reviews for: listing #65090 - Smith Mountain Lake, Virginia House rental

Allure, flat lot, private boat ramp, hot tub, sandy beach
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $180 - $265 /nt
    $1,250 - $2,900 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful Vacation Home

Review submitted: March 29, 2014   Date of arrival: March 11, 2014

This vacation home was so beautiful and cozy. It really was a home away from home. Everything about it was relaxing and gorgeous. The lake is lovely, the deck is great to sit and look out onto the beautiful water. Overall a wonderful experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Vacation Home

Review submitted: September 26, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

I highly recommend the Allure for your next vacation rental. My husband and I and our two dogs had a fantastic time at this lovely vacation home. When we arrived and stepped through the door, we felt as if we were home. Everything in the house was clean, neat and so warm and welcoming. The owners have attended to every detail and really care about their renters comfort.

We loved all the windows with the gorgeous views of the lake, loved the fully stocked kitchen and comfortable dining area, and loved the yard and boat dock. But, my favorite place was the screened porch. Every morning I enjoyed my first cup of coffee of the day sitting on the porch with my puppies and watching the sunrise. I already miss the house and the lake, and we are looking forward to our next visit.

Thank you John and Chris for allowing us to share your wonderful lake home.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

What a Wonderful Time!

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

This house was all I hoped for and more. This was our first visit to Smith Mountain Lake, and the trip was a surprise for my husband, so I was really hoping for all to go well. My expectations were definitely exceeded, and we all loved the house. The screened porch was a favorite, the hot tub was clean and in great shape, the dock was easy to access. The house and area were not congested and in a quiet area. Even our teenage sons were impressed and that is high praise! We rented two kayaks and a jet ski which was great fun. I would definitely recommend this house to others and in fact, we hope we can return ourselves sometime soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

vacation at Allure

Review submitted: April 26, 2013   Date of arrival: April 17, 2013

Great Location, Great House!

I normally don't write reviews but Allure is everything it is advertised to be. When we arrived we were greeted with a bottle of wine waiting for us( nice touch). The place was really clean- for my wife to say Allure was very clean, trust me, it was. The first night we took advantage of the hot tub and enjoyed that bottle of wine while soaking and looking at the lake. There are lake views from every room in the house, even the screened porch where we grilled steaks and played cards.The kids fished for Stripers right off the dock at night and we were amazed at what we caught!We saw on the website that a fishing guide Captain Bert, would come right to the house, so we booked with him. We went out with Captain Bert the next day. He met us right at the dock and we went from there. had a great time and caught the limit! He filleted and packaged our catch for us-- we ate striper that night and we froze the rest. We tried a few local restaurants and did some souvenir shopping at Bridgewater Plaza. There are a few wineries around the lake, we tried Hickory Hill for their wine tasting. It was very close and convenient I can't say enough good things about Allure. We will definitely be back again and i'll recommend it to anyone who wants to listen. Thanks! John & Michelle Bucci- Washinton Twp NJ

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words and for staying with us. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Allure. We work hard to make sure you enjoy your vacation at Allure and we strive to be the best vacation rental on Smith Mountain Lake. We look forward to seeing you again! John & Chris

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanksgiving at Allure- What a Holiday

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for Thanksgiving weekend 2011. We had our two boys, ages 7 and 12, with us. We all had a wonderful time. We enjoyed everything about the house, most especially the hot tub. The sun porch and deck were nice in the morning, as the sun kept us warm. My husband and kids even did two "polar bear plunges" off the dock. The weather was unseasonably warm, so it was nice out in the yard. We were able to hike in the state park without even wearing coats! The kitchen was fully stocked, the fireplace kept us warm at night, and the stereo played our Christmas music while we relaxed. It was a very enjoyable, relaxing weekend. We would love to come back.

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 3, 2012

We decided late into the summer to try to get a lakefront rental either at DCL or SML, for less than a week. Allure was one of the few rentals that took fewer than 7 days during the peak summer period. It was well worth it. The location was conveniently located to a marina for gas and the open water by the state park -- great for tubing. The appliances were top notch. A previous renter broke the gaming table and it didn't make it back in time for us to enjoy. The rooms were a good size and the kids didn't feel cramped. The kitchen was well stocked and the bottle of wine was a nice touch. We will keep Allure on our short list for SML.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Alluring Vacation

Review submitted: October 3, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

This house was just perfect for a relaxing getaway. The hot tub was very nice and we made full use of it. The house was stocked with all neccessities and a lot of luxuries, too. The outdoor furniture was so comfortable, first wooden chair that I have ever been in that was comfortable. The boat ramp is an added bonus, the dock is so close and what beautiful views all the way around. We will be back!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Very relaxing vacation!

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

This is our second time to Allure, and we look forward to booking our next. This home is truly a wonderful property. It's kept up and is very clean. We traveled with our 2 kids (19 and 22) and another friend (20). Each had their own space downstairs as the home is very comfortable. Every main room has an amazing view of Walton Cove. The boat dock is our favorite place to hang out. We brought a small boat with us that had a couple mechanical problems. We took it to Sherm's Boat Repair, and he was wonderful. Got us back on the water quickly, and was great to deal with. I would recommend him highly! We even got to meet some of the neighbors, and they were just the friendliest people. If you're looking for a quiet, peaceful, beautiful place to just relax, this place has it all!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

DON'T want to leave!!!

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

The house is beautiful - very well kept and clean. The kitchen is spacious and has a built in breakfast bar - very well stocked. There was plenty of space to accomodate everyone - with room to spare! Amenities were fantastic! Bathrooms big and showers were wonderful, it was truly a home away from home! Washer and dryer are key (especially with small kids!) Waking up to breakfast overlooking the lake is the perfect way to stay your day. There is so much to do, boating,swimming, fishing and even ice cream on the lake!! There is a covered dock out back that makes looking at the view and taking a break from the water an added bonus! The hot tub overlooking the lake was so relaxing at the end of a fun day on the lake!! Shopping and restaurants all within a short drive away. We had so much fun during our stay, we actually didn't want to leave! We will definitely be back year after year!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for staying with us. We would love to have you back. Book early, this home is always full!
Look forward to seeing you again next year.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

The BEST vacation Home on the Lake!!!

Review submitted: September 18, 2008   Date of arrival: August 23, 2008

This house is a true treasure!! We stayed for 1 week - it was PERFECT!!! We couldn't have asked for a better house!! It had everything we could ever want or need!! The Hot Tub was absolutely perfect - the view couldn't have been better!! (the bottle of wine was a very nice touch...) Perfect location, close to everything, but still far enough away to be on vacation. The owners really thought of everything - from the fully stocked kitchen to the chairs on the deck AND the patio - there was truely something for everyone. We made memories to last a lifetime - we will definitely be back!!!! Thanks for sharing such a perfect home with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 27 / 27

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review