reviews for: listing #65021 - Jamaica, Caribbean Condo rental

Chrisanns Apt9 Paradise Suite - Oceanview , Romantic, Wifi
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Ocho Rios
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $118 - $118 /nt

sort by:

My stay at Chsanns

Review submitted: December 16, 2009   Date of arrival: November 26, 2008

Stayed for three nights and it was just wonderful. Place had everything
you needed and was nicely furnished. Hated to leave. Will be back next year for sure. Close to Glenn's which has great food and also near
to Harmony Hall.

Apartment cleaned everyday and staff very friendly. It's like a home away from home.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Wonderful 'home away from home' vacation

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: December 12, 2013

We stayed in the, "Paradise Suite" for 2 weeks (Dec 12-26), and had a wonderful time. From first contact with Dulcia and finding dates that were going to work for us, we knew that we were going to thoroughly enjoy our accommodations. She was in constant contact with us prior to arriving, sending us photos, information, things to do, and answering all of our questions and concerns. And having our transportation arranged with Kristy was awesome, as it can be so intimidating arriving at the crowded airport. The apartment was exactly as described, nicely decorated, equipped with everything we could need and clean, clean, clean, obviously due to excellent staff, Charmaine (& Jennifer).
Chase (security) was great, and always there helping with baggage, groceries, etc. He has an infectious smile and giggle, especially when he had a card trick to show us that my husband could not figure out! When Trevor wasn't busy cleaning the pool and grounds, he showed us his tree scaling expertise and gathered coconuts. The sea pool was a lot of fun and we spent hours snorkeling and watching the fish. We did have our water shoes, which Dulcia had advised, so that was good. The first week we were there, it was very quiet as there were not a lot of other apartments occupied, but it did get busier during the Christmas week, which we enjoyed because it's nice to meet and socialize with new people in an uncrowded atmosphere. We ate at Glenn's just about every day and every meal was excellent, especially Christmas Day dinner. We had Christmas Eve dinner at the Italian restaurant and it was awesome. The little store across the street had everything we needed including ice cold red stripe beer!
We walked a lot exploring the local area and people and felt very safe.
After all is said and done, we would absolutely recommend Chrisann's and the Paradise Suite for a wonderful vacation!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing, quiet and beautiful! Perfect for me!

Review submitted: December 9, 2013   Date of arrival: November 18, 2013

I stayed at this home away from home for two beautiful weeks. I was there from Nov 18th to Dec 2nd....and I honestly think this was one of the best times as it was off season. As it was low season I pretty much had the beach and sea pool to myself which I loved. . The private taxi from the airport was excellent service with Kristy. He was on time, had a lot of knowledge of the area and stopped for scenic photos along the way. I preferred this as I didn't have to wait for other people to get their luggage, and I did not have to stop at multiple resorts before arriving at mine. I was welcomed to the resort by Lenora and Chase (security). The apartment was just perfect, everything you need, tastefully decorated and overlooked the pool. The bed was super comfortable.. The room was cleaned by Charmaine and Kathy (on her off days). Fresh flowers everyday along with a change of towels etc. The beach area was small but quiet...I was recommended water shoes which I brought with me and needed as a little pebbly/rocky at times. There is also a lovely gazebo at the end where I spent a few evenings having a drinks as the sun slowly faded. There is wifi in the apartment which I believe is the only apt that does. I ate at the restaurant across the street 4 times in 2 weeks and I HIGHLY recommend the goat curry with roti....absolutely delicious. For groceries I did most of mine at the convenience store also across the street. Dulcia was lovely from the get go with kind and timely emails when booking. There is a rental cell phone also available for use for this apt. She was so kind as to even call the taxi driver the day I landed to ensure that I had arrived ok and also two days later to ensure that I was settled. A HUGE thank you to security Chase who is one of the most caring and nicest guys, very helpful and informative and I always felt safe in and around the resort.... ! I will be back next year and would love to make it a regular spot...my parents are already thinking out booking this instead of an all inclusive! Thank you again Lenora, Charmaine, Kathy and Trevor. I LOVED THIS PLACE CHRISANNS.

Owners response: The staff at Chrisanns give all guests a real Jamaican welcome.
I am so happy that this guest felt the real Jamaica. Loved the sea pool and the gazebo
by the beach which is a favourite spot and also enjoyed her first taste of real
Jamaican food from our Jerk Bar right across the street from Chrisanns.
I look forward to seeing you again Marisa. Thank you for this lovely review.

one love
dulcia
owner
apt 9
Paradise suite
Chrisanns
Jamaica

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Relaxing, quiet and beautiful! Perfect for me!

