reviews for: listing #65144 - South Haven, Michigan House rental

Rose's Retreat-Pristine Relaxation!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $275 - $400 /nt
    $2,100 - $2,800 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful week at the retreat

Review submitted: September 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 26, 2013

Everything I expected . You name it it was there.the perfect retreat for all ages.relaxation for me and plenty to do for the teen's.
Can't say enough,would do again .

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

We spent a week at Rose's Retreat and I can not say enough amazing things about it. We like to stay off the beaten path when vacationing and live like the locals which is exactly what we were able to do. The house is a short walk to the beach, that even our three young girls didn't mind and a short car ride to one of the most quaint shore towns we have ever been to. We took day trips to Chicago, Muskeegon, and Ann Arbor. When we weren't out and about we hung out in the back yard, lit fires and roasted marshmallows! My kids can't wait to go back, and neither can we. All 5 of us put down our electronics and took in all that Michigan had to offer. Thanks Rose, your house is impeccable(and I am quite a neat/clean freak...your pictures don't do it justice! We cant wait to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Bachelorette Weekend

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

I recently rented Rose's Retreat for my best friend's bachelorette party. We had an incredible girls weekend in South Haven and Rose's retreat could not have been more perfect! The house is adorable and so cozy, we shared meals and plenty of laughs. The weather was quite cold, so the fireplace was great. We spent the weekend getting pampered and shopping in South Haven, which was only a two minute drive from the house. Rose was so helpful and responsive to my emails, truly a pleasure to work with :)

We enjoyed our time so much, we definitely plan on making this a yearly tradition!

Owners response: We are proud to offer great customer service. We respond to all questions, calls and emails within 24 hours.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Serenity now!

Review submitted: April 5, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

If you're looking for a place to find real rest, rejuvination and the beauty of the shores of Lake Michigan, look no further! Even though we live just a state away, my family had never visited Michigan or the lake shore. Rose's Retreat provided us with WAY more than we even expected, with a superbly stocked kitchen, cleanliness for even the most particular clean-freak, outdoor toys and fire pit, and just a quick jaunt away from the beach. Toys and gaming galore for teenagers, and for the beach, too. Every detail about the decor is so precious--even a gas fireplace! Really couldn't have asked for a better place. THANKS, Rose!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad your family enjoyed our small slice of paradise!
We strive to make Rose's Retreat a true home away from home!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect for girls' weekend getaway

Review submitted: September 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 22, 2011

For the last nearly twenty years, our gang of five dear friends has met every other year at a different location in the U.S. We all agreed that our Michigan Homecoming weekend at Rose's Retreat may have been our best ever -- and the beautiful, open, yet cozy atmosphere of the house was surely a contributing factor. Everything is perfectly appointed, from the unique countertops to the comfortable furniture to the colorful linens and playful accessories. It all comes together to create an environment that encourages relaxation and conversation -- we found ourselves lingering over a second or third cup of coffee and chatting -- reconnecting -- before heading out to Saugatuck for the fabulous shops and restaurants. With the changeable fall weather, we made use of both the deck and the fireplace. The kitchen had every appliance and accessory we could possibly want. Every need has been anticipated. The house is exceptionally well maintained, and the quality of craftsmanship is evident in the careful attention to even the smallest detail. The layout easily accommodated five, and we appreciated the two full baths and generous lighting. All in all, this lovely home is truly a retreat from the manic and the mundane -- it's the ideal place for any vacation or gathering -- and it's absolutely perfect for a girls' getaway weekend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Rose's Retreat NEVER Disappoints!

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

This was my family's second year in a row staying at Rose's Retreat and we were just as impressed this year as we were last. The house is just as beautiful and pristine as we remember. Everything we needed for a comfortable stay was right at our fingertips. We now refer to Rose's Retreat as our "home away from home." We will be back next year to make some more beautiful memories in South Haven!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a GREAT place to spread out and relax!

