weather. Our family is firm believers in trying a new place every time we go somewhere but I have to admit, I don't think any of us would be opposed to going back. In fact, I've started looking for our next destination, and so far have not had any success in toping what we had here. The porch sits watching sunrises, family dinners, theme nights are memories we will never forget. There is so much room that even with 22 of us, we never felt crowded. We even had a surprise wedding the Friday before we left - what a beautiful setting that was! The living room was transformed into a dance/reception area and wow - what a night! If you are looking for family bonding, something for every age group to do/enjoy - this is absolutely the place! The bears, wow, I can't even tell you how many we saw, with no issues at all. They don't want to harm anyone - just be smart and don't try to pet them (smile). Watching them was really a neat experience for all ages. We never once felt in danger. The Smokies - they are unlike other mountains we've seen - one morning, the appearance changed 6 times within a 1/2 hour. I wish there was more room to write further details. I hope this helps anyone who is considering. Should anyone wish to have more information on what we experienced, I would gladly allow Earl to share our phone number with you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 25 / 25

 

Family Get Together in Gatlinburg

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Every other year my husband and myself and our five married children and spouses and 11 grandchildren get together from Cleveland, Baltimore, Brooklyn, Chicago and Los Angeles. This was our first time in the mountains and it was a big hit. The house was perfect for us. We were there from July 7 to 14, 2012.
Everyone had their own room and bath and the kids played musical beds. The kids loved the games, theater, and hot tub and the adults the big table, balconies and view. The road up to the house took some getting used to but after a couple of trips it was fine.
The house is in a great location and not far from the grocery and downtown Gatlinburg. We also hiked in the park, white water rafted, went to Dollywood, rode go carts and swam in the beautiful pool. There is so much to do that we just ran out of time.
For a large family like ours this was a perfect house and location! Even the bears came by to add a little excitement.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 17 / 18

 

Great place with fantastic view!

Review submitted: May 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

The was our second spring trip for our club at Mansion in the Sky (2011 and 2012). You can't ask for more. The view is fantastic, owners are responsive, and plenty of room for all 28 of us.

We have planned our third trip to Mansion for this fall.

Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Great Family Reunion Location

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

We just returned about two weeks ago from having our family reunion at Mansion in the Sky, which included our 86 yr. old mom, her six kids, some spouses, kids & grandkids. It was the nicest home we have stayed in in our 9-10 years of going back to Gatlinburg for this event. The description and pictures of the home were very accurate. It was clean when we arrived, very well stocked, the views are absolutely amazing and the owners fantastic to deal with. One evening while we were eating dinner, we saw a bear walk right down the road in front of the house. We all ran out with our cameras! We feel blessed to have found this home on VRBO and I would definitely recommend this property to others. Thanks so much to Earl, Bob and crew for an awesome vacation experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

better late than never

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

We took a family trip the last weekend in Jan. and had a wonderful time. Everyone was comfortable and felt at home. Even though the pictures are nice they just do not do the property justice. We encountered a few minor issue during our stay and when we contacted Earl he was right on it. We were a little shocked about the road getting to the home but after a few trips up and down we got the hang of it. We parked at the entrance to the subdivision and everyone jumped on the trolley. We woke one morning to see the bears at our front door and everyone was trying to get pictures. I have to say the movie theater and the up stairs game room were big hits. We had to make the kids go to bed. Everyone talked about how comfortable the beds were and how well they slept. The dinning room was also a big hit since we were all able to sit down and eat together. Everyone has such a good time they are still talking about and keep asking when are we going back. We usually do several family trips a year and I am on the computer trying to plan one now and everyone is saying why don't we just go back to Tennessee. The home is booked for the time that we are looking for, but I am sure we will be back again. I would like to thank earl and his family for taking the time to make sure we were comfortable on our vacation. Your home is truly beautiful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 21 / 21

 

Romatic Wedding In The Sky

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

My new husband and I love Tennessee, and try to come out at least once a year. When we got engaged we looked all over the internet for the perfect cabin to have our Tennessee wedding. We found Mansion in the Sky, and couldn't believe how reasonable the price was for the number of bedrooms and amenities. Believe it!

We arrived on Thursday afternoon on May 12, 2011, and could not believe how lovely it was. We checked out each room excitedly, and all amenities were there as listed and clean. We couldn't wait to try out the movie/blu ray theater with the surround sound! For those of you with bad knees, there are three bedrooms on the main floor.