Review submitted: December 5, 2013   Date of arrival: November 18, 2013

I stayed at this place for two beautiful weeks. I was there from Nov 18th to Dec 2nd....and I honestly think this was one of the best times as it was off season. Only 2 or 3 other apartments were being rented so I pretty much had the pool and beach to myself. The private taxi from the airport was excellent service with Kristy. He was on time, had a lot of knowledge of the area and stopped for scenic photos along the way. I preferred this as I didn't have to wait for other people to get their luggage, and I did not have to stop at multiple resorts before arriving at mine. I was welcomed to the resort by Lenora and Chase (security). The apartment was just perfect, everything you need, tastefully decorated and overlooked the pool. The bed was uber comfortable as was the couch...zero problems sleeping. The room was cleaned by Charmaine and Kathy (on her off days). Fresh flowers everyday along with a change of towels etc. The beach area was small but quiet...I was recommended water shoes which I brought with me and needed as a little pebbly/rocky at times. There is also a lovely gazebo at the end where I spent a few evenings having a drinks as the sun slowly faded. There is wifi in the apartment which I believe is the only apt that does. I ate the restaurant across the street 4 times in 2 weeks and I HIGHLY recommend the goat curry with roti....absolutely delicious. For groceries I did most of mine at The convenience store also across the street. Dulcia was lovely from the get go with kind and timely emails when booking. There is a rental cell phone also available for use for this apt. She was so kind as to even call the taxi driver the day I landed to ensure that I had arrived ok and also two days later to ensure that I was settled. I have nothing negative to say about this place.A HUGE thank you to security Chase who is one of the most caring and nicest guys, very helpful and informative and I always felt safe in and around the resort....don't lose him Dulcia! I will be back next year and would love to make it a regular spot...my parents are already thinking out booking this instead of an all inclusive! Thank you again Lenora, Charmaine, Kathy and Trevor. I LOVED THIS PLACE CHRISANNS!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“Awesome vacation!!!” Chrisanns Apt #9

Review submitted: September 21, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

My daughter and I absolutely loved our Jamaican vacation and a lot of it was because of the great accommodation at Chrisanns! The location was beautiful and quiet. We just loved the little private beach just steps away from the lovely pool. How I enjoued lounging outside in the afternoons and listening to the waves. Ocho Rios is very easily reachable via local taxi for shopping or entertainment. Reggae Beach can be reached on foot for a chill day or a beach so beautiful it looks like it belongs on a postcard!!! The staff at Chrisanns was so very helpful and they made our stay as enjoyable as I could have imagined. Finally I would like to thank Dulcia, the owner, for all of the information she provided so promptly and for making he booking process extremely simple.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise Found

Review submitted: July 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

I have travelled extensively in the Caribbean and by far Jamaica is the best place to visit. I have stayed at the all-inclusives from Mexico to Caribbean and by far if you are looking for a real vacation stay at Chrisanns Paradise suite 9. You will discover a beautifully appointed apartment, comfortable artfully decorated by Dulcia. The staff are unbeatable in their constant attention to all your requirements. Charmaine will take care of your room your laundry and even cook meals for you if needed and the food is fresh and local. Chance the security person makes sure your car is safe and he is as well excellent with any IT requirements you may need. The pool is pristine and clean with just the right temperature and not too much chlorine, but the best is naturally the beach and its perfect sea pool, deep enough for a good work out and shallow for the kids. Its just the best place to stay in Ocho Rios. The grocery store right across the street is very well appointed and the prices are better than those in Ocho Rios!!! If you are looking for a wonderful tour guide go to www.rastatours.com and talk to Ray. He will show you all the traditional attractions but also the off the beaten track places most tourist never see. Authentic Rasta villages, Bob Marley's home in 9 mile, and will take you to Negril Kingston or up to Port Maria. In the evening go to live reggae bands, Jamaica has a vibrant music scene and the Roots cafe is free on Friday nights. As for food Ray can take you about to experience the fabulous cuisine of the spice island. Chrisanns has become my home away from home and would recommend it for all ages. They are so accomodating, loving and offer a genuine experience of beautiful Jamaica.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Beach Resort near Ocho Rios Jamaic

Review submitted: April 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 20, 2013

I arrived at Chrisanns Beach Resort after a long journey from Canada. I was staying in Jamaica once again after visiting in December 2012 at an all-inclusive and I wanted to have a more real experience of this unique tropical isle. Upon arrival I was greeted by the managers of the unit. They were consumate professionals, offering me any information or help I might require. When Chance the security guard took my luggage up to my suite I was blown away by the beautiful apartment that Duclia has created. She has masterfully decorated this charming loft condo to the point you instantly leave all your stress at the doorstep. But wait it gets better, the beauty of the property is so wonderful, you have a private,prisitine, clean pool if you like or for those of us who are sand sun and surf lovers, an absolutely beautiful little beach that is private and a seawall protects you so that you can in complete safety swim, and sun bath. Its like a fantasy a sedate pool with glistening waters and sun shinning down onto you.This place is a jewel and once it gets discovered you will have a hard time getting a reservation. The staff are so kind, warm, generous noble and take such good care of you. My house keeper Charlene was always looking after me, cleaning my clothes keeping my adorable suite clean. You can have her cook too. My suggestion is you stay at Chrisanns, drink in the nurturing vibrations of the Jamaican people and see the depth of their kind hearts,,,you will never get this at an all inclusive not even close. If you need a tour guide I would recommend Ray . He is an excellent ambassador for Jamaica, he knows its history, its culture, its food and all the places to go you would never normally see. Or if you like he can show you the regular tourist attractions. But if you need to travel a little around this spectacular country he's your man. He is reasonably priced and for sure you will have a great time seeing all the sights. One Love Diana PS I am returning as soon as I can!!!