Review submitted: June 5, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

Rose's Retreat is perfect for a family to kick back, relax and spread out in. The house is very beautiful and clean and has special touches of beach decor. The open floor plan and hardwood floors are to die for, and the counter-top and bar top are one of a kind. The sea glass in the bar top is so pretty. The DVD collection is quite large, and having TV's in both of the bedrooms and the loft is great. We had cartoons on the big TV a lot for our 2-year old granddaughter, but we were able to watch something different in either of the bedrooms when we wanted to. The IKEA furniture fit right into the entire overall design, and we especially loved the smaller drop-leaf table for using the laptops. It is situated in a corner and out of the way yet you can still see everyone else in the whole place. The Wi-Fi connection was very fast and reliable. Oh, and the light-up rowboat is so cool. However, we thought we might have needed it to get out of the house the one day it rained so hard...LOL...just kidding.

Unfortunately, we didn't get much beach time during our stay since the weather wasn't cooperative (rain). The walk to the beach is short and sweet, but honestly there are a lot of stairs to go down and then back up. So I wouldn't recommend those for anyone that has trouble with stairs. But it's also just a short drive to the other beautiful public beaches. The rest of the area is very pretty and there is a Farmer’s Market and a lot of cute little shops and restaurants downtown on Phoenix St. There is also a Wal-Mart just a couple of miles from there if you forget anything.

We had a campfire our first night and the fire pit is one like I've never seen; it can be a fire-pit or a charcoal grill. The deck is very nice and large, and there is a good sized back yard for play. Our granddaughter loved the swing set; she called it "the park". Also, the driveway was plenty long enough to fit our four vehicles, so plenty of parking there.

The baby items were also great to have available for use. We used the baby gate to keep the 2-year old off the stairs, and she slept in the portable crib.

We loved the place and can’t say enough. Seven adults and one child fit in quite nicely, and it made for a wonderful mini family vacation, even with the rain. We plan on coming back in 2012 and hoping for an entire week, and hoping for better weather. You can't go wrong if you choose Rose's Retreat for your family’s vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Ed N Nita and Amber N Tj Wyandotte, MI

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

The house and surrounding area is beautiful, it met all of our expections and then some. The house was spotless and comfortable, the shopping was fantastic, we shopped, we ate, we shopped, we rode our bikes, we ate, we shopped...you get the idea. We plan on coming back for a longer stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A wonderful vacaton spot

Review submitted: September 14, 2010   Date of arrival: August 30, 2010

Rose's Retreat was wonderful. A Clean and fresh lake house, with everything you need and more. It is just a quick walk to a lovely stretch of beach. We brought our bikes and rode into South Haven everyday.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Couldn't Ask for More

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

Rose's Retreat was simply wonderful. It was the perfect family getaway for us. The home was super clean, and we had every amenity we could think of. Even CDs and movies were provided. Normally we're happy to return to our own home after being away on a trip. After spending a week at Rose's Retreat, we didn't feel that way. We could have stayed indefinitely. Thanks, Rose, for sharing your home with us and for being so accommodating to our every need. We'll definitely rent again in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

George and Cindy from Washington State

Review submitted: July 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 16, 2010

Rose's cottage was a treat beyond description. The decor is "beachy" and everything is done first class. We so appreciated all the amentities, comforts of home and even beach umbrella and chairs provided for our comfort. The proximity to the very private and peaceful beach was perfect for swimming, sunbathing and enjoying the most beautiful sunsets. Thank you Rose for providing such a comfortable "home away from home". We will definitely return to Rose's Retreat!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: July 1, 2010   Date of arrival: June 25, 2010

Rose's Retreat was exactly what my family needed for a perfect vacation. The house was stocked with everything from abundant bath towels to grilling utensils. Rose even provided a portable crib for my 2-year old godchild! The house is only a 2 minute walk to a pristine and secluded beach where our family enjoyed hours of swimming and sandcastle building. We will DEFINITELY visit Rose's retreat next year. Thank you, Rose for helping to build beautiful memories for my family!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Rose's Retreat ROCKS!

Review submitted: June 29, 2010   Date of arrival: June 17, 2010

Just like the pictures only BETTER! Clean, Classy, great location. Beach was almost private & lovely. Detailed touches made it like HOME. Will rent again in 2011.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review