People arrived throughout the day, and really only had difficulty driving in the dark. The road is twisty, but the view is outstanding!!! There was plenty of parking for out 9 vehicles. The Garmin does go a little nutty getting out off of Village Loop Road, but once you figure out the trick it is easy. It is a short distance to Gatlinburg or Pidgeon Forge, but you go all the way through Pidgeon Forge on the way in and so count in travel time through town. If you know Gatlinburg, you turn right at the State Park sign.

We set up the wedding out on the back deck by moving the patio chairs into short rows. The minister stood with his back to the view, with us in front. The pictures ended up to be fantastic! The day couldn't be more lovely. Everyone raved about the cabin, and want to celebrate our anniversary there again next year. I would definately recommend Mansion in the Sky and Earl to anyone.

As a side note, I was thrilled that there was enough hot water to actually enjoy the jacuzzi tubs in the bathrooms. The ones we have rented in the past don't have hot water tanks large enough to fill them. We had no problem taking multiple showers/baths.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 

Looking for a rental place for my family of ovr 15

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: May 4, 2011

My sister and I are looking for a place for our immediate family getaway vacation for over 15+ people and this place is beautiful. I just wanted to comment on the reviews. I love how the owners responded to the one review of the person that rated the property a 3 1/2. I would like to say that if I would have walked in a place like that and seen a dead mouse and cob webs and such that they spoke of the first thing I would have done was look for a phone number in the contract to call and report it right away and if no one would have come I would have called constantly until someone came to clean the cabin. I refuse to travel miles away from home to stay at a place that did not meet my expectations. I applaud the owners for speaking up and not denying that they did have the few problems the reviewer spoke of but since the reviewer did not call to report the problem then why even write the review. Well done owners and my sister or myself will be contacting you to rent out your beautiful facilities...absolutely beautiful.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Getaway at Mansion in the Sky

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 17, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Mansion in the Sky with a few exceptions...
-The hot tubs were SO DIRTY we could not use them.
-The cleaning crew was there right before our arrival however we found a DEAD MOUSE right as we entered the theater room upon arrival.
-They do not have a can opener. Good to know if you are cooking there.
-There were dead bugs and cobwebs around the bedrooms under the curtains in several bedrooms.

There were several bears each day that walked around below our deck. We did enjoy playing pool, video games and the theater room. The bedrooms were also very nice.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We have a wonderful, dedicated cleaning crew that takes care of our cabin.

Our cabin was cleaned on March 5, then it was empty for 12 days. We took this opportunity to have some
repairs done. We sent in a different crew to clean up & inspect the cabin. They cleaned the construction
debris, but failed to do the required inspection.

When the guests departed, & our cleaning crew came in to clean, several dead ladybugs were found, &
because the pollen was so heavy, some of it got into the hot tubs.

There were 2 can openers in the kitchen - they must have been missed by the person cooking.

We are a small, family owned business, that strives for excellence, to provide our guests the best possible
getaway. The rental contract, website, all the paperwork, & the directions to the cabin all provide a phone
number that can be called if any problems/questions arise. We could have addressed these issues within
the hour, however, we were not notified of any problems until we received this review.

Sincerely,
Earl & Michelle C.

Helpful votes: 33 / 34

 

The Best Trip Ever

Review submitted: October 12, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2010

I stayed at Mansion in the Sky with a group of 10 couples a couple weeks ago. It was absolutely WONDERFUL. The scenery was awesome, the double hot tubs were awesome, the home theater was AWESOME (the guys LOVED it!!), the rooms were magnificent.... I don't have enough good things to say about it. When we needed help with anything at all (lightbulbs and such) Earl was johnny on the spot. Excellent service!! I kept hearing over and over "this is the best vacation ever". It truly was and we are all planning to return next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Magnificence in the Sky

Review submitted: August 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2010

We had 26 people for a long planned family reunion. They came from Florida, Tennessee, Georgia, Puerto Rico, California, and New York. The verdict was unanimous - the house is magnificent. We had a large group but never felt crowded. The view is worth a million dollars, the house was luxurious and immaculately clean, everything we needed, from cooking and eating utensils to towels and linens, was first class. The bedrooms, bathrooms, and all the common rooms are spacious and exquisitely appointed.The kids (and many of the grown ups) had a great time with the many games. Earl was extremely helpful throughout the renting process. Some in the group enjoyed white water rafting, Zip Lining (guests of Earl get a 50% discount), and hiking. I definitely recommend this house to any large group who wants to spend a few days in luxury.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Fabulous Family Retreat

Review submitted: June 17, 2010   Date of arrival: June 10, 2010

We rented the cabin for a family retreat and it was perfect! We have a huge family and are spread out between Ohio, Tennessee and North Carolina! And Gatlinburg was right in the middle of all of us! And what was even better was finding a cabin that fit all of our needs! The hot tubs, the games, the theatre room, the gigantic dining table, it was all perfect! We are hoping to be back next year! And working with Earl and Michelle was a pleasure!!! Thank you for sharing your beautiful Mansion in the Sky with us!