Owners response: This guest caught everything that is so special about Chrisann's, Jamaica and
its people. I am also so happy to know that she loved my apartment No.9
The Paradise Suite" which I try to make it a Paradise for all my guests.
You must come and visit us in this very special place in this very special Island.
Dulcia
owner apt 9
the Paradise Suite

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise Suite No.9 Chrisanns

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

I arrived at Chrisann's Beach Resort after a long journey from Canada. I was staying in Jamaica once again after visiting in December 2012 at an all inclusive and I wanted to have a more real experience of this unique tropical isle. Upon arrival I was greeted by the Managers of Paradise suite No.9. They were consumate professionals, offering me any information orhelp I may require. When Chance the Security Guard took my luggage and myself up to my suite I was blown away by the beautiful a[artment that Dulcia Tulloch has created. She has masterfully decorated this charming loft condo to the point where you leave all your stress on the doorstep. But wait it gets better, the beauty of the property is so wonderful, you have a private pristine, clean pool if you like or for those of us who are sand and sun surf lovers an absolutely beautiful little beach that is private and a seawall protects you so that you can in complete safety swim, and sun bath. Its like a fantasy a sedate pool with glistening waters and sun shinning down onto you. This place is a jewel and once it gets discovered you will have a hard time getting a reservation. The staff are so kind, warm, generous noble and take such good care of you. My house keeper Charmaine was always looking after my, cleaning my clothes keeping my adorable suite clean. You can have her cook too. My suggestion is you stay at Chrisanns and drink in the nurturing vibrations of the Jamaican people and see the depth of their kind hearts.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful Spot

Review submitted: March 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

I would highly recommend this gem of a place. Dulcia was excellent with communication before we arrived in Jamaica. She helped us with what to see and do while there. Her emails were warm and inviting. We were greeted in the Paradise Suite with flowers, refreshments, snacks, and a card. The unit was as described.The property and unit were clean and well maintained. The price of the unit was very reasonable for what we had. We appreciated the extra touches of the large beach towels, reading material, and daily housekeeping that included fresh flowers. There are reclining lawn chairs that you can face to the private beach cove. The internet wasn't working in the unit so we used the connection in the lobby. If we were more diligent letting Dulcia know, I'm sure it would have been fixed right away. There is a bar across the street that plays loud music that can be heard in the unit. Playing loud music seemed to be a common occurrence in Jamaica. We were told music can be played until midnight without a permit and 2 a.m. with a permit. It was 2 a.m. when the music ended on New Year's Eve. We had to adjust our times going to bed by when the music ended. We ate at Glenn's Restaurant 3 times because they had delicious home cooked food and an awesome waitress that took care of us each time. A short walk away is Toscanini's where we had 2 excellent meals. The owners make you feel so welcomed there by visiting with you at your table and giving warm goodbyes. We had a very relaxing time at the Paradise Suite and would like to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Apt 9 at Chrisanns is a "Gem of a Place" just like this guest wrote.
Its a romatic quite spot "normally" however the night this guest was
referring to was New Year's Eve. Now if you know anything about
Jamaica and Jamaican's this is the biggest night of the year. No one and I mean no one can escape the firworks and the reggae music on this night the whole island is alive. On all other days this special place Chrisanns is a peaceful and traquil so do come and let me spoil you.
one love
dulcia
apt 9
"paradise suite"
Chrisanns, Jamaica

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful time!

Review submitted: February 10, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

We stayed at this location Jan 17-Jan 28 of 2013 without every having visited Jamaica before. We are a young couple from Northern California, no kids just us. The unit is nice and clean and the layout is nice. Upstairs is a loft master bed and then downstairs is the kitchen, living room and bathroom. The balcony and unit are on the second level, it's got an ocean view but will be better in time as the palm trees get taller. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Across the street are two places to eat, one is fancy and one is a local spot. There is also a small mini-mart which is so nice to have just across the street. The AC unit work great along with all the ceiling fan and appliances. We just love the kitchen and the owner was thoughtful enough to get us a map, welcome basket and arrange for a driver from MBJ Airport. The pool is decent but the ocean is RIGHT THERE, just outside the backyard....JUST like in the picture. Anyone who isn't happy in a place like this is a HARD customer or just plain prissy. We took two days and went over to stay in Montego Bay and a medium sized resort (Cobaya) and we prefer this one.

Matt & Rose

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Re my wedding

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2012

I would like to thank Dulcia who owns apartment number 9 at chrissan. Dulcia had helped me with arrangements for my wedding at chrissans she constantly kept in touch from day one until the day she also made an effort to be at my wedding even though the weather was so Bad she drove from Kingston, which i was really great full. This is my 3rd time there its a beautiful place. Number 9 is really cosy and comfortable, the housing keeping staff are fantastic too. Its some were you feel safe and relaxed. I took my whole family there from england who really enjoyed it and all said they would stay again. Thank you again Dulica i would recommend Chrissans to anyone who's want to go to jamaica

Owners response: Dulcia, Apartment No.9,
Paradise Suite,
Chrisanns, Jamaica.

