reviews for: listing #6501 - Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin House rental

The Cove Retreat
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,250 - $1,700 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful home for a family

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the Cove Retreat. There was a large assortment of toys for my children to play with and movies for them to watch when we all needed to chill out after a busy day at the waterparks. We even took the boat out, and our kids got a kick out of it. We used the firepit to make s'mores, enjoyed playing the bean bag game, and loved grilling steaks on the grill and preparing our own food in the kitchen. My husband said many times that I picked a perfect home for our family to stay in. The house was the perfect distance from downtown Wisconsin Dells (close enough to get to the fun quickly, but far enough to enjoy a little serenity at the end of the day). We had a great time, and will definitely choose the Cove Retreat for our future vacations to the Dells.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Wisconsin Vacation Spot

Review submitted: June 30, 2011   Date of arrival: June 13, 2011

We've come here 3 years straight. Close enough to the Dells, but away from the busy town to take in the beauty of a Wisconsin lake. Grounds are well kept, and the home is very spacious. Dedicated pier was great to teach both my boys fishing, and there are northern, catfish, and panfish to be caught right there. The bunk house and 2 bedrooms are great for 2 families to share, but the rate was perfect for a family of 4 for the week. Nightly campfires with s'mores was also a regular treat.

Only one time did we have to call the owner, for a full spetic tank, but it was handled quickly. Beyond that, each year we've gone and the trip was done, we count the days until we return. This will be a family tradition for us.

I've stayed in all-inclusive water park resorts and Lake Delton rentals my whole life, but this rental on Mason Lake doesn't have the high-traffic of boats on tiny Lake Delton or the constant noize and bustle of the resorts. The pier is in a no-wake zone area of the lake. Less than 15 minute drive, and you are in the thick of the Dells attractions.

Plenty to do if you have a 1 year old to a 7 year old. And if you lack a babysitter to bring along, there are movies, cards, games, and a pool table to occupy your nights, and the fishing pier is within baby monitor distance.

We can go on and on about this place, all of it great.

The Prines.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Wisconsin Stay Every Year

Review submitted: June 30, 2011   Date of arrival: June 13, 2011

We've come here 3 years straight. Close enough to the Dells, but away from the busy town to take in the beauty of a Wisconsin lake. Grounds are well kept, and the home is very spacious. Dedicated pier was great to teach both my boys fishing, and there are northern, catfish, and panfish to be caught right there. The bunk house and 2 bedrooms are great for 2 families to share, but the rate was perfect for a family of 4 for the week. Nightly campfires with s'mores was also a regular treat.

Only one time did we have to call the owner, for a full spetic tank, but it was handled quickly. Beyond that, each year we've gone and the trip was done, we count the days until we return. This will be a family tradition for us.

I've stayed in all-inclusive water park resorts and Lake Delton rentals my whole life, but this rental on Mason Lake doesn't have the high-traffic of boats on tiny Lake Delton or the constant noize and bustle of the resorts. The pier is in a no-wake zone area of the lake. Less than 15 minute drive, and you are in the thick of the Dells attractions.

Plenty to do if you have a 1 year old to a 7 year old. And if you lack a babysitter to bring along, there are movies, cards, games, and a pool table to occupy your nights, and the fishing pier is within baby monitor distance.

We can go on and on about this place, all of it great.

The Prines.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay for a family.

Review submitted: June 30, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

We've come here 3 years straight. Close enough to the Dells, but away from the busy town to take in the beauty of a Wisconsin lake. Grounds are well kept, and the home is very spacious. Dedicated pier was great to teach both my boys fishing, and there are northern, catfish, and panfish to be caught right there. The bunk house and 2 bedrooms are great for 2 families to share, but the rate was perfect for a family of 4 for the week. Nightly campfires with s'mores was also a regular treat.

Only one time did we have to call the owner, for a full spetic tank, but it was handled quickly. Beyond that, each year we've gone and the trip was done, we count the days until we return. This will be a family tradition for us.

I've stayed in all-inclusive water park resorts and Lake Delton rentals my whole life, but this rental on Mason Lake doesn't have the high-traffic of boats on tiny Lake Delton or the constant noize and bustle of the resorts. The pier is in a no-wake zone area of the lake. Less than 15 minute drive, and you are in the thick of the Dells attractions.

Plenty to do if you have a 1 year old to a 7 year old. And if you lack a babysitter to bring along, there are movies, cards, games, and a pool table to occupy your nights, and the fishing pier is within baby monitor distance.

We can go on and on about this place, all of it great.

The Prines.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

LOVE the Cove Retreat

Review submitted: April 25, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

We had a wonderful family weekend at the Cove Retreat! The house is VERY clean and spacious, with all the amenities of home. So many beds - it was great how many people it slept, all in beds! We loved having the 2 family rooms-the kids enjoyed the lower level with pool table, video games and movies. Us adults loved our own area upstairs! We couldn't have asked for a more peaceful spot. Loved going out, sitting on the bench at the end of the pier, drinking my morning coffee and watching the wildlife. The yard is HUGE-lots of play area for the kids! Also very private, with a lot of trees. The landscaping is beautiful, right down to an awesome firepit! Perfect vacation home for families or a group of friends. We had a great time and can't wait to experience the Cove again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hopefully on your next trip you will be able to see the bald eagles fishing on the cove. We hope to have you back again soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

LOVE the Cove Retreat!!!

