reviews for: listing #65119 - Bar Harbor, Maine House rental

1905 Victorian/Downtown Bar Harbor
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $495 - $1,395 /wk

sort by:

Cottage with Convenience and Character

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

This cottage was cozy and had lots of character. We enjoyed having our meals in the formal dining room and the owners eclectic taste. It is close proximity to everything, yet quiet and an easy walk to wherever you need to go. We would definitely return to this property! Thank you for the delightful stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

Thank you for such wonderful accomodations. We had a marvelousstay and look forward to coming back again!
Best wishes, Liz, Tim, Paula and Larry

Helpful votes: 3 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks again

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2011

We had a nice week, not great weather but we still enjoyed the town and your nice house. The Abbe Museum and the Reel Pizza Movie house helped too! You have an interesting selection of movies and so many wonderful books. I loved curling up on the couch with a glass of wine and a stack of cookbooks. We loved the loved the house and will hope for better weather next time!

Helpful votes: 2 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great house, great town, great island!

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

We had a wonderful week, thanks for sharing your home with us! We are so glad we chose to stay in town, your house is in such a quiet neighborhood but it was such a short pleasant walk to everything. The meal at your restaurant was excellent and we hope to come back to Bar Harbor again next year. We loved all the interesting cook books and other books and we loved the ambiance of the house.

Helpful votes: 3 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for a lovely week in your home

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

Thanks for a great week. We loved the house and it was a perfect week to choose for the foliage which was spectacular! We really lucked out on the weather too, it was warm enough to enjoy the porch, even in the evenings. All the great books and games and DVDs were appreciated too. All in all, a wonderful restful and cozy week at your lovely home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Sadly not worth the money...

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

This house was not at all what its made out to be. It was very dusty and dirty. Yes its old and charming but the furniture was as old as the house and very moldy and musty smelling and super uncomfortable. The outside porch does not look like the picture, the paint is peeling off and it has these ugly leather chairs to sit it, with a view of another house in front. The kitchen has tons of condiments, but they are all in old prescription bottles so you have no idea what is what!! And the fridge was NOT half empty... it had TONS of OLD food in it, as did the freezer. Over all the house was dusty and musty smelling. Don't forget there is NO shower, only a tub with a hand held shower head so you have to sit down in the tub. We could have rented a place that was much nicer for the same price. I'm not picky but even my kids commented on how smelly and old the house was. The only positive was that it was close to town..and the owner was nice and pleasent to deal with.

Owners response: Well, I guess everyone is entitled to their opinion except they are not entitled to misrepresent the facts. The Fridge is more than 1/2 empty at all times and so is the freezer and it is explained in the description that I live there part time and that there will be 1/2 the fridge and at least one cabinet available to store food. I am nor "offering" my spices to the renters and I have spice mixes on the private shelves that are, to be frank, none of their business. The tub is also carefully described as an original claw foot tub with update of a hand held European shower.

I dont think the porch chairs are ugly at all. I was delighted to buy them. they are in perfect condition and are retro 1960's comfy as can be leatherette porch chairs. Most of my renters love the house, these people did not.

I acknowledge there was a musty smell on the rug last week when i went to clean the house and we discovered that someone had spilled something on the rug, by the couch and we pulled the rug up and threw away the mat that was under the rug and washed the floor. It has been a very humid summer and that made the musty smell which is now gone.

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for a wonderful week in Bar Harbor!

Review submitted: July 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Thanks for a great week! We loved the house and also loved the convenience of walking everywhere! It was great to be able to send our teenagers off by themselves once in awhile, to explore the area , while we relaxed on the porch with a bottle of wine. We loved the house and we loved Bar Harbor! what a beautiful spot you have here on this very special island!

Helpful votes: 6 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review