Panna and Kitk thank you for your wonderful review. It has been my pleasure to help you
have the perfect wedding at Chrisanns and also over the past few years when you
stayed in my Paradise Suite to watch the love you had for each other grow. Confirming
that indeed I do have the right name for my Junior Suite. Your wedding was
just beautiful and see how the rain stopped just in time for the ceremony.
It was perfect.
All guests to my apartment No.9 are treated like my family and I shall look forward to
seeing you all one day in this beautiful Island "Jamaica".

one love

Dulcia
Apt 9
Paradise suite
Chrisanns, Jamaica

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Re Wedding

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2012

I would like to thank Dulcia who owns apartment number 9 at chrissan. Dulcia had helped me with arrangements for my wedding at chrissans she constantly kept in touch from day one until the day she also made an effort to be at my wedding even though the weather was so Bad she drove from Kingston, which i was really great full. This is my 3rd time there its a beautiful place. Number 9 is really cosy and comfortable, I took my whole family there from england who really enjoyed it and all said they would stay again. Thank you again Dulica i would recommend Chrissans to anyone who's want to go to jamaica

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you so much Panna and Kirk for your wonderful review of my
apartment No.9 and Chrisanns. Your wedding was perfect and see how the rained stopped just in time for the ceremony. It was my pleasure to assist you with the preparations of your wedding and how lovely it was to meet all your family from UK.
All guests that come to my apartment the "Paradise Suite" are treated like family and given a real Jamaican welcome. so I shall look forward to you visiting this very blessed and special Island "Jamaica".

One love

Dulcia
Apt 9
Paradise suite
Chrisanns, Jamaica

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My Jamaica vacation Apt.# 9 Paradise Suite

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 19, 2012

I stayed in Apt # 9 for seven nights and it was just wonderful , better than I had dreamed.
The apartment was just as the pictures portrayed it.
Dulcia the owner was wonderful and provided lots of information about the apartment
the surroundings, how to catch a taxi, as well information about Ocho Rios
the markets....where to buy fish & vegetables.I felt well informed and secure.
I had mentioned that I would like some Jamaican coffee for my first morning and she provided it including the filters.
The resort is quiet and absolutely beautiful the first 3 days I had the pool all to myself , I could not believe it.
The staff was great , and they helped me purchase some fresh Snapper fish fresh from the sea.
The kitchen in Apt # 9 had everything I needed since I did most of the cooking everyday
Charmaine the housekeeper was lovely and brought me fresh flowers , how sweet.
The bed was divine , very comfortable and I liked the fine linens & feather duvet, just like home.
I was able to walk across the street to the grocery store and was surprised that it was well stocked
Large choice of frozen meats & fish...some vegetables ......can goods.......even alcoholic beverages......
One day I was all alone in the pool when the staff harvested some coconuts and shared them with me .
that alone was an adventure. The pool was super clean and the sea pool also.I just loved everything.
After my return and sharing the 200 pictures I took with my friends & family ,
I am planning to return next year with my sister in the spring and with my daughter in the fall.
Thank you, Dulcia, for making my stay one to remember.

Owners response: My apartment No.9 the Paradise Suite is just steps to the ocean. The guests to my
apartemnt I get to know before they even arrive at Chrisanns and it is my pleasure and the
pleasure of all the staff to help make our guests vacation one to remember.
This guest enjoyed everything that Jamaica has to offer from going shopping at the local
markets getting the fishermen catch fish for her and our gardener getting her fresh
coconuts every day from our coconut tree. Chrisanns is a very special place and I look
forward to seeing you there again soon.
one love
Dulcia
owner
Apt 9
Paradise Suite.
Awardee from Trip Advisor
"Badge of Excellence".

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Apt # 9 the Paradise Suite

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 19, 2012

I stayed in Apt # 9 for seven nights and it was just wonderful , better than I had dreamed.
The apartment was just as the pictures portrayed it.
Dulcia was wonderful and provided lots of information about the apartment
the surroundings, how to catch a taxi, as well information about Ocho Rios
the markets....where to buy fish & vegetables.I felt well informed and secure.
I had mentioned that I would like some Jamaican coffee for my first morning and she provided it including the filters.
The resort is quiet and absolutely beautiful the first 3 days I had the pool all to myself , I could not believe it.
The staff was great , and they helped me purchase some fresh Snapper fish fresh from the sea.
The kitchen in Apt # 9 had everything I needed since I did most of the cooking everyday
Charmaine the housekeeper was lovely and brought me fresh flowers , how sweet.
The bed was divine , very comfortable and I liked the fine linens & feather duvet, just like home.
I was able to walk across the street to the grocery store and was surprised that it was well stocked
Large choice of frozen meats & fish...some vegetables ......can goods.......even alcoholic beverages......
One day I was all alone in the pool when the staff harvested some coconuts and shared them with me .
that alone was an adventure. The pool was super clean and the sea pool also.I just loved everything.
After my return and sharing the 200 pictures I took with my friends & family ,
I am planning to return next year with my sister in the spring and with my daughter in the fall.
Thank you, Dulcia, for making my stay one to remember.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing Vacation At Apt #9 at Chrisanns