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Family Retreat

Review submitted: June 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

We've just returned from our stay at Mansion In The Sky. The home is lovely, comfortable, spacious and has beautiful mountain views. The owners were easy to contact. This was the most memorable vacation our family has ever experienced. We all had private space and space to gather together. Here's where we had problems: If you stay here, use the dishes. We used paper products and filled the trash container the second day. Also, don't feed the racoon! He'll come up on the second balcony and beg at the kitchen door if you do. Final advise, pay attention to the road signs - we were lost several times. A highlight for our whole family was seeing the bears come right past the house as if pets.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Lovely Ladies Retreat

Review submitted: April 21, 2010   Date of arrival: March 25, 2010

The ladies from Northwest Church in Acworth, GA stayed at the Mansion in the Sky for our annual retreat this spring after winding our way up the mountain. The king beds and queen futons accommodated our 25 women perfectly and the parking pad just fit our 11 SUV's and mini vans. The kitchen was very well appointed and had everything we needed to prepare our meals. There were two little upholstered rocking chairs in the living room that many of my ladies wanted to take home for their kids, but we left them there for all to enjoy. The main reason we booked this cabin was the 30 person theater room. We were able to use the theater for our meeting times. We used the large movie screen for projecting our song lyrics, Bible verses and video. Everyone could see the screen and sat comfortably in the rocking theater chairs. This cabin is brand new and the pictures don't do the gorgeous bedrooms justice. Eight of the bedrooms have attached baths with double vanities, garden tubs, and separate showers. The ladies got really competitive on the racing video games and the bowling game. (I was hoping for a pinball machine, but I really enjoyed trying my hand at racing, as I would never try it in public!) Since the cabin had only been used twice before us, a shower curtain had not been installed yet, but one call to the owners and Bob showed up with one. The owners were very helpful in our booking process and with any questions we had. The cabin is conveniently located between Pigeon Forge and downtown Gatlinburg. We always have a meal at the Applewood Farmhouse Grill at the Apple Barn, give it a try. (The apple butter reminds me of my great-grandmother's homemade.) A few early arrivers went to a great Italian restaurant up the hill in Gatlinburg, Ogles Brick Oven (the pizza is the closest to NY style I have had in a long time!) Of course there are outlets galore, amusements, and outdoor activities in abundance. And don't forget to get some fudge from the Candy Kitchen in Gatlinburg. I hesitate to recommend this cabin because I don't want it to get overbooked (but it is wonderful!) I have already let Earl know that we are booking again for next year, we just have to get a date approval from the church.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: March 18, 2010

Twenty four of us from four different states stayed at the Mansion in the Sky for an extended weekend for Grandma's 90th birthday. We had one of the best vacations ever! Over the years, I've stayed in dozens of Gatlinburg cabins, and the Mansion in the Sky is by far the best! It is state of the art, very clean and perfectly decorated. We really enjoyed being able to eat together every night. I know Grandma especially loved that. I think I counted over 30 seats in the kitchen! There was so much to do. One day we never even left the cabin because we were too busy visiting with each other, playing video games (one machine had every video game that we could remember from the 80's) and playing air hockey. We did take some breaks to enjoy the awesome view from the rocking chairs on one of the back decks. :) The two hot tubs were very relaxing, too. We had a blast popping popcorn and watching movies at midnight in the home theather. I'm not sure who had the most fun - the kids or adults! This cabin is convenient to both Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. It's not too far from Ober (we had so much fun ice skating and riding the alpine slide!) It is the perfect cabin for large groups or families. We made memories that will last a lifetime and we all highly recommend the Mansion in the Sky!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Married Couples Retreat

Review submitted: March 17, 2010   Date of arrival: March 12, 2010

Upon arrival our breath was taken away by the beauty of the property. It was such a wonderful place for our married couples ministry to get away and address marriage God's way. We loved it and plan on making this an annual thing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 19 / 21

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review