reviews for: listing #65248 - Harbor Island, South Carolina House rental

"The Ultimate View" (Large Golf Cart/Wifi/Two Master Suites)
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,450 - $2,750 /wk

sort by:

Perfect family beach house!!

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay at "the Ultimate View". We had two families with a total of six children all under the age of 12. This floor plan was obviously designed to comfortably accommodate two families. Having two master bedrooms and bathrooms was great and having two sets of washer dryers was pure genius!! The house was furnished beautifully and no amenity was overlooked. The owners have absolutely thought of everything. It was the perfect beach house with the perfect view!! Our kids loved the loft, the golf cart rides, and having tons of room to play. The adults loved the two balconies, the home away from home feel and of course the amazing views!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

The Total Package

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

"The Ultimate View" was incredible and offered the "Total Package" when it comes to vacations. We were two families with a total of 6 children. Everyone had plenty of space. The two masters were identical and incredible so both couples were delighted. We loved the two living areas, which gave the children their own space. The wet bar, fridge and microwave upstairs was an added bonus. The stretch golf cart made going to the beach or pool a breeze. Hunting Island, just a short drive away was a great beach with very few people. It even had daily nature programs for children.
The home was clean and well-maintained. The property manager was extremely helpful and very accessible.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

It really is what the say, "The Ultimate View"

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

My family and I stayed at "The Ultimate View" in July. The home was spotless and beautiful when we arrived. Everyone was so excited to see the beauty of this place, and I found it ;)

The attention to detail in the decorating specifically caught my eye, 'as I am an interior designer', was so warm and inviting, not over done with classic touches, and color.

The views were as the ad states, Something to see! When the sun rises in the morning, the back deck is "the place to be" with your coffee in hand, and camera in the other, what a beautiful site to awaken to and to take home the memories!!

Also, the golf cart proved to be one of the coolest rides for the teenagers, and us grown ups too. They took it to the beach, or to just take a ride and see all of the wonderful sites!

We had 13 in our group. Ranging in age's from 22 months to 80 years old. We had lots of room and private places for all ages.

We could not have been more pleased and would highly recommend this rental to large families/groups. It is amazing!!

Lastly, a special Thank you to Robert!! Who could not have been more accommodating and helpful. He sent me all of special places to eat, and shop and fish, etc. Working out the rental arrangements was easy and stress free. We left a few things behind when we departed. Robert sent them to me, Priority Mail. What a wonderful man to work with and befriend~ Thank you so much Robert!


Kind Regards,

Janet

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Perfect Vacation!

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at The Ultimate View immensely! The house was beautiful and was a perfect fit for our multiple family vacation. The porches were so relaxing and the house definitely has the ULTIMATE view! We spent our time enjoying the beach, riding the golf cart, enjoying the view and at the pool. We will definitely rent this house again if it's available.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Reunion at Ultimate View

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

Two brothers and a sister held a family reunion at "Ultimate View". The house and the views are fantastic. We had 11 adults and 3 children ranging from 1 year old to 65 years old. The house was everything and more than advertised. The floor plan was open and relaxing.The upstairs loft was perfect for the two children (age 7 and 9) and could easily sleep 3 teenagers. The kitchen had all the utensils for necessary for cooking for our crowd. There is plenty of room in the house and we never felt crowded. Two porches provided great gathering spaces with views of marsh, river, and ocean. The house is in the wooded marsh area which we liked because it is cooler there than on the beach. It was a nice relief after a hot day with the kids at the beach. The property manager was very accessible and helpful. There are excellent restaurants within easy driving distances and a well stocked "fresh off the boat" seafood market about a mile away if you want to boil shrimp or crab at the house. There is a small hands-on children's educatonal aquarium on nearby Hunting Island. Beaufort is a delightful town with many historical places to see. We did not want to leave. We have great memories of our stay there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Reunion at Ultimate View