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: March 29, 2012

We stayed in Apt #9 for 11 nights and it was a pleasant experience from the time I inquired about it until we left. Dulcia is wonderful and provided lots of information about the apartment as well as Ochi. We loved having the comforts of home (a kitchen and king size bed!) while staying away from home. The complex never seemed busy although we know that all the units were full with the Easter Holiday weekend. Our housekeeper, Charmaine, is a dear woman and so helpful. The office staff, maintenance men and security were also friendly and willing to help. We found that the microwave wasn't working and it was replaced within 15 minutes. We also found a wonderful cab driver while we were in Ochi that we could call on anytime and we certainly used him several days. George is a mature and personable gentleman and we will definitely use him when we return (876-374-8422). The Jerk Bar and Glenn's Restaurant across the road were both good for authentic food and there is also a small market located in that same strip of buildings. Be careful crossing the road in front of Chrisann's as it can get busy. We loved our time at Chrisann's!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: my apartment No.9 the "Paradise Suite" has everything you could wish for and is just steps to the ocean. Charmaine my housekeeper has been at Chrisanns for years and all my guests just love her. The apartment has wireless in the apartment you can answer you e mails on the prive balcony looking at the ocean. That is paradise. Look forward to seeing you in Jamaica this very special island in the sun.

Dulcia
owner
apt 9
Paradise Suite

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A week to remember

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 4, 2012

We have just returned from our week at Chrisann's and Dulcia's place is just as advertised. All the personal touches added to our comfort. The location at the edge of Tower Isle is wonderful and we couldn't have asked for a more comfortable, well-equipped place to stay. The resort is quiet and charming, the staff is anxious to please and the condo is wonderful. We enjoyed our breakfast on the balcony every morning. We were able to walk across the street to the grocery, eat jerk chicken and jerk pork at the Jerk Centre (also across the street), and dine at Glenn's for a superb dinner. We went local by catching the route taxis into Ocho Rios and relaxed poolside and seaside for our fun in the sun. Thank you, Dulcia, for making sure our stay was one to remember. We are already planning for next year! You are a joy to work with in planning a Jamaican experience to remember!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exactly what we were looking for!

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 16, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed staying in Apt. 9 at Chrisanns. Dulcia did not overstate anything. The apartment was just as the pictures portrayed it. The staff, especially the Front Desk, and our great friend, O'Neal was fabulous. The daily housekeeping was also wonderful as was the housekeeper. The only negative I can think of is that it is a little outside of Ochos Rios, so you do have to take local route taxis,which were great, especially for meeting the locals! Dulcia's restaurant suggestions were also wonderful. The grounds were well kept, very peaceful!

Owners response: Apt 9 The "Paradise suite" at Chrisann's in Jamaica is a beautifully self contained
apartment with a private balcony that has a view of the ocean and the Gazebo
You are just steps to the ocean and the pool
the apartment now has wireless and I also have some basic snorkeling equipment you
would need to check that out with me. ]
Towels, hairdryer, TV, DVD, CD and daily housekeeping all included in the rate.
This is paradise.


Dulcia
owner
Apt 9
Chrisanns,
Jamaica

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exactly what we were looking for!

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 16, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed staying in Apt. 9 at Chrisanns. Dulcia did not overstate anything. The apartment was just as the pictures portrayed it. The staff, especially the Front Desk, and our great friend, O'Neal was fabulous. The daily housekeeping was also wonderful as was the housekeeper. The only negative I can think of is that it is a little outside of Ochos Rios, so you do have to take local route taxis,which were great, especially for meeting the locals! Dulcia's restaurant suggestions were also wonderful. The grounds were well kept, very peaceful!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Very Special Place

Review submitted: February 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 22, 2012

My husband and I spent 1 week at Chrisanns. We loved Apt. 9........Dulcia has decorated the place with comfortable furniture and some wonderful art from Jamaica and Bali. We both "slept like babies" on her great king bed.
Having the pool and the little private beach just downstairs was a definite plus. There are a couple of restaurants just in walking distance.......Glenn's is across the street and you can eat breakfast, lunch and/or dinner. Of course, you can eat in the apt. if you wish as the kitchen is fully equipped. The jerk center has some awesome jerk chicken. And finally there's Toscanini's (a 2 minute walk).......all I can say is -- WOW!!

The staff at Chrisann's made us feel like family.......and Dulcia made it very personal by being in touch with us to make sure all was ok.

We had a very relaxing vacation and the only problem was that we had to leave.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Unbelievably Beautiful

Review submitted: October 25, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

Dulcia,
I cannot express thanks enough for the restful time I have had in this very special place. Tucked into a quiet, private,
unassuming location yet right on the beach - unbelievably beautiful". The apartment was so clean, perfectly decorated, so well equipped, and just plain comfortable. The staff are both professional and personal - making the entire experience so "at home". I hope to come back. I stepped out of the very busy world of Executive Leadership and responsibility and landed in a place where the world stopped - stood still long enough to let me breathe.
thank you so much

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you Chrisanns

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: August 16, 2011

Hi Dulcia

hope all is well with you. Everyone sends their regards and a BIG thank you. We all had a fantastic time the staff were really great especially Tanish and O' Neil there are both a great asset to have. Also a big big thank you to you for your hard work your apt is the best. We are planning to visit JA in 2013 and everyone has said the only place to is at Chrisanns they said they enjoyed it more than the Hilton Resort in Mo-bay so i think that speak for itself. I am in the process of writing our review on trip advisor so once again thanks for making our holiday an unforgettable experience will keep in touch.

