reviews for: listing #65119 - Bar Harbor, Maine House rental

1905 Victorian/Downtown Bar Harbor
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $495 - $1,495 /wk

sort by:

Great location, near of all, by foot! Amazing!

Review submitted: May 22, 2014   Date of arrival: May 12, 2014

The house is very very clean and airy. The house is in great location, near of all and in a pleasant and quiet street.
Bobbie is very friendly and fast in his response.
I was with my family of six, and that was a wonderful time.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We love this house!!!

Review submitted: May 21, 2014   Date of arrival: May 11, 2014

We have stayed in the 1905 Victorian two years in a row and really love this house. It has a lot of original details and nice art on the walls. Most of the rooms are very spacious but all the warm colors and comfy furniture make it seem very cozy. It is nice that it has a front porch to sit on in the evenings and the location is perfect. You can stroll to town in no time and even walk to the movie theater and the big supermarket! We probably wont be back to Acadia for a few years now but we hope to stay here again when we do return!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely, Authentic, Cozy

Review submitted: May 21, 2014   Date of arrival: May 16, 2014

My boyfriend and I had a great time, this is a lovely, authentic house that is super clean and well cared for and authentic to the town. Original details and plenty of space. CLose to the town center but not right in it, perfect!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Charming and quaint Victorian house.

Review submitted: May 19, 2014   Date of arrival: May 3, 2014

My family really enjoyed staying at this spacious and charming house. It has a lot of character and is clean, charming and cozy with lots of great books and games to play. The location is ideal. We could walk to everything in downtown Bar Harbor and yet it is so quiet on that little street! We will certainly return to this property when we visit Acadia again!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Cottage with Convenience and Character

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

This cottage was cozy and had lots of character. We enjoyed having our meals in the formal dining room and the owners eclectic taste. It is close proximity to everything, yet quiet and an easy walk to wherever you need to go. We would definitely return to this property! Thank you for the delightful stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

Thank you for such wonderful accomodations. We had a marvelousstay and look forward to coming back again!
Best wishes, Liz, Tim, Paula and Larry

Helpful votes: 6 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks again

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2011

We had a nice week, not great weather but we still enjoyed the town and your nice house. The Abbe Museum and the Reel Pizza Movie house helped too! You have an interesting selection of movies and so many wonderful books. I loved curling up on the couch with a glass of wine and a stack of cookbooks. We loved the loved the house and will hope for better weather next time!

Helpful votes: 4 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great house, great town, great island!

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

We had a wonderful week, thanks for sharing your home with us! We are so glad we chose to stay in town, your house is in such a quiet neighborhood but it was such a short pleasant walk to everything. The meal at your restaurant was excellent and we hope to come back to Bar Harbor again next year. We loved all the interesting cook books and other books and we loved the ambiance of the house.

Helpful votes: 5 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for a lovely week in your home

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

Thanks for a great week. We loved the house and it was a perfect week to choose for the foliage which was spectacular! We really lucked out on the weather too, it was warm enough to enjoy the porch, even in the evenings. All the great books and games and DVDs were appreciated too. All in all, a wonderful restful and cozy week at your lovely home.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Sadly not worth the money...

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

This house was not at all what its made out to be. It was very dusty and dirty. Yes its old and charming but the furniture was as old as the house and very moldy and musty smelling and super uncomfortable. The outside porch does not look like the picture, the paint is peeling off and it has these ugly leather chairs to sit it, with a view of another house in front. The kitchen has tons of condiments, but they are all in old prescription bottles so you have no idea what is what!! And the fridge was NOT half empty... it had TONS of OLD food in it, as did the freezer. Over all the house was dusty and musty smelling. Don't forget there is NO shower, only a tub with a hand held shower head so you have to sit down in the tub. We could have rented a place that was much nicer for the same price. I'm not picky but even my kids commented on how smelly and old the house was. The only positive was that it was close to town..and the owner was nice and pleasent to deal with.

Owners response: This review (most of which I contest the accuracy of) was written 3 years ago when I was living in the house part time.The Fridge was always more than 1/2 empty as was the freezer and it was explained in the description that I lived there part time and that there will be 1/2 the fridge and at least one cabinet available to store food. i am no longer living at the house on a regular basis and the fridge and freezer are mostly empty except for the various condiments I leave on the fridge door, for the use of renters. There are now 3 or 4 cabinets available for the renters as well. The tub was also carefully described as an original claw foot tub with update of a hand held European shower which has now had a full shower curtain surround added.
I dont think the porch chairs are ugly at all. I was delighted to buy them. they are in perfect condition and are retro 1960's comfy as can be leatherette porch chairs. Most of my renters love the house, these people did not.
I acknowledge there was a musty smell on the rug when i went to clean the house after they departed and we discovered that someone had spilled something on the rug, by the couch and we pulled the rug up and threw away the mat that was under the rug and washed the floor. It had been a very humid couple of weeks and that made the musty smell which was completely gone after cleaning under the rug.

Helpful votes: 15 / 18

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for a wonderful week in Bar Harbor!

Review submitted: July 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Thanks for a great week! We loved the house and also loved the convenience of walking everywhere! It was great to be able to send our teenagers off by themselves once in awhile, to explore the area , while we relaxed on the porch with a bottle of wine. We loved the house and we loved Bar Harbor! what a beautiful spot you have here on this very special island!

Helpful votes: 7 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review