Review submitted: April 25, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

We had a wonderful family weekend at the Cove Retreat! The house is VERY clean and spacious, with all the amenities of home. So many beds - it was great how many people it slept, all in beds! We loved having the 2 family rooms-the kids enjoyed the lower level with pool table, video games and movies. Us adults loved our own area upstairs! We couldn't have asked for a more peaceful spot! Loved going out, sitting on the bench at the end of the pier, drinking my morning coffee and watching the wildlife. The yard is HUGE-lots of play area for the kids! Also very private with a lot of trees. The landscaping is beautiful, right down to an awesome firepit! Perfect vacation home for families. We had a great time and can't wait to experience the Cove again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Perfect Family Getaway

Review submitted: April 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 25, 2010

What a wonderful find! Very clean, well maintained and tastefully decorated, this 3 bedroom split level home on the cove of a lake is @10 miles past the Dells. It's close enough to take advantage of the fun of the Dells, but far enough away to really unwind and relax! The moment we walked through the door, we felt welcomed. The owners provided a binder containing menus and directions to local restaurants, coupons for Dells attractions, and other very helpful information. Our family consists of adult kids, a baby, and great-grandparents. We could go on the water if we chose, or sit out on the pier, or have breakfast on the walkout deck and enjoy a water view. In the evening we could enjoy cooking out and sitting around the fire pit in the large back yard. This home contains something for everyone - very family fiendly. Toys/videos/games and life vests for young children. Downstairs is a third bedroom containing four twin beds, a bathroom, and family room area with a pool table! The kids loved the downstairs - they could be up playing pool till sunrise and not bother anyone sleeping upstairs. We loved the fact that the home is very open. There were eight of us, but we were not on top of each other. The home actually lends itself to entertaining, so it's easy to spread out. The large dining table fit everyone at mealtime, and it was perfect for games at night. Extra supplies and cleaning products are very accessible, appliances are modern and clean. Just be aware of stairs if they are an issue for anyone in your family. We just loved it! So much so, that we'll definitely be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We can't wait to have you and your family back again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

cove retreat

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: April 10, 2011

This was a bad experience from the start.
-- The front of the house was very dirty
-- There are 3 bedrooms. They have King and Queen upstairs. The 3rd bedroom with 4 twin beds is downstairs (making it unusable really when there are two couples).
-- One bathroom is upstairs and the 2nd downstairs. Again for us since there were 2 couples, we had to share the top bathroom. I believe this is done on purpose to keep most from using the 3rd bed/bath.
-- The Queen bedroom was unusable as well since it had so many bugs that kept crawling on the walls and ceiling and would fall over the bed. We slept in living room sofa while my parents used the king bedroom.
-- Downstairs bathroom didn't have a place to put any of toilet things. The hot water knob was not even attached - so you could only use cold water.
-- There were no soap dish in bathroom. The bottles of soft soap for hand washing were practically empty.
-- Toilet paper was some kind of cheapest waxy paper that made the toilet stop. Had to buy our own toilet paper.
-- In kitchen, the glasses/plates were all of different kinds. They were chipped and not in good condition.
-- Towels were like rags.
-- Very unprofessional. No reply to my complain about bugs. No refund for only providing 1 bedroom/1 bathroom with no toilet paper when it was advertized to have 3 bedrooms/2 baths.

Owners response: Our home is a 3 BR-2 BA house. As with many lake properties in WI,winters can cause the home to get dirty on the siding from the ever changing winter conditions. Every Spring & every fall we pressure wash the house to clean up the outside. For those who own property with lots of trees or on a lake, you most likely know what I am talking about. We have had a very late winter here in WI resulting in a late spring clean-up of the outside. We have started the garden bed clean up & spring bulb planting,the pressure washing is on the list too. We take great pride in making sure the home is clean & tidy inside & out. One of the annoyances we have here in WI is the Asian lady beetle. They come into our homes in late Sept or early Oct thru any spot they can find on the South,west or East sides of the home. We spray for them in late Sept to curb the number that we get in the home. Feel free to google info on them as it is a problem that plagues new & old homes.Unfortunately for this guest, we had an unseasonable warm day & they came out in one south facing bedroom window. Temps dropped & it snowed a few days later, the bugs are no longer a problem. They are now out until fall again.I am sure it was not a problem for their entire stay as they moved the alarm clock to that bedroom and the bed was clearly used.
We have a bathroom on each floor with an ample supply of towels. I make it a point to remove any towels that show any sign of wear. We in no way are trying to have people not use the downstairs. That bath has a pedestal sink with a tub/shower. We have a medicine cabinet for storage & a lg 16x23 bedroom next to the bath has plenty of storage areas. The porcelain knob broke off when I was cleaning the bath before their arrival. The hot water was still able to be turned on & was usable. We have since replaced the faucet. We are on septic system on our property and we use a “green” friendly type of toilet paper that is best for making sure the septic stays in good working condition. It is not the cheapest, it is just the paper that will dissolve the best in a septic.
A couple of plates were chipped & those have been removed & replaced with new. We try to have large supply of dinnerware for guests,some do not match others, one set of six is all same but wanted to have more for our guests. Our home is clean, well supplied with all the comforts of home. I have never had a complaint in 6 years of renting. I am happy to answer any questions about the property.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review