One Love
Sharon

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Thank You for sharing your place

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

I would like to thank you for allowing me to stay at your place. It exceeded my expectation and meet all my need for my seven days stay in Jamaicia.The place was nicely decorated with art and had such a cozy feel. I was able walk outside everyday to see the beach. All the entertainment in Jamacia was just a few mile away and everyone the worked there was so kind.I hope to be in the same place next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I love, love, loved my stay at Chrisann's

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 4, 2011

I recently vacationed at Chrisann's and I had a fabulous time there. Dulcia's apt #9 is now my home away from home. It had all of the amenities that you would have at home. Stove, refridgertaor, microwave, dises etc. Apt #9 was spotless when I arrived and the staff kept it that way daily. I must admit that everytime I visit Ja, I plan to stay at Chrisann's which is located just outside of Ocho Rios. The staff was very nice and friendly and I miss them so much. They made sure I was taken care of and I really appreciate that. The private beach area was to die for. So peaceful and relaxing. I would lounge at the gazebo and just stare out into the ocean wishing I lived there.
Glenn's restaurant which is located across the way, served good food and the staff there where awsome. Everytime I walked in, nothing but smiles and hospitality. I actually liked the jerk chicken at the other restaurant/bar located a few doors away from Glenn's. I forget the name but I will certainly remember the place when I return to Ja. I would definitely recommend Chrisann's to all that plan to visit Jamaica.
Dulcia, thank you so much for allowing me to stay in your apartment. I will never forget my stay at Chrisann's.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Own Slice of Tropical Paradise!!!

Review submitted: November 23, 2010   Date of arrival: October 30, 2010

Chrisann's exceeded our expectations the first time with its unique 'home from home' feel and this stay was no exception. The apartment was extremely well equipped (we have now stayed in both No.9&No.10) with all amenities including cd player, cooker, all cutlery, dvd player, blender, refrigerator, fan, a/c etc.... everything you could possibly need and made us feel truly at comfortable once again! The housekeeping is just as good as I remember - but this time they even went that extra mile and put lovely fresh flowers for us!! Security is a main factor for us which is one of the reasons we chose Chrisann’s in the first place - the security guard was always very pleasant and helpful, I can't say there was a time we left Chrisann's where he wasn't there to open the gate for us!!
There's also a new supermarket across the road and it's surprisingly well stocked, as well as a couple of good bar/restaurants but if we wanted more we just got a local taxi into Ocho Rios town centre (about 7 min drive).
We were also there on the holiday weekend.. which was absolutely wonderful as the manager had organised a Heroes Weekend BBQ with traditional Jamaican treats!!
I just want to say a huge thank you for welcoming us in your apartment once again Dulcia and for constantly working hard to keep it the only place we want to stay when on vacation in Jamaica - Look forward to visiting again soon!!! One Love

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for this wonderful review I do try very hard to gives my guests a true
Jamaican welcome when they come to my apartment and the staff will make you feel
very welcome and at home. We all look forward to seeing you again at Chrisanns soon.
one love
Dulcia
owner
Apt 9
"Paradise Suite"
Chrisanns
Jamaica

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Perfect Slice of Paradise!!!

Review submitted: November 23, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2010

Chrisann's exceeded our expectations the first time with its unique 'home from home' feel and this stay was no exception. The apartment was extremely well equipped (we have now stayed in both No.9&No.10) with all amenities including cd player, cooker, all cutlery, dvd player, blender, refrigerator, fan, a/c etc.... everything you could possibly need and made us feel truly at comfortable once again! The housekeeping is just as good as I remember - but this time they even went that extra mile and put lovely fresh flowers for us!! Security is a main factor for us which is one of the reasons we chose Chrisann’s in the first place - the security guard was always very pleasant and helpful, I can't say there was a time we left Chrisann's where he wasn't there to open the gate for us!!
There's also a new supermarket across the road and it's surprisingly well stocked, as well as a couple of good bar/restaurants but if we wanted more we just got a local taxi into Ocho Rios town centre (about 7 min drive).
We were also there on the holiday weekend.. which was absolutely wonderful as the manager had organised a Heroes Weekend BBQ with traditional Jamaican treats!!
I just want to say a huge thank you for welcoming us in your apartment once again Dulcia and for constantly working hard to keep it the only place we want to stay when on vacation in Jamaica - Look forward to visiting again soon!!! One Love

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Getaway

Review submitted: November 18, 2010   Date of arrival: November 9, 2010

First of all, I felt comfortable about Chrisanns from the start after the owner called and met me over the phone. She kept me posted about everything included going to buy rubber shoes for the ocean. I felt in my spirit that Chrisanns was the place for me and just what I needed for my first trip to Jamaica and traveling alone. Wow... and I was so right!
The staff was very professional and courteous to me, including the on duty manager, front desk, maintenance, housekeeper and the gate attendants; can't forget the gentleman who cut the coconut for me. The property is beautiful. My favorite was the pool and the little private beach including the gazebo. We spent many hours in the gazebo just watching the waves hitting the rocks.... perfect marriage spot. We felt very welcome and safe.
There is no doubt about where I would stay on my next trip to Jamaica. I fell in love with Jamaica and Ochos Rios and Chrisanns.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Apt 9 "Paradise Suite" Chrisann's Jamaica.
I just love looking after my guests and I try to let them
know from the time of the booking that they have found the
right place for their vacation. do come and visit this
very special place in Jamaica and I will make sure its
the best vacation you have ever had.
Dulcia, Owner Apt 9 Chrisann's.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 9, 2010