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

Two brothers and a sister held a family reunion at "Ultimate View". The house and the views are fantastic. We had 11 adults and 3 children ranging from 1 year old to 65 years old. The house was everything and more than advertised. The floor plan was open and relaxing.The upstairs loft was perfect for the two children (age 7 and 9) and could easily sleep 3 teenagers. The kitchen had all the utensils for necessary for cooking for our crowd. There is plenty of room in the house and we never felt crowded. Two porches provided great gathering spaces with views of marsh, river, and ocean. The house is in the wooded marsh area which we liked because it is cooler there than on the beach. It was a nice relief after a hot day with the kids at the beach. The property manager was very accessible and helpful. There are excellent restaurants within easy driving distances and a well stocked "fresh off the boat" seafood market about a mile away if you want to boil shrimp or crab at the house. There is a small hands-on children's educatonal aquarium on nearby Hunting Island. Beaufort is a delightful town with many historical places to see. We did not want to leave. We have great memories of our stay there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great for Marine boot camp graduation!

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 7, 2012

We have a large family (6 kids) so when we made plans to attend our oldest son's graduation from Marine boot camp from Parris Island we found that we could rent this fantastic house for not much more than a pair of deluxe hotel rooms. The house was incredibly roomy and comfortable, plus the money we saved by not having to eat out all our meals made it actually more cost effective. The location offers excellent views, it's nice and secluded, and the kids enjoyed hanging out at the area's clubhouse playing basketball and tennis. Oh, and the 6-person golf cart was particularly a treat for us parents because it allowed our 18-year old daughter to take all the kids to the beach without involving us or our full-size van.

If we ever have a reason to return to this area we would definitely rent this house again. It had everything we needed, plus the property manager was very responsive and helpful

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Ultimate View

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 15, 2012

" The Ultimate View". This actually sums up this property. We rented this property in April 2012.Being from the UK I saw this property on line and was impressed by the photos. Were we blown away when we got there. The description of the property was totally accurate and is ideal for families and a party of couples. To look out in the morning and watch the sun come up was breath taking and watching the wildlife was very interesting.The house was immaculate!! Everything you needed and more! The owner provided excellent service and i would recommend them to anyone.The golf cart is a must at it is situated some distance from the beach but what a lovely beach,you can walk for miles.A visit to Beaufort is a must as it's a lovely place. For chocolate lovers The Chocolate tree is worth a visit,hand made chocolates, a chocoholics Dream. There is a restaurant as you come out of the front of Harbor Island turn left about 100 yards up the road its worth trying. We walked there to the surprise of the people on the security gate.If you fancy a B-B-Q, the Gay Fishing company does some excellent shrimp go out of the front gate turn right a few miles up the road. Were there any negatives about this property? I can't think of one. Would I recommend this to a friend? Certainly. If I ever return to South Carolina I would definitely rent this property again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Name Says It All ............

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: April 21, 2011

My family and I vacationed at the house during April...of this year..I can assure you it was the most wonderful vacation our family has had in a long time..The home is beautiful...The golf cart is great..and the private beach is breathtaking...The people who live and vacation on the island are so friendly...At anytime if you have a problem..it is taken care of in a timely manner...I would recommend this home to anyone...With children or without...Just sitting on the porches (especially at night) and listening to the waves roll in is so calming...The Ultimate View..is just that..the Ultimate...You will not regret renting this home..Good Luck and have a great vacation...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

the ultimate view

Review submitted: August 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

Whow!! The name of this home is perfect...the view is awesome! This home is beautiful inside and out. The golf cart is an added bonus...the house is located quite a distance from beach and pool so the golf cart and lots of bikes brought by our families helped get us to and from beach or beach club with ease. There are alligators roaming around, as well as racoons and plenty of mesquitos!!! The mesquitos were the worst part of the vacation. We enjoyed our vacation even if the kids had no waves to "surf" in at the beach....
Over all...this is a 5 star home!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous Location- The house is gorgeous

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: April 19, 2010

We just returned from an excellent vacation on Harbor Island. The house is great- spotless, lots of space, great layout/amenities, lots of privacy and fantastic views. Just perfect. The beach was beautiful- very private and calm. We have 2 kids, 11 and 8, and they were swimming the entire week. Of course, being from New England, they thought the water was warm... I think the kids liked riding around in the golf cart the best. The property manager is also a joy to work with- very well organized and pleasant. Enjoy your stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review