Dear Dulcia'
We had a fabulous,. relaxing home at Chrisann's It was the experience we were looking for.
Room service was excelent. The apartment was beautiful.
Peace and love always
Carol and Marcus
London England, U.K.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 27, 2010

Dear Dulcia
We have experienced real Jamaica and have fallen in Love with Chrisanns's Cove. It is just as it was
described on the internet. we had lots of fun at Dunn's river and Mystic Mountain. The White Rive r
Rafting was very enjoyable and we recommend it to other guests.
You should also ask someone to drive you through Fern Gully and up in the hills and around Ocho rios.
We had some delicious breakfast's at Glenn's restaurant across the road from Chrisanns's
Lovely people. and will always remember out 50th birthday celebrations at Chrsainn's. A big "thank you"
to the staff at Chrisann';s especially Claudia who looked after us so very well.
best wusgesm
Rozamund, Glen and Isla
England

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 16, 2010

Dulcia,

I really hoped we would get the chance to meet on our trip to your beautiful home: Apt 9. Everette and I thoroughly enjoyed the condo and wished we were still there! We did so much driving while on the island and saw so much of the countryside that we feel like we actually lived there! We got to see the Negril beaches, the countryside in the Blue Mountains, Kingston, Nine Mile (twice), Port Antonio, and of course Ocho Rios. All of the island was so friendly and inviting and I can't wait to return.

Thank you so much for the welcome snacks and the sweet card. It made us feel like family. I read all three books cover to cover. They are so informative! I also commend you on the comfy bed. I couldn't believe how well I was able to sleep. Usually, I have trouble getting good sleep away from home, but the sheets were soft and the bed was great! You had so many personal touches, such as the beautiful art on the walls and the cute little handle pulls on the closet doors, cabinets, & dressers. I also enjoyed the coolness of the room. I love a good window air conditioner. It makes a noise that just makes sleeping so enjoyable! :) Also, I had been on some medication that caused me to stay so warm and the cool room was a blessing!

If you are ever in our area, please feel free to look us up! I would love to meet you and get a chance to show you our little corner of Florida.

Take care and we will talk soon!

Tracy and Everette

ps...Our daughter, Seachelle, is already begging us to bring her to the island. She loves to travel and there is lots there that I know she would just love. Maybe next time we'll bring her!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Chrisanns a la Texan!!!

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 24, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Dulcia's place for our 20th. wedding aniversary. The place was well maintained, everyone (Audrey and Claudia and all staff) were very friendly and helpful. The beach was a little dissapointing because it was full of rocks and there were a lot of seaweed, it looked like it had not been cleaned up like it shows in the picture. Toscanini was great, the Jerk Center was wonderful also. Dwight our driver was fantastic. We slept great, it was a very quiet place but the Saturday we were there, in the next complex there was a family event from 11:00am to 10:00pm and had loud reggae music that did not stop playing. We did have a wonderful time when it was quiet.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: This enchanting property has its own private pool and beach with gazebo that overlooks the ocean, giving you a breathtaking snapshot of this unique part of the island.
We suffered a 6 month drought and when the rains came they came in abundance and the seas were rough and brought in
stones into the sea pool. The sunny weather is back the private cove has been cleaned and its once more wonderful to swim in. For me swimming in the ocean at Chrisann's is one of the things I love the most. You will love it too.
I look forward to having you as my guest and showing you as always Jamaican Hospitality.
one love
Dulcia

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming and Relaxing Oasis

Review submitted: May 17, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2010

We had the delightful experience of passing 10 very relaxing days in Apt 9 at this property in early April of this year (2010). The owner Dulcia could not have been more helpful and thoughtful in advance of our arrrival, even to the point of organizing children's sand buckets and other toys. The place itself is exactly as described and is very well and tastefully maintained by both the owner and the staff at the property, particularly Charmaine. The kitchen is stocked with an abundance of utensils and equipment. Supplies and food can be purchased at the HiLo supermarket in town, if needed. The local dining options are as decribed. I would not rush back to Glen's, opposite, as it projects a sometwhat tired image, though it does have the advantage of being open until something like 11:00PM. The staff at Chrisanns, overall, were friendly and very helpful. The setting is a little oasis from what can be the hustle and bustle of Ocho RIos.

While Wifi works in the unit's interior, near the window, fully reliable service is best achieved in the lobby lounge area which has the added benefit of both the visual and aural stimulous of the sea, just a few paces away.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Honeymoon

Review submitted: May 17, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

Hi Dulcia,

Just wanted to send you a quick email thanking for our wonderful stay at apt 9 "The Paradise Suite." We had an incredible time. Everything was just as you said it would be and we couldn't believe how quiet it was there. We had the beach and pool to ourselves the entire week. The apartment looked great and was very comfortable. The staff was also very friendly. Claudia was a big help arranging our trips into town and our trip to Dunns River. We especially enjoyed the company of Troy the security guard. He was very helpful and such a nice guy! Talked to him every night we were there and he shared a lot of great info about Jamaica. We enjoyed the Tower Jerk, the local convenience store and had one of the best meals we have ever had at Toscanini. We went to Glenns several times throughout the week and really enjoyed our time with Dave the bartender. We just had so many great experiences in Jamaica and really picked a great place to stay! Thank you again for all the help and your wonderful accommodations!
J and L

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so kuch for your kind words and I look forward to hosting you again soon.
One love
Dulcia

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: March 18, 2010   Date of arrival: March 18, 2010

This was our first trip to Jamaica and we were looking to explore as much as we could on our own. This is the perfect resort and location to do just that. Chrisanns is a small scale home-style resort, not an over the top all-inclusive, ideally located outside the rush and in the heart of some of the best tourist adventures Jamaica has to offer. If you want quiet, laid-back, and the opportunity to do your own thing, this is the place to stay.Unit #9 was the ultimate home-base. It is ideal for 2 people, complete with full cooking facilities, nicely decorated, all the daily amenities you will need for an extended stay, right on the water, with your own small private beach. The unit is kept exceptionally clean, on a daily basis, and the staff very pleasant to deal with. Questions about touring in the area were answered with knowledge, with additional suggestions on things to do, how to get there and phone calls made on our behalf to confirm details.Swimming and snorkelling are at hand. When you are not interested in preparing your own meal there are three good restaurants just across the road that will satisfy any appetite. The owner of this unit was a delight to deal with; and no request too big or too small to deal with quickly and efficiently. Along with the charming Jamaican décor, Dulcia has equipped her unit with excellent reading material and brochures about Jamaica and the many attractions one could seek out, which facilitated our adventuring. A great experience all ‘round and we would not hesitate to recommend this resort and specifically this particular unit.One recommendation, if you are planning an extended stay beyond 1 or 2 weeks, a car rental is well worth the expense. There is so much to see beyond the main roads, and if you are the least bit adventuresome this is the way to go.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: February 21, 2010   Date of arrival: February 21, 2010

The best place - we had a fantastic time. Dulcia was
so good in the lead up to our trip with tons of
advice + help.Location perfect as close enough to
stuffbut really peaceful as away from Ocho hubbub.
Cute little beach but just a stones throw from
Reggae Beach where we spent so much time in
between exploring beautiful Jamaica. Highly
recommended - we can't wait to go back. xx

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 16, 2010   Date of arrival: February 16, 2010

Chrisanns beach resort!! What an outstanding place!! Its like home. The staff is exeptional, friendly, warm and very helpful. Apartment #9 is the best.
You have internete access, a homelike setting, a safe secure environment. I have been to Jamaica many times, but this is my personal favorite for many reasons. The beach is outstanding, the water is so clear, bringing your mask and snorkel is a must. Across the street
you have a bar and restaurant to get Jamaicas famous Jerk Chicken, or to just have a drink. You have Glenns Restaurant and an Italian Restaurant all within walking distance. This is the best place to be, the staff will treat you like Family. I highly recommend you stay at Chrisanns when you come to Jamaica, its like home to me.
Steve, Philadelphia, Pa.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 6, 2010   Date of arrival: February 6, 2010

Apartment #9 at Chrissans Beach Resort, made me feel right at home from the moment I step through the door.
Everything was there for my comfort as promised by the owner Dulcia when this booking was made.
A great private beach and pool away from the crowd, so homely.
Eatery within walking distance from the property. Love the Jerk Centre.
Highly recommended, I will surely be back next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Jamming Jamaica

Review submitted: December 18, 2008   Date of arrival: December 6, 2008

This apartment is the best . I been alot of places and this apartment rates high on my list. I slept very well every night. The apartment was clean and was cleaned every day. There is a Jerk Center across the street and the food was also great. Best place to stay when in Ocho Rios, I have already booked this apartment for 4/2009. Cant wait to return to my home away from home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Deluxe Junior Suite apartment 9 is really special with original
artwork and beautiful furniture and King bed with special linens.
The apartment is just steps from the ocean and a private cove.
Do come and visit us and let us show you some Jamaican
hospitality. .

Dulcia
apartment 9 owner

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

away from it all at chrisanns

Review submitted: November 19, 2008   Date of arrival: February 19, 2008

my husband and i stayed here in February, our 40th wedding anniversary, and it was just perfect, The apartment is beautifully furnished with everything you could need and the setting just wonderful right on the sea. Dulcia, the owner takes so much trouble to ensure everything is in order, even leaving a welcome pack complete with caribbean rum cake!!
There are plenty of facilities nearby, including shop and restaurants and reception will always get you a taxi into ochio rios but the apartment is also great iff you just want a quite time by the pool, preparing your own meals.Highly recommended for couples, young or old.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: at chrisann's we have a pool and private beach that has wonderful
ocean water for a sea dip. The apartment that you see in this
advertisement I own. All the furniture has been specially made
for me and the paintings are all originals if you love art. There
are three restaurants within walking distance'.

Chrisann's is such a special place do come and visit us soon.

Dulcia
owner
apartment

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review